DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed June 18, 2026 in reply to the Non-final Office Action mailed March 19, 2026. Claim 1 has been amended; and claims 3, 4, 6, 11, and 15 have been canceled. Claims 5, 7-10, 13, 14, 16, and 18 have been withdrawn. Claims 1, 2, 12, and 17 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 2, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, as now amended, stipulates in a wherein clause that “the at least two chemotherapeutic agents are concentrated in tips of the microneedles”. The metes and bounds of “are concentrated in” are arbitrary, relative and subjective, and not defined by the claim. This ambiguity is compounded even further by the previous stipulation that the microneedles are layered, and contain multiple “cargo containing” layers, wherein each of the “cargo containing” layers contains the at least two chemotherapeutic agents, and can be located anywhere in the microneedle. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot definitively ascertain what minimum concentration must be surpassed to be “concentrated”, or to what reference or standard concentration “concentrated” is being compared to or is relative to. Hence, one of ordinary skill in the art cannot definitively ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter.
***For examination at this time, the limitation is being interpreted as the concentration of the chemotherapeutic agents are higher in the tip relative to at least some other portion of the microneedle (i.e. such as a CMC layer with no active).
Claims 2, 12, and 17 are indefinite for depending from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falo, JR et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2011/0098651), in view of Shiozuka et al. (Pharmaceutics. 2013; 5: 385-391), Cobleigh et al. (Cancer. 1985; 56(11): abstract), and Salem et al. (J Immunother. 2005; 28(3): 220-228).
Applicant Claims
Applicant claims a method of treating skin cancer at a target skin area of a subject having skin cancer comprising inserting into the target skin area a microneedle array comprising a base portion and a plurality of microneedles; wherein the microneedle array matrix comprises carboxymethylcellulose; wherein the chemotherapeutic agents doxorubicin and Poly(I:C) (i.e. as an immunostimulant) are located in the plurality of microneedles so that the base portion is “substantially free” of doxorubicin and Poly(I:C) and the chemotherapeutic agents are concentrated in the microneedle tip, wherein the microneedle array matrix comprises at least two layers containing chemotherapeutic agents with a layer of CMC between them, the doxorubicin is present in the microneedle array in the amount of about 50 micrograms or about 200 micrograms, the Poly(I:C) is present in the microneedle array in the amount of about 250 micrograms, and wherein the act of inserting the microneedle array comprises penetrating the stratum corneum to deliver the chemotherapeutic agents to the epidermis and/or dermis.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art (MPEP §2141.01)
Falo, JR et al. disclose a method for treating skin cancer at a localized target area comprising inserting into the target skin area a microneedle array comprising a base portion and a plurality of microneedles; wherein the microneedle array matrix comprises carboxymethylcellulose and a therapeutically effective amount of one or more bioactive agents, such as a small molecule chemotherapeutic agent (e.g. CYTOXAN) with potential for localized treatment of skin cancers, wherein substantially all of the one or more bioactive components are located in the plurality of microneedles so that the base portion is “substantially free” of bioactive components contained therein and the bioactive agents are concentrated in the microneedle tip, wherein the bioactive agents are included in one or more “active layers” while additional layers may be free of the bioactive agents (i.e. layers of CMC without the bioactive agents) and wherein the act of inserting the microneedle array comprises penetrating the stratum corneum to deliver the small molecule chemotherapeutic agent to the epidermis and/or dermis.
Shiozuka et al. disclose that adriamycin (i.e. doxorubicin) is a small molecule chemotherapeutic agent with potential for localized treatment of cancers when transdermally delivered to skin in the amount of e.g. 50-300 micrograms; wherein the transdermal delivery can be accomplished via a depilatory agent to increase the drug permeability of the skin.
Cobleigh et al. disclose the treatment of squamous cell carcinoma (i.e. a type of skin cancer) with Adriamycin (i.e. doxorubicin).
Salem et al. disclose that Poly(I:C) can suppress tumor growth, and, specifically, when administered in the amount of 200 micrograms, can enhance antitumor immunity by stimulating an increase in CD8 T-cell function.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between the Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims (MPEP §2141.02)
Falo, JR et al. do not explicitly disclose that the chemotherapeutic agent is doxorubicin, that the doxorubicin is able to treat skin cancer, and that the method further comprises administering Poly(I:C). These deficiencies are cured by the teachings of Shiozuka et al., Cobleigh et al., and Salem et al.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was filed to combine the respective teachings of Falo, JR et al., Shiozuka et al., Cobleigh et al., and Salem et al., outlined supra, to devise Applicant's presently claimed method.
