DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Extracting means in claim 1 (image processor 24 in Fig. 1, pgs. 25-26)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Distance measuring light projecting module in claims 1-20 (shown as 11 in Fig. 1, pgs. 9-10, including light emitter 32)
Light receiving module in claims 1-20 (shown as 12 in Fig. 1, pgs. 11-12, including photodetector 42)
Distance measurement arithmetic module in claims 1-20 (shown as 15 in Fig. 1, pgs. 8-9, can be a microprocessor, etc.)
Narrow-angle image pickup module in claims 1-20 (71 in Fig. 1, pgs. 16-17, with narrow-angle image pickup element 51 as a CCD or CMOS),
Arithmetic control module in claims 1-20 (shown as 16 in Fig. 1, pgs. 8-9, can be a microprocessor, etc.)
Detecting light projecting module in claims 2, 3, 7-10, 12-15, and 18-19 (13 in Fig. 1, pg. 13, including detecting light source 45)
Wide-angle image pickup module in claims 4, 7-8, 11-13, 16, 18, and 20 (14 in Fig. 1, pgs. 22-23, shown as a CCD or CMOS sensor)
Attitude detector in claims 5, 9-13, 17, and 19-20 (18 in Fig. 1, tilt detector such as a tilt sensor)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 8, 10, 13, 15, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “said end face” in ln. 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In claim 1, “incidence/projection end faces” are introduced. Claims 8, 10, 13, 15, 18, and 19 are similarly rejected due to their dependence on claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohtomo US 20190154805 A1 in view of Dussan US 20190025407 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Ohtomo teaches a surveying instrument comprising:
a distance measuring light projecting module configured to project a distance measuring light along a distance measuring optical axis (21 in Fig. 3 with axis 41, [0046]),
a light receiving module configured to receive a reflected distance measuring light (22 in Fig. 3, [0048]),
a distance measurement arithmetic module configured to measure a distance to an object and the reflection intensity of said reflected distance measuring light based on a transmission signal of said distance measuring light and a light reception signal of said reflected distance measuring light (25 in Fig. 3, [0051]),
a narrow-angle image pickup module configured to have a narrow-angle image pickup optical axis partially shared with said distance measuring optical axis and acquire an image with said distance measuring optical axis as a center ([0060]; not shown, but discussed as branched portions of the receiving optical axis; tracking module 23 can be used as the narrow-angle image pickup module, [0108]),
an optical axis deflector configured to have a wavelength dispersion compensation prism arranged in a shared portion of said distance measuring optical axis and said narrow-angle image pickup optical axis and a rotating shaft vertical or substantially vertical with respect to incidence/projection end faces of said wavelength dispersion compensation prism and deflect said distance measuring optical axis by the rotation of said wavelength dispersion compensation prism, (disk prisms 63 and 64 with triangular prisms 65a and 66a, [0067-69]; the triangular prisms will inherently compensate for wavelength dispersion; examiner notes that details of wavelength dispersion compensation prisms are not claimed),
and an arithmetic control module configured to control said optical axis deflector and said distance measurement arithmetic module and calculate a deflecting direction of said optical axis deflector (26 in Fig. 3, [0038-43, 58, 79-80, 88])
Ohtomo does not explicitly teach an extracting means configured to extract an end face reflection image of said wavelength dispersion compensation prism from said image, and the arithmetic control module calculates a deflecting direction based on said end face reflection extracted by said extracting means.
Dussan teaches using reflections off a face of an optical element to monitor angle of an optical element and extracting this information (Fig. 6, [0081-86])
Additionally, Ohtomo does teach extracting module in the form of image processing module 35 ([0035, 97]) and using combinations of narrow and wide angle images to extract distance and angles (see at least [0108-112])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ohtomo to include an extracting means configured to extract an end face reflection image of said wavelength dispersion compensation prism from said image, and the arithmetic control module calculates a deflecting direction based on said end face reflection extracted by said extracting means similar to Dussan with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing the instrument to track the angle light is emitted.
Regarding claim 2, Ohtomo as modified above teaches the surveying instrument according to claim 1, further comprising
a detecting light projecting module configured to project a detecting light for detecting said object along a detecting light optical axis (Tracking section 23 and tracking light source 55, Fig. 3; [0052-53]),
wherein said detecting light optical axis is partially shared with said distance measuring optical axis and said narrow-angle image pickup optical axis (shares same projection/detection axis in Fig. 3),
said wavelength dispersion compensation prism is arranged in a shared portion of the respective axes (37 is in the shared portion of the axes in Fig. 3), and
Ohtomo does not explicitly teach said extracting means is configured to extract at least one of said distance measuring light and said detecting light reflected on an end face of said wavelength dispersion compensation prism from said image.
Dussan teaches using reflections off a face of an optical element to monitor angle of an optical element and extracting this information (Fig. 6, [0081-86])
Additionally, Ohtomo does teach extracting module in the form of image processing module 35 ([0035, 97]) and using combinations of narrow and wide angle images to extract distance and angles (see at least [0108-112])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ohtomo the extracting means is configured to extract at least one of said distance measuring light and said detecting light reflected on an end face of said wavelength dispersion compensation prism from said image similar to Dussan with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing the instrument to track the angle light is emitted.
Regarding claim 3, Ohtomo as modified above teaches the surveying instrument according to claim 2, wherein at least one of said distance measuring light and said detecting light is configured to enter said end face of said wavelength dispersion compensation prism at a tilt with respect to said rotating shaft (47 and 48 enter 37 with a tilt to the rotation in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Ohtomo as modified above teaches the surveying instrument according to claim 1, further comprising a wide-angle image pickup module configured to have an angle of view substantially equal to a maximum deflection range of said optical axis deflector (24 in Fig. 3, [0092]).
Regarding claim 5, Ohtomo as modified above teaches the surveying instrument according to claim 1, further comprising an attitude detector configured to detect a tilt with respect to the horizontality (28 in Fig. 3, [0045, 102, 106, 112]), wherein said arithmetic control module is configured to correct a measurement result based on a detection result of said attitude detector ([0045, 102, 106, 112]).
Regarding claims 7-8, see rejection to claim 4.
Regarding claims 9-13, see rejection to claim 5.
Claims 6 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohtomo US 20190154805 A1 in view of Dussan US 20190025407 A1 and further in view of Schindler US 20230324528 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Ohtomo as modified above teaches the surveying instrument according to claim 1,
Ohtomo does not explicitly teach wherein said arithmetic control module is configured to enable identifying an object reflection image reflected on said object and said end face reflection image based on the reflection intensity.
Schindler teaches comparing intensity of object reflection to reference reflections to identify an object ([0027-38])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ohtomo such that said arithmetic control module is configured to enable identifying an object reflection image reflected on said object and said end face reflection image based on the reflection intensity similar to Schindler with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing the instrument to distinguish between actual objects and reference reflections.
Regarding claims 14-20, see rejection to claim 6
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yang Us 20150147019 A1 teaches a chromatic dispersion correcting element such as a prism ([0024])
Meng US 20150077869 A1 teaches wavelength dispersion compensation prism
Shaked et al. (“The Prism pair: Simple Dispersion Compensation and Spectral Shaping of Ultrashort Pulses”, 2016 International Journal of Experimental Spectroscopic Techniques ) teaches Pairs of triangular prisms can help with dispersion compensation
/J.C.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645