DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
In view of Applicant’s amendment, the prior drawing objection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In view of Applicant’s amendments, the prior 112(b) rejections are withdrawn.
Rejection 1/3
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Song et al. (US 2022/0189896) of record.
(Re Claim 1) Song teaches a light-emitting device, comprising: a substrate (221; Fig. 2); a circuit layer (220 except 221 and 227b; Fig. 2) on the substrate and having a plurality of conductive structures (225b and 225a, divided by the groove A; Fig. 2), wherein the circuit layer comprises a plurality of bonding pads (each part of 300 located directly beneath each 213; Fig. 2 and 3); an interval (space between 225b on the left and 225a on the right; Fig. 2) between two adjacent ones of the plurality of conductive structures, wherein the interval exposes a portion of the substrate (Fig. 2); a plurality of conductive connection portions (213; Fig. 2), wherein each conductive connection portion is correspondingly disposed on each bonding pad (Fig. 2 and 3); a semiconductor light-emitting source (210; Fig. 2) crossing the interval and contacting two adjacent ones of the plurality of conductive connection portions (Fig. 2); and a reflective layer (224; Fig. 2, ¶66) disposed on the circuit layer and covering the conductive structures (Fig. 2), wherein the reflective layer has an opening (span between the left and right parts of 224 as seen in Fig. 2, between which is element 210) aligned with the interval (Fig. 2), and the opening exposes the two adjacent ones of the plurality of conductive structures (Fig. 2), wherein the two adjacent ones of the plurality of conductive connection portions and the semiconductor light-emitting source are disposed in the opening (Fig. 2), and wherein the opening is wider than the semiconductor light-emitting source (Fig. 2).
(Re Claim 5) Song teaches the light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the conductive connection portions comprise copper, nickel, palladium, silver, gold, tin (tin; ¶105), or alloy thereof.
(Re Claim 7) Song teaches the light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor light-emitting source comprises a light-emitting diode chip (210 except the two electrodes; ¶65) having two electrodes (anode and cathode; ¶65) respectively on the two adjacent conductive connection portions.
(Re Claim 8) Song teaches the light-emitting device of claim 7, wherein a height from a top surface of each electrode to the substrate is less than a height from a top surface of the reflective layer to the substrate (Fig. 2).
(Re Claim 9) Song teaches the light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the reflective layer comprises a white reflective layer (white reflective layer; ¶66) or a metal reflective layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 2022/0189896), Patel et al. (US 6,528,349), Smeys et al. (US 2010/0213601), Nakasato et al. (US 2008/0023841), Saito et al. (US 2002/0000674), Dordi et al. (US 2002/0185523), and Kojima et al. (US 2011/0300651), all of record, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0146744), newly cited.
(Re Claim 10) Song teaches a method for manufacturing a light-emitting device comprising: providing a substrate (221; Fig. 2); forming a circuit layer (220 except 221 and 227b; Fig. 2) which has a plurality of conductive structures (225b and 225a, divided by the groove A; Fig, 2) on the substrate, wherein the circuit layer has a plurality of bonding pads (each part of 300 located directly beneath each 213; Fig. 2 and 3);
forming an interval (space between the 225b on the left and 225a on the right; Fig. 2) between two adjacent ones of the plurality of the conductive structures, wherein the interval exposes a portion of the substrate (Fig. 2);
forming a reflective layer (224; Fig. 2, ¶66) on the circuit layer, wherein the reflective layer has an opening (span between the left and right parts of 224 as seen in Fig. 2, between which is element 210) aligned with the interval (Fig. 2) and exposing the bonding pads (Fig. 2); and
forming a plurality of conductive connection portions (213; Fig. 2) in the opening (Fig. 2), wherein each conductive connection portion is correspondingly disposed on each bonding pad (Fig. 2 and 3);
providing a semiconductor light-emitting source (210; Fig. 1 and 2) in the opening and crossing two adjacent ones of the plurality of conductive connection portions (Fig. 2).
Song does not explicitly teach a method wherein forming the conductive connection portions comprises:
forming a seed layer on the reflective layer and the bonding pads;
forming a photoresist layer on the seed layer, wherein first portions of the seed layer on the bonding pads are exposed by the photoresist layer;
plating a plurality of thickening portions respectively on the first portions of the seed layer; and
removing the photoresist layer and at least a second portion of the seed layer covered by the photoresist layer, such that the first portions of the seed layer and the thickening portions form the conductive connection portions.
