DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-22, 24-31, and 33-39 are presented for examination based on the amended claims in the application filed on December 29, 2025. Claims 1-20, 23, 32, and 40 have been cancelled by the applicant.
Claims 21-22, 24-31, and 33-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 in view of Al-Haidari, Fahd, Mohammed Sqalli, and Khaled Salah. “Impact of CPU utilization thresholds and scaling size on autoscaling cloud resources.” In 2013 IEEE 5th International Conference on Cloud Computing Technology and Science, vol. 2, pp. 256-261. IEEE, 2013.21 [herein “Al-Haidari”].
Claims 30-31 and 33-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception, an abstract idea, it has not been integrated into practical application and the claims further do not recite significantly more than the judicial exception. Examiner has evaluated the claims under the framework provided in the 2019 Patent Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register 01/07/2019 and has provided such analysis below.
Claims 21 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Haidari in view of Fernandez, Hector, Guillaume Pierre, and Thilo Kielmann. “Autoscaling web applications in heterogeneous cloud infrastructures.” In 2014 IEEE international conference on cloud engineering, pp. 195-204. IEEE, 2014 [herein “Fernandez”].
Claims 22 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Haidari and Fernandez as applied to claim 21, and further in view of Lorido-Botran, Tania, Jose Miguel-Alonso, and Jose A. Lozano “A review of auto-scaling techniques for elastic applications in cloud environments.” Journal of grid computing 12 (2014): 559-592 [herein “Lorido-Botran”].
Claims 24 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Haidari and Fernandez, as applied to claim 21, and further in view of Han, Rui, Li Guo, Moustafa M. Ghanem, and Yike Guo “Lightweight resource scaling for cloud applications” In 2012 12th IEEE/ACM International Symposium on Cluster, Cloud and Grid Computing (CCGrid 2012), pp. 644-651. IEEE, 2012 [herein “Han”].
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Haidari and Fernandez as applied to claim 21, and further in view of US 2016/0323377 A1 Einkauf et al. [herein “Einkauf”].
Claims 30 and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Al-Haidari.
Claims 31 and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Haidari as applied to claim 30, and in view of Lorido-Botran.
Claims 33 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Haidari as applied to claim 30, and in view of Han.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Haidari as applied to claim 30 above, and in view Einkauf.
This action is made Non-Final.
--- This page is left blank after this line ---
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed December 29, 2025 has been entered. Claims 21-22, 24-31, and 33-39 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 21-22 and 24-29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 21, which cites “the application cluster capacity” in Ln. 18, is improper because there has been no previous recitation of “the application cluster capacity”. For the purpose of examination, “the application cluster capacity” will be interpreted as “an application cluster capacity”. Claims 22 and 24-29 are also objected to for incorporating the deficiency of its dependent claim 21.
Furthermore, claim 21, which cites “the load capability” in Ln. 18, is improper because there has been no previous recitation of “the load capability”. For the purpose of examination, “the load capability” will be interpreted as “a load capability”. Claims 22 and 24-29 are also objected to for incorporating the deficiency of its dependent claim 21.
Furthermore, claim 21, which cites “an application cluster capacity” in Ln. 20, is improper because there has been a previous recitation of “application cluster capacity” in Ln. 18. For the purpose of examination, “an application cluster capacity” will be interpreted as “the application cluster capacity”. Claims 22 and 24-29 are also objected to for incorporating the deficiency of its dependent claim 21.
Furthermore, claim 21, claim 21, which cites “a load capability” in Ln. 20-21, is improper because there has been a previous recitation of “load capability” in Ln. 18. For the purpose of examination, “a load capability” will be interpreted as “the load capability”. Claims 22 and 24-29 are also objected to for incorporating the deficiency of its dependent claim 21.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-22, 24-31, and 33-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 in view of Al-Haidari, Fahd, Mohammed Sqalli, and Khaled Salah. “Impact of CPU utilization thresholds and scaling size on autoscaling cloud resources.” In 2013 IEEE 5th International Conference on Cloud Computing Technology and Science, vol. 2, pp. 256-261. IEEE, 2013.21 [herein “Al-Haidari”].
As per claim 21, U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 teaches “A method comprising: initializing, by a processing device, a simulated application cluster [isolated from production traffic], the simulated application cluster comprising at least one test machine configured to process simulated online traffic”, (Claim 1, A method comprising: initializing, by a processing device, a simulated application cluster, the simulated application cluster comprising one or more testing machines, and Claim 9, the performing overall workload pressure testing on each of the test machines comprising simulating, by the processing device, online traffic to each of the test machines.)
U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 teaches “performing, by the processing device, overall workload pressure testing on each test machine in a simulated application cluster, wherein the overall workload pressure testing simulates online traffic loads across multiple test machines [simultaneously]”, (Claim 1, A method comprising: performing, by the processing device, overall workload pressure testing on each of the test machines using a preset initial workload pressure value, Claim 1, the simulated application cluster comprising one or more testing machines, and Claim 9, the performing overall workload pressure testing on each of the test machines comprising simulating, by the processing device, online traffic to each of the test machines.)
U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 teaches “adjusting, by the processing device, a preset initial workload pressure value to generate an adjusted workload pressure value”, (Claim 1, adjusting, by the processing device, the workload pressure value.)
U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 teaches “and calculating, by the processing device, an average single-machine capability of each test machine when the adjusted workload pressure value reaches a maximum value triggering a rate limit threshold of the application cluster wherein the average single-machine capability represents a processing capacity metric for capacity planning of a production application cluster”, (Claim 1, and calculating, by the processing device, the average single-machine capability of each of the testing machines when the workload pressure value reaches a maximum value triggering a rate limit threshold of the application cluster, and Claim 6, adjusting, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster.)
U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 teaches “wherein calculating the average single-machine capability comprises using an average query-per-second of each test machine as the average single-machine capability of the application cluster when the application cluster capacity is reduced and the load capability of the application cluster reaches a capacity expansion threshold of auto scaling”, (Claim 3, using, by the processing device, an average query-per second of each of the testing machines as the average single-machine capability of the testing machines when the application cluster capacity is reduced and the load capability of the application cluster reaches a capacity expansion threshold of auto scaling.)
U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 teaches: “reducing, by the processing device, an application cluster capacity when a load capability of the application cluster reaches a capacity reduction threshold of auto scaling”. (Claim 3, reducing, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity when a load capability of the application cluster reaches a capacity reduction threshold of auto scaling.)
Furthermore, regarding claim 21, U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 fails to distinctly point out that the “simulated application cluster is isolated from production traffic” and “wherein the overall workload pressure testing simulates online traffic loads across multiple test machines simultaneously”.
However, in the same field of endeavor namely optimizing resource utilization through simulating computer instances, Al-Haidari teaches “simulated application cluster is isolated from production traffic”. (Pg. 257, Para. 5, “We have conducted several simulation experiments that mimic the cloud computing service characteristics to show and evaluate the impact of varying the upper threshold of the CPU utilization on the cloud service performance metrics” [simulating]. Pg. 256, “VM instances are clustered in elastic groups” [simulated application cluster]. Pg. 257, Para. 7, “Fig. 1 shows the queuing model that we have used to simulate the cloud computing architecture. The input to the simulation is an aggregated traffic from different sources” [e.g., a simulated application cluster isolated from production traffic]. Pg. 257, Para. 7, “Regarding the load balancing (LB), we have used a Round Robin (RR) technique to implement the load balancing process in the simulation model” [test machine configured to process simulated online traffic]. Further see Sect. I-III. The examiner has interpreted that conducting a simulation experiment to evaluates CPU utilization that includes clustering VM instances into elastic groups to simulated aggregated traffic from different sources as a simulated application cluster isolated from production traffic.)
Al-Haidari also teaches “wherein the overall workload pressure testing simulates online traffic loads across multiple test machines simultaneously”. (Pg. 257, Para. 5, “We have conducted several simulation experiments that mimic the cloud computing service characteristics to show and evaluate the impact of varying the upper threshold of the CPU utilization on the cloud service performance metrics” [performing overall workload pressure testing on each test machine]. Pg. 256, “VM instances are clustered in elastic groups” [application cluster]. Pg. 257, Para. 7, “Regarding the load balancing (LB), we have used a Round Robin (RR) technique to implement the load balancing process in the simulation model” [wherein the overall workload pressure testing simulates online traffic loads across multiple test machines simultaneously]. Figure 1 shows that the load balancing of the network traffic across multiple test machines, e.g., simultaneously. Further see Sect. I-III. The examiner has interpreted that conducting simulation experiments that mimics the cloud computing service characteristics to show and evaluate the impact of varying the upper threshold of the CPU utilization on the cloud service performance metrics measured by balancing loads across the model for computing resources as wherein the overall workload pressure testing simulates online traffic loads across multiple test machines simultaneously.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add “simulated application cluster is isolated from production traffic” and “wherein the overall workload pressure testing simulates online traffic loads across multiple test machines simultaneously” as conceptually seen from the teaching of Al-Haidari, into that of U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 because this modification of isolating the cluster from production traffic and simulating all test machines in the cluster together simultaneously for the advantageous purpose of eliminating factors associated with instance resourcing (Pg. 256, Sect. 1) and determining the impact of utilization on cluster (Pg 257 Sect. 3), respectively. Further motivation to combine be that U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 and Al-Haidari are analogous art to the current claim are directed to optimizing resource utilization through simulating computer instances.
