DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the filing of the Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment on 06/23/2025. Currently, claims 1-26 are pending in the application. Claims 1-11 are withdrawn from Consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Matsumoto (US 5309026 A) in view of Warren et al (US 20120104591 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Figure 2 of Matsumoto discloses a method of packaging a semiconductor die (2), the method comprising:
performing a molding process that forms a package structure (1) to enclose the semiconductor die (2) and a bond wire (5), the package structure having a package side (upper side in the Figure 2); and
forming a recess (3) that extends inward from the package side toward a side of the semiconductor die (2), the recess (3) having a bottom that is spaced apart from the side of the semiconductor die (2) and from the bond wire (5), wherein the recess (3) is unfilled.
Matsumoto does not explicitly teach ablating a portion of the package structure (1) to form the recess (3).
However, Warren is a pertinent art which teaches a method of packaging a semiconductor die, the method comprising: performing a molding process that forms a package structure (1500, [0047]) to enclose the semiconductor die (1502, [0047]) and a bond wire (shown between 1502 to 1510), the package structure having a package side (upper side in the Figure 15); and
ablating (Figure 10) a portion of the package structure to form a recess (1002, [0043]) that extends inward from the package side toward a side of the semiconductor die, the recess (at 1504, Figure 15) having a bottom that is spaced apart from the side of the semiconductor die and from the bond wire.
Thus, it would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a recessing process such as ablating in the method of Matsumoto according to the teaching of Warren for an improved method with lower coast, and further, it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions such as ablating method to form recess, with a reasonable expectation of success is obvious. KSR Int'l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727 (2007).
Regarding claim 17, Figure 2 of Matsumoto discloses a method of fabricating an electronic device (1), the method comprising:
attaching a semiconductor die (2) to a supporting structure (4);
coupling a bond wire (5) to a side of the semiconductor die;
performing a molding process that forms a package structure (1) to enclose the semiconductor die and the bond wire, the package structure having a package side (upper side in the Figure 2); and forming a recess (3) that extends inward from the package side toward the side of the semiconductor die (2), the recess having a bottom that is spaced apart from the side of the semiconductor die (2) and from the bond wire (5), wherein the recess is unfilled.
Matsumoto does not explicitly teach ablating a portion of the package structure (1) to form the recess (3).
However, Warren is a pertinent art which teaches a method of packaging a semiconductor die, the method comprising: performing a molding process that forms a package structure (1500, [0047]) to enclose the semiconductor die (1502, [0047]) and a bond wire (shown between 1502 to 1510), the package structure having a package side (upper side in the Figure 15); and
ablating (Figure 10) a portion of the package structure to form a recess (1002, [0043]) that extends inward from the package side toward a side of the semiconductor die, the recess (at 1504, Figure 15) having a bottom that is spaced apart from the side of the semiconductor die and from the bond wire.
Thus, it would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a recessing process such as ablating in the method of Matsumoto according to the teaching of Warren for an improved method with lower coast, and further, it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions such as ablating method to form recess, with a reasonable expectation of success is obvious. KSR Int'l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727 (2007).
Claims 12-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Warren et al (US 20120104591 A1) in view of Matsumoto (US 5309026 A).
Regarding claim 12, Figures 6-15 of Warren disclose a method of packaging a semiconductor die, the method comprising:
performing a molding process that forms a package structure (1500, [0047]) to enclose the semiconductor die (1502, [0047]) and a bond wire (shown between 1502 to 1510), the package structure having a package side (upper side in the Figure 15); and
ablating (Figure 10) a portion of the package structure to form a recess (1002, [0043]) that extends inward from the package side toward a side of the semiconductor die, the recess (at 1504, Figure 15) having a bottom that is spaced apart from the side of the semiconductor die and from the bond wire.
Warren does not explicitly teach that the recess is unfilled.
However, Matsumoto is a pertinent art which teaches an integrated circuit device having reduced stress concentration on the IC chip for prevention of package cracks in the device. Recessed portions (3, Figure 2) are formed in the package at positions corresponding to at least the corner portions of the IC chip to reduce the stress concentration generated at the corner portions of the IC chip (Abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use some unfilled recess in the device of Warren according to the teaching of Matsumoto in order to reduce stress (Abstract of Matsumoto).
