DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated 08/12/2025, in which claims 1, 14,16-17 were amended, claims 3, 5-13, 18-20 were withdrawn, has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US Pub. 20200144453), hereafter Chang453 in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 20210057623) and Konishi et al. (US Pub. 20160233401).
Regarding claim 1, Chang453 discloses in Fig. 3, Fig. 5, Fig. 6 a display device comprising:
a first electrode [E1 and PE1] and a second electrode [E2 and PE2] extending in one direction on a substrate [BS1] and spaced from each other;
a plurality of light emitting elements [ED] located on the first electrode [E1 and PE1] and the second electrode [E2 and PE2] in an emission area [PA],
a first connection electrode [CTE1] on the first electrode [E1 and PE1] and in contact with at least one of the plurality of light emitting elements in the emission area [PA],
wherein each of the first electrode [E1 and PE1] and the second electrode [E2 and PE2] comprises a main electrode portion and a plurality of sub-electrode portions [comprises only E1 or E2 layer] having a thickness smaller than that of the main electrode portion in a thickness direction of the display device,
wherein the plurality of sub-electrode portions of each of the first electrode [E1 and PE1] and the second electrode [E2 and PE2] are connected to respective sides of the main electrode portion of the corresponding ones of the first electrode [E1 and PE1] and the second electrode [E2 and PE2] in the one direction, and
wherein at least one of both ends of a light emitting element [ED] of the plurality of light emitting elements is located on the main electrode portion of the first electrode [E1 and PE1] and the second electrode [E2 and PE2];
wherein the main electrode portion of the first electrode and the main electrode portion of the second electrode face each other and partially overlap the light emitting element [ED][See annotated drawing].
Chang453 fails to disclose
a first insulating layer on the first electrode and the second electrode; and
the plurality of light emitting elements being on the first insulating layer;
wherein the first connection electrode is in contact with at least one of the plurality of sub-electrode portions of the first electrode in a non-emission area spaced from the emission area.
Kim et al. discloses in Fig. 5-Fig. 8, paragraph [0133], [0145]-[0147], [0157]-[0160]
a first insulating layer [INS1] on the first electrode [REL1 and CPL1] and the second electrode [REL2 and CPL2]; and
the plurality of light emitting elements [LD] being on the first insulating layer [INS1];
wherein the first connection electrode [CNE1] is in contact with at least one of the plurality of sub-electrode portions of the first electrode [REL1 and CPL1] in a non-emission area [CA] spaced from the emission area [VA][Fig. 5, Fig. 8].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim et al. into the method of Chang453 to include a first insulating layer on the first electrode and the second electrode; and the plurality of light emitting elements being on the first insulating layer; wherein the first connection electrode is in contact with at least one of the plurality of sub-electrode portions of the first electrode in a non-emission area spaced from the emission area. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chang453 in the above manner for the purpose of stably supporting the light emitting element; providing suitable alternative area for forming electrical contact between the first connection electrode and the first electrode [paragraph [0133], [0145]-[0147], [0157]-[0160] of Kim et al.].
Chang453 fails to disclose
the plurality of sub-electrode portions having a same number of conductive layer with that of the main electrode portion.
Chang453 discloses that the plurality of sub-electrode portions are thinner electrode portions and the main electrode portion is a thicker electrode portion.
Konishi et al. discloses in Fig. 13- Fig. 21
wherein the first main electrode portion [portion of etching frame 203 or 403 overlapped with LED chip 5 or 405] has a thickness greater than that of the first sub-electrode portions [wiring portion of etching frame 203 or 403] in a thickness direction of the display device and having a same number of conductive layer with that of the first sub-electrode portions.
Konishi et al. further discloses
wherein the main electrode portion of the first electrode and the main electrode portion of the second electrode face each other and partially overlap the light emitting element [5 or 405]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Konishi et al. into the method of Chang453 to include the plurality of sub-electrode portions having a same number of conductive layer with that of the main electrode portion. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chang453 in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable alternative method for forming electrode having different thicknesses. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Chang453 discloses in Fig. 3, Fig. 5, Fig. 6
wherein both sides of the main electrode portion of each of the first electrode [E1 and PE1] and the second electrode [E2 and PE2], in the one direction, are integrated and connected to the corresponding ones of the plurality of sub-electrode portions;
a via layer [INS4] between the substrate [BS1] and the first [E1 and PE1] and the second [E2 and PE2] electrodes, wherein each of the main electrode portions and the plurality of sub-electrode portions is directly on the via layer [INS4].
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Pub. 20210057623) in view of Konishi et al. (US Pub. 20160233401) and Chang et al. (US Pub. 20200144453), hereafter Chang453.
