Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 01/21/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, and 6-21 remain pending in the application. Claims 10-19 are withdrawn. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection, 112(b), and 112(d) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 10/22/2025. New grounds of rejections necessitated by amendments are discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-8, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fernandez-Nieves et al. (US 20170361534 A1; cited in the IDS filed 12/30/2021) in view of Kumagai et al. (US 20210062132 A1; effectively filed 01/29/2018) and Sun et al. (CN 107028681 A; see machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Fernandez-Nieves teaches a cellular micro-masonry system (abstract, “apparatus for three-dimensionally printing”; paragraphs [0007]-[0008]), comprising:
a translation system comprising a placement device, wherein the placement device comprises a tip (Fig. 5 shows manipulation of a micro-capillary with a tip in the XYZ axes), wherein the translation system approaches a cell (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 5 shows manipulation of a micro-capillary in the XYZ axes, which is structurally capable of approaching a cell at a later time since the micro-capillary can move in XYZ axes), and wherein the translation system provides three cartesian translational degrees of freedom (X, Y, Z) (Fig. 5; paragraph [0103] teaches an XYZ stage, therefore provides three cartesian translational degrees of freedom);
an imaging system (paragraphs [0088],[0098], [0103]-[0104],[0112] teaches imaging; paragraph [0110] teaches confocal microscopy; therefore, the system includes an imaging system in order to perform imaging and confocal microscopy); and
a three-dimensional (3D) cell culture medium (paragraph [0077] teaches 3D cell-encapsulating matrices or scaffolds; Fig. 5 and paragraph [0063] granular gel support medium) wherein the 3D cell culture medium comprises a plurality of hydrogel particles (paragraph [0077], “hydrogel particles”) and a liquid cell culture medium (paragraphs [0041],[0050], [0077], teaches cell growth medium is used as a solvent for aqueous microgels or hydrogels), wherein the hydrogel particles are swelled with the liquid cell culture medium to form a granular gel (paragraph [0077] teaches when disposed in a solution, hydrogel particles will swell with the solvent and form a granular gel material; paragraph [0110] teaches microgels are swelled);
wherein the 3D culture medium (paragraph [0077] teaches 3D cell-encapsulating matrices or scaffolds include hydrogels and hydrogel particles; Fig. 5a shows a soft granular gel medium) has a yield stress such that the 3D cell culture medium (i.e. 3D cell culture medium) undergoes a temporary phase change from a first solid phase to a second liquid phase upon application of a shear stress greater than the yield stress (interpreted as a functional limitation of the 3D culture medium, see MPEP 2114; paragraph [0098] teaches yield stress materials are solid when applied stress is below the yield stress and fluidize when stresses exceed the yield stress; paragraph [0083] teaches hydrogels include microgels, and yield stress can be varied and tuned; paragraphs [0036]-[0037],[0040],[0062] teaches the material is suitable for temporary phase change; paragraph [0063] and Fig. 5 teaches a granular gel support medium, where the soft granular gel medium is a yield stress material that fluidize at high strains; Fig. 5c shows a yield stress that causes the soft granular gel medium to undergo a phase change from a solid phase, i.e. elastic, to a liquid phase, i.e. yielded fluid).
and wherein the tip of the placement device (Fig. 5 shows manipulation of a micro-capillary with a tip in the XYZ axes) causes the temporary phase change in the 3D cell culture medium to accommodate placement of the cell in the 3D cell culture medium (interpreted as an intended use of the tip, see MPEP 2114; paragraphs [0067]-[0068] and Fig. 2 teach the movement of the tip causes hydrogel particles of the 3D cell growth medium to fluidize, which is capable of allowing placement of cell, e.g. injection of cells, in the 3D cell growth medium).
While Fernandez-Nieves teaches the translation system comprises a computer-controlled syringe pump (paragraph [0103]) and a container for three dimensional cell culture (paragraph [0007]), Fernandez-Nieves fails to teach: the translation system engages the cell, and translates the cell to a desired location; and the translation system provides one radial degree of freedom (R), one azimuthal degree of freedom (Φ), and one polar degree of freedom (θ).
