DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 10-11, and 13-14 are pending in this application.
Claims 2-3, 6, 8-9, and 12 are cancelled.
Claims 1 and 7 are amended.
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 10-11, and 13-14 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachiri et al. (US Publication 2023/0271644 A1) in view of Zhao et al. (US Publication 2021/0362777 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tachiri teaches a torque data robusting device comprising: a sensor unit for sensing a speed of a host vehicle, a steering angle and a steering torque for a steering wheel (Tachiri: Para. 33, 37, 40; torque sensor detects a driver's steering input; steering angle sensor detects a steering angle inputted from the steering; vehicle speed sensor); and ………. , a compensation torque to assist an user's steering based on the steering angle and the speed of the host vehicle (Tachiri: Para. 26, 66, 68; reaction force actuator imparts reaction force against a driver's steering operation of a steering; return control unit of the reaction force control device; return control unit calculates a return command value exerted in a direction in which the steering is returned to the neutral position based on a steering angle equivalent value, a steering angle velocity equivalent value, and a vehicle speed), determine whether the user's steering is a normal steering or a return steering according to the steering angle and a steering angular velocity (Tachiri: Para. 82; determining turning and returning: a first method is determination from the signs of a steering angle and a steering angle velocity), and control to adjust the compensation torque according to the normal steering or the return steering (Tachiri: Para. 82; switching device selects either a limit value ωt_lim_F for turning or a limit value ωt_lim_R for returning according to a signal from the turning/returning determination unit), wherein the controller is configured to: control the compensation torque such that a compensation torque for steering a direction of vehicle wheels of the host vehicle, generated when the user's steering is the return steering, is smaller than a compensation torque for steering the direction of the host vehicle, generated when the user's steering is the normal steering (Tachiri: Para. 81, 83; when the steering is turned by a driver, the absolute value of a detection value of the torque sensor is larger than the absolute value of a reaction force torque; when the steering is returned by the reaction force actuator, meanwhile, the absolute value of a detection value of the torque sensor is smaller than the absolute value of a reaction force torque), if a sign of the steering angle is identical to a sign of the steering angular velocity, determines that the users steering is the normal steering (Tachiri: Para. 34; turning angle of the tire; angular velocity is defined with the same sign as an angle), and if the sign of the steering angle is different from the sign of the steering angular velocity, determine that the user's steering is the return steering (Tachiri: Para. 34, 82; determining turning and returning: a first method is determination from the signs of a steering angle and a steering angle velocity; turning angle of the tire; angular velocity is defined with the same sign as an angle).
Tachiri doesn’t explicitly teach a controller configured to, generate, if a steering torque value is not received from the sensor unit.
However Zhao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a controller configured to, generate, if a steering torque value is not received from the sensor unit (Zhao: Para. 20; electronic controller stops receiving a signal from the torsion bar torque sensor, the electronic controller determines that the torsion bar torque sensor has failed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the turning and returning reaction force torque taught in Tachiri (Tachiri: Para. 83) with the turning and returning steering torque taught in Zhao (Zhao: Para. 5) with a reasonable expectation of success because calculating and generating a command for a steering output torque when the torsion bar torque sensor has failed as taught by Zhao (Zhao: Para. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Tachiri teaches the torque data robusting device of claim 1, wherein the controller controls to generate a larger compensation torque as the steering angle increases in a preset steering angle section (Tachiri: Para. 76; when the absolute value of a turning angle is larger than some value, turning with an angular velocity higher than the limit value).