Regarding claim 14, Kim et al. discloses in Fig. 5-Fig. 8 a display device comprising:
a first electrode [REL1 and CPL1] comprising a first main electrode portion extending in a first direction [DR2], and a plurality of first sub-electrode portions connected to both sides of the first main electrode portion in the first direction [DR2][annotated Fig. 5];
a second electrode [REL2 and CPL2] spaced from the first electrode [REL1 and CPL1] in a second direction [DR1] and extending in the first direction [DR2][annotated Fig. 5];
a plurality of light emitting elements [LD] in an emission area [VA] having one end [EP1 or EP2] located on the first electrode [REL1 and CPL1] or the second electrode [REL2 and CPL2] [annotated Fig. 5 and Fig. 6];
a first connection electrode [CNE1] on the first electrode [REL1 and CPL1] and in contact with some of the plurality of light emitting elements [LD][annotated Fig. 5 and Fig. 6]; and
a second connection electrode [CNE2] on the second electrode [REL2 and CPL2] and in contact with other ones of the plurality of light emitting elements [another ones LD][annotated Fig. 5 and Fig. 6];
wherein the plurality of light emitting elements [LD] comprises first light emitting elements [LD] having one end [EP1] located on the first main electrode portion [annotated Fig. 5 and Fig. 6];
wherein the first connection electrode [CNE1] is on the first main electrode portion and at least one of the first sub-electrode portions is in contact with the first connection electrode [CNE1] in a non-emission area [CA] through a first contact portion penetrating a first insulating layer [INS1], the non-emission area [CA] being spaced from the emission area [VA][annotated Fig. 5 and Fig. 8][paragraph [0132], [0144]-[0146], [0157]-[0160]].
Kim et al. fails to disclose
wherein the first main electrode portion has a thickness greater than that of the first sub-electrode portions in a thickness direction of the display device and having a same number of conductive layer with that of the first sub-electrode portions.
Chang453 discloses in Fig. 3, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, paragraph [0079]-[0093]
wherein the first main electrode portion has a thickness greater than that of the first sub-electrode portions in a thickness direction of the display device.
Konishi et al. discloses in Fig. 18-Fig. 21
wherein the first main electrode portion [portion 415 of etching frame overlapped with LED chip 405] has a thickness greater than that of the first sub-electrode portions [wiring portion of etching frame 403] in a thickness direction of the display device and having a same number of conductive layer with that of the first sub-electrode portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Konishi et al. and Chang453 into the method of Kim et al. to include wherein the first main electrode portion has a thickness greater than that of the first sub-electrode portions in a thickness direction of the display device and having a same number of conductive layer with that of the first sub-electrode portions. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim et al. in the above manner for the purpose of enhancing heat dissipation effect of the light emitting device and improving an alignment degree of the light emitting elements ED [paragraph [0182 of Konishi et al., paragraph [0102], [0119]-[0120] of Chang453] . Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 15, Kim et al. discloses in Fig. 5-Fig. 8
wherein the second electrode [REL2 and CPL2] comprises a second main electrode portion extending in the first direction [DR2]; and
a plurality of second sub-electrode portions connected to both sides of the second main electrode portion in the first direction [DR2], and wherein the first light emitting elements [LD] have another end [EP2] located on the second main electrode portion [annotated Fig. 5 and Fig. 6];
Chang453 also discloses in Fig. 3, Fig. 5,
wherein the second electrode [E2 and PE2] comprises a second main electrode portion extending in the first direction; and
a plurality of second sub-electrode portions connected to both sides of the second main electrode portion in the first direction, and wherein the first light emitting elements [ED] have another end located on the second main electrode portion;
Regarding claim 16, Kim et al. discloses in Fig. 5-Fig. 8
wherein the first insulating layer [INS1] is on the first electrode [REL1 and CPL1] and the second electrode [REL2 and CPL2], and
wherein the second connection electrode [CNE2] is on the second main electrode portion and the second connection electrode [CNE2] is in contact with at least one of the plurality of second sub- electrode portions through a second contact portion penetrating the first insulating layer [INS1] annotated Fig. 5 and Fig. 8][paragraph [0132], [0144]-[0146], [0157]-[0160]].
Regarding claim 17, Kim et al. discloses in Fig. 5-Fig. 8
a bank layer [BNK1, BNK2] that is around the emission area including the plurality of light emitting elements [LD], and a sub-region located on one side of the emission area in the first direction [DR2], wherein each of the first main electrode portion and the second main electrode portion is located in the emission area [VA], and each of the first sub-electrode portions and the second sub-electrode portions is located across the emission area and the sub-region.
Chang453 also discloses in Fig. 3, Fig. 5,
a bank layer [BR1, BR2] that is around an emission area [PA] including the plurality of light emitting elements [ED], and a sub-region located on one side of the emission area in the first direction, wherein each of the first main electrode portion and the second main electrode portion is located in the emission area [PA], and each of the first sub-electrode portions and the second sub-electrode portions is located across the emission area [PA] and the sub-region.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments in pages 18-19, Examiner respectfully disagrees because“the elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2131.
The contact region has no light emitting device formed therein, therefore it is equivalent with the claimed “non-emission area”. As stated above, Kim et al. suggests in Fig. 5 and Fig. 8 the limitation of “wherein the first connection electrode [CNE1] is in contact with at least one of the plurality of sub-electrode portions of the first electrode [REL1 and CPL1] in a non-emission area [CA] spaced from the emission area [VA].”
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The claims stand rejected and the Action is made FINAL.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893