Kumagai teaches a cell transfer device comprising a container accommodating a plurality of cells, and a head with a suction tip that sucks cells (abstract). Kumagai teaches that for research applications, image capturing processing of cells or cell clusters and a treatment of sucking cells and transferring the cells to other locations may be required (paragraph [0003]). Kumagai teaches when cells are placed in a gel-like culture medium, cells are often placed three-dimensionally (paragraph [0005]). Kumagai teaches a culture medium can include a gel-like culture medium capable of three-dimensionally culturing cells, the gel-like culture can include hydrogels (paragraphs [0030],[0033]). Kumagai teaches an embodiment comprising observation of a biological subject with a camera, suction of the biological subject using a tip and transferring and discharging the biological sample, wherein transfer by suction is from a cell transfer device (paragraph [0019]). Kumagai teaches the cell transfer device allows for suction of a cell and transferring the cell to a predetermined location (paragraph [0022]), wherein before suction, the cells are captured by a camera unit for a sorting operation of good quality cells (paragraph [0022]). Kumagai teaches a suction control unit specifies suction position of a cell based on XYZ coordinates (paragraphs [0052]-[0053]).
Since Kumagai teaches a system for processing cells relating to three-dimensional culturing (abstract; paragraphs [0003],[0005],[0030],[0033]) similar to Fernandez-Nieves, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the translation system of Fernandez-Nieves to incorporate the teachings of sucking and transferring cells at desired positions based on XYZ coordinates for research applications of Kumagai (paragraphs [0003],[0019],[0022], [0052]-[0053]) to provide: the translation system engages the cell, and translates the cell to a desired location. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving control, manipulation, and positioning of cells and thus improve additional research of cells or cell clusters as discussed by Kumagai (paragraph [0003]).
Modified Fernandez-Nieves fails to teach the translation system provides one radial degree of freedom (R), one azimuthal degree of freedom (Φ), and one polar degree of freedom (θ).
Sun teaches a 3D printing device for a tissue engineering scaffold (paragraph [0002]). Sun teaches the combination of a printing robot arm and printing platform has at least 3 degrees of freedom of movement and can freely move and grasp a nozzle (paragraph [0058]). Sun teaches that a total of 6 degrees of freedom which meets the needs of omnidirectional movement and can more freely shape the concave and inclined structures in the printing bracket (paragraph [0058]). Sun teaches the printing arm with two additional rotational degrees of freedom and the printing platform with one additional rotational degree of freedom facilitates the omnidirectional printing and spraying of the tissue engineering scaffold, and thus improves the printing effect of the inclined structure, and can perform the printing and spraying process evenly and conveniently (paragraph [0074]). Sun teaches the printing module has 3 translational degrees of freedom and 3 rotational degrees of freedom, which is interpreted as structurally capable of provide one radial degree of freedom, one azimuthal degree of freedom, and one polar degree of freedom, and thus has high printing flexibility (paragraph [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the translation system of Fernandez-Nieves to incorporate the teachings of 6 degrees of freedom for a 3D printing device of Sun (paragraphs [0058],[0074],[0079]) to provide the translation system is configured to provide the translation system provides one radial degree of freedom (R), one azimuthal degree of freedom (Φ), and one polar degree of freedom (θ). Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully allowing for omnidirectional movement of the translation system, thus improving printing flexibility of the overall system as taught by Sun (paragraphs [0058],[0074], [0079]).
Note that “cellular micro-masonry”, “approaches a cell, engages the cell, and translates the cell to a desired location”, “provides three cartesian translation degrees of freedom…”, “undergoes a temporary phase change…”, “causes the temporary phrase change…to accommodate the placement of the cell…” are interpreted as intended uses and functional limitations of the claimed system. A recitation of intended uses and functional limitations of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended uses and functional limitations, then it meets the claim. MPEP 2114. In this case the system of modified Fernandez-Nieves comprises all of the elements of claim 1, and therefore is identical to the presently claimed structure. Modified Fernandez-Nieves discloses the claimed translation system, imaging system, and 3D cell culture medium as claimed and therefore, would have the ability to perform the intended uses and functional limitations recited in the claim. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 3, Fernandez-Nieves further teaches wherein the translation system further comprises a micro-capillary (paragraph [0103] teaches the 3D extrusion system comprising extrusion nozzles; paragraph [0063] and Fig. 5 teaches a micro-capillary, controlled in the XYZ axes, therefore the micro-capillary is part of the translation system).