As per claim 22, U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 teaches “the adjusting the workload pressure value comprising reducing, by the processing device, the workload pressure value according to a preset step length when the initial workload pressure value triggers the rate limit threshold”. (Claim 2, the adjusting the workload pressure value comprising reducing, by the processing device, the workload pressure value according to a preset step length when the initial workload pressure value triggers the rate limit threshold.)
As per claim 24, U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 teaches “the reducing the application cluster capacity comprising gradually reducing, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a preset capacity reduction ratio”. (Claim 4, the reducing the application cluster capacity comprising gradually reducing, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a preset capacity reduction ratio.)
As per claim 25, U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 teaches “calculating, by the processing device, a capacity percentage of a single application cluster within a set of application clusters after capacities of all the application clusters are obtained”. (Claim 5, calculating, by the processing device, a capacity percentage of a single application cluster within a set of application clusters after capacities of all the application clusters are obtained.)
As per claim 26, U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 teaches “adjusting, by the processing device, an application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster”. (Claim 6, adjusting, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster.)
As per claim 27, U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 teaches “the adjusting the application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster comprising adjusting, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a ratio of the planned data-handling capability of the application cluster to a total workload pressure value of the application cluster”. (Claim 7, adjusting the application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster comprising adjusting, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a ratio of the planned data-handling capability of the application cluster to the total workload pressure value of the application cluster.)
As per claim 28, U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 teaches “initializing the simulated application cluster by: identifying, by the processing device, an application cluster to simulate, the application cluster selected from a set of application clusters”, (Claim 8, initializing a simulated application cluster comprising: identifying, by the processing device, an application cluster to simulate, the application cluster selected from a set of application clusters.)
U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 teaches “initializing, by the processing device, the simulated application cluster with at least two test machines if the set of application clusters comprises a single application cluster”, (Claim 8, initializing, by the processing device, the simulated application cluster with at least two testing machines if the set of application clusters comprises a single application cluster.)
U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 teaches “and initializing, by the processing device, the simulated application cluster with a single test machine if the set of application clusters comprises at least two application clusters”. (Claim 8, and initializing, by the processing device, the simulated application cluster with a single testing machine if the set of application clusters comprises at least two application clusters.)
As per claim 29, U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 teaches “the performing overall workload pressure testing on each test machine comprising simulating, by the processing device, online traffic to each test machine”. (Claim 9, the performing overall workload pressure testing on each of the test machines comprising simulating, by the processing device, online traffic to each of the test machines.)
Re Claim 30, it is an articles of manufacture claim, having similar limitations of Claim 21. Thus, Claim 30 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of Claim 21.
Furthermore, regarding claim 30, U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 teaches “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for tangibly storing computer program instructions capable of being executed by a computer processor, the computer program instructions defining steps of”, (Claim 10, a storage medium for tangibly storing thereon program logic for execution by the processor, the stored program logic comprising.)
Re Claim 31, it is an articles of manufacture claim, having similar limitations of Claim 22. Thus, Claim 31 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of Claim 22.
Re Claim 33, it is an articles of manufacture claim, having similar limitations of Claim 24. Thus, Claim 33 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of Claim 24.
Re Claim 34, it is an articles of manufacture claim, having similar limitations of Claim 25. Thus, Claim 34 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of Claim 25.
Re Claim 35, it is an articles of manufacture claim, having similar limitations of Claim 26. Thus, Claim 35 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of Claim 26.
Re Claim 36, it is an articles of manufacture claim, having similar limitations of Claim 27. Thus, Claim 36 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of Claim 27.
Re Claim 37, it is an articles of manufacture claim, having similar limitations of Claim 28. Thus, Claim 37 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of Claim 28.
Re Claim 38, it is an articles of manufacture claim, having similar limitations of Claim 29. Thus, Claim 38 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of Claim 29.
Re Claim 39, it is a system claim, having similar limitations of Claim 21. Thus, Claim 39 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of Claim 21.
Furthermore, regarding claim 39, U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 teaches “A device comprising: a processor a storage medium for tangibly storing thereon program logic for execution by the processor, the stored program logic comprising”, (Claim 10, An apparatus comprising: a processor; and a storage medium for tangibly storing thereon program logic for execution by the processor, the stored program comprising.)
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 30-31 and 33-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception, an abstract idea, it has not been integrated into practical application and the claims further do not recite significantly more than the judicial exception. Examiner has evaluated the claims under the framework provided in the 2019 Patent Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register 01/07/2019 and has provided such analysis below.
Step 1:
Claims 30-31 and 33-38 are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium and fall within the statutory category of articles of manufacture, and claim 39 is directed to a device and falls within the statutory category of a machine. Therefore, “Are the claims to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?” Yes.
In order to evaluate the Step 2A inquiry “Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea?” we must determine, at Step 2A Prong 1, whether the claim recites a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea and further whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2A Prong 1:
Claims 30 and 39: The limitation of “calculating an average single-machine capability of each test machine when the adjusted workload pressure value reaches a maximum value triggering a rate limit threshold of the simulated application cluster, wherein the average single-machine capability represents a processing capacity metric for capacity planning of a production application cluster”, as drafted, is an operation that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation of mathematical evaluations. For example, calculating an average single-machine capability of a test machine in an application cluster when a threshold rate trigger occurs for the use of planning the cluster production can be conducted by dividing the maximum workload pressure value for the application cluster by the number of test machines (Para. 52 cites, “Calculation is done according to the maximum value of the workload pressure value. After the maximum value of the workload pressure value is obtained, the average single-machine capability of the testing machines can be obtained according to a ratio of the maximum value of the workload pressure value to the quantity of the testing machines included in the application cluster” which is a mathematical evaluation).
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation of mathematic operation but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mathematical Operation” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Prong I step 2A.
Furthermore, regarding claims 30 and 39: The limitations of:
“initializing a simulated application cluster isolated from production traffic, the simulated application cluster comprising at least one test machine configured to process simulated online traffic”,
“adjusting a preset initial workload pressure value to generate an adjusted workload pressure value”, and
“calculating an average single-machine capability of each test machine when the adjusted workload pressure value reaches a maximum value triggering a rate limit threshold of the simulated application cluster, wherein the average single-machine capability represents a processing capacity metric for capacity planning of a production application cluster” as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper. For example, the limitations can be conducted as the following:
a person can mentally select or draw with a pencil and paper an application cluster to be simulated as one test machine in a simulation that is isolated from live online network traffic,
a person can mentally change or draw with pen and paper the workload pressure value which is used as a parameter for the simulation test, such as amount of network traffic in a certain time frame, to determine an adjusted workload pressure value, and
a person can mentally determine or draw with pen and paper an average single-machine capability of each test machine when a threshold rate trigger occurs for the use of planning the cluster production using simple arithmetic by using the ratio of maximum workload pressure value for the cluster to the number of test machines
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Prong I step 2A.
Therefore, yes, claims 30 and 39 recite judicial exceptions. The claims have been identified to recite judicial exceptions, Step 2A Prong 2 will evaluate whether the claims are directed to the judicial exception.
Step 2A Prong 2:
Claims 30 and 39: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the following additional elements: “by a processing device”, “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for tangibly storing computer program instructions capable of being executed by a computer processor”, and “device comprising: a processor; and a storage medium for tangibly storing thereon program logic for execution by the processor” which is merely a recitation of generic computing components and functions being used as a tool to implement the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) with the broadest reasonable interpretation, which does not integrate a judicial exception into elements. Further, the following additional element “performing, by the processing device, overall workload pressure testing on each test machine in the simulated application cluster, wherein the overall workload pressure testing simulates online traffic loads across multiple test machines simultaneously” which is merely a recitation of insignificant extra-solution data gathering activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) and a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. The insignificant extra-solution activities are further addressed below under step 2B as also being Well-Understood, Routine, and Conventional (WURC).
Therefore, “Do the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?” No, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
After having evaluated the inquires set forth in Steps 2A Prong 1 and 2, it has been concluded that claims 30 and 39 not only recite a judicial exception but that the claims are directed to the judicial exception as the judicial exception has not been integrated into practical application.
Step 2B:
Claims 30 and 39: The claims do not include additional elements, alone or in combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than generic computing components and field of use/technological environment which do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Further, the insignificant extra-solution data gathering, record update, and data transmission activities are also Well-Understood, Routine and Conventional (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), “The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, ii. Performing repetitive calculations, iii. Electronic recordkeeping, iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory”).
