DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the amendments filed on June 25, 2026. Claims 1, 3-9, 11-17, and 19-20 are pending, with Claims 1, 9, and 17 being amended.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments, filed June 25, 2026, the Examiner withdraws the previous 35 U.S.C 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed June 25, 2026, with respect to the rejections of Claims 11, 3-9, 11-17, and 19-20 under Harshbarger, in view of Grady, Kunzig, De Oliveira, and Whitfield, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Harshbarger, in view of Grady, Kunzig, and Boyd.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on May 05, 2026, June 11, 2026, and June 25, 2026, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0276909 A1, to Harshbarger, et al (hereinafter referred to as Harshbarger; previously of record), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2006/0132323 A2, to Grady (hereinafter referred to as Grady; previously of record), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0010023 A1, to Kunzig, et al (hereinafter referred to as Kunzig; previously of record), and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,988,073 B1, to Boyd, et al (hereinafter referred to as Boyd; newly of record).
As per Claim 1, Harshbarger discloses the features of a lift device, of a plurality of lift devices (e.g. Paragraphs [0014]; where mobile assets (12), which can include a fleet of forklifts; and where a plurality of mobile assets (12), (shown by way of illustration as a fleet of forklift trucks) wirelessly communicate with a processing device, such as an industrial vehicle application server (14); and may further facilitate interaction with the mobile assets (12)), comprising:
a cab including a housing having a top wall, the housing defining an enclosed volume configured to selectively contain an operator (e.g. Figure 1; where the mobile asset (12) comprises a body, with a cab for containing an operator);
an implement coupled with the cab (e.g. Paragraph [0044]; where the mobile asset (12) may be a forklift truck (i.e. comprises an implement for lifting); where a vehicle control module (VCM) controls the lift function of the vehicle);
a prime mover configured to drive the implement (e.g. Paragraph [0044]; where a motor control module (76) controls the drive wheels of the vehicle, and a hydraulics control module (78) controls the hydraulics, e.g., the lift of the vehicle, and any other controllers/modules associated with the vehicle); and
a connectivity module (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0031], [0034]-[0035], [0037]; Figures 1, 3; where a plurality of mobile assets (12) includes components that support wireless communication, and an information linking device (38) is coupled with or integrated with a mobile asset (12), and further comprises a transceiver (46), monitoring input/output module (40), a wireless communications interface controller (50)) including
a housing (e.g. Figure 2; where the information linking device (38) has a body and housing),
the connectivity module communicably coupled with the lift device (e.g. Paragraphs [0038], [0080]; where the monitoring input/output module (48) may be able to control outputs such as horns, buzzers, lights, and other components on the mobile assets (12); and where an add-on alarm and light (i.e. a beacon) may be mounted to the mobile asset (12), and may be electrically coupled to the information linking device (38) via the monitoring input/output module (48)), where
the housing of the connectivity module houses a controller, an analyzer, a communications modem, and a beacon (e.g. Paragraphs [0079]-[0080]; Figure 3; where the information linking device (38) comprises an input/output control module, a processor and a memory, a communications interface controller, and a monitoring input/output module (48), where the monitoring input/output module (48) can control inputs and outputs associated with horns, buzzers, lights, and other asset components and/or devices; and where an alarm and light may be mounted to the mobile asset (12) and may be coupled to the information linking device (38) via the monitoring input/output module (48)), ‘…’ wherein the connectivity module is configured to:
receive, by the controller and from a user device via the communications modem, a user selection of a criteria of a component each of the plurality of lift devices (e.g. Paragraphs [0026]-[0027], [0086]-[0087], [0090]; where the monitoring input/output module (48) may be utilized to receive sensor and control inputs, and receive data relating to travel usage, hydraulic usage, operational data, battery state of charge, etc. from a user or third party; and where the exchange of information across the vehicle network of an industrial vehicle may include functionality, hydraulic or control status of vehicle components or sub-components; and where the user may select and/or identify the type of hour meter, and select and/or associate the hour meter settings to one or more specific vehicles and/or vehicle types, classes, etc.) and