Regarding claim 6, Fernandez-Nieves further teaches wherein the concentration of the hydrogel particles is between 0.05% to about 1.0% by weight (paragraph [0077], “approximately 0.5% to 1% hydrogel particles by weight”).
Regarding claim 7, Fernandez-Nieves further teaches wherein the hydrogel particles have a size between about 0.1 um to about 100 um when swollen with the liquid cell culture medium (paragraph [0077]).
Regarding claim 8, Fernandez-Nieves further teaches wherein the 3D cell culture medium further comprises one or more extracellular matrix components (paragraph [0041] teaches 3D structures with supplemental extracellular matrix material; paragraphs [0064]-[0065] teaches a second material is injected into the first material, i.e. 3D cell culture medium, wherein the second material comprise extracellular matrix materials).
Regarding claim 21, Fernandez-Nieves further teaches wherein the translation system is further configured to provide suction, pressure, or both suction and pressure (Fig. 14 and paragraph [0103] teaches the 3D extrusion system comprises a computer-controlled syringe pump, the syringe pump coupled to the translation system; therefore, Fernandez-Nieves’ computer-controlled syringe pump is configured to at least provide pressure).
In an alternative interpretation of claim 8, claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fernandez-Nieves in view of Kumagai and Sun as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, if it is determined that Fernandez-Nieves fails to explicitly teach an embodiment wherein the 3D cell culture medium further comprises one or more extracellular matrix components, Fernandez-Nieves teaches that cells can be printed into 3D structures either with or without supplemental extracellular matrix material (paragraph [0041]). Fernandez-Nieves teaches a second material is injected into the first material, i.e. 3D cell culture medium, wherein the second material comprise extracellular matrix materials (paragraphs [0064]-[0065]). Fernandez-Nieves teaches further components may be added to a carrier fluid to render a silicone surface bioactive, such as collagen (paragraph [0076]). Fernandez-Nieves teaches other materials for a 3D matrix can include collagen (paragraph [0082]). Fernandez-Nieves teaches an example of collagen with a hydrogel (paragraph [0112]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the 3D cell culture medium of modified Fernandez-Nieves to incorporate the various teachings of including extracellular matrix components, such as collagen, to 3D structures of modified Fernandez-Nieves (paragraphs [0041],[0064]-[0065], [0082], [0112]) to provide wherein the 3D cell culture medium further comprises one or more extracellular matrix components. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving bioactivity and cell attachment and growth within the 3D culture medium, as discussed by Fernandez-Nieves (paragraphs [0041],[0076]).
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fernandez-Nieves in view of Kumagai and Sun as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vatankhah-Varnoosfaderani et al. (Vatankhah-Varnoosfaderani et al., “Well-Defined Zwitterionic Microgels: Synthesis and Application as Acid-Resistant Microreactors”, Macromolecules 2016, 49, 7204-7210).
Regarding claim 9, while Fernandez-Nieves teaches exemplary materials for 3D matrices include poly(acrylamide), poly(ethylene glycol diacrylate), and poly(acrylic acid) (paragraph [0082]), modified Fernandez-Nieves fails to teach wherein the hydrogel particles are comprised of zwitterionic microgels.
Vatankhah-Varnoosfaderani teaches applications of zwitterionic microgels (abstract). Vatankhah-Varnoosfaderani teaches that hydrogel particles, or microgels, display a wide range of practical applications (page 7204, left column, first paragraph), and that adding zwitterionic functionality will significantly enhance these applications by imparting microparticles with many desirable features such as antifouling, high saline uptake, pH sensitivity, and antipolyelectrolyte effect (page 7204, left column, first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hydrogel particles of modified Fernandez-Nieves to incorporate the teachings of hydrogel microparticles, specifically zwitterionic microgels, of Vatankhah-Varnoosfaderani (abstract; page 7204, left column, first paragraph) to provide wherein the hydrogel particles are comprised of zwitterionic microgels. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully enhancing application of the hydrogel particles, such as imparting desirable features such as antifouling, high saline uptake, pH sensitivity, and antipolyelectrolyte effect as taught by Vatankhah-Varnoosfaderani (page 7204, left column, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 20, while Fernandez-Nieves teaches exemplary materials for 3D matrices include poly(acrylamide), poly(ethylene glycol diacrylate), and poly(acrylic acid) (paragraph [0082]), modified Fernandez-Nieves fails to teach wherein the 3D cell culture media medium comprises zwitterionic microgels.
