DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
As stated in page 2 of the Office Action, filed 10/03/2025, the restrictions of claim 18, in addition of claims 19-20 by virtue of their dependency on claim 18, had been withdrawn. Accordingly, claims 18-20 have been examined for patentability (see pages 11-13 of the Office Action filed 10/03/2025) and should have no longer been indicated as withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/22/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant's amendments to claims 1 and 11 and corresponding arguments, pages 6-8 of the remarks, filed 12/02/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections of claims 1 and 11 as unpatentable over 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180090848 A1; Elsherbini et al.; (hereinafter “Elsherbini”) in view of US 20160276729 A1; Dang et al.; (hereinafter “Dang”) have been fully considered and are not found persuasive.
Applicant argues in pages 6-8 of the remarks that the references used in Office Action, filed 10/03/2025, do not teach at least the limitation: “a die above the core, the die vertically overlapping with and electrically coupled to the fin of the electromagnetic wave launcher and one or more of the plurality of conductive vias” in combination with other claimed elements, recited in the amended claim 1 and similarly in the amended 11. However, examiner respectfully disagrees. Elsherbini in view of Dang does provide a clear teaching of the amended claimed limitation. (See 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1 and 11 below)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elsherbini in view of Dang.
Regarding Claim 1 (currently amended), Elsherbini teaches an electronic package (#130, [0038], a semiconductor package), comprising:
a core (#150, Figure 1A, [0037], waveguide connector contains at least wave launcher);
an electromagnetic wave launcher (#120, Figure 1A, slot launcher) in the core (#120 disposes within #150), wherein the electromagnetic wave launcher comprises:
a fin (#124/#126, Figure 1A, members of the launcher #120 extend vertically, perpendicular to the package surface #132), wherein the fin is a conductive material ([0041], #124/#126 conductively couples to conductive member #114), and wherein the fin comprises a stepped profile (Figure 7A, [0073], #124/#126 can comprise stepped edge);
Elsherbini does not explicitly teach the core comprises glass; and a plurality of conductive vias extending through the core, the plurality of conductive vias laterally spaced apart from the fin of the electromagnetic wave launcher; and a die above the core, the die vertically overlapping with and electrically coupled to the fin of the
electromagnetic wave launcher and one or more of the plurality of conductive vias.
However, Dang teaches an electronic package ([0021], package includes waveguide), wherein the core (#130, Figure 1A, waveguide substrate) comprise glass ([0036], #130 comprises glass), a plurality of conductive vias (#138, Figure 1A, conductive through via) extending through the core (#138 extends through #130), the plurality of conductive vias laterally spaced apart from the fin of the electromagnetic wave launcher (#132, integrated waveguide vertically extends in substrate #130, see also above rejection for electromagnetic wave launcher comprising fin, wherein #138 dispose laterally apart from #132); and a die (#110, [0023], IC chips) above the core (#130), the die vertically overlapping with and electrically coupled to the fin of the electromagnetic wave launcher and one or more of the plurality of conductive vias (Figure 1A, [0029-0030], IC chip #110 vertically overlap the integrated waveguide #132 and vias #138 and electrically connect to #132 and #138 via transmission line #116 and connector #150 respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Elsherbini with the teaching of Dang, as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (a dielectric material of the waveguide connector according to [0055] of Elsherbini) for another (high resistivity material such as glass for the substrate according to [0036] of Dang) in comparable structures (see Figures 1A of Elsherbini and Dang annotated above) to obtain predictable results, see MPEP 2143(I)(B), and in order to provide electrical connection between the contact pads and wiring patterns that supplies power to the IC chips connecting to the waveguide according to Dang, [0034].
Regarding Claim 2, Elsherbini in view of Dang teaches the electronic package as described in claim 1, wherein Elsherbini further teaches an electromagnetic waveguide in the core (#150, Figure 1A, [0043], internal structure of waveguide connector allows signal to propagate along axis #128) adjacent to the fin (#124/#126 disposes within the waveguide connector #150).