an indicator characteristic (e.g. Paragraphs [0038], [0080], [0087]; where the monitoring input/output module (38) may receive sensor data and control inputs and/or outputs, including horns, buzzers, lights, and other asset components and/or devices; and an alarm may be mounted to the mobile asset (12), and may be configured from the information linking device (38)); wherein
the selected criteria is a charge level of each of the plurality of lift devices (e.g. Paragraphs [0038], [0043], [0051], [0053]; where the monitoring input/output module (48) may be utilized to receive sensor and control inputs, and receive data relating to travel usage, hydraulic usage, operational data, battery state of charge, etc.; and where the exchange of information across the vehicle network of an industrial vehicle may include functionality, hydraulic or control status of vehicle components or sub-components; and where the application server (14) may conduct targeted communications with specific industrial vehicle information linking devices (38) or broadcast information to groups or all the industrial vehicle information linking devices (38)) ‘…’
in response to receiving the user selection and the indicator characteristic: receive, by the controller and from a sensor of the lift device, an input relating to the selected criteria (e.g. Paragraphs [0032], [0038], [0043], [0051], [0053]; where the monitoring input/output module (48) may be utilized to receive sensor and control inputs, and receive data relating to travel usage, hydraulic usage, operational data, battery state of charge, etc.; and where the exchange of information across the vehicle network of an industrial vehicle may include functionality, hydraulic or control status of vehicle components or sub-components; and where the user may select a criteria which is sent to the vehicle); and
determine, by the analyzer and using the input, a measure associated with the selected criteria (e.g. Paragraphs [0040], [0043], [0051]-[0052], [0054]; where the processor may receive operational information from one or more components of the mobile asset (12); and where information detected by the monitoring input/output module (48) or otherwise obtained by accessing the network system (68) may be temporarily stored, collected, maintained, manipulated, and/or otherwise processed by a processor; and where the system monitors predetermined events associated with the mobile asset (12) and the processor implements a function in response to the predetermined event (i.e. analyzes an input to determine a response));
transmit, by the controller, the user selection of the criteria and the indicator characteristic to one or more additional lift devices of the plurality of lift devices (e.g. Paragraphs [0032], [0087]-[0088], [0091], [0097]; where the information linking device (38) may serve as an interface that facilitates interaction with the user and includes a display and controls for interacting with the user; and where the industrial vehicle application server software may allow a user to export data used to generate management reports; and where the operator may be able to establish one or more pre-conditions and conditions and exclude conditions associated with the vehicle, and where the fleet operator may can query data related to the fleet, to “wake up” a communication service at prescribed intervals to receive data collected by the vehicle application server; and the fleet operator may communicate with select mobile assets);
receive, by the controller, one or more additional measures associated with the selected criteria associated with the one or more additional lift devices (e.g. Paragraphs [0087]-[0088], [0090]; where the user selection of the hour meters can be applied to specific vehicles and/or vehicle types, classes, etc., and the corresponding configuration data is wirelessly transmitted from the industrial application server (14) to the associated mobile asset(s));
control, by the controller, the beacon to provide an output based on the determined measure and in accordance with the indicator characteristic (e.g. Paragraphs [0040], [0043], [0051]-[0054], [0079], [0090]; where the system monitors predetermined events associated with the mobile asset (12) and the processor implements a function in response to the predetermined event (i.e. analyzes an input to determine a response); and where an alarm, e.g., a flashing light, or audible alarm may be activated to indicate functionality status),
where the output is one of a plurality of outputs, each output associated with a determined measure of the selected criteria of one of the plurality of lift devices (e.g. Paragraphs [0043], [0079], [0084]; where either the mobile asset (12) or user interacting with the industrial vehicle application server (14) can collect specific types of data, and where the processor may receive operational information from one or more components of the mobile asset (12); and where the industrial application server (14) may provide a display message that indicates the information related to the condition; and where an alarm such as a buzzer, horn, or light may be activated in response to a condition (i.e. plurality of outputs)) ‘…’.
