DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to applicant’s response filed 8/14/2025. Claims 1-25 are pending. Claim 1-5 and 7-17 are rejected. Claim 6 is objected to. Claims 18-25 are withdrawn.
Priority
Applicant’s claim of priority of application of 63/250864 filed 9/30/2021 and application 63/136584 filed 1/12/2021 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1, 8-11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN106743014A), with citations per the machine translation, in view of Shepperd et al. (US 20190023171) wherein Zhang et al. teaches:
(re: cl 1) A docking station for docking a rack for transfer of containers to and from the rack by an autonomous mobile robot (#5 robot, AGV trolley #5) in a storage area (L41-storage area),
the docking station comprising: a port (L57-port; L321-327-door) into which the rack may be received for transfer of containers to and from the rack (rack structure shown at least in Fig. 2);
an engagement mechanism configured to move the rack into a secured position in the port (L154-157-engagement system for moving trolley to port; L268-269-engagement device chain engages trolley to drag it to transfer position; L213-215-The bottom of the trolley is also provided with a rack, which can be used to hold the cargo 10 and as a transfer tool for the cargo 10; L275-278-A conveyor belt for driving the trolley to the delivery position).
and a barrier configured to cover the port in the absence of a rack to separate the autonomous mobile robot in the storage area from an area adjacent the docking station where the rack travels, and to uncover the port when the rack is secured in the port (#32- door barrier) to allow transfer of containers to and from the rack by the autonomous mobile robot (L115-120 -Goods transferred to/from warehouse between the trolley).
Shepherd et al. teaches any elements Zhang et al. may lack including:
sensors for sensing when the rack is secured in the port (¶175-sensor for verifying autonomous machine secured to docking station; ¶180-sensor for verifying autonomous machine secured to docking station).
It would have been obvious before the effective time of the invention for Zhang et al. to have sensors for sensing when the rack is secured in the port as taught by Shepherd et al. to prevent loss of goods in transfer from improperly aligned vehicle and docking station as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize.
Zhang et al. teaches:
(re: cl 8) A system for transferring containers to and from a storage area to fulfill inventory orders in an automated storage and retrieval facility, the system comprising: a rack configured to carry a plurality of containers (#11-rack) and including engagement features configured to be engaged when securing the rack (L153-156-engangement system; L268-269-engagement device);
the docking station comprising: a port into which the rack may be received for transfer of containers to and from the rack (L56-port; L321-327-door);
an engagement mechanism configured to engage the engagement feature of the rack to move the rack into a secured position in the port (L153-156-engangement system; L268-269-engagement device; L213-215-The bottom of the trolley 1 is also provided with a rack 11, which can be used to hold the cargo 10 and as a transfer tool for the cargo 10; L275-278-A conveyor belt for removing items from the trolly);
and a barrier configured to cover the port in the absence of a rack to separate the autonomous mobile robot in the storage area from an area where rack is moved to and from the port (L115-120 -Goods transferred to/from warehouse between the trolley), and to uncover the port when the rack is secured to allow transfer of containers to and from the rack by the autonomous mobile robot (#32- door barrier).
Shepherd et al. teaches any elements Zhang et al. may lack including:
sensors for sensing when the rack is secured in the port (¶175-sensor for verifying autonomous machine secured to docking station; ¶180-sensor for verifying autonomous machine secured to docking station).
It would have been obvious before the effective time of the invention for Zhang et al. to have sensors for sensing when the rack is secured in the port as taught by Shepherd et al. to prevent loss of goods in transfer from improperly aligned vehicle and docking station as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize.
Zhang et al. further teaches:
(re: cl 9) wherein the rack comprises an interlock feature for storing mechanical interface data used by the docking station to ensure proper securing of the rack in the docking station. (L141-146-verifies AGV docked at transfer so no goods left behind; L241-256-uses RFID to trigger pulling of chain to pull rack into load position and hold with hook).
(re: cl 10) wherein the rack comprises an identification feature for storing data identifying at least one of the type of rack or type of containers transported by the rack (L264-288-reads all information on goods which of contents reads on a type of goods in container).