Falo, JR et al. disclose a method for treating skin cancer at a localized target area comprising inserting into the target skin area a microneedle array comprising a base portion and a plurality of microneedles; wherein the microneedle array matrix comprises carboxymethylcellulose (CMC) and a therapeutically effective amount of one or more bioactive agents, such as a small molecule chemotherapeutic agent (e.g. CYTOXAN) with potential for localized treatment of skin cancers; wherein the one or more bioactive components are located in the plurality of microneedles so that the base portion is free of bioactive components contained therein and the bioactive agents are concentrated in the microneedle tip; wherein the microneedle is layered and the bioactive agents are included in one or more “active layers” while additional layers may be free of the bioactive agents (i.e. layers of CMC without the bioactive agents); and wherein the act of inserting the microneedle array comprises penetrating the stratum corneum to deliver the small molecule chemotherapeutic agent to the epidermis and/or dermis, whereby the chemotherapeutic agent is effectively and specifically delivered to the skin cancer site for optimal therapeutic effect with minimal side effects. Since Shiozuka et al. disclose that adriamycin (i.e. doxorubicin) is a potent chemotherapeutic agent with potential for localized treatment of cancers when transdermally delivered to skin in the amount of e.g. 50-300 micrograms, since Cobleigh et al. disclose the treatment of squamous cell carcinoma (i.e. a type of skin cancer) with Adriamycin (i.e. doxorubicin), since Salem et al. disclose that Poly(I:C) can suppress tumor growth, and, specifically, when administered in the amount of 200 micrograms, can enhance antitumor immunity by stimulating an increase in CD8 T-cell function, and since Shiozuka et al.’s method of choice for the transdermal delivery of doxorubicin, i.e. a depilatory agent, is notorious for causing or potentially causing severe irritation, pain, and even burning and bleeding, and since Falo, JR. et al. disclose that their microneedle array method for transdermal delivery is efficient, precise, reproducible, and has minimal risk for pain and/or bleeding; one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to treat skin cancer by transdermal delivery of doxorubicin and Poly(I:C) via the Falo, JR et al. microneedle array, with the reasonable expectation that the doxorubicin and Poly(I:C) will be successfully delivered to the skin with minimal irritation, pain and/or bleeding, and that the resulting method will successfully treat the skin cancer with minimal side effects.
In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
i) Applicant contends that “Falo does not disclose concentrating chemotherapeutic agents in tips of microneedles by spin-drying with purging gas flow”; that “Falo does not teach…a CMC layer is interposed between two cargo-containing layers”, but “rather, “Falo describes forming a base layer first, with active layers deposited on top of the base layer”; and thus “the rejection relies on impermissible hindsight”.
The Examiner, however, would like to point out the following:
1. The claims at issue here are directed to a method of treating skin cancer, not to a method of making a microneedle array. The method of treating skin cancer employs the finished microneedle array product. Hence, the manufacturing method step of “spin-drying with purging gas flow” is effectively a product-by-process step. The product limitation here is thus “the actives are concentrated in the tips of the microneedles”.
2. Falo discloses microneedles in which the bioactive agent is “concentrated in” the tip, e.g. see paragraph [0119], which states “The microneedle comprises a 10.times.10 array of microneedles…the layering of two components is shown in FIG. 20, which illustrates darker areas of the microneedles at tip portions and lighter areas of the microneedles at base portions. The darker layer at the tip represents the layer comprising a bioactive component, in this case soluble ovalbumin contained in a CMC layer”. Clearly, then, the bioactive agent is “concentrated in” the tip.
3. Falo, in paragraph [0012], states “a sheet of material having a plurality of layers…to form a microneedle array. At least one of the plurality of layers has a bioactive component”; in paragraph [0121], states “sheets or blocks by forming a plurality of layers can provide a solid material that can be micro-machined and which can comprise one or more layers with a bioactive component”; and in paragraph [0118], states “in an exemplary embodiment, CMC-hydrogel and CMC-sOVA-hydrogel (80% CMC/20 wt % OVA) were layered into the form of a…composite sheet or block”; and claim 1 states “A method of forming a microneedle array, comprising: forming a sheet of material having a plurality of layers, at least one of the plurality of layers comprising a bioactive component”. Falo provides that the base layer is a CMC layer. Falo never states that the CMC base layer is the one and only CMC layer in the microneedle. At the very least, it would be obvious that if the CMC and the bioactive are layered into a composite, one of ordinary skill in the art would no doubt readily envision a base layer of CMC with a layer of bioactive and then another layer of CMC. Going back to paragraph [0119], there would be another bioactive layer at the tip, so that would, at the very least, be a CMC layer at the base, a bioactive layer, a CMC layer, and then another bioactive layer at the tip. Indeed, Falo expressly provides that the composite can contain two or more layers of bioactive. One of ordinary skill in the art is one of ordinary creativity, and such a structure would clearly be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art from the teachings and reasonable suggestions of Falo.
For the foregoing reasons, the 35 USC 103 rejection is hereby maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/DAVID BROWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617