DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed on June 17th, 2026. Claims 37-43, 46, and 48-59 are pending, with claims 57-59 being new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37-43, 46, 48-50 and 53-59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0051884 (Raring et al.) in view of US 2014/0131595 (Nathan et al.).
Regarding claim 37, Raring et al. discloses a light source configured for independently controlling a visible light emission and an ultraviolet (UV) emission, the light source comprising:
a nitrogen containing laser diode configured as a pump-light device (multiple figures, element 402);
the nitrogen containing laser diode comprising an optical cavity, the optical cavity comprising an optical waveguide region and one or more facet regions (‘The gallium and nitrogen containing laser diode is configured with a cavity … configured with a front facets and back facet on the end wherein the front facet comprises the output facet and emits the laser beam incident on the phosphor.’ P 31);
the nitrogen containing laser diode configured to output a first directional electromagnetic radiation (multiple figures, element 407);
the first directional electromagnetic radiation from the nitrogen containing laser diode characterized by a first peak wavelength (‘The laser device is capable of an emission of a laser beam with a wavelength preferably in the blue region of 425 nm to 475 nm or in the ultra violet or violet region of 380 nm to 425 nm, but can be other such as in the cyan region of 475 nm to 510 nm or the green region of 510 nm to 560 nm.’ P 17);
a wavelength converter optically coupled to a pathway to receive the first directional electromagnetic radiation from the pump-light device (fig. 28a, element 406), wherein the first directional electromagnetic radiation travels through free space directly from the nitrogen containing laser diode to the wavelength converter and wherein the wavelength converter is configured to convert at least a fraction of the first directional electromagnetic radiation with the first peak wavelength to at least a second peak wavelength that is longer than the first peak wavelength and to generate the visible light emission comprising at least the second peak wavelength (‘In a preferred embodiment the phosphor material can provide a yellowish emission in the 550 nm to 590 nm range such that when mixed with the blue emission of the laser diode a white light is produced. In other embodiments phosphors with red, green, yellow, and even blue emission can be used in combination with the laser diode excitation source to produce a white light with color mixing.’ P 17); and
a UV emitting laser diode to provide the UV emission, the UV emitting laser diode configured to output a second directional electromagnetic radiation characterized by a third peak wavelength (‘In some embodiments, separate individual laser chips are configured within the laser-phosphor light source.’ P327, wherein ‘This additive color benefit can be incorporated into laser plus phosphor devices simply by the addition of a near UV (400-430 nm) laser to provide sufficient violet light in the final light spectrum emitted by the device.’ P 330 and ‘The laser device is capable of an emission of a laser beam with a wavelength … the ultra violet or violet region of 380 nm to 425 nm,’ P 17).
Raring et al. does not disclose a controller configured to cause UV emission without light emission from the visible spectrum so as to enable the light source to operate at times with the UV emission, wherein the UV emission is for use in purification, cleaning, or disinfection applications. However, Raring does disclose that the nitrogen containing laser diode configured as a pump-light device and the UV emitting laser diode are individually controllable (‘The electrodes 404 and 405 are configured for an electrical connection to an external power source such as a laser driver, a current source, or a voltage source. … electrical designs including individually addressable lasers,’ P 347).
Nathan et al. discloses a controller for controlling a set of individually controllable lasers for UV and visible light emission to cause UV emission without light emission from the visible spectrum so as to enable the light source to operate at times with the UV emission and without visible light emission (“In operation, the dies 103 may be controlled independently in order that the UV light emitting material is inactive when the material that emits in the visible light spectrum is active, and vice versa.” P 45), wherein the UV emission is for use in purification, cleaning, or disinfection applications (intended use, only limits to UV emissions in the required wavelength range, however Nathan et al. also includes this, see “Devices and uses of said devices for transmitting UV light over a broad area and for a long distance to inactivate microbes and non-microbial sources.” abstract). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the light source of Raring et al. to include the controller of Nathan et al. so that the UV light could be used for disinfecting microbes, as disclosed in Nathan et al. (“Devices and uses of said devices for transmitting UV light over a broad area and for a long distance to inactivate microbes and non-microbial sources.” abstract).
