DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed November 17th 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, and 8-14 under 35 U.S.C. 112 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 112 and 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 6, and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “permanently interconnected electrically.” It is unclear if the permanent aspect refers to permanent (irreplaceable) batteries, or permanent connections (without switches or reconfigurations).
For purposes of examination, the term “permanent” is being interpreted as a fixed connection that is not reconfigured by switches or the like.
Claim 12 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 1. Claims 4, 5, 8-11 and 14 are rejected because they depend on claim 1.
Claim 13 is rejected because it depends on claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barton et. al (US 11211664 B2) in view of Nakao (US 20150002083 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Barton discloses a battery pack (Fig. 6A), comprising:
a plurality of battery cells ([Col. 8 Lines 59-60]; “the core pack includes fifteen battery cells”, see Fig. 6A; [Col 8 Lines 43-44]; “the new battery pack includes three sets of battery cells A, B, C”);
and at least three pack power contacts ([Col. 8 Lines 65-67 and Col. 9, Line 1]; “A first subset of power terminals BT1, BT2”, “a second subset of power terminals BT5, BT6, BT7, BT8”),
wherein a first pack pair of the pack power contacts is designed for making contact with device power contacts of a first electrically driven work device (Figs. 2A-2C) (see Fig. 7; [Col. 9 Lines 27-32]; “the power tool power terminals TT1/Tool−, TT2/Tool+ will couple with the battery pack power terminals BT1/Batt−, BT2/Batt+ respectively”), and/or a first charging device (Fig. 13, BT1 and BT2 are coupled to CT1 and CT2).
wherein the battery pack is designed for supplying, due to contact being made, the first work device with electrical drive power with a first electrical voltage from at least a portion of the plurality of battery cells ([Col. 9 Lines 32-34]; “the existing power tool, e.g., a low voltage (20 volt) power tool, will couple to a low voltage (20 volt) set/string of battery cells”) and/or supplying, due to contact being made, at least a same portion of the plurality of battery cells with electrical charging power with the first voltage from the first charging device by way of the first pack pair ([Col 13 Lines 4-6]; “the new battery pack determines the voltage of each string of battery cells and couples only the string of battery cells having the lowest voltage to the charger”; Only one string can be charged at a time, if only string A has been used, only that one will be charged),
and wherein a second pack pair of the pack power contacts, which second pack pair is different from the first pack pair at least in portions (the second subset of terminals includes four terminals BT5-8 in addition to the first subset of terminals BT1-2; see Fig. 7 vs Fig. 10), is designed for making contact with device power contacts of a second electrically driven work device (Figs. 8A-8C) and/or a second charging device (see Fig. 10; [Col. 19 Lines 36-43]; “the forward row of power tool power terminals couples/mates with the corresponding terminals of the forward row of battery pack power terminals. In addition, at the same time, the rearward row of power tool power terminals mates with the corresponding terminals of the rearward row of battery pack power terminals.”),
wherein the battery pack is designed for supplying, due to contact being made, the second work device with electrical drive power with a second electrical voltage, which is higher than the first voltage, from at least a same portion of the plurality of battery cells and/or supplying, due to contact being made, at least a same portion of the plurality of battery cells with electrical charging power with the second voltage from the second charging device by way of the second pack pair (see Fig. 10 which shows a high voltage tool coupled to the battery pack; [Col 10 Lines 51-56] “the three sets of battery cells A, B, C are coupled in series… provides a 60 volt output”; compare to Fig. 7 which connects only string A for a 20 volt output).
Barton further teaches the plurality of battery cells has a first number of battery cells and a second number of battery cells ([Col. 8 Lines 59-60]; “the core pack includes fifteen battery cells”, see Fig. 6A; [Col 8 Lines 43-44]; “the new battery pack includes three sets of battery cells A, B, C”),
wherein the battery pack is designed for supplying the first voltage defined by a first total voltage only of the first number of battery cells (see Fig. 7 which connects only string A for a 20 volt output),
wherein at least one pack power contact of the first pack pair is configured to not make contact with the device power contacts of the second work device and/or the second charging device (see Fig. 35, where terminals BT2-3 do not touch device terminals of the high voltage power tool),
wherein the battery pack is designed for supplying only the first voltage by way of the first pack pair ([Col 8 Lines 47-48]; “the A set is coupled to battery pack power terminals BT1 and BT2”), and
wherein the battery pack is designed for supplying only the second voltage by way of only the second pack pair ([Col 8 Lines 48-51]; “the B set is coupled to battery pack power terminals BT5 and BT6 and the C set is coupled to battery pack power terminals BT7 and BT8”; the four terminals are engaged together when providing the second voltage).
