DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
(Re Claim 21) It is unclear how many different metallic fill materials are required by the claim, as “a metallic fill material” is recited twice.
During examination, “…and the vias include a metallic fill material” was read as “…and the vias include the metallic fill material”.
Claims 22-25 inherit this rejection for indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2018/0058943) of record and Chang et al. (US 2021/0257248) referred to as Chang248 newly cited.
(Re Claim 1) Ge teaches a structure comprising: a semiconductor device (MOSFET; Fig. 1); a dielectric layer (108; Fig. 1) on the semiconductor device; and a metallic element (106+126+130+138; Fig. 1), physically separate from the semiconductor device (Fig. 1), having a first portion (Fig. 1 markup) within the dielectric layer adjacent to the semiconductor device and a second portion (Fig. 1 markup) extending from the first portion above the dielectric layer.
Ge does not explicitly teach a structure wherein the second portion has a tapered top end, with a width that decreases to a point with increasing distance from the first portion.
Though Ge does not explicitly teach a structure comprising a metallic heating element, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would understand that it is inherent that metallic element 106+126+130+138 is a metallic heating element, as 106+126+130+138 is formed from tungsten fill (¶¶25, 27), the same material as the metallic heating element of the instant (instant: ¶36) that is used to generate heat; metallic heating element 106+126+130+138 will generate heat when there is a non-zero current present.
Chang248 teaches utilizing a CMP process (¶¶44-47) to round the top ends of metallic heating elements (272, 274, 276, 284, and 286 are made from tungsten; Fig. 13 and 16, ¶¶31, 48) where an alternative embodiment (277; Fig. 13, ¶47) demonstrates a metallic heating element having a tapered top end with a width that decreases to a point (due to convex shape; ¶47) with increasing distance from a first portion of the same metallic heating element (Fig. 13).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form each element 138 of Ge such that their top ends are tapered top ends with a width that decreases to a point with increasing distance from the first portion as taught by Chang248’s embodiment with the shape of 277 from Fig. 13. The CMP process P3 of Chang248 compensates for dishing (Chang248: ¶41) as a result of removing excess conductive material and allows for reduced contact resistance with other interconnect features (Chang248: ¶50). The step P3 of Chang248 is applicable to both vertical and horizontal interconnects (Chang: ¶49). See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
The resulting tapered top ends are depicted in a Fig. 1 markup of modified Ge below.
(Re Claim 2) Modified Ge teaches the structure of claim 1, further comprising an additional dielectric layer (141; Fig. 1) on the dielectric layer, wherein the metallic heating element comprises a metallic fill material (tungsten: ¶¶25, 27) within a cavity (the cavity is the extent of the metal heating element; Fig. 1 markup), wherein the cavity has a first section (between 112 and 132; Fig. 1) within the dielectric layer and a second section (remainder of cavity; Fig. 1) above the first section, wherein the cavity is capped by the additional dielectric layer (141 caps the cavity; Fig. 1), and wherein the tapered top end of the second portion of the metallic heating element is seated within and immediately adjacent to a concave area (modified Ge markup based on Fig. 1) at a bottom surface (within box shown in modified Ge markup) of the additional dielectric layer such that a shape of the tapered top end is defined by a shape of the concave area (modified Ge markup).
(Re Claim 4) Modified Ge teaches the structure of claim 2, wherein the metallic fill material comprises a metal (tungsten: ¶¶25, 27) or metal alloy.
(Re Claim 8) Modified Ge teaches the structure of claim 1, wherein the metallic heating element is one of: aligned above and parallel to the semiconductor device (parallel from left to right as seen in Fig. 1),
above, off set from, and parallel to the semiconductor device,
above and perpendicular to the semiconductor device, and
positioned laterally adjacent and parallel to the semiconductor device,
and wherein the metallic heating element is any of linear (linear; Fig. 1) and curved.
