DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 15-19, 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0357300 A1) in view of Lin et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0389874 A1).
For claim 13, Zhou teaches A communication device for handling a physical downlink (DL) control channel (PDCCH) reception, comprising (The wireless device monitors for one or more PDCCH signals, ¶ [0253], [0266] & Figs 3, 5B):
at least one storage device (Any desired storage medium, such as the removable media 5004, or hard drive 5005, ¶ [0569] & Fig 50); and
at least one processing circuit, coupled to the at least one storage device, wherein the at least one storage device stores instructions, and the at least one processing circuit is configured to execute the instructions of (The wireless device 110 includes one or more processors 5001, which execute instructions stored in a storage medium (e.g., RAM 5003, removable media 5004, hard drive 5005), ¶ [0569] & Fig 50):
performing an uplink (UL) transmission with a serving cell of a network (The wireless device 110 sends a random access preamble transmission (i.e., Msg 1 1220 (e.g., UL)) to the base station 120, ¶ [0305] & Figs 5A, 12); and
detecting a PDCCH for the serving cell according to a plurality of search space (SS) sets, after performing the UL transmission (The wireless device 110 sends a random access preamble transmission (i.e., Msg 1 1220 (e.g., UL)) to the base station 120, and then monitors a PDCCH of a cell for at least one random access response (i.e., Msg 2 1230). The wireless device monitors a search space set (e.g., group common, device-specific) for one or more PDCCHs, ¶ [0270], [0305-0306], [0331], [0563-0566] & Figs 5, 12);
wherein before performing the UL transmission, the communication device receives at least one indicator in a DL control information (DCI) from the network, and stops detecting the PDCCH for the serving cell according to the plurality of SS sets according to the at least one indicator (The wireless device receives an action indication (i.e., DCI 3214 via PDCCH) at t3, determines the action (e.g., deactivate a BWP) at t4, and performs an UL transmission 3210 after t4. The wireless device stops monitoring the PDCCH per indication (e.g., cell and/or BWP deactivation), associated to one or more search spaces (e.g., group common, device-specific) ¶ [0218], [0253], [0290], [0355-0356], [0361], [0367], [0497], [0561] & Figs 5, 22, 32, 49).
Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of SS sets are configured with a group index.
However, Lin teaches the plurality of SS sets are configured with a group index (The configuration includes a group index for the group of search space (SS) sets, ¶ [0005-0007], [0491] & Fig 30).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Zhou and Lin before them, to include Lin’s SS sets with a group index in Zhou’s communication device detecting the PDCCH in order to facilitate SS sets with a group index (Lin, [0005-0007, 0491] & Fig. 30).
For claim 15, Zhou teaches further wherein the communication device detects the PDCCH for the serving cell according to one of the following instructions (The wireless device monitors one or more PDCCHs, in one or more search spaces of the cell, in response to instructions sent from the base station, ¶ [0335, 0405]):
detecting the PDCCH for the serving cell according to the plurality of SS sets with a group index according to the at least one indicator (The wireless device monitors one or more PDCCHs, in one or more search spaces of the cell, in response to a command (e.g., BWP activation via DCI, or a MAC CE), ¶ [0395], [0405] & Fig 23); and
stopping detecting the PDCCH for the serving cell according to the plurality of SS sets for a time period according to the at least one indicator (The wireless device stops monitoring a PDCCH in response to deactivating the A-BWP 2, for a time period at time T2, ¶ [0400] & Fig 23C).
Zhou does not explicitly teach at least one SS set with a group index.
However, Lin teaches the SS set with a group index (The configuration includes a group index for the group of search space (SS) sets, ¶ [0005-0007], [0491] & Fig 30).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Zhou and Lin before them, to include Lin’s SS set with a group index in Zhou’s communication device detecting the PDCCH in order to facilitate at least one SS set with a group index (Lin, [0005-0007, 0491] & Fig. 30).
For claim 16, Zhou in view of Lin teaches the limitations of the dependent claim 15 as discussed above. Zhou teaches further wherein the instruction of stopping detecting the PDCCH for the serving cell according to the plurality of SS sets for the time period according to the at least one indicator comprises (The wireless device stops monitoring a PDCCH in response to deactivating the A-BWP 2, for a time period at time T2, ¶ [0400] & Fig 23C):
detecting the PDCCH for the serving cell according to the plurality of SS sets for the time period according to the at least one indicator, when the plurality of SS sets are predetermined SS sets (The wireless device monitors one or more PDCCHs, in one or more search spaces (e.g., common search space (i.e., a predetermined SS set)) of the cell, for the time period starting at T1, in response to a command (e.g., PBWP switching), ¶ [0405-0407] & Fig 25); and
stopping detecting the PDCCH for the serving cell according to the plurality of SS sets for the time period according to the at least one indicator, when the plurality of SS set are not the predetermined SS sets (The wireless device stops detecting the second PDDCH, on a second device-specific search space, after deactivating the secondary active BWP (e.g., SBWP 1), for a time period at T2, ¶ [0409-0410] & Fig 25D).
For claim 17, Zhou teaches further wherein the UL transmission comprises a scheduling request (SR) or a physical random access channel (PRACH) (The wireless device sends an UL transmission scheduling request (e.g., DM-RS 506, UCI 509) with PUSCH 503 and/or PUCCH 504. The wireless device 110 sends a random access preamble UL transmission (i.e., PRACH occasion) to the base station 120, ¶ [0248], [0253], [0301], [0305] & Figs 5A, 12).
For claim 18, Zhou teaches further wherein the UL transmission comprises a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback (Uplink scheduling information (e.g., HARQ parameters) and/or timing information (e.g., HARQ feedback timing). The wireless device uses HARQ for a retransmission of Msg 3 1240. The MAC sublayer expects from a physical layer (1330/1340) services such as signaling of HARQ feedback (1353/1363), ¶ [0268], [0270], [0308], [0313] & Figs 5A, 12-13).