Harshbarger fails to disclose every feature of where the housing of the connectivity module houses a controller, analyzer, a communications modem, and a beacon; the housing of the connectivity module coupled with an exterior of the top of the housing of the cab above the enclosed volume of the cab; the indication characteristic is at least one color associated with at least one state of the selected criteria; where the output is one of a first colored indicator associated with a first value of the selected criteria or a second colored indicator associated with a second value of the selected criteria, where the second value is less than the first value.
However, Grady, in a similar field of endeavor, more explicitly teaches the features of where the housing of the connectivity module houses a controller, analyzer, a communications modem, and a beacon.
Grady teaches a strobe beacon, where the beacon comprises a cover (i.e. housing), and comprises control circuitry and a flash controller, which may actuate the LEDs within the housing, and which also contains optical receivers configured to send and receive data to a central location via a network connection to enable communication with the beacon (e.g. Paragraphs [0025], [0029], [0031], [0044]; Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the method for managing an information system for industrial vehicles in the system of Harshbarger, with the feature of using having a housing for a connectivity module in the system of Grady, in order to provide visual indications to a user or operator conditions of the vehicle (see at least Paragraph [0003] of Grady).
Kunzig, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of the housing of the connectivity module is coupled with an exterior of the top above the enclosed volume of the cab. Kunzig teaches a method for managing manned and automated utility vehicles, where the beacon and wireless communication links are mounted on top of the vehicle (e.g. Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to further modify the method for managing a an information system for industrial vehicles in the system of Harshbarger, in view of Grady, with the feature of mounting the beacon on top of a vehicle, in order to enable wireless communications and improve knowledge of where the autonomous vehicles are located/ operating and alert an operator (see at least Paragraphs [0010], [0081] of Kunzig).
Boyd, in a similar field of endeavor, further teaches the features of the indication characteristic is at least one color associated with at least one state of the selected criteria; and control, by the controller, the beacon to provide an output based on the determined measure, where the output is one of a first color indicator associated with a first value of the selected criteria or a second colored indicator associated with a second value of the selected criteria, where the second value is less than the first value.
Boyd teaches a lighted vehicle beaconing system, where a group of fleet vehicles may receive a group lighting control sequence, which may include one or more of an availability status lighting sequence (e.g., a first predetermined color/pattern for available, a second predetermined color/pattern for unavailable), a charge status lighting sequence (e.g., a set of colors and/or patterns indicating approximate ranges of charge levels, such as less than or equal to 25% full charge, from 25% to 50%, from 50% to 75%, and 75% or above), a service status lighting sequence (e.g., a relatively slow “breathing” animation using a critical color, such as orange, when service is required), and/or other vehicle status lighting sequences configured to convey a characteristic and/or status of a fleet vehicle (e.g. Col. 21 lines 39-63).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to further modify the method for managing an information system for industrial vehicles in the system of Harshbarger, in view of Grady and Kunzig, with the feature of using light indicators in the system of Boyd, in order to assist in identifying the selected fleet vehicle (see at least Col. 21 lines 59-61 of Boyd).
Harshbarger further fails to disclose every feature of display, by the controller, via a graphical user interface, a map including one or more indicators associated with the measure and the one or more additional measures associated with the lift device and the one or more additional lift devices in accordance with the indicator characteristic, wherein the one or more indicators on the map correspond to the colored indicators of the outputs of the beacons of the lift device and the one or more additional lift devices.
Boyd further teaches the features of display, by the controller, via a graphical user interface, a map including one or more indicators associated with the measure and the one or more additional measures associated with the lift device and the one or more additional lift devices in accordance with the indicator characteristic.