Modified Ge does not explicitly teach the structure wherein the metallic heating element is adapted to pass heat energy to the semiconductor device.
However, though modified Ge does not explicitly teach a metallic heating element adapted to pass heat energy to the semiconductor device, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious that the metallic heating element 106+126+130+138 of modified Ge is adapted to pass heat energy to the semiconductor device MOSFET of modified Ge, as 106+126+130+138 is formed of tungsten (Ge: ¶¶25, 27), the same material as the metallic heating element of the instant (instant: ¶36) that is used to pass heat energy to the semiconductor device when a non-zero current is present.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2018/0058943) of record and and Chang et al. (US 2021/0257248) referred to as Chang248 newly cited, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Chang (US 2009/0302299) referred to as Chang299 of record.
(Re Claim 3) Modified Ge teaches the structure of claim 2, but does not explicitly teach the structure wherein the metallic fill material contains a void.
Chang299 teaches that voids form with some frequency in metallic heating elements (252; Fig. 3F) when using tungsten as a metallic fill material (¶63).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious for the metallic fill material to contain a void – such as within the elements 126 – as it is formed from tungsten, and voids form with some frequency according to Chang299.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2018/0058943) of record and Chang et al. (US 2021/0257248) referred to as Chang248 newly cited, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Cheng et al. (US 2021/0305356) of record.
(Re Claim 5) Modified Ge teaches the structure of claim 2, but does not explicitly teach the structure further comprising an etch stop layer between the dielectric layer and the additional dielectric layer.
Cheng teaches forming an etch stop layer (270; Fig. 8) between a dielectric layer (220; Fig. 8) and an additional dielectric layer (250).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form an etch stop layer between the dielectric layer and the additional dielectric layer of modified Ge, as taught by Cheng, in order to facilitate the formation of conductive structures within the additional dielectric layer (Cheng: ¶20).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2018/0058943) of record and Chang et al. (US 2021/0257248) referred to as Chang248 newly cited, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Radwan et al. (US 2012/0214305) and Lee et al. (US 2020/0135641), both of record.
(Re Claim 6) Modified Ge teaches the structure of claim 2, but does not explicitly teach the structure further comprising vias extending through the additional dielectric layer to the metallic heating element, wherein the additional dielectric layer has via openings that extend to the cavity, wherein the vias comprise a metallic liner lining the via openings and the metallic fill material further filling the via openings.
Radwan teaches forming vias (132; Fig. 1h, ¶40) extending through a dielectric layer (131; Fig. 1h) to a metallic element (122; Fig. 1h).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious form a pair of vias extending through the additional dielectric layer to the metal heating element, such that the respective via openings extend through the additional dielectric layer to the cavity, in the manner taught by Radwan, when routing requirements require vertical connections to 138s within the interconnect area 134 of modified Ge due to changing wiring densities. Moreover, this achieves the predictable result of forming additional electrical connections in an interconnect area.
Lee teaches that tungsten is a known alternative to copper when forming a via connection (¶35), and a metallic liner lining a via opening (¶35).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the vias of modified Ge, as taught by Radwan, such that the vias comprise a metallic liner (TiN; Lee: ¶35) lining the via openings and the metallic fill material (tungsten; Lee: ¶35) further filling the via openings, as taught by Lee, as Lee teaches that tungsten is a known alternative to the copper (Radwan: ¶40) taught by Radwan, and that a metallic liner lining the via openings reduces out-diffusion of the metallic fill material (Lee: ¶35).
(Re Claim 7) Modified Ge teaches the structure of claim 6, but does not explicitly teach the structure wherein the metallic heating element further comprises at least some metallic liner material within the cavity.
Lee teaches a metallic liner for metallic elements (¶35).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to deposit a TiN liner around the tungsten metallic fill material of the metallic heating element of modified Ge, in order to reduce out-diffusion of the metallic fill material.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2018/0058943) of record and Chang et al. (US 2021/0257248) referred to as Chang248 newly cited, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chuang et al. (US 2011/0057267), Dixon et al. (US 2008/0191780), Singh et al. (US 9,263,385), and Chakravarti et al. (US 2008/0006902), all of record.