Regarding Claim 3, Elsherbini in view of Dang teaches the electronic package as described in claim 2, wherein Elsherbini further teaches an external waveguide (#150B, Figure 5A, waveguide connector) communicatively coupled to the electromagnetic waveguide in the core (#150A, see the rejection of claim 2, wherein #150B communicably couples to #150A according to [0054]).
Regarding Claim 4, Elsherbini in view of Dang teaches the electronic package as described in claim 1, wherein Elsherbini further teaches conductive walls (#152A, Figure 5A, closed terminal ends allow waveguide connectors #150A and #150B to be communicably coupled) surrounding the fin (Figure 1A or Figure 5A, #152/#152A surrounds #124/#126).
Regarding Claim 5, Elsherbini in view of Dang teaches the electronic package as described in claim 1, wherein Elsherbini further teaches the fin (#124/#126, Figure 1A) is communicatively coupled to a transceiver on the electronic package (#110, Figure 1A, slot-line signal converter, wherein #124/#126 couples to conductive member #114 of #110. Furthermore, #110 couples to the package #130 to receive and convert signal from a source according to [0040 & 0041] and transmits the converted signal to the wave launcher #120 according to [0043]).
Regarding Claim 6, Elsherbini in view of Dang teaches the electronic package as described in claim 1, wherein Elsherbini further teaches
a ground plane under the fin (#114, Figure 1A, conductive member, wherein #114 locates under member #124/#126);
a slot through the ground plane (#118, Figure 1A, [0032], double-lobed balun structure, wherein #118 disposes within #114); and
a feed line (#140, Figure 1C, microstrip feed line) under the ground plane (#140 disposes under #114).
Regarding Claim 7, Elsherbini in view of Dang teaches the electronic package as described in claim 6, wherein Elsherbini further teaches the slot is a dumbbell shaped slot (Figure 1B, [0040], #118 is dumbbell shaped).
Regarding Claim 8, Elsherbini in view of Dang teaches the electronic package as described in claim 7, wherein Elsherbini further teaches the feed line is aligned with the fin (Figure 1B, microstrip feed line #140 aligns horizontally with member/ fin #126).
Regarding Claim 9, Elsherbini in view of Dang teaches the electronic package as described in claim 8, wherein Elsherbini further teaches the fin is centered on the slot (Figure 1B, #126 cuts through the center of balun structure #118).
Regarding Claim 10, Elsherbini in view of Dang teaches the electronic package as described in claim 1, wherein Elsherbini further teaches the electromagnetic wave launcher is configured to launch mm-Wave signals or sub-THz signals ([0027 & 0028], the wave launcher is a millimeter-wave antenna).
Regarding Claim 11 (currently amended), Elsherbini teaches an electronic package (#130, [0038], a semiconductor package), comprising:
a core (#150A/#150B, Figure 5A, [0064], waveguide connector contains at least wave launcher);
a plurality of electromagnetic wave launchers (#120C-D, Figure 5A, tapered slot launchers) in the core (#120C and #120D dispose within #150A and #150B respectively), wherein the plurality of electromagnetic wave launchers are laterally adjacent to each other (Figure 5A, #120C and #120D dispose laterally next to each other), and wherein each electromagnetic wave launcher comprises:
a ground plane (#114, Figure 5A, conductive member);
a slot through the ground plane (#118A, Figure 5A, [0032], double-lobed balun structure, wherein #118A disposes within #114);
a feed line (#140, Figure 1C or Figure 5A, microstrip feed line) below the slot (#140 disposes under #118/#118A); and
a fin (#124/#126, Figure 1A or Figure 5A, members of the launcher #120 extend vertically, perpendicular to the package surface #132) over the slot (#124/#126 disposes on top of #118/#118A), wherein the fin has a stepped profile (Figure 7A, [0073], #124/#126 can comprise stepped edge).
