DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
It is acknowledged that claims 1 and 15 were amended by Applicant on 14 July 2025. Claims 1-15 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 14 July 2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The respective arguments are addressed below:
Applicant argues that “in the Jianwei reference, air can apparently freely flow within the entire space” which contrasts the claimed limitation of increased security against air coming into contact with the control unit and the power supply unit. Examiner points Applicant to paragraph [0045] of Jianwei in which it is described that vertical plates delimit and isolate the air channels, and the power supply unit and control unit are disposed outside of said air channels. It is further described that the air is sucked in through the air inlet, travels through the air channels, and then exits the air outlet. This information makes it clear that air travels exclusively through the air channels and is isolated from the power supply and control units.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The applied reference has a common joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jianwei et. al, (CN 211551328 U) hereinafter “Jianwei”.
Regarding Claim 1, Jianwei discloses an air sanitation device for a refrigerator (see e.g., [0007]), the air sanitation device comprising: a housing (see e.g. [0032], part 6) having a light outlet (see e.g. [0033], part 61); a front wall and a rear wall (see Fig. 7), said rear wall having an air outlet (air outlet; see [0029] and Fig. 7 part 63); an air channel disposed in said housing (see e.g. [0029] and Fig. 3 parts 213 and 214); an air detection device (see e.g. [0029] part 7), a fan (see [0029] part 3) and an air purification device (see e.g. [0029], part 5) disposed in said air channel (the fan 3 is arranged in the air inlet channel… the filter is arranged at the connection between the air inlet channel and the air inlet port, the odor sensor 7 is located between one of the air inlets and the filter… the ion generator 5 is located in the air outlet channel; see [0045]); said fan forcing outside air into said air channel (the fan sucks in the outside air from the air inlet; see [0018]), through said air detection device (the odor sensor 7 is used to detect the odor concentration of the gas flowing into the housing from the air inlet; see [0036]) and said air purification device (blows air toward the ion generator… passes through the ion generator 5; see [0034]) and out of said air outlet in said housing (flows to the outside of the shell from the air outlet 63; see [0034]); a control unit (main control board; see [0029] part 1) and a power supply unit (driving power supply; see [0029] part 4) disposed in said housing (see Fig. 3 Parts 1 and 4); an illumination device disposed in said housing for generating light adapted to pass through said light outlet (see e.g. [0029] part 22, [0034], and [0040]); and a partition member being separate from said illumination device (see e.g. Fig. 4, parts 21 and 22), said partition member extending entirely along said illumination device (see e.g. Fig. 4, parts 21 and 22) and said at least one of said air detection device or said air purification device (see e.g. Figs. 2 and 3, parts 2, 5, and 7), and said partition member separating said illumination device from said air channel and from said at least one of said air detection device or said air purification device (see e.g. Figs. 2-5, In Fig. 4 and 5 the partition member (part 21) helps to encapsulate the illumination device (part 22) within the LED module (part 2). Fig. 2 shows the LED module (part 2) positioned with the housing, wherein the illumination device is not exposed to the air channel nor the purification or detection devices), the said partition member having first and second sides (see e.g. Figs. 4-5, part 21), said partition member causing air to flow along said first side of said partition member, and said illumination device being disposed between said second side of said partition member and said light outlet (see e.g. Figs. 1-5, Figs. 4 and 5 show the illumination device (part 22) disposed on the top side of the fixing sheet (part 25), which is accommodated within a limiting slot (part 212) which is on one side of the partition member (part 21). Figs. 1 and 2 then show the orientation of the LED module (part 2) relative to the housing, in which the side of the partition member opposite the limiting slot (part 212) and therefore the illumination device (part 22) is facing the additional components disposed within the housing, including air channels 213 and 214 as seen in Fig. 3).