(Re Claim 9) Modified Ge teaches the structure of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the semiconductor device comprises any of an electronic fuse and a photonic device.
Ge teaches that element 104 is situated to detect a temperature of semiconductor devices in the layer 114 (Fig. 1, ¶24).
Chuang teaches a polysilicon electronic fuse (220; Fig. 6, ¶19) adjacent to a MOSFET (234; Fig. 6, ¶19).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to use the polysilicon electronic fuse taught by Chuang as the semiconductor device, such that it is disposed beneath element 104 of Ge, when the structure above layer 114 of Ge is disposed in a memory area of a processing unit (Ge: data processor 808 may include a memory to store data and program codes, and system 300 is disposed in 808; Fig. 1, 3, and 7, ¶¶28, 40), in order to take advantage of a polysilicon electronic fuse’s ability to enable on-chip programmability and change circuit tuning (Singh: Col. 3 Ln. 3-6), and to achieve the predictable result of storing digital information in a processor (Dixon: ¶3).
Additionally, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to have the semiconductor device of modified Ge be a polysilicon electronic fuse, as taught by Chuang, and disposed under element 104 of modified Ge (Fig. 1), in order to determine the temperature of the polysilicon electronic fuse to monitor hot spots (Chakravarti: ¶¶7-8) during programming.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2018/0058943) of record and Chang et al. (US 2021/0257248) referred to as Chang248 newly cited, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chuang et al. (US 2011/0057267), Dixon et al. (US 2008/0191780), Singh et al. (US 9,263,385), Chakravarti et al. (US 2008/0006902), Stamper et al. (US 2018/0247956), and Lee (US 2020/0135641), all of record.
(Re Claim 11) Modified Ge teaches the structure of claim 1, wherein the metallic heating element comprises a tungsten heating element (see the rejection of claim 1; Ge: ¶¶25, 27).
Modified Ge does not explicitly teach wherein the semiconductor device comprises a polysilicon electronic fuse, and wherein the dielectric layer comprises borophosphosilicate glass.
Ge teaches that element 104 is situated to detect a temperature of semiconductor devices in the layer 114 (Fig. 1, ¶24).
Chuang teaches a polysilicon electronic fuse (220; Fig. 6, ¶19) adjacent to a MOSFET (234; Fig. 6, ¶19).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to use the polysilicon electronic fuse taught by Chuang as the semiconductor device, such that it is disposed beneath element 104 of Ge, when the structure above layer 114 of Ge is disposed in a memory area of a processing unit (Ge: data processor 808 may include a memory to store data and program codes, and system 300 is disposed in 808; Fig. 1, 3, and 7, ¶¶28, 40), in order to take advantage of a polysilicon electronic fuse’s ability to enable on-chip programmability and change circuit tuning (Singh: Col. 3 Ln. 3-6), and to achieve the predictable result of storing digital information in a processor (Dixon: ¶3).
Additionally, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to have the semiconductor device of modified Ge be a polysilicon electronic fuse, as taught by Chuang, and disposed under element 104 of modified Ge (Fig. 1), in order to determine the temperature of the polysilicon electronic fuse to monitor hot spots (Chakravarti: ¶¶7-8) during programming.
Stamper teaches depositing a middle of the line dielectric layer over a semiconductor device after forming the semiconductor device (¶4).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the MOL layer 110 from a dielectric, as this is known to be a suitable material for forming a MOL layer. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Lee teaches using borophosphosilicate glass for a dielectric layer (76+78 formed from BPSG; ¶23).
As both layers 78 of modified Ge and 76+78 of Lee are dielectric layers, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to use borophosphosilicate glass as taught by Lee for the material of dielectric layer 78 of Ge. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2018/0058943), Radwan et al. (US 2012/0214305), and Lee et al. (US 2020/0135641), all of record and Chang et al. (US 2021/0257248) referred to as Chang248 newly cited.