Elsherbini does not explicitly teach the core comprises glass; and a plurality of conductive vias extending through the core, the plurality of conductive vias laterally spaced apart from the fin of the electromagnetic wave launcher; and a die above the core, the die vertically overlapping with and electrically coupled to the fin of one or more the plurality of electromagnetic wave launchers and one or more of the plurality of conductive vias.
However, Dang teaches an electronic package ([0021], package includes waveguide), wherein the core (#130, Figure 1A, waveguide substrate) comprise glass ([0036], #130 comprises glass), a plurality of conductive vias (#138, Figure 1A, conductive through via) extending through the core (#138 extends through #130), the plurality of conductive vias laterally spaced apart from the fin of the electromagnetic wave launcher (#132, integrated waveguide vertically extends in substrate #130, see also above rejection for electromagnetic wave launcher comprising fin, wherein #138 dispose laterally apart from #132); and
a die (#110, [0023], IC chips) above the core (#130), the die vertically overlapping with and electrically coupled to the fin of one or more the plurality of electromagnetic wave launchers and one or more of the plurality of conductive vias (Figure 1A, [0029-0030], IC chip #110 vertically overlap the integrated waveguide #132 and vias #138 and electrically connect to #132 and #138 via transmission line #116 and connector #150 respectively, see the rejection above regarding the fin of electromagnetic wave launcher).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Elsherbini with the teaching of Dang, as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (a dielectric material of the waveguide connector according to [0055] of Elsherbini) for another (high resistivity material such as glass for the substrate according to [0036] of Dang) in comparable structures (see Figures 1A of Elsherbini and Dang annotated) to obtain predictable results, see MPEP 2143(I)(B), and in order to provide electrical connection between the contact pads and wiring patterns that supplies power to the IC chips connecting to the waveguide according to Dang, [0034].
Regarding Claim 12, Elsherbini in view of Dang teaches the electronic package as described in claim 11, wherein Elsherbini further teaches the plurality of electromagnetic wave launchers comprises at least four electromagnetic wave launchers (Figure 5A, [0065], package #130 can comprises five or more slot launchers #120 corresponding to the numbers of signal converters #110).
Regarding Claim 13, Elsherbini in view of Dang teaches the electronic package as described in claim 11, wherein Elsherbini further teaches adjacent electromagnetic wave launchers (Figure 5A annotated, waveguide connectors #150A and #150B contains slot launchers #120A and #120B respectively) share a conductive wall (#W1, Figure 5A annotated, a shared wall between communicably coupled waveguide connectors #150A and #150B, wherein conductive adhesive or bonding agent are used according to [0054]).
Regarding Claim 14, Elsherbini in view of Dang teaches the electronic package as described in claim 11, wherein Elsherbini further teaches the feed line is aligned with the fin (Figure 1B, microstrip feed line #140 aligns horizontally with member/ fin #126).
Regarding Claim 15, Elsherbini in view of Dang teaches the electronic package as described in claim 11, wherein Elsherbini further teaches the slot is a dumbbell shaped slot (Figure 1B, [0040], balun structure #118 is dumbbell shaped).
Regarding Claim 16, Elsherbini in view of Dang teaches the electronic package as described in claim 15, wherein Elsherbini further teaches the feed line is centered on the slot (Figure 1B, microstrip feed line #140 cuts through the center of balun structure #118).
Regarding Claim 17 (currently amended), Elsherbini in view of Dang teaches the electronic package as described in claim 11, wherein Elsherbini further teaches a second plurality of electromagnetic wave launchers (#120A-B, Figure 5A, tapered slot launchers) in the glass core (#120A and #120B dispose within #150A and #150B respectively), wherein the second plurality of electromagnetic wave launchers are above the plurality of electromagnetic wave launchers (Figure 5A-B, #120A and #120B dispose above #120C and #120D respectively).