Therefore, “Do the claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?” No, these additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Having concluded the analysis within the provided framework, claims 30 and 39 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claim 31, it recites an additional limitation of “the adjusting the workload pressure value comprising reducing the workload pressure value according to a preset step length when the initial workload pressure value triggers the rate limit threshold”, as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper. For example, a person can mentally reduce or draw with pen and paper the workload pressure value which is used as a parameter for the simulation test, such as amount of network traffic in a certain time frame by a predetermined step size when the amount of network traffic reaches the maximum allowable amount, to determine the adjusted workload pressure value.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Prong I step 2A.
Regarding claim 33, it recites an additional limitation of “the reducing the application cluster capacity comprising gradually reducing the application cluster capacity according to a preset capacity reduction ratio”, as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper. For example, a person can mentally reduce or draw with pen and paper the size of the application cluster capacity for the simulation test by a predetermined step size.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Prong I step 2A.
Furthermore, regarding claim 33, it recites an additional element recitation of “by the processing device” which is merely a recitation of generic computing components and functions being used as a tool to implement the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) with the broad reasonable interpretation, which does not integrate a judicial exception into elements. Further, this claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional element amounts to significantly more, this claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus this claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 33 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claim 34, it recites an additional limitation of “calculating a capacity percentage of a single application cluster within a set of application clusters after capacities of all the application clusters are obtained” as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation of mathematical evaluations. For example, the calculating the percent of a capacity of a single application cluster can be conducted by dividing the capacity of a single cluster by the total capacity of the set of clusters (Para. 68 for an example of this type of calculation).
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation of mathematic evaluations but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mathematical Operation” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Prong I step 2A.
Furthermore, regarding claim 34, it recites an additional limitation of “calculating a capacity percentage of a single application cluster within a set of application clusters after capacities of all the application clusters are obtained”, as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper. For example, a person can mentally determine or draw with pen and paper the percent of a capacity of a single application cluster with simple arithmetic using the ratio of the capacity of the single cluster to the number of the total capacity of the set of clusters.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Prong I step 2A.
Furthermore, regarding claim 34, it recites an additional element recitation of “by the processing device” which is merely a recitation of generic computing components and functions being used as a tool to implement the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) with the broad reasonable interpretation, which does not integrate a judicial exception into elements. Further, this claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional element amounts to significantly more, this claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus this claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 34 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claim 35, it recites an additional limitation of “adjusting an application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster”, as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper. For example, a person can mentally alter or draw with pen and paper the size of the application cluster capacity to accommodate a predetermined capability of an anticipated event.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Prong I step 2A.
Furthermore, regarding claim 35, it recites an additional element recitation of “by the processing device” which is merely a recitation of generic computing components and functions being used as a tool to implement the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) with the broad reasonable interpretation, which does not integrate a judicial exception into elements. Further, this claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional element amounts to significantly more, this claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus this claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 35 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claim 36, it recites an additional limitation of “the adjusting the application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster comprising adjusting the application cluster capacity according to a ratio of the planned data-handling capability of the application cluster to a total workload pressure value of the application cluster”, as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper. For example, a person can mentally alter or draw with pen and paper the size of the application cluster capacity based on a predetermined capability of an anticipated event where the capacity is determined by the ratio of predetermined capability to the total workload pressure of the application cluster.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Prong I step 2A.
Furthermore, regarding claim 36, it recites an additional element recitation of “by the processing device” which is merely a recitation of generic computing components and functions being used as a tool to implement the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) with the broad reasonable interpretation, which does not integrate a judicial exception into elements. Further, this claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional element amounts to significantly more, this claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus this claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 36 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claim 37, it recites additional limitations of:
1) “initializing the simulated application cluster by: identifying an application cluster to simulate, the application cluster selected from a set of application clusters”,
2) “initializing the simulated application cluster with at least two test machines if the set of application clusters comprises a single application cluster”, and
3) “initializing the simulated application cluster with a single test machine if the set of application clusters comprises at least two application clusters”. as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper. For example, these limitations can be conducted as the following:
a) a person can mentally select or draw with pen and paper an application cluster from a set of application clusters to have its capacity simulated,
b) a person can mentally specify or draw with pen and paper that if the set of application clusters only contains one application cluster, then the application cluster must have a minimum of two test machines, and
c) a person can mentally specify or draw with pen and paper that if the set of application clusters contains a minimum of two application cluster, then the application cluster can only one test machine.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Prong I step 2A.
Furthermore, regarding claim 37, it recites an additional element recitation of “by the processing device” which is merely a recitation of generic computing components and functions being used as a tool to implement the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) with the broad reasonable interpretation, which does not integrate a judicial exception into elements. Further, this claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional element amounts to significantly more, this claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus this claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 37 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claim 38, it recites an additional element recitation of “the performing overall workload pressure testing on each test machine comprising simulating online traffic to each test machine” which is merely a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) and insignificant extra-solution data gathering activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Further, the following additional element “by the processing device which is merely a recitation of generic computing components and functions being used as a tool to implement the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Further, this claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional element amounts to significantly more, this claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus this claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 38 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Therefore, having concluded the analysis within the provided framework, Claims 30-31 and 33-39 do not recite patent eligible subject matter and are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception, an abstract idea, that has not been integrated into a practical application. The claims further do not recite significantly more than the judicial exception. Claims 31 and 33-38 are also rejected for incorporating the deficiency of their dependent claim 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Haidari in view of Fernandez, Hector, Guillaume Pierre, and Thilo Kielmann. “Autoscaling web applications in heterogeneous cloud infrastructures.” In 2014 IEEE international conference on cloud engineering, pp. 195-204. IEEE, 2014 [herein “Fernandez”].
As per claim 21, Al-Haidari teaches “A method comprising initializing, by a processing device, a simulated application cluster isolated from production traffic, the simulated application cluster comprising at least one test machine configured to process simulated online traffic”. (Pg. 257, Para. 5, “We have conducted several simulation experiments that mimic the cloud computing service characteristics to show and evaluate the impact of varying the upper threshold of the CPU utilization on the cloud service performance metrics” [A method to process simulated online traffic]. Pg. 256, “VM instances are clustered in elastic groups” [comprising initializing simulated application cluster comprising at least one test machine] “to which users associate triggers that will automatically scale VM resources based on metrics measured by a monitoring system such as Amazon CloudWatch web service” [by a processing device]. Pg. 257, Para. 7, “Fig. 1 shows the queuing model that we have used to simulate the cloud computing architecture. The input to the simulation is an aggregated traffic from different sources” [e.g., a simulated application cluster isolated from production traffic]. Pg. 257, Para. 7, “Regarding the load balancing (LB), we have used a Round Robin (RR) technique to implement the load balancing process in the simulation model” [test machine configured to process simulated online traffic]. Further see Sect. I-III. The examiner has interpreted that conducting a simulation experiment to evaluates CPU utilization that includes clustering VM instances into elastic groups to simulated aggregated traffic from different sources using load balancing techniques by a monitoring system as a method comprising: initializing, by a processing device, a simulated application cluster isolated from production traffic, the simulated application cluster comprising at least one test machine configured to process simulated online traffic.)
Al-Haidari also teaches “performing, by the processing device, overall workload pressure testing on each test machine in a simulated application cluster, wherein the overall workload pressure testing simulates online traffic loads across multiple test machines simultaneously”. (Pg. 257, Para. 5, “We have conducted several simulation experiments that mimic the cloud computing service characteristics to show and evaluate the impact of varying the upper threshold of the CPU utilization on the cloud service performance metrics” [performing overall workload pressure testing on each test machine]. Pg. 256, “VM instances are clustered in elastic groups” [application cluster] “to which users associate triggers that will automatically scale VM resources based on metrics measured by a monitoring system such as Amazon CloudWatch web service” [by a processing device]. Pg. 257, Para. 7, “Regarding the load balancing (LB), we have used a Round Robin (RR) technique to implement the load balancing process in the simulation model” [in a simulated application cluster wherein the overall workload pressure testing simulates online traffic loads across multiple test machines simultaneously]. Figure 1 shows that the load balancing of the network traffic across multiple test machines simultaneously. Further see Sect. I-III. The examiner has interpreted that conducting simulation experiments that mimics the cloud computing service characteristics to show and evaluate the impact of varying the upper threshold of the CPU utilization on the cloud service performance metrics measured by a monitoring system by balancing loads across the model for computing resources as performing, by the processing device, overall workload pressure testing on each test machine in a simulated application cluster, wherein the overall workload pressure testing simulates online traffic loads across multiple test machines simultaneously.)
Al-Haidari also teaches “adjusting, by the processing device, a preset initial workload pressure value to generate an adjusted workload pressure value”. (Pg. 257, Para. 8, “The arrival requests rate was assumed to be 200 Req/sec during the early periods of the simulation and then it increases to be 2400 Req/sec after 25 minutes” [adjusting a preset initial workload pressure value to generate an adjusted workload pressure value]. Pg. 256, “VM instances are clustered in elastic groups to which users associate triggers that will automatically scale VM resources based on metrics measured by a monitoring system such as Amazon CloudWatch web service” [by a processing device]. Further see Sect. I-III. The examiner has interpreted that setting an arrival requests rate and then increasing the rate by a monitoring system as adjusting, by the processing device, a preset initial workload pressure value to generate an adjusted workload pressure value.)
