DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is in response to amendments and remarks filed June 27, 2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinsman, (US 2017/0345864 A1) in view of Jun (US 2017/0154913 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Kinsman discloses a receiver system comprising: a printed circuit board (PCB) substrate (PCB 12, Fig. 2), wherein the PCB substrate comprises a first side and a second side, wherein the first and second sides are opposing sides of the PCB substrate (see Fig.2); an image sensor having a photosensitive region (8), wherein photosensitive region (8) is disposed on the first side of the PCB substrate (12); and a readout chip (42, Fig.2), wherein the readout chip (42) is configured to receive and read an output of the image sensor ( see Fig.2, the ISP 42 (readout chip) reads output signals from the image sensor), and wherein the readout chip (42) and the image are connected directly by a connection wire (metallic routing or soldered electrical contacts, [0049]) passing through the PCB substrate (12, see Fig.2).
Kinsman discloses the image sensor having a photosensitive region as shown in Fig.2, but does not disclose the photoelectric sensor array, comprising a plurality of photoelectric sensors as claimed. Jun discloses (Fig.2B) an image sensor chip (44) having a photoelectric sensor array, comprising a plurality of photoelectric sensors (see Fig.2B, paragraph [0030], “image sensor chip 44 includes a photoelectric conversion part 2000 having photoelectric conversion elements PD” disposed on a first side of a PCB substrate. Thus, it would haven been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kinsman, by utilizing the teaching of Jun, to improve detection accuracy, leading to higher image resolution.
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Kinsman in view of Jun, as discussed in claims 1 and 12, Kinsman discloses (Fig.2) a bracket wherein the PCB substrate (PCB circuit board 12) being supported on the bracket (the bracket is inherently included which is used to hold or support the PCB circuit board).
Claims 2, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinsman, in view of Jun, and further in view Onal et al., (US 2019/0094361 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Kinsman, in view of Jun, as discussed in claims 1 and 12, do not disclose the second-stage amplifier as claimed. Onal et al., disclose a second-stage amplifier, coupled to the readout chip, and configured to amplify an output of the readout chip. (Fig.3, paragraph [0064]- the signal path from the photodetectors to the reference node 310 then to the TIA which amplifies the output of the readout chip). In combination, the second-stage amplifier would be disposed on the second side of the PCB substrate as claimed. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kinsman, in view of Jun, by utilizing the teaching of Onal et al., to improve the quality of the detected signal, leading to better performance for the system.
Claims 3-6 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinsman, in view of Jun, Onal et al., and further in view of Guo et al., (CN110376568A).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Kinsman, in view of Jun, and Onal et al., as discussed in claims 2 and 13, do not disclose the N packaged trans-impedance amplification circuits and an N-to-1 switch as claimed. Guo et al., disclose a readout chip comprises N packaged trans-impedance amplification circuits (TIA, Fig.3) and an N-to-1 switch (inherent included, Fig.3 shows that the gold thread 3 connects multiple inputs to a single output. This indicates that an N to 1 switch presents to select one of many inputs to send to the final output), wherein an input terminal of each trans-impedance amplification circuit (TIA1) is coupled to a photoelectric sensor (APD1) in the photoelectric sensor array (APD array), and an output terminal of each trans-impedance amplification circuit (TIA1) is coupled to the N-to-1 switch (Fig.3, an N to 1 switch connects to one of TIA1 outputs through the gold thread 3), and the N-to-1 switch is configured to selectively connect one of the trans- impedance amplification circuits to the output of the readout chip (Fig.3, an N to 1 switch selecting one of many inputs to send to the final output). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kinsman, in view of Jun, and Onal et al. with Guo et al., to ensure that multiple signals are connected better, and makes it easier to integrate between multiple signals and components.