(Re Claim 21) Ge teaches a structure comprising: a semiconductor device (MOSFET; Fig. 1); a dielectric layer (108; Fig. 1) on the semiconductor device; a metallic element (106+126+130+138; Fig. 1), physically separate from the semiconductor device (Fig. 1), having a first portion (Fig. 1 markup) within the dielectric layer adjacent to the semiconductor device and a second portion (Fig. 1 markup) extending from the first portion above the dielectric layer, and an additional dielectric layer on the dielectric layer, wherein the metallic element comprises a metallic fill material (tungsten; ¶¶25, 27) within a cavity (the cavity is the extent of the metallic element; Fig. 1), wherein the cavity has a first section (between 112 and 132; Fig. 1) within the dielectric layer and a second section (remainder of cavity; Fig. 1) above the first section, and wherein the cavity is capped by the additional dielectric layer (141 caps the cavity; Fig. 1).
Ge does not explicitly teach a structure wherein the second portion has a tapered top end, with a width that decreases to a point with increasing distance from the first portion; and the metallic element is a metallic heating element; and
vias within via openings extending through the additional dielectric layer to the metallic heating element, wherein the first portion of the metallic heating element, the second portion of the metallic heating element, and the vias include a metallic fill material extending through the first section and the second section of the cavity and further extending into and through the via opening.
Though Ge does not explicitly teach a structure comprising a metallic heating element, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would understand that it is inherent that metallic element 106+126+130+138 is a metallic heating element, as 106+126+130+138 is formed from tungsten fill (¶27), the same material as the metallic heating element of the instant (instant: ¶36) that is used to generate heat; metallic heating element 106+126+130+138 will generate heat when there is a non-zero current present.
Chang248 teaches utilizing a CMP process (¶¶44-47) to round the top ends of metallic heating elements (272, 274, 276, 284, and 286 are made from tungsten; Fig. 13 and 16, ¶¶31, 48) where an alternative embodiment (277; Fig. 13, ¶47) demonstrates a metallic heating element having a tapered top end with a width that decreases to a point (due to convex shape; ¶47) with increasing distance from a first portion of the same metallic heating element (Fig. 13).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form each element 138 of Ge such that their top ends are tapered top ends with a width that decreases to a point with increasing distance from the first portion as taught by Chang248’s embodiment with the shape of 277 from Fig. 13. The CMP process P3 of Chang248 compensates for dishing (Chang248: ¶41) as a result of removing excess conductive material and allows for reduced contact resistance with other interconnect features (Chang248: ¶50). The step P3 of Chang248 is applicable to both vertical and horizontal interconnects (Chang: ¶49). See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
The resulting tapered top ends are depicted in a Fig. 1 markup of modified Ge below.
Modified Ge has still not been shown to explicitly teach the structure comprising: vias within via openings extending through the additional dielectric layer to the metallic heating element, wherein the first portion of the metallic heating element, the second portion of the metallic heating element, and the vias include a metallic fill material extending through the first section and the second section of the cavity and further extending into and through the via opening.
Radwan teaches forming vias (132; Fig. 1h, ¶40) extending through a dielectric layer (131; Fig. 1h) to a metallic element (122; Fig. 1h).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious form a pair of vias extending through the additional dielectric layer to the metallic heating element, in the manner taught by Radwan, when routing requirements require vertical connections to 138s within the interconnect area 134 of modified Ge due to changing wiring densities. Moreover, this achieves the predictable result of forming additional electrical connections in an interconnect area.
Lee teaches that tungsten is a known alternative to copper when forming a via connection (¶35).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the vias of modified Ge, as taught by Radwan, such that the vias comprise the metallic fill material (tungsten; Lee: ¶35) further filling the via openings, as taught by Lee, as Lee teaches that tungsten is a known alternative to the copper (Radwan: ¶40) taught by Radwan.