Al-Haidari also teaches “calculating, by the processing device, an average single-machine capability of each test machine when the adjusted workload pressure value reaches a maximum value triggering a rate limit threshold of the simulated application cluster, wherein the average single-machine capability represents a processing capacity metric for capacity planning of a production application cluster”. (Pg. 257, Para. 5, “We have conducted several simulation experiments that mimic the cloud computing service characteristics to show and evaluate the impact of varying the upper threshold of the CPU utilization on the cloud service performance metrics. These metrics include response time, average CPU utilization, and number of allocated instances as an indication about the cost” [calculating an average single-machine capability of each test machine]. Pg. 258, Para. 5, “The choice of scaling size of 26, the fourth case, is based on the Eq. (1) given that the arrival rate is 2400 Req/sec, where the number of instances is 31, since the already allocated instances are 5, and the utilization threshold is 80%” [when the adjusted workload pressure value reaches a maximum value triggering a rate limit threshold of the application cluster]. Pg. 256, “VM instances are clustered in elastic groups to which users associate triggers that will automatically scale VM resources based on metrics measured by a monitoring system such as Amazon CloudWatch web service” [by a processing device]. Pg. 259, “To obtain the optimal upper utilization threshold that could be used with the provisioning process when considering such a high increase in the load, one has to solve an optimization problem with two objectives. These two objectives are minimizing the usage of instances and minimizing the response time” [e.g., wherein the average single-machine capability represents a processing capacity metric for capacity planning of a production application cluster] Further see Sect. 1-III and V. The examiner had interpreted that conducting simulation experiments to evaluate the impact of varying the upper threshold of the CPU utilization on average CPU utilization for given arrival rates there the utilization threshold is reached by a monitoring system to obtain an optimal utilization threshold for use with the provisioning process by minimizing the usage of instances as calculating, by the processing device, an average single-machine capability of each test machine when the adjusted workload pressure value reaches a maximum value triggering a rate limit threshold of the simulated application cluster, wherein the average single-machine capability represents a processing capacity metric for capacity planning of a production application cluster.)
Al-Haidari teaches “reducing, by the processing device, an application cluster capacity when a load capability of the application cluster reaches a capacity reduction threshold of auto scaling”. (Pg. 257 Col. 1, “We have conducted several simulation experiments that mimic the cloud computing service characteristics to show and evaluate the impact of varying the upper threshold of the CPU utilization on the cloud service performance metrics. These metrics include response time, average CPU utilization, and number of allocated instances as an indication about the cost” [load capability of the application cluster]. Pg. 256 Col. 1, “When a particular metric indicates a value above a given upper threshold, a policy is triggered to provision more resources so as to enhance its performance with respect to this metric. On the other hand, when a metric has a value below a given lower threshold, a policy is triggered to terminate some unneeded resources” [reducing an application cluster capacity when a load capability of the application cluster reaches a capacity reduction threshold of scaling]. Pg. 256, “VM instances are clustered in elastic groups to which users associate triggers that will automatically scale VM resources based on metrics measured by a monitoring system such as Amazon CloudWatch web service” [auto scaling by a processing device]. Further see Sect. 1-3. The examiner has interpreted that automatically scaling VM resources by a monitoring system when the response time and average CPU utilization has a value below a given lower threshold to trigger a termination of unneeded resources as reducing, by the processing device, an application cluster capacity when a load capability of the application cluster reaches a capacity reduction threshold of auto scaling.)
Al-Haidari does not specifically teach “wherein calculating the average single-machine capability comprises using an average query-per-second of each test machine as the average single-machine capability when the application cluster capacity is reduced and the load capability of the application cluster reaches a capacity expansion threshold of auto scaling”.
However, in the same field of endeavor namely optimizing resource utilization through simulating computer instances, Fernandez teaches “wherein calculating the average single-machine capability comprises using an average query-per-second of each test machine as the average single-machine capability when the application cluster capacity is reduced and the load capability of the application cluster reaches a capacity expansion threshold of auto scaling”. (Pg. 197 Sect IV, “As a central component of our autoscaling system, the Scaler is responsible for triggering the scaling actions” [auto scaling]. Pg. 197 Sect IV, “According to this technique, the Scaler evaluates whether the current performance behavior of an application requires triggering any of the following scaling actions… Scale back: Resources are released if the loaded system state exceeds a lower threshold, and the Predictor confirms that such traffic changes will remain at least during the next monitoring window” [the application cluster capacity is reduced]. Pg. 198 Sect. IV, “The Ideal_Throughputinst factor gives an estimation of the optimized performance capacity of one VM instance when processing the current workload” [calculating the single-machine capability]. Pg. 198 Sect. IV, “The Profiler classifies the different instance types depending on its computing capacity. Using the profiling smoothed data of each instance type (refer to Lines 15-17), the Profiler computes a factor, named Ideal_Throughputinst, as the amount of clocks required to serve a specific amount of requests (clocks/requests) for one instance” [clocks per requests is derivative of query-per-second]. “In Equation 1, the %CPUusageinst represents the average of percentage of CPU usage (clocks) and Num_requestsinst the average of request rate (requests) consumed during the last hour” [Since the Ideal_Throughputinst is dependent on average CPU usage and average request rate, e.g., an average using an average query-per-second of each test machine as the average single-machine capability]. Pg. 199 Sect. IV, “we calculate the expected usage of CPU of each resource i (denoted by CPU_usage_expectedi ) using its current request rate (denoted by Num_reqs_serveri) and its optimized throughput (denoted by Ideal_Throughputinst). By doing so, we are able to include into the Workloadcomplex all the degradations that affect the ideal performance of the application” [e.g., when the application cluster capacity is reduced and the load capability of the application cluster reaches a capacity expansion threshold of auto scaling]. Further see Sect. IV. The examiner has interpreted that using an auto scaler to release resources when the loaded system state exceeds a lower threshold and computes the throughput of one instance using the average clocks and number of requests to calculate the expected usage of the CPU at its current request rate when degradation affect the ideal performance as wherein calculating the average single-machine capability comprises using an average query-per-second of each test machine as the average single-machine capability when the application cluster capacity is reduced and the load capability of the application cluster reaches a capacity expansion threshold of auto scaling.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add “wherein calculating the average single-machine capability comprises using an average query-per-second of each test machine as the average single-machine capability when the application cluster capacity is reduced and the load capability of the application cluster reaches a capacity expansion threshold of auto scaling” as conceptually seen from the teaching of Fernandez, into that of Al-Haidari because this modification of using the average throughput of an instance to determine the system capacity under degrading conditions for the advantageous purpose of improving the operation cost and scaling of the virtual machine cluster (Fernandez, Pg. 197 Sect, IV). Further motivation to combine be that Al-Haidari and Fernandez are analogous art to the current claim are directed to optimizing resource utilization through simulating computer instances.
As per claim 29, Al-Haidari teaches “the performing overall workload pressure testing on each test machine comprising simulating, by the processing device, online traffic to each test machine”. (Pg. 257 Col. 2, “The input to the simulation is an aggregated traffic from different sources” [simulating online traffic]. Figure 1 shows the online traffic is distributed to each test machine. Further see Sect. III. The examiner has interpreted that simulating aggregated traffic from different sources to each test machine as the performing overall workload pressure testing on each test machine comprising simulating, by the processing device, online traffic to each test machine.)
Claims 22 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Haidari and Fernandez as applied to claim 21, and further in view of Lorido-Botran, Tania, Jose Miguel-Alonso, and Jose A. Lozano “A review of auto-scaling techniques for elastic applications in cloud environments.” Journal of grid computing 12 (2014): 559-592 [herein “Lorido-Botran”].
As per claim 22, Al-Haidari nor Fernandez specifically teach “the adjusting the workload pressure value comprising reducing, by the processing device, the workload pressure value according to a preset step length when the initial workload pressure value triggers the rate limit threshold”.