Regarding claim 7, Tachiri teaches a torque data robusting method comprising: sensing, by a sensor unit, a speed of a host vehicle, a steering angle and a steering torque for a steering wheel (Tachiri: Para. 33, 37, 40; torque sensor detects a driver's steering input; steering angle sensor detects a steering angle inputted from the steering; vehicle speed sensor); ………….. , a compensation torque to assist an user's steering based on the steering angle and the speed of the host vehicle (Tachiri: Para. 26, 66, 68; reaction force actuator imparts reaction force against a driver's steering operation of a steering; return control unit of the reaction force control device; return control unit calculates a return command value exerted in a direction in which the steering is returned to the neutral position based on a steering angle equivalent value, a steering angle velocity equivalent value, and a vehicle speed); determining whether the user's steering is a normal steering or a return steering according to the steering angle and a steering angular velocity (Tachiri: Para. 82; determining turning and returning: A first method is determination from the signs of a steering angle and a steering angle velocity); and controlling to adjust the compensation torque according to the normal steering or the return steering (Tachiri: Para. 82; switching device selects either a limit value ωt_lim_F for turning or a limit value ωt_lim_R for returning according to a signal from the turning/returning determination unit), wherein the controlling to adjust the compensation torque comprises controlling the compensation torque such that a compensation torque for steering a direction of vehicle wheels of the host vehicle, generated when the user's steering is the return steering, is smaller than a compensation torque for steering the direction of the host vehicle, generated when the user's steering is the normal steering (Tachiri: Para. 83; when the steering is turned by a driver, the absolute value of a detection value of the torque sensor is larger than the absolute value of a reaction force torque; when the steering is returned by the reaction force actuator, meanwhile, the absolute value of a detection value of the torque sensor is smaller than the absolute value of a reaction force torque), and wherein the determining of whether the user's steering is the normal steering or the return steering comprises (Tachiri: Para. 82; determining turning and returning: A first method is determination from the signs of a steering angle and a steering angle velocity): if a sign of the steering angle is identical to a sign of the steering angular velocity, determining that the user’s steering is the normal steering (Tachiri: Para. 34; turning angle of the tire; angular velocity is defined with the same sign as an angle), and if the sign of the steering angle is different from the sign of the steering angular velocity, determining that the user’s steering is the return steering (Tachiri: Para. 34, 82; determining turning and returning: a first method is determination from the signs of a steering angle and a steering angle velocity; turning angle of the tire; angular velocity is defined with the same sign as an angle).
Tachiri doesn’t explicitly teach generating, if a steering torque value is not received from the sensor unit.
However Zhao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches generating, if a steering torque value is not received from the sensor unit (Zhao: Para. 20; electronic controller stops receiving a signal from the torsion bar torque sensor, the electronic controller determines that the torsion bar torque sensor has failed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the turning and returning reaction force torque taught in Tachiri (Tachiri: Para. 83) with the turning and returning steering torque taught in Zhao (Zhao: Para. 5) with a reasonable expectation of success because calculating and generating a command for a steering output torque when the torsion bar torque sensor has failed as taught by Zhao (Zhao: Para. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Tachiri teaches the torque data robusting method of claim 7, wherein controlling to adjust the compensation torque comprises controlling to generate a larger compensation torque as the steering angle increases in a preset steering angle section (Tachiri: Para. 76; when the absolute value of a turning angle is larger than some value, turning with an angular velocity higher than the limit value).
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachiri et al. (US Publication 2023/0271644 A1) in view of Zhao et al. (US Publication 2021/0362777 A1) and in further view of Aoki (US Publication 2018/0065660 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Tachiri and Zhao don’t explicitly teach wherein the controller controls an output of the compensation torque to be changed in a ramp method for a predetermined time if it is determined that the user's steering is changed from the normal steering to the return steering, or from the return steering to the normal steering.
However Aoki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the controller controls an output of the compensation torque to be changed in a ramp method for a predetermined time if it is determined that the user's steering is changed from the normal steering to the return steering, or from the return steering to the normal steering (Aoki: Para. 57; during the turn period in which the driver is turning the steering wheel, an absolute value of the steering angle increases; when the driver starts to return the steering wheel to the neutral position, the steering angle hardly changes; during this first transition period, when the return control is actively performed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the turning and returning reaction force torque taught in Tachiri (Tachiri: Para. 83) with the turning and returning steering torque taught in Zhao (Zhao: Para. 5) and with a return control that is gradually started taught in Aoki (Aoki: Para. 57) with a reasonable expectation of success because the return control is gradually started during the first transition period from turning to returning period as taught by Aoki (Aoki: Para. 57).
Regarding claim 10, Tachiri and Zhao don’t explicitly teach wherein controlling to adjust the compensation torque comprises controlling an output of the compensation torque to be changed in a ramp method for a predetermined time if it is determined that the user's steering is changed from the normal steering to the return steering, or from the return steering to the normal steering.
However Aoki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein controlling to adjust the compensation torque comprises controlling an output of the compensation torque to be changed in a ramp method for a predetermined time if it is determined that the user's steering is changed from the normal steering to the return steering, or from the return steering to the normal steering (Aoki: Para. 57; during the turn period in which the driver is turning the steering wheel, an absolute value of the steering angle increases; when the driver starts to return the steering wheel to the neutral position, the steering angle hardly changes; during this first transition period, when the return control is actively performed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the turning and returning reaction force torque taught in Tachiri (Tachiri: Para. 83) with the turning and returning steering torque taught in Zhao (Zhao: Para. 5) and with a return control that is gradually started taught in Aoki (Aoki: Para. 57) with a reasonable expectation of success because the return control is gradually started during the first transition period from turning to returning period as taught by Aoki (Aoki: Para. 57).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachiri et al. (US Publication 2023/0271644 A1) in view of Zhao et al. (US Publication 2021/0362777 A1) and in further view of Endo et al. (US Publication 2016/0001814 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Tachiri and Zhao don’t explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to control a motor to change the compensation torque output by the motor more slowly than change in the user's steering (Endo: Para. 105-106, Fig. 8; the steering assist torque for suppressing the abrupt return speed of the steering wheel can be generated at an early point, thereby being capable of returning the steering wheel slowly).