Though Ge does not explicitly teach a material for elements 138, elements 138 are recognized as metals (Fig. 1), and tungsten is used as the conductive material for the conductive elements 126 (¶25). A PHOSITA would find it obvious to utilize tungsten for the material of elements 138 in order to take advantage of its suitable conductivity and resistance to electromigration. See In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Ge does not teach a particular material for elements 130 but identifies them as vias (Fig. 1).
Lee teaches that tungsten is a known material when forming a via connection (¶35).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to utilize tungsten to form the elements 130 of Ge, as tungsten is known material utilized to form via connections in devices. Tungsten has suitable conductivity and resistance to electromigration. See In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
As the metallic fill material is formed throughout the structure of modified Ge to form the first portion of the metallic heating element, the second portion of the metallic heating element, and the vias, as taught by Ge, Radwan, and Lee, the first portion of the metallic heating element, the second portion of the metallic heating element, and the vias include a metallic fill material extending through the first section and the second section of the cavity and further extending into and through the via opening.
(Re Claim 23) Modified Ge teaches the structure of claim 21, wherein the metallic fill material comprises a metal (tungsten; see rejection of claim 21) or metal alloy.
(Re Claim 24) Modified Ge teaches the structure of claim 21, but has not been explicitly shown to teach the structure wherein the metallic heating element further comprises at least some metallic liner material within the cavity.
Lee teaches a metallic liner for metallic elements (¶35).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to deposit a TiN liner around the tungsten metallic fill material of the metallic heating element of modified Ge, in order to reduce out-diffusion of the metallic fill material.
(Re Claim 25) Modified Ge teaches the structure of claim 21, but has not been explicitly shown to teach the structure wherein the via openings comprise at least some metallic liner material.
Lee teaches a metallic liner lining a via opening (¶35).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the vias of modified Ge, as taught by Radwan, such that the vias comprise a metallic liner (TiN; Lee: ¶35) lining the via openings as a metallic liner lining the via openings reduces out-diffusion of the metallic fill material (Lee: ¶35).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2018/0058943), Radwan et al. (US 2012/0214305), and Lee et al. (US 2020/0135641), all of record and Chang et al. (US 2021/0257248) referred to as Chang248 newly cited as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Chang (US 2009/0302299) referred to as Chang299 of record.
(Re Claim 22) Modified Ge teaches the structure of claim 21, but has not been shown to explicitly teach the structure wherein the metallic fill material contains a void.
Chang299 teaches that voids form with some frequency in metallic heating elements (252; Fig. 3F) when using tungsten as a metallic fill material (¶63).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious for the metallic fill material to contain a void – such as within the elements 126 – as it is formed from tungsten, and voids form with some frequency according to Chang299.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2018/0058943), Radwan et al. (US 2012/0214305), Lee et al. (US 2020/0135641), Chuang et al. (US 2011/0057267), Dixon et al. (US 2008/0191780), Singh et al. (US 9,263,385), and Chakravarti et al. (US 2008/0006902), all of record and Chang et al. (US 2021/0257248) referred to as Chang248, and Iyer et al. (US 6,433,404), both newly cited.
(Re Claim 26) Ge teaches a structure comprising:
a dielectric layer (108; Fig. 1);
a metallic element (106+126+130+138; Fig. 1), having a first portion (Fig. 1 markup) within the dielectric layer and a second portion (Fig. 1 markup) extending from the first portion above the dielectric layer, and
an additional dielectric layer (141; Fig. 1) wherein the metallic element comprises a metallic fill material (tungsten; ¶¶25, 27) within a cavity (the cavity is the extend of the metallic element; Fig. 1), wherein the cavity has a first section (between 112 and 132; Fig. 1) within the dielectric layer and a second section (remainder of cavity; Fig. 1) above the first section, and wherein the cavity is capped by the additional dielectric layer (141 caps the cavity; Fig. 1).