Regarding the limitation claiming “one baffle disposed around said control unit and another baffle disposed around said power supply in said housing for reducing a chance of the air coming in contact with said control unit and said power supply unit”, the instant specification refers to these baffles as “baffle walls”. Jianwei discloses “the air inlet channel is…formed by at least two mutually parallel and spaced vertical plates” (see [0045]), and “the air outlet channel is… formed by at least two mutually parallel and spaced vertical plates” (see [0045]). When viewing figure 3 of Jianwei, it clearly shows vertical plates disposed around the main controller 1 and the power supply unit 4. Jianwei further states that “the main control board 1 and the driving power supply 4 are respectively located in the areas outside the air outlet channel and the air inlet channel” (see [0045]). It is clear that the vertical plates of Jianwei effectively act as the baffle walls disclosed by applicant, as they are disposed around the control board and the power supply, and act as guiding surfaces to control the movement of air. Because the vertical plates, analogous to the claimed baffles, are disposed around the control board and power supply, both of which were specified by Jianwei as being disposed outside of the air channels, they naturally have the effect of reducing a chance of the air coming in contact with said control unit and said power supply. Further, the limitation claiming, “for reducing a chance of the air coming in contact with said control unit and said power supply unit” is a functional limitation that does not limit the structure and need not be given further due consideration in determining patentability of an apparatus.
Regarding Claim 2, Jianwei discloses the air sanitation device according to claim 1, wherein said partition member and said housing together define an accommodating space isolated from said air channel (see e.g. [0029] and Figs. 3-4, part 211), and said illumination device is disposed in said accommodating space (see e.g., Fig. 4, part 211 and part 22).
Regarding Claim 3, Jianwei discloses the air sanitation device according to claim 2, wherein said accommodating space and said air channel are parallel on two sides of said partition member (see e.g. [0045], [0029] and Fig. 1-4, parts 213, 214, 21, and 211).
With regard to the above limitation, the part that acts as a partition member (part 21) is depicted in Fig. 4 as having 2 sides or faces, both of which are flat and parallel to each other. With the depicted structure, as described above, it is inherent by the nature of flat surfaces that the spaces on either side (in this case, said accommodating space and said air channel) are parallel to each other. This is based on the geometry of a flat surface, as the spaces on either side maintain a consistent distance from the surface, with no convergence or divergence for the duration of the partition’s length, and are therefore parallel.
Regarding Claim 4, Jianwei discloses the air sanitation device according to claim 1, wherein said partition member is configured to permit said illumination device to be fixed to said second side of said partition member (the diffusion plate 26 and the back plate 21 are detachably connected… the LED light board 22 are fixed in the groove 211 by the diffusion plate 26; see [0047]).
Regarding Claim 5, Jianwei discloses the air sanitation device according to claim 1, wherein said partition member is fixed to said housing (the back panel 21 is connected to the first shell 64; see [0040]).
Regarding Claim 6, Jianwei discloses the air sanitation device according to claim 5, which further comprises a first fixing mechanism configured to fix said partition member to said housing (the back panel 21… abut against the clamping feet, so that the back panel 21 is clamped at… the first shell 64; see [0044]), said first fixing mechanism being distributed around said light outlet (the plurality of clamping feet are arranged at intervals around the light outlet 61; see [0044]).
Regarding Claim 7, Jianwei discloses the air sanitation device according to claim 1, wherein: said partition member includes a main board portion having an edge and a side board extending from said edge of said main board portion toward said light outlet (see e.g. [0040] and [0041] and Fig. 4 parts 21 and 22, and Fig. 1 parts 2 and 61); said main board portion and said side board together define an accommodating cavity opening toward said light outlet (a groove 211 is provided on one side of the back panel 21… the groove 211 is communicated with the light outlet 61; see e.g. [0040]); and said illumination device is at least partially disposed in said accommodating cavity (The LED light board 22 is located between the inner wall of the groove 211; see e.g. [0040]).
Regarding Claim 8, Jianwei discloses the air sanitation device according to claim 7, wherein said illumination device includes a light source (LED lamp board; see e.g. [0041], part 22), said light source includes a light emitting element (LED lamp beads; see e.g. [0041], part 222) and a circuit board (substrate; see e.g. [0041] part 221) carrying said light emitting element (The LED lamp beads 222 are arranged on one side of the substrate 221; see [0041]), and said circuit board extends along said side board (see e.g. [0041] part 251 and Fig. 4, parts 22 and 25).