However, in the same field of endeavor namely optimizing resource utilization through simulating computer instances, Lorido-Botran teaches “the adjusting the workload pressure value comprising reducing, by the processing device, the workload pressure value according to a preset step length when the initial workload pressure value triggers the rate limit threshold”. (Pg. 572 Col. 1, “Queuing theory makes reference to the mathematical study of waiting lines, or queues. The basic structure of a model is depicted in Fig. 1. Requests arrive to the system at a mean arrival rate λ, and are enqueued until they are processed. As the figure shows, one or more servers may be available in the model, that will attend requests at a mean service rate μ” [reducing the workload pressure value according to a preset step length]. Pg. 572 Col. 2, “System capacity or queue length. It refers to the maximum number of customers allowed in the system including those in service. When the system is fully occupied, further arrivals are rejected” [when the initial workload pressure value triggers the rate limit threshold]. Pg. 560 Col. 1, “It would be desirable to have a system that automatically adjusts the resources to the workload handled by the application. All this with minimum human intervention or, even better, without it. This would be an auto-scaling system, the focus of this survey” [by a processing device]. Further see Sect. 1 & 5. The examiner has interpreted that enqueueing requests until the requests can be serviced at the mean service rate through an auto-scaling system as the adjusting the workload pressure value comprising reducing, by the processing device, the workload pressure value according to a preset step length when the initial workload pressure value triggers the rate limit threshold.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add “the adjusting the workload pressure value comprising reducing, by the processing device, the workload pressure value according to a preset step length when the initial workload pressure value triggers the rate limit threshold” as conceptually seen from the teaching of Lorido-Botran, into that of Al-Haidari and Fernandez because this modification of altering the amount of workload for the advantageous purpose of optimizing the capacity of the application cluster by balancing and distributing the requests through the virtual machines (Lorido-Botran, Pg. 572 Col. 1). Further motivation to combine be that Al-Haidari, Fernandez, and Lorido-Botran are analogous art to the current claim are directed to optimizing resource utilization through simulating computer instances.
As per claim 26, Al-Haidari nor Fernandez specifically teach “adjusting, by the processing device, an application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster”.
However, Lorido-Botran teaches “adjusting, by the processing device, an application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster”. (Pg. 563 Col. 1, “The analysis phase consists of processing the metrics gathered directly from the monitoring system, obtaining from them data about current system utilization, and optionally predictions of future needs. Some auto-scalers do not perform any kind of prediction, just respond to current system status: they are reactive. However, some others use sophisticated techniques to predict future demands in order to arrange resource provisioning with enough anticipation” [adjusting an application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster]. Pg. 560 Col. 1, “It would be desirable to have a system that automatically adjusts the resources to the workload handled by the application. All this with minimum human intervention or, even better, without it. This would be an auto-scaling system, the focus of this survey” [by a processing device]. Further see Sect. 1 & 3. The examiner has interpreted that predicting the future demands in order to arrange resource provisioning with enough anticipation through an auto-scaling systems as adjusting, by the processing device, an application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to add “adjusting, by the processing device, an application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster” as conceptually seen from the teaching of Lorido-Botran, into that of Al-Haidari and Fernandez because this modification of planning for anticipating the fluctuating amounts of data for the advantageous purpose of optimizing the capacity of the instances by minimizing the time response of the system through auto-scaling (Lorido-Botran, Pg. 563 Col. 1). Further motivation to combine be that Al-Haidari, Fernandez, and Lorido-Botran are analogous art to the current claim are directed to optimizing resource utilization through simulating computer instances.
As per claim 27, Al-Haidari and Fernandez do not specifically teach “the adjusting the application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster comprising adjusting, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a ratio of the planned data-handling capability of the application cluster to a total workload pressure value of the application cluster”.
However, Lorido-Botran teaches “the adjusting the application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster comprising adjusting, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a ratio of the planned data-handling capability of the application cluster to a total workload pressure value of the application cluster”. (Pg. 563 Col. 1, “The analysis phase consists of processing the metrics gathered directly from the monitoring system, obtaining from them data about current system utilization, and optionally predictions of future needs. Some auto-scalers do not perform any kind of prediction, just respond to current system status: they are reactive. However, some others use sophisticated techniques to predict future demands in order to arrange resource provisioning with enough anticipation” [adjusting an application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster]. Pg. 575 Col. 1, “MPCs follow a proactive approach; the future behavior (output) of the system is predicted, based on the model and the current output” [according to a ratio of the planned data-handling capability of the application cluster to a total workload pressure value of the application cluster]. Pg. 560 Col. 1, “It would be desirable to have a system that automatically adjusts the resources to the workload handled by the application. All this with minimum human intervention or, even better, without it. This would be an auto-scaling system, the focus of this survey” [by a processing device]. Further see Sect. 1, 3, & 5. The examiner has interpreted that predicting the future demands in order to arrange resource provisioning with enough anticipation through an auto-scaling systems based on the model and future output as the adjusting the application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster comprising adjusting, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a ratio of the planned data-handling capability of the application cluster to a total workload pressure value of the application cluster.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to add “the adjusting the application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster comprising adjusting, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a ratio of the planned data-handling capability of the application cluster to a total workload pressure value of the application cluster” as conceptually seen from the teaching of Lorido-Botran, into that of Al-Haidari and Fernandez because this modification of modifying the cluster capacity based on the planned capability and current cluster capability for the advantageous purpose of optimizing the capacity of the instances by minimizing the time response of the system through auto-scaling (Lorido-Botran, Pg. 563 Col. 1). Further motivation to combine be that Al-Haidari, Fernandez, and Lorido-Botran are analogous art to the current claim are directed to optimizing resource utilization through simulating computer instances.
Claims 24 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Haidari and Fernandez, as applied to claim 21, and further in view of Han, Rui, Li Guo, Moustafa M. Ghanem, and Yike Guo “Lightweight resource scaling for cloud applications” In 2012 12th IEEE/ACM International Symposium on Cluster, Cloud and Grid Computing (CCGrid 2012), pp. 644-651. IEEE, 2012 [herein “Han”].
As per claim 24, Al-Haidari and Fernandez does not specifically teach “the reducing the application cluster capacity comprising gradually reducing, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a preset capacity reduction ratio”.
However, in the same field of endeavor namely simulating computer utilization, Han teaches “the reducing the application cluster capacity comprising gradually reducing, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a preset capacity reduction ratio”. (Pg. 649 Col. 1, “The experimental evaluation is designed to illustrate the effectiveness of our approach in enabling fine-grained scaling up and down of applications” [gradually reducing the application cluster capacity]. “The LSD algorithm then conducts the resource-level scaling down. This scaling downs elects a resource r with the largest xr(si,r) (definition 1) and removes one unit of r from sj’s VM. The removal implies the resource with the largest available amount and the highest running cost is removed” [according to a preset capacity reduction ratio]. Pg. 649 Col.1, “In the experiment, the iSSe was implemented as a full working system and was tested in one data center running the IC-Cloud platform” [by the processing device]. Further see Sect. 6. The examiner has interpreted that fine-grained scaling down of applications to remove one resource scaled from the instance as through an IC-Cloud platform as reducing the application cluster capacity comprising gradually reducing, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a preset capacity reduction ratio.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to add “the reducing the application cluster capacity comprising gradually reducing, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a preset capacity reduction ratio” as conceptually seen from the teaching of Han, into that of Al-Haidari because this modification of gradually reducing the cluster capacity for the advantageous purpose of saving computational resources and cost by removing imbalances in the system (Han, Pg. 645 Col. 1). Further motivation to combine be that Al-Haidari and Han are analogous art to the current claim are directed to simulating computer utilization.
As per claim 28, Al-Haidari and Fernandez do not specifically teach “initializing the simulated application cluster by: identifying, by the processing device, an application cluster to simulate, the application cluster selected from a set of application clusters”, “initializing, by the processing device, the simulated application cluster with at least two test machines if the set of application clusters comprises a single application cluster”, and “initializing, by the processing device, the simulated application cluster with a single test machine if the set of application clusters comprises at least two application clusters”.
However, Han teaches “initializing the simulated application cluster by: identifying, by the processing device, an application cluster to simulate, the application cluster selected from a set of application clusters”. (Pg. 645 Col.1, “overall utilisation of resources also varies across different PMs used by the application (Figure 2(c))” [the set of application clusters]. Pg. 649 Col.1, “The experimental evaluation is designed to illustrate the effectiveness of our approach in enabling fine-grained scaling up and down of applications” [identifying an application cluster to simulate]. Pg. 649 Col.1, “In the experiment, the iSSe was implemented as a full working system and was tested in one data center running the IC-Cloud platform” [by the processing device]. Further see Sect. 2 and 6. The examiner has interpreted that designing an experimental evaluation to illustrate the effectiveness of enabling fine-grained scaling up and down of applications in different PMs used by the application through an IC-Cloud platform as initializing the simulated application cluster by: identifying, by the processing device, an application cluster to simulate, the application cluster selected from a set of application clusters.)
Han also teaches “initializing, by the processing device, the simulated application cluster with at least two test machines if the set of application clusters comprises a single application cluster”. (Pg. 645 Col.2, “Self-healing scaling is applicable in cases when two servers of an application are deployed on one PM,” [initializing the simulated application cluster at least two test machines if the set of application clusters comprises a single application cluster]. Pg. 649 Col.1, “In the experiment, the iSSe was implemented as a full working system and was tested in one data center running the IC-Cloud platform” [by the processing device]. Further see Sect. 2 and 6. The examiner has interpreted that deploying two servers of an application on one PM and running an experiment on the IC-Cloud platform as initializing, by the processing device, the simulated application cluster with at least two test machines if the set of application clusters comprises a single application cluster.)