Ge has not been explicitly shown to teach the structure comprising:
an electronic fuse including an anode, a cathode, and a fuse link extending laterally between the anode and the cathode;
the dielectric layer on the electronic fuse;
the metallic element is a metallic heating element, physically separate from and parallel to the fuse link, having a first portion adjacent to the electronic fuse, wherein the second portion has a tapered top end, with a width that decreases to a point with increasing distance from the first portion; and
vias within via openings extending through the additional dielectric layer to opposite ends of the metallic heating element adjacent to the anode and cathode.
Though Ge does not explicitly teach a structure comprising a metallic heating element, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would understand that it is inherent that metallic element 106+126+130+138 is a metallic heating element, as 106+126+130+138 is formed from tungsten fill (¶27), the same material as the metallic heating element of the instant (instant: ¶36) that is used to generate heat; metallic heating element 106+126+130+138 will generate heat when there is a non-zero current present.
Chang248 teaches utilizing a CMP process (¶¶44-47) to round the top ends of metallic heating elements (272, 274, 276, 284, and 286 are made from tungsten; Fig. 13 and 16, ¶¶31, 48) where an alternative embodiment (277; Fig. 13, ¶47) demonstrates a metallic heating element having a tapered top end with a width that decreases to a point (due to convex shape; ¶47) with increasing distance from a first portion of the same metallic heating element (Fig. 13).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form each element 138 of Ge such that their top ends are tapered top ends with a width that decreases to a point with increasing distance from the first portion as taught by Chang248’s embodiment with the shape of 277 from Fig. 13. The CMP process P3 of Chang248 compensates for dishing (Chang248: ¶41) as a result of removing excess conductive material and allows for reduced contact resistance with other interconnect features (Chang248: ¶50). The step P3 of Chang248 is applicable to both vertical and horizontal interconnects (Chang: ¶49). See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
The resulting tapered top ends are depicted in a Fig. 1 markup of modified Ge below.
Radwan teaches forming vias (132; Fig. 1h, ¶40) extending through a dielectric layer (131; Fig. 1h) to a metallic element (122; Fig. 1h).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious form a pair of vias extending through the additional dielectric layer to opposite ends of the metallic heating element, in the manner taught by Radwan, when routing requirements require vertical connections to 138s within the interconnect area 134 of modified Ge due to changing wiring densities. And this allows for delivery of a voltage to, and extraction of the current from, the metallic heating element that is used to sense temperature (Fig. 3). Moreover, this achieves the predictable result of forming additional electrical connections in an interconnect area.
Ge teaches that element 104 is situated to detect a temperature of semiconductor devices in the layer 114 (Fig. 1, ¶24).
Chuang teaches a polysilicon electronic fuse (220; Fig. 6, ¶19) adjacent to a MOSFET (234; Fig. 6, ¶19).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to use the polysilicon electronic fuse taught by Chuang as the semiconductor device, such that it is disposed beneath element 104 of Ge, when the structure above layer 114 of Ge is disposed in a memory area of a processing unit (Ge: data processor 808 may include a memory to store data and program codes, and system 300 is disposed in 808; Fig. 1, 3, and 7, ¶¶28, 40), in order to take advantage of a polysilicon electronic fuse’s ability to enable on-chip programmability and change circuit tuning (Singh: Col. 3 Ln. 3-6), and to achieve the predictable result of storing digital information in a processor (Dixon: ¶3).
Additionally, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to have the semiconductor device of modified Ge be a polysilicon electronic fuse, as taught by Chuang, and disposed under element 104 of modified Ge (Fig. 1), in order to determine the temperature of the polysilicon electronic fuse to monitor hot spots (Chakravarti: ¶¶7-8) during programming.