Regarding the limitation claiming “a circuit board carrying said light emitting element”, Jianwei teaches “… the LED lamp board includes a substrate”, where the substrate is analogous to the claimed circuit board. For the purposes of examination, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “circuit board” is any physical platform or structure that provides a means to electrically connect and support electronic components, and therefore the substrate taught by Jianwei satisfies the limitation. If the claim limitation specified a printed circuit board instead of just a circuit board, then the interpretation of the term would be narrowed.
Regarding Claim 9, Jianwei discloses the air sanitation device according to claim 8, wherein said partition member has a first slot formed therein extending along said side board (plug in slot; see e.g. [0041] part 251), and said circuit board is at least partially located in said first slot (part of the substrate 221 is plugged into the plug-in slot 251; see e.g. [0041]).
Regarding Claim 10, Jianwei discloses the air sanitation device according to claim 9, wherein said illumination device includes a light guide plate (light guide plate; see e.g. [0029] part 24) having an end and a frame bar (fixing plate 25; see [0041]) fixing said light source to said end of said light guide plate (The LED module also includes a fixing plate 25; see e.g. [0041]; and “the light guide plate and the fixing sheet can be bonded together”; see [0042] and Fig. 4 parts 25 and 22), said frame bar has a protrusion supporting said circuit board and protruding toward said first slot (The fixing plate 25 is provided with a plug-in slot 251… part of the substrate 221 is plugged into the plug-in slot; see [0041] and see Fig. 4 parts 22 and 25), and said protrusion extends into said first slot (The fixing plate 25 is accommodated in the limiting slot; see e.g. [0041] and Fig. 4, part 25).
Regarding Claim 11, Jianwei discloses the air sanitation device according to claim 1, wherein said illumination device includes a light diffuser (diffuser 26; see e.g. [0029]), and said light diffuser is fixed to said partition member (the diffusion plate 26 and the back plate 21 are detachably connected; see e.g. [0047]).
Regarding Claim 12, Jianwei discloses the air sanitation device according to claim 11, wherein said light diffuser is at least partially accommodated in said partition member (fixed in the groove 211 by the diffusion plate; see e.g. [0047]).
Regarding Claim 13, Jianwei discloses the air sanitation device according to claim 11, wherein: said light diffuser has a surface facing said light outlet (see e.g. [0047], Figs. 1 and 4, parts 26 and 61); and said surface of said light diffuser does not exceed said distal end surface of said partition member (see the annotated figure below).
Regarding the limitation claiming, “said partition member has a distal end surface facing said light outlet”, for the purpose of examining, “distal end surface” is interpreted as the farthest end surface of the partition in relation to any reference point. Therefore, Jianwei teaches a partition (part 21) with a distal end surface facing said light outlet. This is exemplified in the figures below.
Regarding Claim 14, Jianwei discloses the air sanitation device according to claim 1, wherein: said housing includes a side wall and an air inlet penetrating through said side wall (see e.g. [0033] and annotated figure 3 below where part 62 is the air inlet), said partition member has an end surface adjacent to said air inlet (see e.g. annotated figure 2 below), defining a gap between said end surface and said side wall; and said end surface and said side wall are respectively located in planes forming an angle therebetween.
Regarding the limitation claiming, “end surface adjacent to said air inlet, defining a gap between said end surface and said side wall; and said end surface and said side wall are respectively located in planes forming an angle therebetween”, it can be seen in all of the figures above that the end surface of the partition member is a rectangle in shape, while the housing side walls are disposed at an angle. When the partition member is placed in the housing, a gap will naturally be disposed between the end surface of the partition member and the air inlet due to the nature of the shapes of each part. It can also be seen that the side wall and end surface of the partition member extend in different planes and therefore form an angle therebetween. Additionally, the limitation is silent as to the degree of the angle formed. Therefore, for the purpose examining, any angle formed between the partition member and side wall is considered as being analogous to the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 15, it differs from claim 1 in that it is an air sanitation device instead of an air sanitation device specifically for refrigerators. Therefore, claim 15 is analyzed similarly as claim 1. Please see claim 1 for detailed analysis.
Conclusion
/A.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1774
/CLAIRE X WANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1774