Li teaches covering a substrate with a reflective layer (12; Fig. 2) before soldering a semiconductor light-emitting source (13; Fig. 2, ¶¶57-58) on a plurality of bonding pads (p; Fig. 2). The opening in the reflective layer is etched to create space for the light-emitting source (¶¶60-62, 67).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the reflective layer 224 of Song across the top of the substrate, before soldering the semiconductor light-emitting source 210 of modified Song, as taught by Li, to precisely, consistently define the extent of the reflective layer 224 through a lithographic process (Li: openings 121 are etched; ¶58). This also avoids interference of the reflective layer’s deposition process with the semiconductor light-emitting source, reducing the number of steps the semiconductor light-emitting source is exposed to.
Patel teaches forming a seed layer (26; Fig. 2H, col. 5 ln. 44-48, ln. 61-64) which covers a top surface of a layer (Fig. 2H) and extends along sidewalls of openings (Fig. 2H) to cover exposed bonding pads (part of 30 exposed in the opening 27; Fig. 2H);
forming a photoresist layer on the seed layer (a photoresist layer is then spin coated on the second metal seed layer 26; col. 6 ln. 1-3); and
using the seed layer to form conductive connection portions (16; Fig. 2I).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the conductive connection portions of modified Song by forming a seed layer covering a top surface of the reflective layer and extending along sidewalls of the openings to cover the exposed bonding pads, as a result of the blanket seed layer deposition taught by Patel, where the seed layer is then subsequently used to form the conductive connection portions of modified Song, as electroplating will predictably form the conductive connections portions of modified Song (Patel: electroplating solder bumps; col. 5 ln. 62-64; Song: conductive connection portions 213 formed from solder; ¶105), and because of electroplating’s simplicity and efficiency (Dordi: ¶7) compared to alternative methods of forming the conductive connection portions. See also Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Furthermore, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to use electroplating for either solder composition, as Sn-Pb solder and Sn-Ag solder are both suitable for plating methods (Saito: ¶49). The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Kojima teaches forming a seed layer (22; Fig. 3A) which covers a top surface of a layer (20; Fig. 3A) and extends along sidewalls of openings to cover exposed bonding pads (16; Fig. 3A);
forming a photoresist layer (40; Fig. 3A) on the seed layer, wherein the photoresist layer exposes a portion of the seed layer on the bonding pads (Fig. 3A); and
using the seed layer to form conductive connection portions (24; Fig. 3B).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the photoresist layer on the seed layer of modified Song such that it exposes a portion of the seed layer on the bonding pads, in the manner of Kojima, to allow for selective formation of the conductive connection portions (Kojima: ¶35).
The material deposited on the seed layer using the photoresist layer are the thickening portions respectively on the first portions of the seed layer, where the first portions of the seed layer correspond to the location of the conductive connection portions 213 of Song.
Smeys teaches forming and then removing a seed layer (319; Fig. 3I to 3J) blanket deposited on an epoxy layer (106b; Fig. 3F), without destroying epoxy layer.
Nakasato teaches that photosolder resist is known to be made of epoxy resin (¶109).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to perform an etch to remove a seed layer blanket deposited on the reflective layer 224 of modified Song, as these materials (Smeys: ¶40) have an appropriate etch selectivity and so the seed layer can be predictably, selectively removed. See also Ruiz v. AB Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
A PHOSITA would then also find it obvious to perform an etch to remove the undesired seed layer after the end of the electroplating process (Patel: col. 6 ln. 10-14; Kojima: Fig. 4C) in order to prevent electrical shorting between the semiconductor light-emitting sources. The seed layer removed is a second portion of the seed layer covered by the photoresist layer.
The first portions of the seed layer used to plate the thickening portions is retained, as well as the thickening portions, and the combined structure forms the conductive connection portions 213 of modified Song.
(Re Claim 16) Modified Song teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the seed layer comprises copper (Patel: copper; col. 5 ln. 23-24), nickel, palladium, silver, gold, tin, or alloy thereof.
(Re Claim 20) Modified Song teaches the method of claim 10, wherein each semiconductor light-emitting source comprises a light emitting diode chip (mini LED; ¶48) having two electrodes (cathode and anode; ¶65) respectively electrically connected to the two adjacent conductive connection portions by a flip-chip manner (Fig. 2).