Vatankhah-Varnoosfaderani teaches applications of zwitterionic microgels (abstract). Vatankhah-Varnoosfaderani teaches that hydrogel particles, or microgels, display a wide range of practical applications (page 7204, left column, first paragraph), and that adding zwitterionic functionality will significantly enhance these applications by imparting microparticles with many desirable features such as antifouling, high saline uptake, pH sensitivity, and antipolyelectrolyte effect (page 7204, left column, first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the 3D cell culture media medium of modified Fernandez-Nieves to incorporate the teachings of hydrogel microparticles, specifically zwitterionic microgels, of Vatankhah-Varnoosfaderani (abstract; page 7204, left column, first paragraph) to provide wherein the 3D culture media medium comprises zwitterionic microgels. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully enhancing application of the hydrogel particles, such as imparting desirable features such as antifouling, high saline uptake, pH sensitivity, and antipolyelectrolyte effect as taught by Vatankhah-Varnoosfaderani (page 7204, left column, first paragraph).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed 01/21/2026, with respect to the claim objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 of 10/22/2025 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, pages 5-7, filed 01/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 3, 5-8, and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103, specifically regarding the amendments to claim 1, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Fernandez-Nieves et al. (US 20170361534 A1; cited in the IDS filed 12/30/2021) in view of Kumagai et al. (US 20210062132 A1; effectively filed 01/29/2018) and Sun et al. (CN 107028681 A; see machine translation).
Applicant's arguments, pages 6-7, filed 01/21/2026, with respect to the combination of Fernandez-Nieves in view of Kumagai, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references since Kumagai does not teach 3D placement of cells in a culture medium and teaches against 3D placement of cells in a culture medium (Remarks, pages 6-7), the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, Kumagai is used in combination with Fernandez-Nieves to arrive at the claimed “the translation system engages the cell, and translates the cell to a desired location”. Kumagai provides teachings and suggestions of a system for processing cells relating to three-dimensional culturing (abstract; paragraphs [0003],[0005],[0030],[0033]), and specifically using a gel-like culture medium for three-dimensionally culturing cells (paragraphs [0030],[0033]). Fernandez-Nieves provides teachings, relating to culturing within the culture medium, of sucking and transferring cells for research applications of Kumagai (paragraphs [0003],[0019],[0022], [0052]-[0053]) and a suction control unit specifies suction position of a cell based on XYZ coordinates (paragraphs [0052]-[0053]). Fernandez-Nieves provides a desire and motivation: for research applications, image capturing processing of cells or cell clusters and a treatment of sucking cells and transferring the cells to other locations may be required (paragraph [0003]).
Since Kumagai teaches a system for processing cells relating to three-dimensional culturing (abstract; paragraphs [0003],[0005],[0030],[0033]) similar to Fernandez-Nieves, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the translation system of Fernandez-Nieves to incorporate the teachings of sucking and transferring cells at desired positions based on XYZ coordinates for research applications of Kumagai (paragraphs [0003],[0019],[0022], [0052]-[0053]) to provide: the translation system engages the cell, and translates the cell to a desired location. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving control, manipulation, and positioning of cells and thus improve additional research of cells or cell clusters as discussed by Kumagai (paragraph [0003]).
Therefore, there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Fernandez-Nieves’ translation system with the teachings of Kumagai engage the cell, and translate the cell to a desired location to improve control and manipulation of cells and thus improve additional research of cells or cell clusters.