Barton does not teach a power transmission device,
wherein the power transmission device is designed for transmitting electrical charging and/or drive power from the first pack pair and/or the first number of battery cells to the second number of battery cells and/or from the second number of battery cells to the first pack pair and/or the first number of battery cells for adjusting a first state of charge of the first number of battery cells and a second state of charge of the second number of battery cells,
wherein the power transmission device has at least three inputs and/or outputs,
wherein a first transmission pair of the inputs and/or outputs and the first number of battery cells and the first pack pair are permanently interconnected electrically in parallel and
wherein a second transmission pair of the inputs and/or outputs, which second transmission pair is different from the first transmission pair at least in portions, and the second number of battery cells are permanently interconnected electrically in parallel, and
wherein a third transmission pair of the inputs and/or outputs, which third transmission pair is different from the first transmission pair and the second transmission pair at least in portions, and the first number of battery cells and the second number of battery cells are permanently interconnected electrically in series and the third transmission pair and the second pack pair are permanently interconnected electrically in parallel,
wherein the battery pack is designed for supplying the second voltage defined by a second total voltage of the first number of battery cells and the second number of battery cells permanently interconnected electrically in series.
Nakao teaches a power transmission device (balance correction circuit 132) ,
wherein the power transmission device is designed for transmitting electrical charging and/or drive power (¶[30] “The balance correction circuit 132 runs current to the first circuit and the second circuit alternately. Accordingly, electric energy can be exchanged between the electric storage cell 122 and the electric storage cell 124 via the inductor. As a result, the voltage can be equalized between the electric storage cell 122 and the electric storage cell 124”) from the first pack pair and/or the first number of battery cells (battery 122, ¶[28] “Each of the electric storage cell 122, the electric storage cell 124, the electric storage cell 126, and the electric storage cell 128 may further include a plurality of electric storage cells”) to the second number of battery cells ( battery 124, see ¶[28] quoted above) and/or from the second number of battery cells to the first pack pair and/or the first number of battery cells (see ¶[30] quoted above), for adjusting a first state of charge of the first number of battery cells and a second state of charge of the second number of battery cells (¶[35] “The electric storage cell 122 and the electric storage cell 124 have a predetermined range of available charge level (occasionally referred to as "State of Charge: SOC"), and so if there is difference in voltage between the electric storage cell 122 and the electric storage cell 124, the utilization efficiency of the electric storage system 110 deteriorates. However, according to the electric storage module 120 of the present embodiment, the electric storage system 110 will have an improved utilization efficiency by equalizing the voltage between the electric storage cell 122 and the electric storage cell 124”)
Nakao further teaches the power transmission device has at least three inputs and/or outputs (see Nakao Fig. 1, balance correction circuit 132 has three connection points: node above 122, node 143, and node 145)
wherein a first transmission pair of the inputs and/or outputs (upper and middle connections on balance circuit 132) and the first number of battery cells (122) and the first pack pair (unlabeled node above 122, and node 143) are permanently interconnected electrically in parallel (see Fig. 1) and
wherein a second transmission pair of the inputs and/or outputs (middle and lower connections on balance circuit 132), which second transmission pair is different from the first transmission pair at least in portions, and the second number of battery cells (124) are permanently interconnected electrically in parallel, and
wherein a third transmission pair of the inputs and/or outputs (upper and lower connections of balance circuit 132, which third transmission pair is different from the first transmission pair and the second transmission pair at least in portions, and the first number of battery cells and the second number of battery cells are permanently interconnected electrically in series (see Fig. 1, ¶[28] “The electric storage cell 122, the electric storage cell 124, the electric storage cell 126, and the electric storage cell 128 are connected to each other in series … Each of the electric storage cell 122, the electric storage cell 124, the electric storage cell 126, and the electric storage cell 128 may further include a plurality of electric storage cells”) and the third transmission pair and the second pack pair (unlabeled node above 122 and node 145) are permanently interconnected electrically in parallel (see Fig. 1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Barton to incorporate the teachings of Nakao to provide a power transmission device,
wherein a first transmission pair of the inputs and/or outputs and the first number of battery cells and/or the first pack pair are permanently interconnected electrically in parallel and/or
wherein a second transmission pair of the inputs and/or outputs, which second transmission pair is different from the first transmission pair at least in portions, and the second number of battery cells are permanently interconnected electrically in parallel, and/or
wherein a third transmission pair of the inputs and/or outputs, which third transmission pair is different from the first transmission pair and/or the second transmission pair at least in portions, and the first number of battery cells and the second number of battery cells are permanently interconnected electrically in series and/or the third transmission pair and the second pack pair are permanently interconnected electrically in parallel.