Regarding Claim 18 (currently amended), Elsherbini teaches an electronic system (#100, wave launcher system), comprising:
a board ([0039], additional systems or devices can dispose within package #130);
a package substrate (#130, Figure 1A, semiconductor package) coupled to the board, wherein the package substrate comprises:
a core (#150A/#150B, Figure 5A, [0064], waveguide connector contains at least wave launcher);
an electromagnetic wave launcher (#120C-D, Figure 5A, tapered slot launchers) in the core (#120C and #120D dispose within #150A and #150B respectively), wherein the electromagnetic wave launcher comprises:
a fin (#124/#126, Figure 1A, members of the launcher #120 extend vertically, perpendicular to the package surface #132), wherein the fin is a conductive material ([0041], #124/#126 conductively couples to conductive member #114), and wherein the fin comprises a stepped profile (Figure 7A, [0073], #124/#126 can comprise stepped edge).
a die (#110, slot-line signal converter) coupled to the package substrate ([0044], #110 couples to #130).
Elsherbini does not explicitly teach the core comprises glass; and a plurality of conductive vias extending through the core, the plurality of conductive vias laterally spaced apart from the fin of the electromagnetic wave launcher; and a die above the core, and the die vertically overlapping with and electrically coupled to the fin of the electromagnetic wave launcher and one or more of the plurality of conductive vias.
However, Dang teaches an electronic package ([0021], package includes waveguide), wherein the core (#130, Figure 1A, waveguide substrate) comprise glass ([0036], #130 comprises glass), a plurality of conductive vias (#138, Figure 1A, conductive through via) extending through the core (#138 extends through #130), the plurality of conductive vias laterally spaced apart from the fin of the electromagnetic wave launcher (#132, integrated waveguide vertically extends in substrate #130, see also above rejection for electromagnetic wave launcher comprising fin, wherein #138 dispose laterally apart from #132); and
a die above the core (#110, [0023], IC chips dispose above and couple to the glass waveguide substrate #130), the die vertically overlapping with and electrically coupled to the fin of the electromagnetic wave launcher and one or more of the plurality of conductive vias (Figure 1A, [0029-0030], IC chip #110 vertically overlap the integrated waveguide #132 and vias #138 and electrically connect to #132 and #138 via transmission line #116 and connector #150 respectively, see the rejection above regarding the fin of electromagnetic wave launcher).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Elsherbini with the teaching of Dang, as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (a dielectric material of the waveguide connector according to [0055] of Elsherbini) for another (high resistivity material such as glass for the substrate according to [0036] of Dang) to obtain predictable results, see MPEP 2143(I)(B), and in order to provide electrical connection between the contact pads and wiring patterns that supplies power to the IC chips connecting to the waveguide according to Dang, [0034].
Regarding Claim 19, Elsherbini in view of Dang teaches the electronic system as described in claim 18.
Elsherbini does not explicitly teach the die is a transceiver die, and wherein the fin is communicatively coupled to the transceiver die.
However, Dang teaches the die (#110, IC chips) is a transceiver die ([0023], #110 comprise transceiver circuits), and wherein the fin (#132, integrated waveguide, see rejection of claim 18 regarding the fin of electromagnetic waveguide) is communicatively coupled to the transceiver die ([0030], #110 and #132 are communicatively coupled via transmission line #116).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Elsherbini with the teaching of Dang for the reason set forth in the rejection of claim 18.
Regarding Claim 20, Elsherbini in view of Dang teaches the electronic system as described in claim 18, wherein Elsherbini further teaches:
a ground plane under the fin (#114, Figure 1A, conductive member, wherein #114 locates under member #124/#126);
a slot through the ground plane (#118, Figure 1A, [0032], double-lobed balun structure, wherein #118 disposes within #114); and
a feed line (#140, Figure 1C, microstrip feed line) under the ground plane (#140 disposes under #114).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and no relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US9583811B2 – Figures 1 and 5A-B
US20200303329A1 – Figures 3, [0038]
/TIEN TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812