Regarding claim 38, Raring et al. in view of Nathan et al. disclose the light source of claim 37 wherein the nitrogen containing laser diode is a gallium and nitrogen containing laser diode emitting the first peak wavelength in a blue wavelength region of 420nm to 480nm (‘The laser device is capable of an emission of a laser beam with a wavelength preferably in the blue region of 425 nm to 475 nm or in the ultra violet or violet region of 380 nm to 425 nm, but can be other such as in the cyan region of 475 nm to 510 nm or the green region of 510 nm to 560 nm.’ P 17).
Regarding claim 39, Raring et al. in view of Nathan et al. disclose the light source of claim 37 wherein the wavelength converter is configured to provide the visible light emission in a reflective mode such that the first directional electromagnetic radiation is incident on an excitation surface of the wavelength converter and the excitation surface is a primary emission surface of the visible light emission, or wherein the wavelength converter is configured to provide the visible light emission in a transmissive mode such that the first directional electromagnetic radiation is incident on the excitation surface of the wavelength converter and the visible light emission is emitted from an emission surface on an opposite side of the wavelength converter from the excitation surface (‘The phosphor material can be operated in a transmissive mode, a reflective mode, or a combination of a transmissive mode and reflective mode, or other modes.’ P 261).
Regarding claim 48, Raring et al. in view of Nathan et al. disclose the light source of claim 37 wherein the wavelength converter is comprised of a phosphor material, and wherein the phosphor material is comprised of a ceramic yttrium aluminum garnet (YAG) doped with Ce, or a single crystal YAG doped with Ce, or a powdered YAG comprising a binder material (‘In a preferred embodiment the phosphor material is comprised of a yellow emitting YAG material doped with Ce with a conversion efficiency of greater than 100 lumens per optical watt, greater than 200 lumens per optical watt, or greater than 300 lumens per optical watt, and can be a polycrystalline ceramic material or a single crystal material.’ P 261).
Regarding claim 49, Raring et al. in view of Nathan et al. disclose the light source of claim 37 further comprising a package member configured with a common support member (multiple figures, element 401), wherein the package member is a surface mount device (SMD) package and the common support member is configured from a base of the SMD package (multiple figures, element 501).
Regarding claim 50, Raring et al. in view of Nathan et al. disclose the light source of claim 37 further comprising a package member configured with a common support member, wherein the package member is selected from a TO can type, a flat package type, or a butterfly type (multiple figures, at least one for each of the Markush members).
Regarding claim 54, Raring et al. in view of Nathan et al. disclose the light source of claim 37 arranged to provide the purification, cleaning, or disinfection applications in a hospital, school, restaurant, hotel, shopping center, office, home, automobile, or aircraft (appears to be inherent, any source of uv light capable providing of purification, cleaning, or disinfection would be arranged to provide purification, cleaning, or disinfection light regardless of the location, also intended use).
Regarding claim 55, Raring et al. in view of Nathan et al. disclose the light source of claim 37 wherein the UV emission is in a UV wavelength range of 270nm to 390nm (“the ultra violet or violet region of 380 nm to 425 nm,’ P 17, also Nathan, “emitting ultraviolet light in a range from about 10 to 400 nanometers” Abstract).
Regarding claim 56, Raring et al. in view of Nathan et al. discloses the claimed invention except for an infrared emitting laser diode to provide an infrared emission, the infrared emitting laser diode configured to output an electromagnetic radiation characterized by a fourth peak wavelength in an infrared region. Infrared emitting laser diodes are well known in the art, as evidenced by Raring itself, which discloses infrared emitting laser diodes as a historically used element in white light sources (‘As high power laser diodes evolved and new specialty SHG crystals were developed, it became possible to directly convert the output of the infrared diode laser to produce blue and green laser light output.’ P 131), and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the laser source of Raring to include an additional infrared emitting laser diode to provide a fourth wavelength of light if infrared light where desired.