in order to balance the state of charges of the battery modules in order to improve the performance of the battery pack, as suggested by Nakao ([Col 22 Lines 30-35]).
The combination of Barton and Nakao further teaches wherein the battery pack is designed for supplying the second voltage defined by a second total voltage of the first number of battery cells and the second number of battery cells permanently interconnected electrically in series (see Fig 1. of Nakao for battery cells connected in series).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Barton and Nakao teaches the battery pack according to claim 1.
Barton further discloses wherein the first number of battery cells and the first pack pair are interconnected electrically in parallel (Fig. 7), and wherein the first number of battery cells and the second number of battery cells are interconnected electrically in series ([Col 10 Lines 51-56] “the three sets of battery cells A, B, C are coupled in series… provides a 60 volt output”) and the second pack pair are interconnected electrically in parallel (Fig. 10)
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Barton and Nakao teaches the battery pack according to claim 1.
The combination teaches the power transmission device is adjustable, and wherein the battery pack has an adjustment device, wherein the adjustment device is designed to adjust the power transmission device in such a way that the first state of charge or the second state of charge is adjusted ([Nakao ¶39]; “The balance correction circuit 232 may be one example of a balance correction apparatus. The inductor 250 may be one example of a voltage adjusting section”; [Nakao ¶35] “The electric storage cell 122 and the electric storage cell 124 have a predetermined range of available charge level (occasionally referred to as "State of Charge: SOC"), and so if there is difference in voltage between the electric storage cell 122 and the electric storage cell 124, the utilization efficiency of the electric storage system 110 deteriorates. However, according to the electric storage module 120 of the present embodiment, the electric storage system 110 will have an improved utilization efficiency by equalizing the voltage between the electric storage cell 122 and the electric storage cell 124”)
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Barton and Nakao teaches the battery pack according to claim 1.
Barton further discloses the first voltage is a rated voltage of at least 10 V and/or at most 43 V ([Col 9 Lines 32-33] “In this manner, the existing power tool, e.g., a low voltage (20 volt) power tool”), or wherein the second voltage is a rated voltage of at least 18 V and /or at most 72 V ([Col 9 Lines 46-47]; “The new power tool is designed and configured to operate at a high voltage, for example 60 volts”).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Barton and Nakao teaches the battery pack according to claim 9.
Barton teaches a low voltage source of 20 V, a medium voltage source of 40 V, and a high voltage source of 60 V ([Col 22 Lines 5-18]).
Barton does not expressly disclose the first voltage is a rated voltage of at least 30 V, or wherein the second voltage is a rated voltage of at most 54 V
However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Barton in view of Nakao to produce the claimed voltages for the purpose of, enabling the battery pack to power an appropriate device, as suggested by Barton ([Col 1 Lines 22-28]).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Barton and Nakao teaches the battery pack according to claim 8.