Han also teaches “initializing, by the processing device, the simulated application cluster with a single test machine if the set of application clusters comprises at least two application clusters”. (Pg. 645 Col.1, “overall utilisation of resources also varies across different PMs used by the application (Figure 2(c))” [initializing the simulated application cluster if the set of application clusters comprises at least two application clusters]. Figure 2(c) shows that each cluster contains a single test machine. Pg. 649 Col.1, “In the experiment, the iSSe was implemented as a full working system and was tested in one data center running the IC-Cloud platform” [by the processing device]. Further see Sect. 2 and 6. The examiner has interpreted that implementing different PMs where each PM contains a single machine as initializing, by the processing device, the simulated application cluster with a single test machine if the set of application clusters comprises at least two application clusters.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to add “initializing the simulated application cluster by: identifying, by the processing device, an application cluster to simulate, the application cluster selected from a set of application clusters”, “initializing, by the processing device, the simulated application cluster with at least two test machines if the set of application clusters comprises a single application cluster”, and “initializing, by the processing device, the simulated application cluster with a single test machine if the set of application clusters comprises at least two application clusters” as conceptually seen from the teaching of Han, into that of Al-Haidari and Fernandez because this modification of simulating for different cluster scenarios for the advantageous purpose of saving computational resources and cost (Han, Pg. 645 Col. 1). Further motivation to combine be that Al-Haidari, Fernandez, and Han are analogous art to the current claim are directed to simulating computer utilization.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Haidari and Fernandez as applied to claim 21, and further in view of US 2016/0323377 A1 Einkauf et al. [herein “Einkauf”].
As per claim 25, Al-Haidari and Fernandez does not specifically teach “calculating, by the processing device, a capacity percentage of a single application cluster within a set of application clusters after capacities of all the application clusters are obtained”.
However, in the same field of endeavor namely simulating computer utilization, Einkauf teaches “calculating, by the processing device, a capacity percentage of a single application cluster within a set of application clusters after capacities of all the application clusters are obtained”. (Para. 42, “the systems described herein may provide a framework in which programs may be executed on MapReduce clusters on behalf of clients” [set of application clusters]. Para. 60 “the trigger data may include performance or behavior metrics, storage metrics (e.g., consumption of storage, remaining capacity)” [capacity of all the application clusters are obtained]. Para. 34, “Each policy may define an expression (e.g., an auto-scaling trigger condition) to be evaluated when executing a distributed application on MapReduce cluster 120, may specify a scaling action to take when the expression evaluates true (e.g., add or remove capacity), may specify an amount or percentage by which to increase or decrease capacity, and/or may identify the cluster (and/or instance group(s) thereof), to which the policy applies” [removing capacity from a specific application cluster based on storage metrics (i.e. calculating a capacity percentage of a single application cluster)]. Para. 193, “a computing environment that implements a portion or all of the methods and apparatus described herein may include a general-purpose computer system” [by the processing device]. Further see Para. 34, 42, 60, and 193. The examiner has interpreted that adding or removing capacity by a specific percentage from a particular cluster based the storage metrics of the clusters through the use of a general purpose computer system as calculating, by the processing device, a capacity percentage of a single application cluster within a set of application clusters after capacities of all the application clusters are obtained.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to add “calculating, by the processing device, a capacity percentage of a single application cluster within a set of application clusters after capacities of all the application clusters are obtained” as conceptually seen from the teaching of Einkauf, into that of Al-Haidari and Fernandez because this modification of determining the size of the individual clusters for the advantageous purpose of optimizing the capacity of the system based on the performance of the clusters (Einkauf, Para. 30). Further motivation to combine be that Al-Haidari, Fernandez, and Einkauf are analogous art to the current claim are directed to simulating computer utilization.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 30 and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Al-Haidari.
As per claim 30, Al-Haidari “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for tangibly storing computer program instructions capable of being executed by a computer processor, the computer program instructions defining steps of: initializing, by a processing device, a simulated application cluster isolated from production traffic, the simulated application cluster comprising at least one test machine configured to process simulated online traffic”. (Pg. 257, Para. 5, “We have conducted several simulation experiments that mimic the cloud computing service characteristics to show and evaluate the impact of varying the upper threshold of the CPU utilization on the cloud service performance metrics” [A method to process simulated online traffic]. Pg. 256, “VM instances are clustered in elastic groups” [comprising initializing simulated application cluster comprising at least one test machine] “to which users associate triggers that will automatically scale VM resources based on metrics measured by a monitoring system such as Amazon CloudWatch web service” [a processing device (i.e. computer containing non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for tangibly storing computer program instructions capable of being executed by a computer processor)]. Pg. 257, Para. 7, “Fig. 1 shows the queuing model that we have used to simulate the cloud computing architecture. The input to the simulation is an aggregated traffic from different sources” [e.g., a simulated application cluster isolated from production traffic]. Pg. 257, Para. 7, “Regarding the load balancing (LB), we have used a Round Robin (RR) technique to implement the load balancing process in the simulation model” [test machine configured to process simulated online traffic]. Further see Sect. I-III. The examiner has interpreted that conducting a simulation experiment to evaluates CPU utilization that includes clustering VM instances into elastic groups to simulated aggregated traffic from different sources using load balancing techniques through a monitoring system such as Amazon CloudWatch web service as a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for tangibly storing computer program instructions capable of being executed by a computer processor, the computer program instructions defining steps of: initializing, by a processing device, a simulated application cluster isolated from production traffic, the simulated application cluster comprising at least one test machine configured to process simulated online traffic.)
Al-Haidari also teaches “performing overall workload pressure testing on each test machine in a simulated application cluster, wherein the overall workload pressure testing simulates online traffic loads across multiple test machines simultaneously”. (Pg. 257, Para. 5, “We have conducted several simulation experiments that mimic the cloud computing service characteristics to show and evaluate the impact of varying the upper threshold of the CPU utilization on the cloud service performance metrics” [performing overall workload pressure testing on each test machine]. Pg. 256, “VM instances are clustered in elastic groups” [application cluster] “to which users associate triggers that will automatically scale VM resources based on metrics measured by a monitoring system such as Amazon CloudWatch web service” [by a processing device]. Pg. 257, Para. 7, “Regarding the load balancing (LB), we have used a Round Robin (RR) technique to implement the load balancing process in the simulation model” [in a simulated application cluster wherein the overall workload pressure testing simulates online traffic loads across multiple test machines simultaneously]. Figure 1 shows that the load balancing of the network traffic across multiple test machines simultaneously. Further see Sect. I-III. The examiner has interpreted that conducting simulation experiments that mimics the cloud computing service characteristics to show and evaluate the impact of varying the upper threshold of the CPU utilization on the cloud service performance metrics measured by a monitoring system by balancing loads across the model for computing resources as performing overall workload pressure testing on each test machine in a simulated application cluster, wherein the overall workload pressure testing simulates online traffic loads across multiple test machines simultaneously.)
Al-Haidari also teaches “adjusting a preset initial workload pressure value to generate an adjusted workload pressure value”. (Pg. 257, Para. 8, “The arrival requests rate was assumed to be 200 Req/sec during the early periods of the simulation and then it increases to be 2400 Req/sec after 25 minutes” [adjusting a preset initial workload pressure value to generate an adjusted workload pressure value]. Pg. 256, “VM instances are clustered in elastic groups to which users associate triggers that will automatically scale VM resources based on metrics measured by a monitoring system such as Amazon CloudWatch web service” [by a processing device]. Further see Sect. I-III. The examiner has interpreted that setting an arrival requests rate and then increasing the rate by a monitoring system as adjusting a preset initial workload pressure value to generate an adjusted workload pressure value.)
Al-Haidari also teaches “calculating an average single-machine capability of each test machine when the adjusted workload pressure value reaches a maximum value triggering a rate limit threshold of the simulated application cluster, wherein the average single-machine capability represents a processing capacity metric for capacity planning of a production application cluster”. (Pg. 257, Para. 5, “We have conducted several simulation experiments that mimic the cloud computing service characteristics to show and evaluate the impact of varying the upper threshold of the CPU utilization on the cloud service performance metrics. These metrics include response time, average CPU utilization, and number of allocated instances as an indication about the cost” [calculating an average single-machine capability of each test machine]. Pg. 258, Para. 5, “The choice of scaling size of 26, the fourth case, is based on the Eq. (1) given that the arrival rate is 2400 Req/sec, where the number of instances is 31, since the already allocated instances are 5, and the utilization threshold is 80%” [when the adjusted workload pressure value reaches a maximum value triggering a rate limit threshold of the application cluster]. Pg. 256, “VM instances are clustered in elastic groups to which users associate triggers that will automatically scale VM resources based on metrics measured by a monitoring system such as Amazon CloudWatch web service” [by a processing device]. Pg. 259, “To obtain the optimal upper utilization threshold that could be used with the provisioning process when considering such a high increase in the load, one has to solve an optimization problem with two objectives. These two objectives are minimizing the usage of instances and minimizing the response time” [e.g., wherein the average single-machine capability represents a processing capacity metric for capacity planning of a production application cluster] Further see Sect. 1-III and V. The examiner had interpreted that conducting simulation experiments to evaluate the impact of varying the upper threshold of the CPU utilization on average CPU utilization for given arrival rates there the utilization threshold is reached by a monitoring system to obtain an optimal utilization threshold for use with the provisioning process by minimizing the usage of instances as calculating an average single-machine capability of each test machine when the adjusted workload pressure value reaches a maximum value triggering a rate limit threshold of the simulated application cluster, wherein the average single-machine capability represents a processing capacity metric for capacity planning of a production application cluster.)