Additionally, in response to applicant's argument that Kumagai does not place cells in three-dimensions and that the head body only moves in X and Y directions (Remarks, page 6), the examiner disagrees. First, Kumagai teaches using a gel-like culture medium for three-dimensionally culturing cells (paragraphs [0030],[0033]) and a suction control unit specifies suction position of a cell based on XYZ coordinates (paragraphs [0052]-[0053]). Second, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., steps or processes of three-dimensional placement of cells) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Third, a recitation of the intended use or functional limitation of the claimed invention (e.g. approach a cell, engage the cell, and translate the cell, i.e. three-dimensional placement of cells) must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use or functional limitation, then it meets the claim. MPEP 2114. In this case, the system of modified Fernandez-Nieves comprises all of the elements of claim 1, and therefore is identical to the presently claimed structure. Modified Fernandez-Nieves discloses the claimed translation system, imaging system, and 3D cell culture medium as claimed and therefore, would have the ability to perform the use (i.e., approaches a cell, engages the cell, and translates the cell, i.e. three-dimensional placement of cells) recited in the claim. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, specifically Kumagai (Remarks, pages 6-7), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As discussed above, there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Fernandez-Nieves’ translation system with the teachings of Kumagai to engage the cell and translate the cell to a desired location to improve control and manipulation of cells and thus improve additional research of cells or cell clusters.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding claims 8, 9, and 20 (Remarks, page 7), the examiner notes that the arguments are tantamount to indicating that claims 8, 9, and 20 stand or fall with claim 1. The examiner disagrees for the same reasons as discussed above regarding claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Blakely et al. (Blakely et al., “Bio-Pick, Place, and Perfuse: A New Instrument for Three-Dimensional Tissue Engineering”, 2015, Tissue Engineering: Part C, Volume 21, Number 7) teaches fabrication of large constructs with a high density of living cells using a Bio-pick, Place, and perfuse instrument (abstract; Fig. 1). Blakely teaches the instrument has a head that provides suction to move a stack of living parts to a location (Fig. 1), and the movement includes x, y, and z directions (page 739, left column, second full paragraph).
Nagai et al. (Nagai et al., “Pick-and-Place Operation of Single Cell Using Optical and Electrical Measurements for Robust Manipulation”, Micromachines 2017, 8(12), 350) teaches a pick and placement operation of a single cell for sample collection wherein a glass pipette is used to trap a cell by suction to transport and release the cell at a desired location(abstract; Fig. 1).
Blanchard (US 20180087021 A1) teaches automated cell culture incubators comprising an integrated manipulation (abstract). Blanchard teaches the manipulator can include a cell picker for manipulating cells by detecting desirable cells at a first location based on a predetermined criterion and transferring the cells from the first location to a second location, wherein an imager may image cells to identify desirable or undesirable cells (paragraph [0061]).
Sawyer et al. (US 20180142194 A1) teaches cell growth medium may comprise hydrogel particles swollen with a liquid cell growth medium to form a granular gel yield stress material which undergoes a phase transformation from a solid phase to a liquid-like phase when an applied stress exceeds the yield stress; and cells may be placed in the three-dimensional cell growth medium according to any shape or geometry, and may remain in place within the three-dimensional cell growth medium (abstract). Sawyer teaches the gentle yielding and rapid solidification behavior of this culture medium allows the unrestricted placement and retrieval of cells and cell-assemblies deep within the medium (paragraph [0022]). Sawyer teaches providing a 3D cell growth medium made from a yield stress material may enable facile placement and/or retrieval of a group cells at any desired location within the 3D growth medium; and placement of cells may be achieved by causing a solid to liquid phase change at a desired location in a region of yield stress material such that the yield stress material will flow and be displaced when cells are injected or otherwise placed at the desired location (paragraph [0028]). Sawyer teaches cells may be removed by simply moving a tip of a removal device such as a syringe or pipette to a location where a group of cells is disposed, and applying suction to draw the cells from the cell growth medium (paragraph [0038]). Sawyer teaches 3-D cell growth medium as described herein may be used in a method for three-dimensionally printing or otherwise positioning cells in a desired pattern within a 3D cell growth medium (paragraph [0069]).
Lee et al. (Lee et al., “3D bioprinting processes: A perspective on classification and terminology”, 2018, Int J Bioprint, 4(2): 151) teaches 3D bioprinting technology (abstract) that includes pick and place of spheroids using suction to pick and transfer spheroids (sections 2.4, 2.5; Fig. 6A).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HENRY H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758