Barton further teaches a pack housing ([Col 6 Lines 39-40]; “the battery pack includes a housing”), wherein the plurality of battery cells ([Col 8 Lines 43-44]; “the new battery pack includes three sets of battery cells A, B, C”) are arranged in the pack housing, and wherein the pack power contacts are arranged on the pack housing (Figs. 6A-6C).
Nakao further teaches the power transmission device or the adjustment device (balancing circuit 132) is arranged inside a pack housing (110, 120, see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 12, Barton teaches a system, comprising:
a first electrically driven work device (Figs. 2A-2C), a first charging device (Fig. 13), a second electrically driven work device (Figs. 8A-8C) or a second charging device;
and a battery pack (Fig. 6A) comprising:
a plurality of battery cells ([Col. 8 Lines 59-60]; “the core pack includes fifteen battery cells”, see Fig. 6A);
and at least three pack power contacts ([Col. 8 Lines 65-67 and Col. 9, Line 1]; “A first subset of power terminals BT1, BT2”, “a second subset of power terminals BT5, BT6, BT7, BT8”),
wherein a first pack pair of the pack power contacts is designed for making contact with device power contacts of the first electrically driven work device (see Fig. 7; [Col. 9 Lines 27-32]; “the power tool power terminals TT1/Tool−, TT2/Tool+ will couple with the battery pack power terminals BT1/Batt−, BT2/Batt+ respectively”), and/or the first charging device (Fig. 13, BT1 and BT2 are coupled to CT1 and CT2),
wherein the battery pack is designed for supplying, due to contact being made, the first work device with electrical drive power with a first electrical voltage from at least a portion of the plurality of battery cells ([Col. 9 Lines 32-34]; “the existing power tool, e.g., a low voltage (20 volt) power tool, will couple to a low voltage (20 volt) set/string of battery cells”) and/or supplying, due to contact being made, at least a same portion of the plurality of battery cells with electrical charging power with the first voltage from the first charging device by way of the first pack pair ([Col 13 Lines 4-6]; “the new battery pack determines the voltage of each string of battery cells and couples only the string of battery cells having the lowest voltage to the charger”; Only one string can be charged at a time, if only string A has been used, only that one will be charged),
and wherein a second pack pair of the pack power contacts, which second pack pair is different from the first pack pair at least in portions (the second subset of terminals includes four terminals BT5-8 in addition to the first subset of terminals BT1-2; see Fig. 7 vs Fig. 10), is designed for making contact with device power contacts of the second electrically driven work device (Figs. 8A-8C) and/or the second charging device (see Fig. 10; [Col. 19 Lines 36-43]; “the forward row of power tool power terminals couples/mates with the corresponding terminals of the forward row of battery pack power terminals. In addition, at the same time, the rearward row of power tool power terminals mates with the corresponding terminals of the rearward row of battery pack power terminals.”),
wherein the battery pack is designed for supplying, due to contact being made, the second work device with electrical drive power with a second electrical voltage, which is higher than the first voltage, from at least a same portion of the plurality of battery cells and/or supplying, due to contact being made, at least a same portion of the plurality of battery cells with electrical charging power with the second voltage from the second charging device by way of the second pack pair (see Fig. 10 which shows a high voltage tool coupled to the battery pack; [Col 10 Lines 51-56] “the three sets of battery cells A, B, C are coupled in series… provides a 60 volt output”; compare to Fig. 7 which connects only string A for a 20 volt output).
Barton further teaches the plurality of battery cells has a first number of battery cells and a second number of battery cells ([Col. 8 Lines 59-60]; “the core pack includes fifteen battery cells”, see Fig. 6A; [Col 8 Lines 43-44]; “the new battery pack includes three sets of battery cells A, B, C”),
wherein the battery pack is designed for supplying the first voltage defined by a first total voltage only of the first number of battery cells (see Fig. 7 which connects only string A for a 20 volt output), and
wherein the battery pack is designed for supplying the second voltage defined by a second total voltage of the first number of battery cells and the second number of battery cells interconnected electrically in series (see Fig. 10 which shows a high voltage tool coupled to the battery pack, [Col 10 Lines 51-56] “the three sets of battery cells A, B, C are coupled in series… provides a 60 volt output”),
wherein at least one pack power contact of the first pack pair is configured to not make contact with the device power contacts of the second work device and/or the second charging device (see Fig. 35, where terminals BT2-3 do not touch device terminals of the high voltage power tool),
wherein the battery pack is designed for supplying only the first voltage by way of the first pack pair ([Col 8 Lines 47-48]; “the A set is coupled to battery pack power terminals BT1 and BT2”), and
wherein the battery pack is designed for supplying only the second voltage by way of only the second pack pair ([Col 8 Lines 48-51]; “the B set is coupled to battery pack power terminals BT5 and BT6 and the C set is coupled to battery pack power terminals BT7 and BT8”; the four terminals are engaged together when providing the second voltage).