Regarding claim 14, Figures 6-15 of Warren disclose that the method of claim 12, wherein the recess has a depth from the package side to the bottom is 50 μm or more ([0034]).
Regarding claim 15, Figures 6-15 of Warren disclose that the method of claim 12, wherein the package structure has a second spacing thickness between the bottom and the bond wire of 25 um or more ([0034], based on Figure considering the depth of recess).
Regarding claim 16, Figures 6-15 of Warren disclose that the method of claim 12, wherein the recess (at 1504, Figure 15) extends over a portion of the semiconductor die.
Regarding claim 17, Figures 6-10 of Warren disclose a method of fabricating an electronic device, the method comprising:
attaching a semiconductor die (602, Figure 6) to a supporting structure (606);
coupling a bond wire (802, Figure 8) to a side of the semiconductor die;
performing a molding process (Figure 9) that forms a package structure to enclose the semiconductor die and the bond wire, the package structure having a package side (upper side in the Figure); and
ablating (Figure 10) a portion of the package structure to form a recess (1002, [0043]) that extends inward from the package side toward the side of the semiconductor die, the recess having a bottom that is spaced apart from the side of the semiconductor die and from the bond wire (802).
Warren does not explicitly teach that the recess is unfilled.
However, Matsumoto is a pertinent art which teaches an integrated circuit device having reduced stress concentration on the IC chip for prevention of package cracks in the device. Recessed portions (3, Figure 2) are formed in the package at positions corresponding to at least the corner portions of the IC chip to reduce the stress concentration generated at the corner portions of the IC chip (Abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use some unfilled recess in the device of Warren according to the teaching of Matsumoto in order to reduce stress (Abstract of Matsumoto).
Regarding claims 13 and 18, Figures 6-15 of Warren in view of Matsumoto does not explicitly teach that the method of claim 12, wherein the package structure has a spacing thickness between the bottom and the side of the semiconductor die of 25 um or more. Or
Figures 6-10 does not teach that the method of claim 17, wherein the package structure has a spacing thickness between the bottom and the side of the semiconductor die of 25 um or more.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the above claimed ranges in order to provide effective heat dissipation ([0004]-[0006]) since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 19, Figures 6-15 of Warren disclose that the method of claim 17, wherein the recess (1002) has a depth from the package side to the bottom of 50 μm or more ([0034]).
Regarding claim 20, Figures 6-15 of Warren disclose that the method of claim 17, wherein the package structure has a second spacing thickness between the bottom and the bond wire of 25 um or more ([0034], based on Figure considering the depth of recess).
Regarding claim 21, Figures 6-15 of Warren disclose that the method of claim 12, wherein the package structure further comprises a second recess having a second bottom that is spaced apart from the side of the semiconductor die and from the bond wire, the second recess having the first depth (Warren teaches plurality of recess with different depth wherein deeper trenches are formed on the middle portion of the semiconductor die).
Regarding claim 22, Figures 6-15 of Warren discloses that the method of claim 21, wherein the second recess extends over another portion the semiconductor die (Figure 15 of Warrant taches that the deeper trenches are formed on the middle portion of the semiconductor die but shallow one is formed on the peripheral region of the semiconductor die).
Regarding claim 23, Figures 6-15 of Warren disclose that the method of claim 21, wherein the second recess has a depth from the package side to the second bottom of 50 um or more ([0034] of Warren).
Regarding claim 24, Figures 6-15 of Warren discloses that the method of claim 17, wherein the package structure further comprises a second recess having a second bottom that is spaced apart from the side of the semiconductor die and from the bond wire (Warren teaches plurality of recess with different depth wherein deeper trenches are formed on the middle portion of the semiconductor die).
Regarding claim 25, Figures 6-15 of Warren disclose that the method of claim 17, wherein the recess extends over a portion of the semiconductor die (Figure 15 of Warrant taches that the deeper trenches are formed on the middle portion of the semiconductor die but shallow one is formed on the peripheral region of the semiconductor die).
Regarding claim 26, Figures 6-15 of Warren disclose that the method of claim 24, wherein the first depth from the package side to the second bottom is 50 um or more ([0034] of Warren).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments regarding the rejection of claims 12-26, filed on 12/22/2025, have been fully considered but arguments are moot because newly added limitation to the claim (s) requires a new ground of rejection necessitated by amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAJA AHMAD/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813