Boyd teaches a lighted vehicle beaconing system, where the user interface (113) of the fleet vehicle may be implemented as one or more of a display or any device capable of accepting user input and/or providing feedback to a user; and may be adapted to display a time series of positions, headings, and/or orientations of the fleet vehicle, overlaid on a geographical map; and where the user interface may render a beaconing sequence selector/ indicator, a route/ street map on a display of a user interface (132), and where the beaconing sequence selector/ indicator may be configured to receive user input defining a lighting control sequence, and the programmable light elements of the fleet vehicle may generate a beaconing sequence mirroring and/or corresponding to the multicolor and/or animated lighting sequence of a beaconing sequence selector/ indicator; and where the management system may provide the lighting control sequence to the user device and to a fleet vehicle simultaneously (e.g. Col. 5 lines 3-12; Col. 20 lines 23-28; Col. 20 line 51- Col. 21 line 5; Col. 26 lines 22-27; Figure 10A).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to further modify the method for managing an information system for industrial vehicles in the system of Harshbarger, in view of Grady and Kunzig, with the feature of using light indicators in the system of Boyd, in order to assist in identifying the selected fleet vehicle (see at least Col. 21 lines 59-61 of Boyd).
Boyd further teaches wherein the one or more indicators on the map correspond to the colored indicators of the outputs of the beacons of the lift device and the one or more additional lift devices.
Boyd teaches a lighted vehicle beaconing system, where the management system may provide the lighting control sequence to the user device and to a fleet vehicle simultaneously (e.g. Col. 26 lines 22-28; Figure 10A).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to further modify the method for managing an information system for industrial vehicles in the system of Harshbarger, in view of Grady and Kunzig, with the feature of using light indicators in the system of Boyd, in order to assist in identifying the selected fleet vehicle (see at least Col. 21 lines 59-61 of Boyd).
As per Claim 9, Harshbarger discloses the features of a fleet connectivity system (e.g. Paragraph [0014]; where a plurality of mobile assets (12) wirelessly communicate with a processing device, such as an industrial vehicle application server (14)), comprising:
a user device (e.g. Paragraphs [0029], [0031]; where the information linking device (38) may serve as an interface that facilitates interaction with the user at the mobile asset (12); or a user may access the system via computer for accessing the corresponding mobile asset application server (14)); and
a plurality of lift devices (e.g. Paragraphs [0014]; where mobile assets (12), which can include a fleet of forklifts; and where a plurality of mobile assets (12), (shown by way of illustration as a fleet of forklift trucks) wirelessly communicate with a processing device, such as an industrial vehicle application server (14); and may further facilitate interaction with the mobile assets (12)), each lift device comprising:
a cab including a housing defining a volume configured to selectively contain an operator (e.g. Figure 1; where the mobile asset (12) comprises a body, with a cab for containing an operator);
an implement coupled with the cab (e.g. Paragraph [0044]; where the mobile asset (12) may be a forklift truck (i.e. comprises an implement for lifting); where a vehicle control module (VCM) controls the lift function of the vehicle);
a prime mover configured to drive the implement (e.g. Paragraph [0044]; where a motor control module (76) controls the drive wheels of the vehicle, and a hydraulics control module (78) controls the hydraulics, e.g., the lift of the vehicle, and any other controllers/modules associated with the vehicle); and
a connectivity module (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0031], [0034]-[0035], [0037]; Figures 1, 3; where a plurality of mobile assets (12) includes components that support wireless communication, and an information linking device (38) is coupled with or integrated with a mobile asset (12), and further comprises a transceiver (46), monitoring input/output module (40), a wireless communications interface controller (50)) including
a housing (e.g. Figure 2; where the information linking device (38) has a body and housing),
the connectivity module communicably coupled with the lift device (e.g. Paragraphs [0038], [0080]; where the monitoring input/output module (48) may be able to control outputs such as horns, buzzers, lights, and other components on the mobile assets (12); and where an add-on alarm and light (i.e. a beacon) may be mounted to the mobile asset (12), and may be electrically coupled to the information linking device (38) via the monitoring input/output module (48)), where