Barton does not teach a power transmission device,
wherein the power transmission device is designed for transmitting electrical charging and/or drive power from the first pack pair and/or the first number of battery cells to the second number of battery cells and/or from the second number of battery cells to the first pack pair and/or the first number of battery cells for adjusting a first state of charge of the first number of battery cells and a second state of charge of the second number of battery cells,
wherein the power transmission device has at least three inputs and/or outputs,
wherein a first transmission pair of the inputs and/or outputs and the first number of battery cells and the first pack pair are permanently interconnected electrically in parallel and
wherein a second transmission pair of the inputs and/or outputs, which second transmission pair is different from the first transmission pair at least in portions, and the second number of battery cells are permanently interconnected electrically in parallel, and
wherein a third transmission pair of the inputs and/or outputs, which third transmission pair is different from the first transmission pair and/or the second transmission pair at least in portions, and the first number of battery cells and the second number of battery cells are interconnected electrically in series and the third transmission pair and the second pack pair are permanently interconnected electrically in parallel,
wherein the battery pack is designed for supplying the second voltage defined by a second total voltage of the first number of battery cells and the second number of battery cells permanently interconnected electrically in series,
Nakao teaches a power transmission device (balance correction circuit 132) ,
wherein the power transmission device is designed for transmitting electrical charging and/or drive power (¶[30] “The balance correction circuit 132 runs current to the first circuit and the second circuit alternately. Accordingly, electric energy can be exchanged between the electric storage cell 122 and the electric storage cell 124 via the inductor. As a result, the voltage can be equalized between the electric storage cell 122 and the electric storage cell 124”) from the first pack pair and/or the first number of battery cells (battery 122, ¶[28] “Each of the electric storage cell 122, the electric storage cell 124, the electric storage cell 126, and the electric storage cell 128 may further include a plurality of electric storage cells”) to the second number of battery cells ( battery 124, see ¶[28] quoted above) and/or from the second number of battery cells to the first pack pair and/or the first number of battery cells (see ¶[30] quoted above), for adjusting a first state of charge of the first number of battery cells and a second state of charge of the second number of battery cells (¶[35] “The electric storage cell 122 and the electric storage cell 124 have a predetermined range of available charge level (occasionally referred to as "State of Charge: SOC"), and so if there is difference in voltage between the electric storage cell 122 and the electric storage cell 124, the utilization efficiency of the electric storage system 110 deteriorates. However, according to the electric storage module 120 of the present embodiment, the electric storage system 110 will have an improved utilization efficiency by equalizing the voltage between the electric storage cell 122 and the electric storage cell 124”)
Nakao further teaches the power transmission device has at least three inputs and/or outputs (see Nakao Fig. 1, balance correction circuit 132 has three connection points: node above 122, node 143, and node 145)
wherein a first transmission pair of the inputs and/or outputs (upper and middle connections on balance circuit 132) and the first number of battery cells (122) and the first pack pair (unlabeled node above 122, and node 143) are permanently interconnected electrically in parallel (see Fig. 1) and
wherein a second transmission pair of the inputs and/or outputs (middle and lower connections on balance circuit 132), which second transmission pair is different from the first transmission pair at least in portions, and the second number of battery cells (124) are permanently interconnected electrically in parallel, and
wherein a third transmission pair of the inputs and/or outputs (upper and lower connections of balance circuit 132, which third transmission pair is different from the first transmission pair and the second transmission pair at least in portions, and the first number of battery cells and the second number of battery cells are permanently interconnected electrically in series (see Fig. 1, ¶[28] “The electric storage cell 122, the electric storage cell 124, the electric storage cell 126, and the electric storage cell 128 are connected to each other in series … Each of the electric storage cell 122, the electric storage cell 124, the electric storage cell 126, and the electric storage cell 128 may further include a plurality of electric storage cells”) and the third transmission pair and the second pack pair (unlabeled node above 122 and node 145) are permanently interconnected electrically in parallel (see Fig. 1),