Rejection 2/3
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-9, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US 2013/0037842) and Fukushima et al. (US 2013/0099276), both of record.
(Re Claim 1) Yamada teaches a light-emitting device, comprising: a substrate (101a; Fig. 27(a)); a circuit layer (layer containing the structure as labeled in the markup of Fig. 27(a)+102) on the substrate and having a plurality of structures (Fig. 27(a) markup), wherein the circuit layer comprises a plurality of bonding pads (102; Fig. 27(a)); an interval (Fig. 27(a) markup) between two adjacent ones of the plurality of structures, wherein the interval exposes a portion of the substrate (Fig. 27(a)); a plurality of conductive connection portions (111; Fig. 27(a)), wherein each conductive connection portion is correspondingly disposed on each bonding pad (Fig. 27(a)); a semiconductor light-emitting source (304A; Fig. 27(a)) crossing the interval and contacting two adjacent ones of the plurality of conductive connection portions (Fig. 27(a)); and a reflective layer (114; Fig. 27(a)) disposed on the circuit layer and covering the structures (Fig. 27(a)), wherein the reflective layer has an opening aligned with the interval (Fig. 27(a) markup), and the opening exposes the two adjacent ones of the plurality of structures (Fig. 27(a)), wherein the two adjacent ones of the plurality of conductive connection portions and the semiconductor light-emitting source are disposed in the opening (Fig. 27(a)), and wherein the opening is wider than the semiconductor light-emitting source (the opening is wider than 304c, which is a part of the semiconductor light-emitting source 304A; the claim language does not specify where or how the opening is meant to be wider than the semiconductor light-emitting source; Fig. 27(a))).
Yamada does not explicitly teach the light-emitting device comprising structures that are conductive structures.
Fukushima shows a light-emitting device (7; Fig. 16) having a substrate (110); a reflective layer (130; Fig. 16); and a circuit layer (201+114+201+200; Fig. 16) on the substrate having a plurality of conductive structures (114a+114b; Fig. 16, ¶96). This configuration is similar to that of Yamada’s light-emitting device, which apparently shows electrical routing in and on the outer surfaces of the substrate 101a, and so a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would understand from the provided figures that the structures demarcated in the provided Fig. 27(a) markup can be conductive structures, in order to facilitate electrical connections into and out of the semiconductor light-emitting sources.
(Re Claim 3) Modified Yamada teaches the light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the conductive connection portions respectively contact side surfaces of the reflective layer (Fig. 27(a)).
(Re Claim 5) Modified Yamada teaches the light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the conductive connection portions comprise copper (¶119), nickel, palladium, silver, gold, tin, or alloy thereof.
(Re Claim 7) Modified Yamada teaches the light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor light-emitting source comprises a light-emitting diode chip (304b; Fig. 27(a), ¶¶6, 342) having two electrodes (304c; Fig. 27(a)) respectively on the two adjacent conductive connection portions.
(Re Claim 8) Modified Yamada teaches the light-emitting device of claim 7, wherein a height from a top surface of each electrode to the substrate is less than a height from a top surface of the reflective layer to the substrate (Fig. 27(a)).
(Re Claim 9) Modified Yamada teaches the light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the reflective layer comprises a white reflective layer (¶139) or a metal reflective layer.
(Re Claim 21) Modified Yamada teaches the light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the conductive connection portions directly contact the reflective layer (Fig. 27(a)).
Rejection 3/3
Claims 1, 3, 7, 9, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2022/0146744) and Liang et al. (US 2023/0060979), both newly cited.
(Re Claim 1) Li teaches a light-emitting device, comprising: a substrate (base substrate of 11; ¶55); a circuit layer (drive circuit layer of 11; ¶55) on the substrate;
a plurality of conductive connection portions (the two pads p corresponding to the leftmost element 13; Fig. 2), a semiconductor light-emitting source (13; Fig. 2) contacting two adjacent ones of the plurality of conductive connection portions (Fig. 2); and a reflective layer (12; Fig. 2) disposed on the circuit layer and covering the conductive structures, wherein the reflective layer has an opening (121; Fig. 2 and 3), wherein the two adjacent ones of the plurality of conductive connection portions and the semiconductor light-emitting source are disposed in the opening (Fig. 2), and wherein the opening is wider than the semiconductor light-emitting source (Fig. 2, ¶¶60-62, 67).