(re: cl 11) wherein the storage area comprises first and second static storage locations separated by an aisle within which the mobile robot is configured to travel, the docking station positioned adjacent the aisle such that the mobile robot travelling in the aisle can transfer containers to and from the rack when the rack is secured in the docking station (#5 AGV travels between #1s fig. 7, L213-wherein racks are on the cargo trolly #1).
(re: cl 17) further comprising one of an autonomous mobile robot and casters for transporting the rack (casters visible at bottom of fig. 6; Fig. 5).
2. Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN106743014A), with citations per the machine translation, in view of Shepperd et al. (US20190023171) in further view of Durkee et al. (US20200356945) wherein Zhang et al. teaches the elements previously discussed and
Durkee et al. teaches the elements Zhang lacks of:
(re: cl 2) wherein the barrier is a safety rated barrier (¶28-door is locked to prevent access).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Zhang et al. to have the barrier is a safety rated barrier as prevent access whilst a person could be endangered by article transfer as taught by Durkee et al..
Durkee et al. teaches the elements Zhang lacks of:
(re: cl 3) wherein the barrier is a physical door
(¶28- door as a barrier which “limits access to the interior of the access station and/or to limit access within the access station”; ¶27-door as a barrier).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Zhang et al. to have the barrier as a physical door so as to limit access to the interior of the access station and/or to limit access within the access station as taught by Durkee et al..
Durkee et al. teaches the elements Zhang lacks of:
(re: cl 4) wherein the engagement mechanism is further configured to move unseated totes back into seated position within the rack by pulling the rack against the barrier when the barrier is in a closed position. (¶28-tote may be moved in front of locked door which may subsequently be unlocked for access; ¶40-41-tote moved to access station and door subsequently unlocked, 1016 to 1018 fig. 10).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Zhang et al. to access a data set regarding information on the type of waste as different materials have differing sensor properties and viewing and comparing the tested material with the records of the different types of waste can help identify what material is being tested as taught by Durkee et al..
3. Claim(s) 2, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN106743014A), with citations per the machine translation, in view of Shepperd et al. (US20190023171) in further view of Khodl et al. (US20150073589) wherein Zhang et al. teaches the elements previously discussed and
Khodl et al. teaches the elements Zhang lacks of:
(re: cl 2) wherein the barrier is a safety rated barrier curtain (¶34-light curtain blocks entry of vehicle if a person is present).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Zhang et al. to have the barrier be a safety rate barrier as to prevent access whilst a person could be endangered by article transfer as taught by Khodl et al..
Khodl et al. teaches the elements Zhang lacks of:
(re: cl 5) wherein the barrier is a light curtain (¶34-light curtain).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Zhang et al. to wherein the barrier is a light curtain as to prevent access whilst a person could be endangered by article transfer as taught by Khodl et al..
4. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN106743014A), with citations per the machine translation, in view of Shepperd et al. (US20190023171) in further view of Lert, Jr. et al. ‘444 (WO2018102444) wherein Zhang et al. teaches the elements previously discussed and Lert, Jr. et al. ‘444 teaches the elements Zhang lacks of:
(re: cl 7) wherein the engagement mechanism comprise a pair of arms, one on each side of the port, for engaging within respective slots on opposed sides of the rack, the pair of arms rotating to pull the rack into the secured position in the port (¶58 Fig 3b First and second pallet/rack moving robot arms either side).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Zhang et al. to access a data set regarding information on the type of waste as different materials have differing sensor properties and viewing and comparing the tested material with the records of the different types of waste can help identify what material is being tested as taught by Lert, Jr. et al. ‘444.
5. Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN106743014A), with citations per the machine translation, in view of Shepperd et al. (US20190023171) in further view of Fosnight et al. (US20200156871) wherein Zhang et al. teaches the elements previously discussed and further teaches:
(re: cl 12) wherein the storage area comprises first and second storage locations separated by an aisle within which the mobile robot is configured to travel, the docking station positioned adjacent a first storage location of the storage locations, on a side of the first storage location opposite the aisle ((Plural #81s & #82s fig. 1; L 296-305).
Fosnight et al. teaches the elements Zhang lacks of:
The second storage locations are static storage locations (¶49-storage shelves for storing containers).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Zhang et al. to storage locations are static storage locations as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that static racks provide extra storage capacity without the additional expense of dynamically movable storage racks as taught by Fosnight et al..