However Endo, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the controller is configured to control a motor to change the compensation torque output by the motor more slowly than change in the user's steering (Endo: Para. 105-106, Fig. 8; the steering assist torque for suppressing the abrupt return speed of the steering wheel can be generated at an early point, thereby being capable of returning the steering wheel slowly).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the turning and returning reaction force torque taught in Tachiri (Tachiri: Para. 83) with the turning and returning steering torque taught in Zhao (Zhao: Para. 5) and with the steering assist torque taught in Endo (Endo: Para. 105-106) with a reasonable expectation of success because the steering assist torque for suppressing the abrupt return seed of the steering wheel creating a slowly returning steering wheel taught by Endo (Endo: Para. 105-106).
Regarding claim 14, Tachiri and Zhao don’t explicitly teach wherein the controlling to adjust the compensation torque comprises controlling a motor to change the compensation torque output by the motor more slowly than change in the user's steering (Endo: Para. 105-106, Fig. 8; the steering assist torque for suppressing the abrupt return speed of the steering wheel can be generated at an early point, thereby being capable of returning the steering wheel slowly).
However Endo, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the controlling to adjust the compensation torque comprises controlling a motor to change the compensation torque output by the motor more slowly than change in the user's steering (Endo: Para. 105-106, Fig. 8; the steering assist torque for suppressing the abrupt return speed of the steering wheel can be generated at an early point, thereby being capable of returning the steering wheel slowly).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the turning and returning reaction force torque taught in Tachiri (Tachiri: Para. 83) with the turning and returning steering torque taught in Zhao (Zhao: Para. 5) and with the steering assist torque taught in Endo (Endo: Para. 105-106) with a reasonable expectation of success because the steering assist torque for suppressing the abrupt return seed of the steering wheel creating a slowly returning steering wheel taught by Endo (Endo: Para. 105-106).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11 August 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-5, 7-11 and 13-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Zhang and Tachiri do not disclose that "if a sign of the steering angle is identical to a sign of the steering angular velocity, determines that the user's steering is the normal steering, and if the sign of the steering angle is different from the sign of the steering angular velocity, determine that the user's steering is the return steering" as recited in claim 1.
In response to the applicant’s argument above, Tachiri teaches when a driver turns the steering wheel the turning angle has the same sign as the angular velocity (Tachiri: Para. 34). Tachiri teaches a turning/returning determination unit. The prior art states one of the possible methods of determining turning and returning as the signs of the steering angle and the steering angle velocity. The three options of this determination are well known to the field of turning and returning determination (Tachiri: Para. 82). Since Tachiri defines turning as the steering angle and the steering angular velocity having the same signs, then returning the signs would be different (Tachiri: Para. 34, 82).
The applicant next argues that Zhao and Tachiri fail to disclose “the controller is configured to control the compensation torque such that a compensation torque for steering a direction of the host vehicle, generated when the user’s steering is return steering, is smaller than a compensation torque for steering the direction of the host vehicle, generated when the user’s steering is normal steering.”
In response to the applicant’s argument above, this argument was raised in the appeal brief filed on 4/7/2025 and responded to in the examiner’s answer to the appeal brief from 6/10/2025 on pages 3-4. Tachiri’s reaction force applied to the steering column (Tachiri: Para. 37). As defined above Tachiri teaches three known ways to determining the driver’s turning and returning of the steering wheel (Tachiri: Para. 34, 82). Tachiri teaches a smaller absolute value of the reaction torque when the steering wheel is returning to neutral than the reaction force torque applied when the steering wheel is turning away from neutral (Tachiri: Para. 81, 83). The prior arts do teach the argued limitation.
Applicant next argues that claim 7 is similarly amended to claim 1 and the arguments would similarly apply.
In response to the applicant’s argument above, the examiner addressed claim 1 argument above and that response would similarly apply to claim 7.
Applicant next argues that claims 2-5 and 8-11 would be allowable at least based on their dependencies.
In response to the applicant’s argument above, claims 1 and 7 are rejected. Claims 2-5 and 8-11 would be rejected at least based on their dependencies.
The applicant’s arguments have failed to point out the distinguishing characteristics of the amended claim language over the prior art. For the above reasons, Tachiri’s steering system in view of Zhao’s steering system reads on applicant’s torque data robusting device. The rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
/L.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663