As per claim 38, Al-Haidari teaches “the performing overall workload pressure testing on each test machine comprising simulating, by the processing device, online traffic to each test machine”. (Pg. 257 Col. 2, “The input to the simulation is an aggregated traffic from different sources” [simulating online traffic]. Pg. 256, “VM instances are clustered in elastic groups to which users associate triggers that will automatically scale VM resources based on metrics measured by a monitoring system such as Amazon CloudWatch web service” [by a processing device]. Figure 1 shows the online traffic is distributed to each test machine. The examiner has interpreted that simulating aggregated traffic from different sources to each test machine using the monitoring system as the performing overall workload pressure testing on each test machine comprising simulating, by the processing device, online traffic to each test machine.)
Re Claim 39, it is a system claim, having similar limitations of claim 30. Thus, claim 39 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 30.
Furthermore, Al-Haidari also teaches “A device comprising: a processor; and a storage medium for tangibly storing thereon program logic for execution by the processor”. (Pg. 256, “VM instances are clustered in elastic groups to which users associate triggers that will automatically scale VM resources based on metrics measured by a monitoring system such as Amazon CloudWatch web service” [a processing device (i.e. a device comprising: a processor; and a storage medium for tangibly storing thereon program logic for execution by the processor)]. The examiner has interpreted that implementing a method through a monitoring system such as Amazon CloudWatch web service as a device comprising: a processor; and a storage medium for tangibly storing thereon program logic for execution by the processor.)
Claims 31 and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Haidari as applied to claim 30, and in view of Lorido-Botran.
As per claim 31, Al-Haidari does not specifically teach “the adjusting the workload pressure value comprising reducing, by the processing device, the workload pressure value according to a preset step length when the initial workload pressure value triggers the rate limit threshold”.
However, in the same field of endeavor namely optimizing resource utilization through simulating computer instances, Lorido-Botran teaches “the adjusting the workload pressure value comprising reducing, by the processing device, the workload pressure value according to a preset step length when the initial workload pressure value triggers the rate limit threshold”. (Pg. 572 Col. 1, “Queuing theory makes reference to the mathematical study of waiting lines, or queues. The basic structure of a model is depicted in Fig. 1. Requests arrive to the system at a mean arrival rate λ, and are enqueued until they are processed. As the figure shows, one or more servers may be available in the model, that will attend requests at a mean service rate μ” [reducing the workload pressure value according to a preset step length]. Pg. 572 Col. 2, “System capacity or queue length. It refers to the maximum number of customers allowed in the system including those in service. When the system is fully occupied, further arrivals are rejected” [when the initial workload pressure value triggers the rate limit threshold]. Pg. 560 Col. 1, “It would be desirable to have a system that automatically adjusts the resources to the workload handled by the application. All this with minimum human intervention or, even better, without it. This would be an auto-scaling system, the focus of this survey” [by a processing device]. Further see Sect. 1 & 5. The examiner has interpreted that enqueueing requests until the requests can be serviced at the mean service rate through an auto-scaling system as the adjusting the workload pressure value comprising reducing, by the processing device, the workload pressure value according to a preset step length when the initial workload pressure value triggers the rate limit threshold.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add “the adjusting the workload pressure value comprising reducing, by the processing device, the workload pressure value according to a preset step length when the initial workload pressure value triggers the rate limit threshold” as conceptually seen from the teaching of Lorido-Botran, into that of Al-Haidari because this modification of altering the amount of workload for the advantageous purpose of optimizing the capacity of the application cluster by balancing and distributing the requests through the virtual machines (Lorido-Botran, Pg. 572 Col. 1). Further motivation to combine be that Al-Haidari and Lorido-Botran are analogous art to the current claim are directed to optimizing resource utilization through simulating computer instances.
As per claim 35, Al-Haidari does not specifically teach “adjusting, by the processing device, an application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster”.
However, Lorido-Botran teaches “adjusting, by the processing device, an application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster”. (Pg. 563 Col. 1, “The analysis phase consists of processing the metrics gathered directly from the monitoring system, obtaining from them data about current system utilization, and optionally predictions of future needs. Some auto-scalers do not perform any kind of prediction, just respond to current system status: they are reactive. However, some others use sophisticated techniques to predict future demands in order to arrange resource provisioning with enough anticipation” [adjusting an application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster]. Pg. 560 Col. 1, “It would be desirable to have a system that automatically adjusts the resources to the workload handled by the application. All this with minimum human intervention or, even better, without it. This would be an auto-scaling system, the focus of this survey” [by a processing device]. Further see Sect. 1 & 3. The examiner has interpreted that predicting the future demands in order to arrange resource provisioning with enough anticipation through an auto-scaling systems as adjusting, by the processing device, an application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to add “adjusting, by the processing device, an application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster” as conceptually seen from the teaching of Lorido-Botran, into that of Al-Haidari because this modification of planning for anticipating the fluctuating amounts of data for the advantageous purpose of optimizing the capacity of the instances by minimizing the time response of the system through auto-scaling (Lorido-Botran, Pg. 563 Col. 1). Further motivation to combine be that Al-Haidari and Lorido-Botran are analogous art to the current claim are directed to optimizing resource utilization through simulating computer instances.
As per claim 36, Al-Haidari does not specifically teach “the adjusting the application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster comprising adjusting, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a ratio of the planned data-handling capability of the application cluster to a total workload pressure value of the application cluster”.
However, Lorido-Botran teaches “the adjusting the application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster comprising adjusting, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a ratio of the planned data-handling capability of the application cluster to a total workload pressure value of the application cluster”. (Pg. 563 Col. 1, “The analysis phase consists of processing the metrics gathered directly from the monitoring system, obtaining from them data about current system utilization, and optionally predictions of future needs. Some auto-scalers do not perform any kind of prediction, just respond to current system status: they are reactive. However, some others use sophisticated techniques to predict future demands in order to arrange resource provisioning with enough anticipation” [adjusting an application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster]. Pg. 575 Col. 1, “MPCs follow a proactive approach; the future behavior (output) of the system is predicted, based on the model and the current output” [according to a ratio of the planned data-handling capability of the application cluster to a total workload pressure value of the application cluster]. Pg. 560 Col. 1, “It would be desirable to have a system that automatically adjusts the resources to the workload handled by the application. All this with minimum human intervention or, even better, without it. This would be an auto-scaling system, the focus of this survey” [by a processing device]. Further see Sect. 1, 3, & 5. The examiner has interpreted that predicting the future demands in order to arrange resource provisioning with enough anticipation through an auto-scaling systems based on the model and future output as the adjusting the application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster comprising adjusting, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a ratio of the planned data-handling capability of the application cluster to a total workload pressure value of the application cluster.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to add “the adjusting the application cluster capacity according to a planned data-handling capability of the application cluster comprising adjusting, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a ratio of the planned data-handling capability of the application cluster to a total workload pressure value of the application cluster” as conceptually seen from the teaching of Lorido-Botran, into that of Al-Haidari because this modification of modifying the cluster capacity based on the planned capability and current cluster capability for the advantageous purpose of optimizing the capacity of the instances by minimizing the time response of the system through auto-scaling (Lorido-Botran, Pg. 563 Col. 1). Further motivation to combine be that Al-Haidari and Lorido-Botran are analogous art to the current claim are directed to optimizing resource utilization through simulating computer instances.
Claims 33 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Haidari as applied to claim 30, and in view of Han.
As per claim 33, Al-Haidari does not specifically teach “the reducing the application cluster capacity comprising gradually reducing, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a preset capacity reduction ratio”.
However, Han teaches “the reducing the application cluster capacity comprising gradually reducing, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a preset capacity reduction ratio”. (Pg. 649 Col. 1, “The experimental evaluation is designed to illustrate the effectiveness of our approach in enabling fine-grained scaling up and down of applications” [gradually reducing the application cluster capacity]. “The LSD algorithm then conducts the resource-level scaling down. This scaling downs elects a resource r with the largest xr(si,r) (definition 1) and removes one unit of r from sj’s VM. The removal implies the resource with the largest available amount and the highest running cost is removed” [according to a preset capacity reduction ratio]. Pg. 649 Col.1, “In the experiment, the iSSe was implemented as a full working system and was tested in one data center running the IC-Cloud platform” [by the processing device]. Further see Sect. 6. The examiner has interpreted that fine-grained scaling down of applications to remove one resource scaled from the instance as through an IC-Cloud platform as reducing the application cluster capacity comprising gradually reducing, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a preset capacity reduction ratio.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to add “the reducing the application cluster capacity comprising gradually reducing, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity according to a preset capacity reduction ratio” as conceptually seen from the teaching of Han, into that of Al-Haidari because this modification of gradually reducing the cluster capacity for the advantageous purpose of saving computational resources and cost by removing imbalances in the system (Han, Pg. 645 Col. 1). Further motivation to combine be that Al-Haidari and Han are analogous art to the current claim are directed to simulating computer utilization.