Li does not explicitly teach a light-emitting device comprising:
the circuit layer having a plurality of conductive structure, wherein the circuit layer a plurality of bonding pads;
an interval between two adjacent ones of the plurality of conductive structures, wherein the interval exposes a portion of the substrate, wherein each conductive connection portion is correspondingly disposed on each bonding pad;
the semiconductor light-emitting source crossing the interval; and
the reflective layer covering the conductive structures, wherein the opening of the reflective layer is aligned with the interval, and the opening exposes the two adjacent ones of the plurality of conductive structures.
Liang teaches forming a substrate (100; Fig. 2 and 24, ¶179) and a circuit layer (200; Fig. 2 and 20, ¶179) on the substrate and having a plurality of conductive structures (411; Fig. 20), wherein the circuit layer comprises a plurality of bonding pads (each 432; Fig. 20);
an interval (between the left and right conductive structures 411; Fig. 20) between two adjacent ones of the plurality of conductive structures, wherein the interval exposes a portion of the substrate (Fig. 20);
conductive connection portions (272; Fig. 20) wherein each conductive connection portion is correspondingly disposed on each bonding pad (Fig. 20);
a semiconductor light-emitting source (310; Fig. 20, ¶121).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to utilize a multi-layered circuit layer underneath the conductive connection portions p of Li, as taught by Liang, to drive the semiconductor light-emitting source 13 of Li, thereby allowing the semiconductor light-emitting source to emit light, and also to reduce a voltage drop (¶127), as the plating method utilized increases the thickness of leads associated with the circuit layer (“…belong to the same first lead layer 201, and may be formed by the electroplating process or chemical plating process to increase the thickness of each lead and reduce the impedance of each lead, so as to reduce the voltage drop”; ¶127).
Forming the circuit layer of Li with internal connections leading to external ones according to Liang results in modified Li teaching a light-emitting device, comprising:
a circuit layer having a plurality of conductive structures (Liang: 411; markup showing modified Li utilizing Liang’s teachings), wherein the circuit layer comprises a plurality of bonding pads (Liang: each 432; modified Li markup);
an interval (modified Li markup) between two adjacent ones of the plurality of conductive structures, wherein the interval exposes a portion of the substrate (modified Li markup), wherein each conductive connection portion is correspondingly disposed on each bonding pad (modified Li markup);
the semiconductor light-emitting source crossing the interval (modified Li markup); and
the reflective layer covering the conductive structures (modified Li markup), wherein the opening of the reflective layer is aligned with the interval (as the conductive structures of Liang are formed aligned with contacts on the semiconductor light-emitting source 310 of Liang; modified Li markup), and the opening exposes the two adjacent ones of the plurality of conductive structures (the opening is larger than the semiconductor light-emitting element 13 of Li; modified Li markup).
(Re Claim 3) Modified Li teaches the light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the conductive connection portions respectively contact side surfaces of the reflective layer (left and right side surfaces; Li: Fig. 2).
(Re Claim 7) Modified Li teaches the light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor light-emitting source comprises a light-emitting diode chip having two electrodes (left and right electrode are semiconductor light-emitting sources 13 “are soldered to the conductors in a one-to-one correspondence manner”; ¶55) respectively on the two adjacent conductive connection portions (Fig. 2).
(Re Claim 9) Modified Li teaches the light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the reflective layer comprises a white reflective layer (white reflective layer; ¶57) or a metal reflective layer.
(Re Claim 21) Modified Li teaches the light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the conductive connection portions directly contact the reflective layer (Fig. 2).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2022/0146744) and Liang et al. (US 2023/0060979), both newly cited, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Song et al. (US 2022/0189896).
(Re Claim 5) Modified Li teaches the light-emitting device of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach the light-emitting device wherein the conductive connection portions comprise copper, nickel, palladium, silver, gold, tin, or alloy thereof.
Song teaches a soldering pad may be made of copper (Song: ¶110).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the conductive connection portions of modified Li using copper as taught by Song, as the conductive connection portions are intended for use in a soldering operation (Li: ¶53), and copper is suitable for this purpose as taught by Song. Copper also has excellent conductivity for electrical connections. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/6/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new rejection.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A. SCHODDE/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898