Fosnight et al. teaches the elements Zhang lacks of:
(re: cl 13) wherein the rack further comprises a container transfer mechanism for transferring one or more containers between the rack and the first storage location (¶39- at rack “Cartesian robot and gripper may be mounted within the storage racking to enable in-storage transfers of sub-totes between the full totes”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Zhang et al. to have the rack further comprise a container transfer mechanism for transferring one or more containers between the rack and the first storage location as “to defragment the storage; i.e. combine empty sub-totes together in full totes, and thereby increase storage density within the system” as taught by Fosnight et al..
Fosnight et al. teaches the elements Zhang lacks of:
(re: cl 14) wherein the first storage location further comprises a container transfer mechanism for transferring one or more containers between the rack and the first storage location (¶39 “Cartesian robot and gripper may be mounted within the storage racking to enable in-storage transfers of sub-totes between the full totes”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Zhang et al. to container transfer mechanism for transferring one or more containers between the rack and the first storage location as to defragment the storage; i.e. combine empty sub-totes together in full totes, and thereby increase storage density within the system as taught by Fosnight et al..
6. Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN106743014A), with citations per the machine translation, in view of Shepperd et al. (US20190023171) in further view of Lert, Jr. et al. ‘556 (US 20180194556) wherein Zhang et al. teaches the elements previously discussed and
Lert, Jr. et al. ‘556 teaches the elements Zhang lacks of:
(re: cl 15) further comprising one or more stand-alone stations separate from the storage area, the rack configured to travel between the docking station and the one or more stand-alone stations to transfer containers between the storage area and the one or more stand-alone stations (¶60-moves totes from storage racks to decanting stations).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Zhang et al. to one or more stand-alone stations separate from the storage area, the rack configured to travel between the docking station and the one or more stand-alone stations to transfer containers between the storage area and the one or more stand-alone stations as such a way that consolidates the one or more sub-totes and creates empty totes out of previously partially filed storage totes (¶62) as taught by Lert, Jr. et al. ‘556.
Lert, Jr. et al. ‘556 teaches the elements Zhang lacks of:
(re: cl 16) wherein the one or more stand-alone stations comprise a stand-alone decant station, inventory arriving at the automated storage and retrieval facility being decanted into containers and the containers being placed in the rack for transfer from the stand-alone decant station to the storage area (¶60-decanting station).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Zhang et al. to wherein the one or more stand-alone stations comprise a stand-alone decant station, inventory arriving at the automated storage and retrieval facility being decanted into containers and the containers being placed in the rack for transfer from the stand-alone decant station to the storage areas (¶62) as taught by Lert, Jr. et al. ‘556.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being a dependent claim premised upon a rejected base claim but would be allowed if the re-written in independent form or if the limitations of an allowable claim were incorporated within the independent base claim from which this claims depend or if re-written premised upon dependence from an otherwise allowable base claim.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art does not teach in combination with the elements discussed in base claim 5 the further features of claim 6 of: wherein movement of the autonomous mobile vehicle is disabled if the light curtain is interrupted where the sensors do not sense a rack secured in the port.
Of particular interest is Khodl et al. which teaches: the barrier is a light curtain and provides an interlock to disable entry of a vehicle if a person is present (¶34-light curtain blocks entry of vehicle if a person is present) but does not block vehicle entry premised upon whether the lock is secured in the port.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument regarding the sensors reading the rack contents rather than whether the rack is secured to the docking station is persuasive.
Applicant’s remaining arguments were deemed unpersuasive in overcoming the prior art.
Applicant says trolly does not disclose transferring cargo to and from cargo trolley
The claim does not specify where the transfer device is. But even at that, Zhang et al. teaches a transfer tool may be part of the trolley (L213-215- The bottom of the trolley 1 is also provided with a rack 11, which can be used to hold the cargo 10 and as a transfer tool for the cargo 10).
Applicant says transfer of loaded trolley is what is taught. If the containers are within the trolley they are being transferred with the trolley. The claim does not specify moving out of the trolley/ autonomous mobile robot. Further, goods are transferred to/from warehouse between the trolley (L115-120).
Applicant says the door is merely a delivery point. Zhang et al. teaches the door is an entry and access to the warehouse (L57-60).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday, Wednesday, or Thursday.
/M.E.B/ Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655