DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species C and Species G (Figs. 3 and 10D) directed to claims 1-10 in the reply filed on May 5th, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 7 recites limitation “(1T-1C)” in line 3 as an abbreviation, and repeatedly recites the same limitation “(1T-1C)” in line 6 for another abbreviation. Claim 7 should be amended to change “one-transistor-one-capacitor (1T-1C)” in lines 5-6 to “1T-1C” for avoiding confusing language. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (Pub. No.: US 2015/0371951 A1), hereinafter as Yeh, and in view of Liaw (Pub. No.: US 2006/0102957 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yeh discloses an integrated circuit structure in Fig. 2, comprising: a first die (device 111 being logic die) comprising a first device layer (first active devices of transistors and passive devices) and a first plurality of metallization layers (first metallization layers) over the first device layer (see [0023-0024] and [0026]), wherein the first device layer is a logic device layer (transistors and passive device of capacitors/resistors can provide function for logic circuit); a second die (device 113 being memory die) comprising a second device layer (second active devices) and a second plurality of metallization layers (second metallization layers), the second die separated from the first die by a scribe region (a region of encapsulant 115 between device 111 and 113) (see [0029]), wherein the second device layer is a transistor device layer (second active devices of device 113 being transistors) (see [0023] and [0028]); and a common conductive interconnection (one conductive line of the third metallization layers 207) coupling the first die and the second die at a first side of the first and second dies (through pad 123 of device 111 and pad 125 of device 113) (upper surfaces of devices 111 and 113) (see [0044-0045]).
Yeh fails to disclose the second plurality of metallization layers over the second device layer and the second plurality of metallization layers comprises a layer of capacitor structures between an upper metallization layer portion and a lower metallization layer portion.
Liaw discloses an integrated circuit in Fig. 12 comprising a memory die (DRAM device 340) comprising a device layer (transistor P3) and a plurality of metallization layers (capacitor C3, metal wires 360, and wires 370) over the device layer (see [0078-0079], [0082]), wherein the second device layer is a transistor device layer (transistor P3), and the plurality of metallization layers comprises a layer of capacitor structures (a top plate 356b of capacitor C3) between an upper metallization layer portion (via and metal wires 360) and a lower metallization layer portion (via connecting to bottom plate 358b) (see [0082]).
Modifying the second die of Yeh to have the same structure of the memory die (DRAM device 340) of Liaw for having the plurality of metallization layers disposing over the second device layer and the second plurality of metallization layers comprising a layer of capacitor structures between an upper metallization layer portion and a lower metallization layer portion for disclosing all limitations of claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the second die of Yeh to have the same structure of the memory die of Liaw because the modified structure would more liable memory chip of packaging with small soft error on integrated circuit and further reduce low manufacturing cost (see Liaw and [0003-0005]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yeh and Liaw discloses the integrated circuit structure of claim 1, wherein a capacitor structure of the layer of capacitor structures is coupled to a transistor of the transistor device layer of the second die to provide a one-transistor-one-capacitor (1 T-1 C) memory device (capacitor C3 and transistor P3) (see Liaw and Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yeh and Liaw discloses the integrated circuit structure of claim 1, wherein the second die is vertically partitioned into a first memory structure and a second memory structure (DRAM cell 340 can made into multiple cell memory of the first memory structure and the second memory structure) (see Liaw and Figs 1 and 12).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yeh and Liaw discloses the integrated circuit structure of claim 1, wherein the common conductive interconnection is a signal line (one conductive line of the third metallization layers 207 can send signal between devices 111 and 113) (see Yeh and Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Yeh and Liaw discloses the integrated circuit structure of claim 1, wherein the common conductive interconnection is a backside power rail (one conductive line of the third metallization layers 207 can function to provide power to devices 111 and 113) (see Yeh and Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 6, Yeh discloses an integrated circuit structure in Fig. 2, comprising: a first die (device 111 being memory die) comprising a first device layer (first active devices of transistors and passive devices) and a first plurality of metallization layers (first metallization layers) over the first device layer, wherein the first device layer is a first transistor device layer (see [0023-0024] and [0026]); a second die (device 113 also being memory die) comprising a second device layer (second active devices) and a second plurality of metallization layers (second metallization layers), the second die separated from the first die by a scribe region (a region of encapsulant 115 between device 111 and 113) (see [0029]), wherein the second device layer is a second transistor device layer (second active devices of device 113 being transistors) (see [0023] and [0028]); and a common conductive interconnection (one conductive line of the third metallization layers 207) coupling the first die and the second die at a first side of the first and second dies (through pad 123 of device 111 and pad 125 of device 113) (upper surfaces of devices 111 and 113) (see [0044-0045]).
Yeh fails to disclose the first plurality of metallization layers comprises a first layer of capacitor structures between a first upper metallization layer portion and a first lower metallization layer portion, the second plurality of metallization layers over the second device layer and the second plurality of metallization layers comprises a second layer of capacitor structures between an second upper metallization layer portion and a second lower metallization layer portion.
Liaw discloses an integrated circuit in Fig. 12 comprising a memory die (DRAM device 340) comprising a device layer (transistor P3) and a plurality of metallization layers (capacitor C3, metal wires 360, and wires 370) over the device layer (see [0078-0079], [0082]), wherein the second device layer is a transistor device layer (transistor P3), and the plurality of metallization layers comprises a layer of capacitor structures (a top plate 356b of capacitor C3) between an upper metallization layer portion (via and metal wires 360) and a lower metallization layer portion (via connecting to bottom plate 358b) (see [0082]).
Modifying each of the first die and the second die of Yeh to have the same structure of the memory die (DRAM device 340) of Liaw for forming the first die comprising the first plurality of metallization layers comprising a first layer of capacitor structures between a first upper metallization layer portion and a first lower metallization layer portion and forming the second die comprising the second plurality of metallization layers disposing over the second device layer and the second plurality of metallization layers comprising a second layer of capacitor structures between a second upper metallization layer portion and a second lower metallization layer portion as recited in claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first die and second die of Yeh to have the same structure of the memory die of Liaw because the modified structure would more liable memory chips of packaging with small soft error on integrated circuit and further reduce low manufacturing cost (see Liaw and [0003-0005]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yeh and Liaw discloses the integrated circuit structure of claim 6, wherein a capacitor structure of the first layer of capacitor structures is coupled to a transistor of the first transistor device layer of the first die to provide a first one-transistor-one-capacitor (1 T-1 C) memory device (capacitor C3 and transistor P3) (see Liaw and Fig. 12), and wherein a capacitor structure of the second layer of capacitor structures is coupled to a transistor of the second transistor device layer of the second die to provide a second one-transistor-one-capacitor (1T-1C) memory device (capacitor C3 and transistor P3) (see Liaw and Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Yeh and Liaw discloses the integrated circuit structure of claim 6, wherein the second die is vertically partitioned into a first memory structure and a second memory structure (DRAM cell 340 can made into multiple cell memory of the first memory structure and the second memory structure) (see Liaw and Figs 1 and 12).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Yeh and Liaw discloses the integrated circuit structure of claim 6, wherein the common conductive interconnection is a signal line (one conductive line of the third metallization layers 207 can send signal between devices 111 and 113) (see Yeh and Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Yeh and Liaw discloses the integrated circuit structure of claim 6, wherein the common conductive interconnection is a backside power rail (one conductive line of the third metallization layers 207 can function to provide power to devices 111 and 113) (see Yeh and Fig. 12).
Conclusion
/CUONG B NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818