Regarding claim 57, Raring et al. in view of Nathan et al. disclose the light source of claim 56, wherein the infrared emitting laser diode is configured for depth sensing or data transmission (intended use, applicant has not shown that any elements beyond the presence of an infrared emitting laser diode is needed for this).
Regarding claim 58, Raring et al. in view of Nathan et al. disclose the light source of claim 56, wherein the infrared emitting laser diode is configured for illumination for thermal imaging (intended use, applicant has not shown that any elements beyond the presence of an infrared emitting laser diode is needed for this).
Regarding claim 59, Raring et al. in view of Nathan et al. disclose the light source of claim 37, wherein the controller is configured to cause UV emission without light emission from the visible spectrum after close of business (Nathan “Referring first to FIG. 9, a logic process of a device is initiated at 902 and the device emits radiation from a UV light emitting source 1 for a predetermined UV cycle at 905 (predefined duration, intensity, and time of day) only when there is no detection at 904 by detector 4 of a person or moving object.” P 55, note the setting the predefined time of day to after close of business is an intended use) or in a hospital for disinfecting between patients (Nathan, fig. 9, where the presence of a patient prevents UV light and the subsequent absence of patients between activates it).
Regarding claim 40, Raring et al. discloses a system comprising:
a light source configured for visible light emission (‘The embodiments described herein provide a device and method for an integrated white colored electromagnetic radiation source’ abstract) and ultraviolet (UV) emission for use in purification, cleaning, or disinfection applications (‘This additive color benefit can be incorporated into laser plus phosphor devices simply by the addition of a near UV (400-430 nm) laser to provide sufficient violet light in the final light spectrum emitted by the device.’ P 330 and ‘The laser device is capable of an emission of a laser beam with a wavelength … the ultra violet or violet region of 380 nm to 425 nm,’ P 17);
a package configured to enclose the light source, the light source comprising:
a nitrogen containing laser diode configured as a pump-light device (multiple figures, element 402) and UV emitting laser diode to provide the UV emission (‘In some embodiments, separate individual laser chips are configured within the laser-phosphor light source.’ P327, wherein ‘This additive color benefit can be incorporated into laser plus phosphor devices simply by the addition of a near UV (400-430 nm) laser to provide sufficient violet light in the final light spectrum emitted by the device.’ P 330 and ‘The laser device is capable of an emission of a laser beam with a wavelength … the ultra violet or violet region of 380 nm to 425 nm,’ P 17);
the nitrogen containing laser diode comprising an optical cavity, the optical cavity comprising an optical waveguide region and one or more facet regions; the nitrogen containing laser diode configured to output a directional electromagnetic radiation through at least one of the facet regions; the directional electromagnetic radiation from the nitrogen containing laser diode characterized by a first peak wavelength (‘The gallium and nitrogen containing laser diode is configured with a cavity … configured with a front facets and back facet on the end wherein the front facet comprises the output facet and emits the laser beam incident on the phosphor.’ P 31);
a wavelength converter optically coupled to a pathway to receive the directional electromagnetic radiation from the pump-light device, wherein the directional electromagnetic radiation travels through free space directly from the light source to the first wavelength converter, and wherein the wavelength converter is configured to convert at least a fraction of the directional electromagnetic radiation with the first peak wavelength to at least a second peak wavelength that is longer than the first peak wavelength and to generate the visible light emission comprising at least the second peak wavelength to generate the visible light emission (‘In a preferred embodiment the phosphor material can provide a yellowish emission in the 550 nm to 590 nm range such that when mixed with the blue emission of the laser diode a white light is produced. In other embodiments phosphors with red, green, yellow, and even blue emission can be used in combination with the laser diode excitation source to produce a white light with color mixing.’ P 17).
