DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed November 14, 2025 and the RCE filed December 15, 2025, which amends claim 1 and cancels claims 3 and 4. Claims 1 and 5-20 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed November 14, 2025, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 3 and 4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2019/0245148) in view of Cha et al. (US 2019/0296238) as set forth in the Office action mailed September 15, 2025. The applicant cancels claims 3 and 4; therefore, the claims are no longer pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 14, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant’s argument that The combination of Park and Cha do not lead to the applicant’s claimed invention because Cha teaches adding an electron blocking layer between the auxiliary layer and the emitting layer and does not teach adding a second auxiliary layer, the Office points out that the exact names layers in the prior art do not determine if the layers meet the applicant’s claimed invention. The structure of the device and the composition of the layers is what determines if the prior art meets the applicant’s claimed invention and not the names of the layers. The prior art combination of Park and Cha (see below) leads to a device comprising an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transporting layer, an auxiliary layer (applicant’s first auxiliary layer), an electron blocking layer (applicant’s second auxiliary layer), a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode, where the auxiliary layer (applicant’s first auxiliary layer) is composed of
,
, or
are a few examples and the electron blocking layer (applicant’s second auxiliary layer) is composed of
,
, or
are a few examples. These compounds are the same as the applicant’s claimed compounds for the first auxiliary layer and the second auxiliary layer. The combination of Park and Cha would lead to a device comprising layers in direct contact with each other and composed of the same material as taught and claimed by the applicant. The device of the combination would be the same as the claims except for the names of the layers, but as previously mentioned it is structure of the layers and the composition of the layers and not the names that are important to the invention. The Office points out names of layers very throughout that art. The applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In claim 15 the applicant claims that the hole transport region can comprise an electron-blocking layer or an emission auxiliary layer, but both of these layers as shown in the specification are between the light emitting layer and the second auxiliary layer and claim 1 requires the second auxiliary layer to be in contact with the light emitting layer. Claim 15 does not further limit claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2019/0245148) (hereafter “Park”) in view of Cha et al. (US 2019/0296238) (hereafter “Cha”).
Regarding claims 1, 5-17, and 19, Park teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transporting layer, an auxiliary layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraph [0127]). Park teaches that the hole injection layer is composed of 2-TNATA,
, and the hole transporting layer is composed of NPB,
(paragraph [0127]). Park teaches that the auxiliary layer is can be composed of the following compound,
,
, and
are a few examples and are the same as the claimed first compounds in the instant application (paragraphs [0061] and [0127]). Park teaches that the electroluminescent device can be used in electronic devices (paragraphs [0073] and [0074]).
Park does not teach where the electroluminescent device comprises a layer between the auxiliary layer and the light emitting layer.
Cha teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an electron blocking layer (applicant’s second auxiliary layer) in contact with the layer emitting layer between the hole transporting layer and the light emitting layer (paragraphs [0079] and [0141]-[0151]). Cha teaches that the electron blocking layer can be composed of the following compound,
,
, and
are a few examples and the same as applicant’s claimed second compounds (paragraphs [0068] and [0141]-[0151]). Park teaches that using these compounds as electron blocking materials leads to device improve performance, service life, and efficiency (paragraph [0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as effectively filed to modify the device of Park to include the electron blocking layer (applicant’s second auxiliary layer) of Cha. The motivation would have been to improve the performance, service life, and efficiency of the device.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2019/0245148) (hereafter “Park”) in view of Cha et al. (US 2019/0296238) (hereafter “Cha”) as applied to claim 1, 5-17, and 19 above, and further in view of Hwang et al. (US 2014/0361255) (hereafter “Hwang”).
Regarding claim 18, Park in view of Cha does not teach where the hole injection or hole transporting layer further comprises a charge-generation material.
Hwang teaches that one can increase the conductivity of the hole injection layer or the hole transportation layer by adding a charge-generation material to the layer (paragraph [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the device of Park in view of Cha to further include a charge-generation material. The motivation would have been to improve the conductivity of either the hole injection layer or the hole transportation layer.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2019/0245148) (hereafter “Park”) in view of Cha et al. (US 2019/0296238) (hereafter “Cha”) as applied to claims 1, 5-17, and 19 above, and further in view of Hachiya et al. (US 2006/0232196) (hereafter “Hachiya”).
Regarding claim 20, Park teaches that the device can be used in electronic devices.
Park in view of Cha does not teach the structure of the device and the components the device can have.
Hachiya teaches electroluminescent devices that can be used in electronic devices (paragraph [0038]). Hachiya teaches that the device can comprise an color conversion member to change the color of the emitted light (paragraph [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the device of Park in view of Cha to include the color conversion member as taught by Hachiya. The motivation would have been to change the color of emitted light out of the electroluminescent device.
Conclusion
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759