Iyer teaches a polysilicon electronic fuse (10; polysilicon layer 20; Fig. 1 and 2) having an anode (14), cathode (16), and a fuse link (12) extending laterally between the anode and the cathode (Fig. 1).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious that when forming the polysilicon electronic fuse of Chuang, there should be an anode, a cathode, and a fuse link arranged as taught by Iyer, to allow for electrical contact with terminals that are used to initiate melting or silicide agglomeration (Iyer: col. 1 ln. 26-31). See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
With the semiconductor device of modified Ge formed as an electronic fuse according to Chuang in view of Iyer modified Ge teaches the metallic heating element is physically separate from and parallel to (in a left to right direction, the metallic heating element is parallel to the surface of the fuse link as taught by Iyer’s Fig. 2, where the longitudinal direction of the fuse link is the same as the direction of the fin’s longitudinal extent as seen in Ge’s Fig. 1; Chuang: Fig. 6)) the fuse link, and the vias within via openings extend through the additional dielectric to opposite ends of the metallic heating element (Ge: Fig. 3) adjacent to the anode and the cathode (“adjacent” does not require overlap, and reads on elements that are simply close to each other; Ge: “106 is disposed in the MOL layer 108 immediately adjacent to the active semiconductor layers 112”; ¶24).
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2018/0058943), Radwan et al. (US 2012/0214305), Lee et al. (US 2020/0135641), Chuang et al. (US 2011/0057267), Dixon et al. (US 2008/0191780), Singh et al. (US 9,263,385), and Chakravarti et al. (US 2008/0006902), all of record and Chang et al. (US 2021/0257248) referred to as Chang248, and Iyer et al. (US 6,433,404), both newly cited, as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0135641) of record.
(Re Claim 27) Modified Ge teaches the structure of claim 26, but has not been explicitly shown to teach the structure further comprises at least some metallic liner material with the cavity.
Lee teaches a metallic liner for metallic elements (¶35).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to deposit a TiN liner around the tungsten metallic fill material of the metallic heating element of modified Ge, in order to reduce out-diffusion of the metallic fill material.
(Re Claim 28) Modified Ge teaches the structure of claim 26, but has not been shown to explicitly teach the structure wherein the via openings further comprises at least some metallic liner material.
Lee teaches a metallic liner lining a via opening (¶35).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the vias of modified Ge, as taught by Radwan, such that the vias comprise a metallic liner (TiN; Lee: ¶35) lining the via openings as a metallic liner lining the via openings reduces out-diffusion of the metallic fill material (Lee: ¶35).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2018/0058943), Radwan et al. (US 2012/0214305), Lee et al. (US 2020/0135641), Chuang et al. (US 2011/0057267), Dixon et al. (US 2008/0191780), Singh et al. (US 9,263,385), and Chakravarti et al. (US 2008/0006902), all of record and Chang et al. (US 2021/0257248) referred to as Chang248, and Iyer et al. (US 6,433,404), both newly cited, as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Chang (US 2009/0302299) referred to as Chang299 of record.
(Re Claim 29) Modified Ge teaches the structure of claim 26, but has not been explicitly shown to teach the structure wherein the metallic fill material contains a void.
Chang299 teaches that voids form with some frequency in metallic heating elements (252; Fig. 3F) when using tungsten as a metallic fill material (¶63).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious for the metallic fill material to contain a void – such as within the elements 126 – as it is formed from tungsten, and voids form with some frequency according to Chang299.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant appears to argue a narrower interpretation of “the first portion of the metallic heating element, the second portion of the metallic heating element, and the vias include a metallic fill material extending through the first section and the second section of the cavity and further extending into and through the via opening” than is justified by the claim language or specification. Claim 21 is not a method claim and does not implicitly require the first and second portions of the metallic heating element, along with the vias, to be formed simultaneously (remarks, p. 17). What is required is that at some point in time there is a structure, either disclosed by a single reference or in view of a plurality of references, that possesses the quoted limitation above simultaneously with the other limitations of claim 21.
The remainder of Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER A. SCHODDE/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898