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Barton to incorporate the teachings of Nakao to provide a power transmission device,
wherein the power transmission device is designed for transmitting electrical charging and/or drive power from the first pack pair and/or the first number of battery cells to the second number of battery cells and/or from the second number of battery cells to the first pack pair and/or the first number of battery cells for adjusting a first state of charge of the first number of battery cells and a second state of charge of the second number of battery cells,
wherein the power transmission device has at least three inputs and/or outputs,
wherein a first transmission pair of the inputs and/or outputs and the first number of battery cells and the first pack pair are permanently interconnected electrically in parallel and
wherein a second transmission pair of the inputs and/or outputs, which second transmission pair is different from the first transmission pair at least in portions, and the second number of battery cells are permanently interconnected electrically in parallel, and
wherein a third transmission pair of the inputs and/or outputs, which third transmission pair is different from the first transmission pair and/or the second transmission pair at least in portions, and the first number of battery cells and the second number of battery cells are interconnected electrically in series and the third transmission pair and the second pack pair are permanently interconnected electrically in parallel,
in order to balance the state of charges of the battery modules in order to improve the performance of the battery pack, as suggested by Nakao ([Col 22 Lines 30-35]).
The combination of Barton and Nakao further teaches wherein the battery pack is designed for supplying the second voltage defined by a second total voltage of the first number of battery cells and the second number of battery cells permanently interconnected electrically in series (see Fig 1. of Nakao for battery cells connected in series).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Barton and Nakao teaches a system according to claim 12.
Barton further teaches wherein the first work device or the second work device is a saw, a pole pruner, a brush cutter, a set of hedge shears, a hedge cutter, a blower device, a leaf blower, a lopper, a separation grinder, a sweeping device, a sweeping roller, a sweeping brush, a lawnmower, a scarifier, a set of grass shears or a high-pressure cleaner (see Figs. 2A-2C and 8A-8C).
Regarding Claim 14, Barton teaches a method of operating a battery pack (Fig. 6A) with at least one of a first electrically driven work device (Fig. 2A-2C) and/or a first charging device (Fig. 13) with a first voltage ([Col. 9 Lines 32-34]; “the existing power tool, e.g., a low voltage (20 volt) power tool, will couple to a low voltage (20 volt) set/string of battery cells”) or a second electrically driven work device (Fog. 8A-8C) and/or a second charging device with a second voltage ([Col 10 Lines 51-56] “the three sets of battery cells A, B, C are coupled in series… provides a 60 volt output”), which comprises utilizing the battery pack of claim 1 (as taught by the combination of Barton and Nakao)(Fig. 6A) with said at least one of the first electrically driven work device (Fig. 7) and/or the first charging device (Fig. 13) with the first voltage or the second electrically driven work device (Fig. 10) and/or the second charging device with the second voltage.
Claim(s) 6, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barton et. al (US 11211664 B2) in view of Nakao (US 20150002083 A1) further in view of Nakao (US 11027614 B2), hereinafter referred to as Nakao ‘083 and Nakao ‘614 respectively.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Barton and Nakao ‘083 teaches the battery pack according to claim 1.
The combination of Barton and Nakao ‘083 does not explicitly teach the power transmission device comprises a DC-to-DC converter (330; see Nakao).
Nakao ‘614 teaches the power transmission device comprises a DC-to-DC converter (330).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Barton and Nakao ‘083 to incorporate the teachings of Nakao ‘614 to provide the power transmission device comprises a DC-to-DC converter in order to effectively transfer charge between cells.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859