DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
Regarding Hahn, Applicant asserts Hahn does not disclose a modification procedure in Paragraph 46 alone. However, the rejection is based on Hahn as a whole, not just Paragraph 46. The details of the modification procedure (i.e. titration) are shown throughout Hahn (e.g. Paragraphs 24, 26, 28, 36-39, 49, 51-53, 62). In Paragraph 46, when Hahn refers to therapy/stimulation, Hahn is referring to the aforementioned titration. For instance, to better explain, a preceding Paragraph 44 (first sentence) says that the therapy titration may be controlled according to a stimulation schedule, and then the later Paragraph 46 further describes some of those stimulation schedules (for the titration), including a stimulation schedule where the therapy (i.e. the aforementioned titration) may be applied contingent on enabling conditions such as patient rest or sleep.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 12 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Hahn (US 2012/0143286).
Regarding claims 1-2, 6-8, Hahn discloses the same invention as claimed, including a treating a medical condition of a patient via an implantable medical device comprising initiating via one or more processors of the implantable medical device a titration period for a first therapy with a first treatment period based on an input obtained from the patient, the first therapy including an electrical stimulation with one or more parameters (Paragraphs 24, 26, 36-39), receiving data relating to a patient’s level of consciousness (Paragraph 46: level of consciousness broadly includes sleep versus awake state), initiating a modification procedure of one or more values associated with the one or more parameters during the titration period based on the received data relating to a patient’s level of consciousness (Paragraph 46), and continuing the first therapy for the first treatment period while one or more parameters are being tolerated by the patient (Paragraphs 28, 49, 51-53, 62).
Regarding claim 5, Hahn discloses modifying titration based on adverse effects (Figure 9; Paragraphs 24, 28, 49).
Regarding claim 12, Hahn discloses timing the titration increase of a parameter to occur during a sleep state of the patient (Paragraph 46) where any given sleep state can be inherently characterized as one of the recited sleep states.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 3, 9-11 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hahn (US 2012/0143286) in view of Archer (US 2002/0077670).
Regarding claims 3, 9-11, Hahn does not disclose initiating a third therapy based on an acute event detection as recited. However, Archer teaches interrupting a first therapy to deliver a different therapy (Figure 4; Paragraphs 15-16), in order to treat an acute epileptic event. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hahn as taught by Archer to include initiating a third therapy based on an acute event detection as recited, in order to treat an acute epileptic event.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,305,121. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent anticipate the claims of the instant application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Osorio (US 2012/0330369) shows interrupting a therapy to treat an acute event (Paragraph 8; Figure 4).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796