For claim 19, Zhou teaches further wherein the HARQ feedback is a negative acknowledgement (NACK) (The UCI 509, carried via PUSCH 503 or PUCCH 504, comprises an Acknowledgement (ACK)/Negative Acknowledgement (NACK), ¶ [0253] & Fig 5A).
For claim 24, Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of SS sets are configured with at least one identity.
However, Lin teaches further wherein the plurality of SS sets are configured with at least one identity (CSS set ID and Search space set ID, ¶ [0165], [0278]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Zhou and Lin before them, to include Lin’s SS sets are configured with an identity in Zhou’s communication device detecting the PDCCH and performing an UL transmission, in order to facilitate at least one SS set configured with an identity (Lin, [0165, 0278]).
For claim 26, Zhou teaches further wherein after receiving the PDCCH, the communication device determines whether to detect a second PDCCH for the serving cell according to at least one second SS set according to at least one indicator in a DCI (The wireless device monitors one or more PDCCHs, in one or more search spaces of the cell, in response to an indicator via the DCI (e.g., BWP switching), ¶ [0405-0407] & Figs 23, 25).
Claims 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Lin, further in view of Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0179342 A1).
For claim 20, Zhou does not explicitly teach the claim limitations.
However, Zhang teaches further wherein the HARQ feedback is corresponding to a priority index (The HARQ-ACK feedback is associated with a priority index 0/1, ¶ [0025] & Fig 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Zhou and Zhang before them, to include Zhang’s HARQ-ACK feedback associated with a priority index in Zhou’s communication device performing an UL transmission comprising a HARQ feedback in order to facilitate the HARQ feedback corresponding to a priority index (Zhang, [0025] & Fig 1).
For claim 21, Zhou does not explicitly teach the claim limitations.
However, Zhang teaches further wherein a value of the priority index is 1 (The HARQ-ACK feedback is associated with a PUCCH of priority index 1, ¶ [0025] & Fig 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Zhou and Zhang before them, to include Zhang’s HARQ-ACK feedback with a priority index 1 in Zhou’s communication device performing an UL transmission comprising a HARQ feedback in order to facilitate the HARQ feedback with a priority index 1 (Zhang, [0025] & Fig 1).
For claim 22, Zhou does not explicitly teach the claim limitations.
However, Zhang teaches further wherein the UL transmission comprises a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and the PUSCH is corresponding to a priority index (The UE provides corresponding HARQ-ACK feedback information in a PUCCH/PUSCH transmission, associated with the priority index 0/1, ¶ [0025], [0027-0028] & Figs 1, 2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Zhou and Zhang before them, to include Zhang’s PUSCH transmission containing HARQ-ACK feedback associated with a priority index in Zhou’s communication device performing an UL transmission comprising a HARQ feedback in order to facilitate the UL transmission comprising a PUSCH that is corresponding to a priority index (Zhang, [0025], [0027-0028] & Figs 1, 2).
For claim 23, Zhou does not explicitly teach the claim limitations.
However, Zhang teaches further wherein a value of the priority index is 1 (The UE provides corresponding HARQ-ACK feedback information in a PUCCH/PUSCH transmission, associated with the priority index 1, ¶ [0025], [0027-0028] & Figs 1, 2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Zhou and Zhang before them, to include Zhang’s PUSCH transmission containing HARQ-ACK feedback associated with a priority index 1 in Zhou’s communication device performing an UL transmission comprising a HARQ feedback in order to facilitate the UL transmission comprising a PUSCH that is corresponding to a priority index 1 (Zhang, [0025], [0027-0028] & Figs 1, 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4-7, 9-12 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Applicants arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-7, 9-12 are persuasive.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding claims 13, 15-24 and 26 filed 11/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant alleges that PDCCH is detected based on the configuration(s) associated with the SS sets. However, the claim does not explicitly recite this limitation. Examiner suggests explicitly reciting this limitation to give it patentable weight. Also, Applicant alleges that Zhou does not teach the detecting feature after performing the UL transmission. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhou details Msg 1 1220 which teaches performing UL transmission then details Msg 2 1230 which teaches the detecting after performing the UL transmission.
Applicant alleges that Zhou does not teach the detecting feature after performing the UL transmission. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhou details Msg 1 1220 which teaches performing UL transmission then details Msg 2 1230 which teaches the detecting after performing the UL transmission.
Applicant alleges the indicator(s) recited in claim 13 indicates the PDCCH-related operation and is different than the BWP related operation. The claim merely requires that the indicator be in a DCI from the network and the plurality of SS sets according to the indicator(s) without any additional limitations describing the indicator(s). The claim does not explicitly recite that fields in the DCI have to be related to the PDCCH. Therefore, they teach the indicator as claimed. Examiner suggests explicitly reciting the functional relationship between the indicator, DCI and PDCCH.
Applicant alleges that Zhou does not stop detecting PDCCH before performing UL transmission. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As taught by the paragraphs and figures stated in the rejection of claim 13 above, Zhou teaches receiving an DCI via PDCCH at t3, stops monitoring the PDCCH at t4, then performs UL transmission 3210 after t4. Therefore, Zhou teaches this limitation as claimed.
Applicant alleges Lin does not teach that the UE detects the PDCCH according to the SS sets with the same group index. Claim 13 does not explicitly recite the UE detects the PDCCH according to the SS sets with the same group index. Also, as stated above, Zhou teaches detecting the PDCCH according to a plurality of SS sets, and Lin teaches the plurality of SS sets with a group index. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine.
Conclusion
/JASPER KWOH/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415