Raring et al. does not disclose a controller configured to cause UV emission without light emission from the visible spectrum so as to enable the light source to operate at times with the UV emission, wherein the UV emission is for use in purification, cleaning, or disinfection applications. However, Raring does disclose that the nitrogen containing laser diode configured as a pump-light device and the UV emitting laser diode are individually controllable (‘The electrodes 404 and 405 are configured for an electrical connection to an external power source such as a laser driver, a current source, or a voltage source. … electrical designs including individually addressable lasers,’ P 347).
Nathan et al. discloses a controller for controlling a set of individually controllable lasers for UV and visible light emission to cause UV emission without light emission from the visible spectrum so as to enable the light source to operate at times with the UV emission and without visible light emission (“In operation, the dies 103 may be controlled independently in order that the UV light emitting material is inactive when the material that emits in the visible light spectrum is active, and vice versa.” P 45), wherein the UV emission is for use in purification, cleaning, or disinfection applications (intended use, only limits to UV emissions in the required wavelength range, however Nathan et al. also includes this, see “Devices and uses of said devices for transmitting UV light over a broad area and for a long distance to inactivate microbes and non-microbial sources.” abstract). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the light source of Raring et al. to include the controller of Nathan et al. so that the UV light could be used for disinfecting microbes, as disclosed in Nathan et al. (“Devices and uses of said devices for transmitting UV light over a broad area and for a long distance to inactivate microbes and non-microbial sources.” abstract).
Regarding claim 41, Raring et al. in view of Nathan et al. discloses the system of claim 40, wherein the UV emitting laser diode is configured to emit in a UV wavelength region of 200nm to 400nm (‘the ultra violet or violet region of 380 nm to 425 nm,’ P 17 also Nathan, “emitting ultraviolet light in a range from about 10 to 400 nanometers” Abstract) for fixed periods of time independent of the visible light emission (‘The electrodes 404 and 405 are configured for an electrical connection to an external power source such as a laser driver, a current source, or a voltage source. … electrical designs including individually addressable lasers,’ P 347).
Regarding claim 42, Raring et al. in view of Nathan et al. discloses the system of claim 40, wherein the visible light emission emitted from the wavelength converter has a bandwidth equal to or greater than 10 nm and equal to or less than100 nm (“Examples of such phosphors include, but are not limited to YAG, LuAG, red nitrides, aluminates, oxynitrides, CaMgSi2O6:Eu2+, BAM:Eu2+, AlN:Eu2+, (Sr,Ca)3MgSi2O8:Eu2+, and JEM.” P 35).
Regarding claim 43, Raring et al. in view of Nathan et al. discloses the system of claim 40, wherein the wavelength converter is configured to provide the visible light emission in a reflective mode such that the directional electromagnetic radiation is incident on an excitation surface of the wavelength converter and the excitation surface is a primary emission surface of the visible light emission, or wherein the first wavelength converter is configured to provide the visible light emission in a transmissive mode such that the directional electromagnetic radiation is incident on the excitation surface of the wavelength converter and the visible light emission is emitted from an emission surface on an opposite side of the wavelength converter from the excitation surface (‘The phosphor material can be operated in a transmissive mode’ P 261).
Regarding claim 46, Raring et al. in view of Nathan et al. discloses the light source of claim 40, wherein the first directional electromagnetic radiation is incident to the wavelength converter in a first direction, the second directional electromagnetic radiation is incident to the wavelength converter in a second direction, and the first direction is different from the second direction (fig. 28a).
Claim(s) 51-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raring et al. in view of Nathan et al. as applied to claim 37 above, and further in view of US 2019/0186057 (Yamamoto et al.).