As per claim 37, Al-Haidari does not specifically teach “initializing the simulated application cluster by: identifying, by the processing device, an application cluster to simulate, the application cluster selected from a set of application clusters”, “initializing, by the processing device, the simulated application cluster with at least two test machines if the set of application clusters comprises a single application cluster”, and “initializing, by the processing device, the simulated application cluster with a single test machine if the set of application clusters comprises at least two application clusters”.
However, Han teaches “initializing the simulated application cluster by: identifying, by the processing device, an application cluster to simulate, the application cluster selected from a set of application clusters”. (Pg. 645 Col.1, “overall utilisation of resources also varies across different PMs used by the application (Figure 2(c))” [the set of application clusters]. Pg. 649 Col.1, “The experimental evaluation is designed to illustrate the effectiveness of our approach in enabling fine-grained scaling up and down of applications” [identifying an application cluster to simulate]. Pg. 649 Col.1, “In the experiment, the iSSe was implemented as a full working system and was tested in one data center running the IC-Cloud platform” [by the processing device]. Further see Sect. 2 and 6. The examiner has interpreted that designing an experimental evaluation to illustrate the effectiveness of enabling fine-grained scaling up and down of applications in different PMs used by the application through an IC-Cloud platform as initializing the simulated application cluster by: identifying, by the processing device, an application cluster to simulate, the application cluster selected from a set of application clusters.)
Han also teaches “initializing, by the processing device, the simulated application cluster with at least two test machines if the set of application clusters comprises a single application cluster”. (Pg. 645 Col.2, “Self-healing scaling is applicable in cases when two servers of an application are deployed on one PM,” [initializing the simulated application cluster at least two test machines if the set of application clusters comprises a single application cluster]. Pg. 649 Col.1, “In the experiment, the iSSe was implemented as a full working system and was tested in one data center running the IC-Cloud platform” [by the processing device]. Further see Sect. 2 and 6. The examiner has interpreted that deploying two servers of an application on one PM and running an experiment on the IC-Cloud platform as initializing, by the processing device, the simulated application cluster with at least two test machines if the set of application clusters comprises a single application cluster.)
Han also teaches “initializing, by the processing device, the simulated application cluster with a single test machine if the set of application clusters comprises at least two application clusters”. (Pg. 645 Col.1, “overall utilisation of resources also varies across different PMs used by the application (Figure 2(c))” [initializing the simulated application cluster if the set of application clusters comprises at least two application clusters]. Figure 2(c) shows that each cluster contains a single test machine. Pg. 649 Col.1, “In the experiment, the iSSe was implemented as a full working system and was tested in one data center running the IC-Cloud platform” [by the processing device]. Further see Sect. 2 and 6. The examiner has interpreted that implementing different PMs where each PM contains a single machine as initializing, by the processing device, the simulated application cluster with a single test machine if the set of application clusters comprises at least two application clusters.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to add “initializing the simulated application cluster by: identifying, by the processing device, an application cluster to simulate, the application cluster selected from a set of application clusters”, “initializing, by the processing device, the simulated application cluster with at least two test machines if the set of application clusters comprises a single application cluster”, and “initializing, by the processing device, the simulated application cluster with a single test machine if the set of application clusters comprises at least two application clusters” as conceptually seen from the teaching of Han, into that of Al-Haidari because this modification of simulating for different cluster scenarios for the advantageous purpose of saving computational resources and cost (Han, Pg. 645 Col. 1). Further motivation to combine be that Al-Haidari and Han are analogous art to the current claim are directed to simulating computer utilization.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Haidari as applied to claim 30 above, and in view Einkauf.
As per claim 34, Al-Haidari does not specifically teach “calculating, by the processing device, a capacity percentage of a single application cluster within a set of application clusters after capacities of all the application clusters are obtained”.
However, in the same field of endeavor namely simulating computer utilization, Einkauf teaches “calculating, by the processing device, a capacity percentage of a single application cluster within a set of application clusters after capacities of all the application clusters are obtained”. (Para. 42, “the systems described herein may provide a framework in which programs may be executed on MapReduce clusters on behalf of clients” [set of application clusters]. Para. 60 “the trigger data may include performance or behavior metrics, storage metrics (e.g., consumption of storage, remaining capacity)” [capacity of all the application clusters are obtained]. Para. 34, “Each policy may define an expression (e.g., an auto-scaling trigger condition) to be evaluated when executing a distributed application on MapReduce cluster 120, may specify a scaling action to take when the expression evaluates true (e.g., add or remove capacity), may specify an amount or percentage by which to increase or decrease capacity, and/or may identify the cluster (and/or instance group(s) thereof), to which the policy applies” [removing capacity from a specific application cluster based on storage metrics (i.e. calculating a capacity percentage of a single application cluster)]. Para. 193, “a computing environment that implements a portion or all of the methods and apparatus described herein may include a general-purpose computer system” [by the processing device]. Further see Para. 34, 42, 60, and 193. The examiner has interpreted that adding or removing capacity by a specific percentage from a particular cluster based the storage metrics of the clusters through the use of a general purpose computer system as calculating, by the processing device, a capacity percentage of a single application cluster within a set of application clusters after capacities of all the application clusters are obtained.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to add “calculating, by the processing device, a capacity percentage of a single application cluster within a set of application clusters after capacities of all the application clusters are obtained” as conceptually seen from the teaching of Einkauf, into that of Al-Haidari because this modification of determining the size of the individual clusters for the advantageous purpose of optimizing the capacity of the system based on the performance of the clusters (Einkauf, Para. 30). Further motivation to combine be that Al-Haidari and Einkauf are analogous art to the current claim are directed to simulating computer utilization.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 8-12, filed December 29, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 21 and 29 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the amended claims, necessitated by the applicant’s amendment, as detailed above.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 12-18, filed December 29, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 21-22 and 23-29 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive with regards to the claims integrating the claimed invention into a practical application when viewed as a whole. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed December 29, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., features which were included in the amended claim 21) are not recited in the rejected claims 30 and 39. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, the rejection of claims 30 and 38-39 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Al-Haidari and claims 31 and 33-39 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are maintained as previously rejected.
Applicant argues that the amendment to the claims, e.g., “wherein calculating the average single-machine capability comprises using an average query-per-second of each test machine as the average single-machine capability when the application cluster capacity is reduced and the load capability of the application cluster reaches a capacity expansion threshold of auto scaling; and reducing, by the processing device, an application cluster capacity when a load capability of the application cluster reaches a capacity reduction threshold of auto scaling” renders the rejection of the claims on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting moot (See Applicant’s response, Pg. 10-11).
MPEP § 2143.03 that “All words in a claim must be considered in judging the patentability of that claim against the prior art” and “Examiners must consider all claim limitations when determining patentability of an invention over the prior art.”
As provided in the rejection above, U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 teaches “wherein calculating the average single-machine capability comprises using an average query-per-second of each test machine as the average single-machine capability of the application cluster when the application cluster capacity is reduced and the load capability of the application cluster reaches a capacity expansion threshold of auto scaling”, (Claim 3, using, by the processing device, an average query-per second of each of the testing machines as the average single-machine capability of the testing machines when the application cluster capacity is reduced and the load capability of the application cluster reaches a capacity expansion threshold of auto scaling.), and also teaches: “reducing, by the processing device, an application cluster capacity when a load capability of the application cluster reaches a capacity reduction threshold of auto scaling”. (Claim 3, reducing, by the processing device, the application cluster capacity when a load capability of the application cluster reaches a capacity reduction threshold of auto scaling.) The amended claims are not patentably distinct.
Therefore, all of the limitations of the amended claims 21 are disclosed in U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 and Al-Haidari. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejection of claim 21 by U.S. Patent No. 11,231,947 B2 and Al-Haidari on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mazzucco, Michele, Martti Vasar, and Marlon Dumas. "Squeezing out the cloud via profit-maximizing resource allocation policies." In 2012 IEEE 20th International Symposium on Modeling, Analysis and Simulation of Computer and Telecommunication Systems, pp. 19-28. IEEE, 2012 teaches a method for estimating the average throughput when computing servers are added and removed for different intervals.
Sun, Bin, Brian Hall, Hu Wang, Da Wei Zhang, and Kai Ding. "Benchmarking private cloud performance with user-centric metrics." In 2014 IEEE International Conference on Cloud Engineering, pp. 311-318. IEEE, 2014 teaches determining the average throughput and response time for a number of cloud virtual machines that implement automated elasticity.
Examiner’s Note: The examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the reference that applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, the applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for the proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bound of the claimed invention.
/SIMEON P DRAPEAU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2188
/RYAN F PITARO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2188