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Kinsman, in view of Jun., Onal et al., and Guo et al., as discussed in claims 3 and 14, Guo et al., disclose the N-to-1 switch (Fig.3 above, the gold wire 3 connections are the pathways which connect multiple outputs to a next stage) being configured to couple an output of one of the trans-impedance amplification circuits (TIA1) to an input terminal of the second-stage amplifier (the next stage indicates as the second-stage amplifier because in page 3, lines 17-23, the chip 2 can be interpreted as an amplifier which being connected through the gold wire 3).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Kinsman, in view of Jun., Onal et al., and Guo et al., as discussed in claims 3 and 14, Guo et al., disclose the readout chip comprising a plurality of readout chips (multiple chips are described in page 3 such as an amplifier, a time discrimination circuit, a time digital conversion circuit) and the photoelectric sensor is an avalanche photodiode (APD)(page 3, pages 17-23, the chips (an amplifier, a time discrimination circuit, a time digital conversion circuit) are interconnected in a way which processes signals generated by the APD).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Kinsman, in view of Jun., Onal et al., and Guo et al., as discussed in claims 5 and 16, do not disclose the photoelectric sensor array comprising 64 photoelectric sensors, the plurality of readout chips comprising four readout chips, and each readout chip comprises 16 trans-impedance amplification circuits and a 16-to-1 switch as claimed. However, selecting or multiplying components such as multiple sensors, TIAs and switches for optimizing the performance and design of the system would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed system, accordingly in order to provide better system’s design and performance.
Claims 8, 9 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinsman, in view of Jun., and further in view Zhang et al., (CN109959913A).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Kinsman in view of Jun., as discussed in claims 7 and 18, do not disclose the heat sink as claimed. Zhang et al., disclose a heat sink, wherein the heat sink comprises a heat conduction portion and a heat dissipation portion (Fig.1, page 2, lines 59-60 and page 3, lines1-2, the heat dissipation base 2 receives heat from the radar element 1 and dissipates it away. The portion or surface of the heat sink, which receives the heat, is indicated as the heat conduction portion. The portion or surface of the heat sink transfers the heat away, is indicates as the heat dissipation portion). In combination, the heat conduction portion would be configured to receive heat from the photoelectric sensor array and /or the readout chip, and the heat dissipation portion is configured to dissipate the heat as claimed. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kinsman, in view of Jun., by utilizing the teaching of Zhang et al., in order to prevent overheating of components, so the system remains stable and efficient.
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Kinsman, in view of Jun., and Zhang et al., as discussed in claims 8 and 19, Zhang et al., disclose the heat dissipation portion comprising a plurality of heat-dissipating fins (6, see Fig.1).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinsman, in view of Jun., and further in view of Valouch et al, (US 10,890,491 B2).
Regarding claim 10, Kinsman in view of Jun., as discussed in claim 1, do not disclose the photoelectric sensor array comprising a ceramic tubular housing, a filter and an aperture as claimed. Valouch et al., disclose the photoelectric sensor array comprises a ceramic tubular housing (Fig.1, the housing includes the circuit carrier device 144 which contains a sensor), a filter (114, Fig.1) and an aperture (152, Fig.1), wherein the photoelectric sensor is attached to the ceramic tubular housing (Fig.1), the filter (114) is disposed on the photoelectric sensor (110/128) to filter stray light (paragraph [0403], “minimizes stray light entering the filter 114”), and the aperture (152) is disposed on the filter to limit a light beam incident on the photoelectric sensor (paragraph [0404], the aperture stop 152 may be designed to inhibit additional light entering the optical filter 114 , only the light beam 120 passes through to the detector). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kinsman in view of Jun., by utilizing the teaching of Valouch et al., to improve the signal quality of the system by controlling and limiting unwanted light interacting with sensors.
Also, the term “ceramic tubular housing” appears to be a generic name, and no additional details are provided to indicate its intended use or purpose.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinsman in view of Jun, and further in view of Swanson et al, (US 2003/0044091A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kinsman in view of Jun, as discussed in claim 1, do not disclose the readout chip comprising a digital to analog converter (DAC) voltage regulator as claimed. Swanson et al., disclose (Fig.3) the readout chip comprising a digital to analog converter (DAC) voltage regulator (“DAC”), and an output terminal of the DAC voltage regulator is coupled to an output terminal of the photoelectric sensor (330) for adjusting a bias voltage at both ends of the photoelectric sensor (paragraph [0045], the DAC adjusts the voltage to the BJT 320 which in turn controls the current through the photo sensor LED 330). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kinsman in view of Jun, by utilizing the teaching of Swanson et al, in order to provide better control to the voltage, leading to optimize the performance of sensors.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.T.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2878
/THANH LUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878