Regarding claim 51, Raring et al. in view of Nathan et al. disclose the claimed invention except for an optical fiber member coupled to the visible and/or UV light emission, wherein the optical fiber member is a single mode fiber (SMF) or a multi-mode fiber (MMF), and wherein the optical fiber member has a core diameter ranging from about 1 µm to 10 µm, about 10µm to 50 µm, about 50 µm to 150µm, about 150 µm to 500 µm, about 500 µm to 1mm, about 1mm to 5mm or greater than 5mm.
Optical fibers in both single and multi-modes with such diameters are well known in the art, as evidenced by Yamamoto et al. (“The diameter of the optical fiber is not particularly limited, … for example, the diameter may be 0.01 mm or more and 2.0 mm or less, preferably may be 0.05 mm or more and 1.5 mm or less, and more preferably 0.1 mm or more and 1.0 mm or less.” P 93) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the light source of Raring in view of Nathan to include such an optical fiber to direct the visible, and/or UV light to a target for illumination and disinfection.
Regarding claim 52, Raring et al. in view of Nathan et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the optical fiber member including a leaky scattering fiber. Leady scattering fibers are well known in the art, as evidenced by Yamamoto et al. (“Meanwhile, the above (2) is a side emission-type optical fiber that has a structure in which light is not totally reflected at an interface between a core and a clad due to blending with the scattering material, and scattered light leaks from the side surface of the optical fiber.” P 91) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use a leaky scattering fiber if directing to a target adjacent to the fiber so that the light would be received at the desired location.
Claim(s) 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raring et al. in view of Nathan et al. as applied to claim 37 above, and further in view of US 2010/0265167 (Kinoshita).
Kinoshita discloses a light source comprising laser diodes and wavelength converters that includes one or more sensors and a controller to provide an input signal to the light source, wherein the one or more sensors are configured in a feedback loop circuit to provide a feedback current or voltage to the controller to adjust brightness of the light emission (‘a detection section 11 configured to detect a small part of the light output of the laser cavity 7, and a control section 12 configured to control the driving section 10 based on the monitored result detected by the detection section 11 to adjust an applied current passing through the LD chip 2 and control a light output of the LD chip 2.’ P 69). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the light source of Raring to include the sensors and controller of Kinoshita to so that the brightness could be adjusted as desired.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 27th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that controlling the UV laser of Raring to operate when the pump laser is turned off as in Nathan would render the apparatus unusable for its primary purpose, which is to provide white light with additive color mixing from the UV laser.
Just because the controller allows for the UV laser to be used when the pump laser is off does not mean the UV laser and the pump laser cannot also be used together. The proposed combination would lead to an apparatus than could be operated in multiple modes, including both a mode that produces white light including UV light, fulfilling the primary purpose of Raring, and a mode that produces only UV light.
Applicant argues that the pump laser of Raring cannot be switched off independently of the UV laser as in Nathan because the “the nitrogen-containing laser diode” is explicitly configured as a pump light device.
Raring discloses a device including two separate and independent nitrogen-containing laser diodes, the pump laser diode, and a separate UV laser diode. That the UV laser diode is independent of the pump laser diode and independently controllable is explicitly disclosed in Raring (‘individually addressable lasers’).
Regarding dependent claims 51, 52, and 56, applicant challenges examiner’s finding of the following elements as well-known in the art: optical fibers with core diameters in the claimed ranges, leaky scattering optical fibers, and infrared emitting laser diodes.
In response to applicant’s request for documentary evidence, examiner has provided such evidence in the rejections above. With respect to claim 56, examiner has cited a passage from the primary art describing infrared emitting laser diodes. With respect to claims 51 and 52, examiner has provided new art Yamamoto et al. to show that optical fibers of leaky scattering type are known, and are known to have diameters in the claimed ranges. As per MPEP 2144.03, if the examiner adds a reference in the next Office action after applicant’s rebuttal of common knowledge, and the newly added reference is added only as directly corresponding evidence to support the prior common knowledge finding, and it does not result in a new issue or constitute a new ground of rejection, the Office action may be made final.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZA W OSENBAUGH-STEWART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881