the housing of the connectivity module houses a controller, an analyzer, a communications modem, and a beacon (e.g. Paragraphs [0079]-[0080]; Figure 3; where the information linking device (38) comprises an input/output control module, a processor and a memory, a communications interface controller, and a monitoring input/output module (48), where the monitoring input/output module (48) can control inputs and outputs associated with horns, buzzers, lights, and other asset components and/or devices; and where an alarm and light may be mounted to the mobile asset (12) and may be coupled to the information linking device (38) via the monitoring input/output module (48)), ‘…’ wherein the connectivity module is configured to:
receive, by the controller and from the user device via the communications modem, a user selection of a criteria of a component each of the plurality of lift devices (e.g. Paragraphs [0026]-[0027], [0086]-[0087], [0090]; where the monitoring input/output module (48) may be utilized to receive sensor and control inputs, and receive data relating to travel usage, hydraulic usage, operational data, battery state of charge, etc. from a user or third party; and where the exchange of information across the vehicle network of an industrial vehicle may include functionality, hydraulic or control status of vehicle components or sub-components; and where the user may select and/or identify the type of hour meter, and select and/or associate the hour meter settings to one or more specific vehicles and/or vehicle types, classes, etc.) and
an indicator characteristic (e.g. Paragraphs [0038], [0080], [0087]; where the monitoring input/output module (38) may receive sensor data and control inputs and/or outputs, including horns, buzzers, lights, and other asset components and/or devices; and an alarm may be mounted to the mobile asset (12), and may be configured from the information linking device (38)); wherein
the selected criteria is a charge level of each of the plurality of lift devices (e.g. Paragraphs [0038], [0043], [0051], [0053]; where the monitoring input/output module (48) may be utilized to receive sensor and control inputs, and receive data relating to travel usage, hydraulic usage, operational data, battery state of charge, etc.; and where the exchange of information across the vehicle network of an industrial vehicle may include functionality, hydraulic or control status of vehicle components or sub-components; and where the application server (14) may conduct targeted communications with specific industrial vehicle information linking devices (38) or broadcast information to groups or all the industrial vehicle information linking devices (38)) and ‘…’
in response to receiving the user selection and the indicator characteristic: receive, by the controller and from a sensor of the lift device, an input relating to the selected criteria (e.g. Paragraphs [0032], [0038], [0043], [0051], [0053]; where the monitoring input/output module (48) may be utilized to receive sensor and control inputs, and receive data relating to travel usage, hydraulic usage, operational data, battery state of charge, etc.; and where the exchange of information across the vehicle network of an industrial vehicle may include functionality, hydraulic or control status of vehicle components or sub-components; and where the user may select a criteria which is sent to the vehicle); and
determine, by the analyzer and using the input, a measure associated with the selected criteria (e.g. Paragraphs [0040], [0043], [0051]-[0052], [0054]; where the processor may receive operational information from one or more components of the mobile asset (12); and where information detected by the monitoring input/output module (48) or otherwise obtained by accessing the network system (68) may be temporarily stored, collected, maintained, manipulated, and/or otherwise processed by a processor; and where the system monitors predetermined events associated with the mobile asset (12) and the processor implements a function in response to the predetermined event (i.e. analyzes an input to determine a response)); and
transmit, by the controller, the user selection of the criteria and the indicator characteristic to one or more additional lift devices of the plurality of lift devices (e.g. Paragraphs [0032], [0087]-[0088], [0091], [0097]; where the information linking device (38) may serve as an interface that facilitates interaction with the user and includes a display and controls for interacting with the user; and where the industrial vehicle application server software may allow a user to export data used to generate management reports; and where the operator may be able to establish one or more pre-conditions and conditions and exclude conditions associated with the vehicle, and where the fleet operator may can query data related to the fleet, to “wake up” a communication service at prescribed intervals to receive data collected by the vehicle application server; and the fleet operator may communicate with select mobile assets);
receive, by the controller, one or more additional measures associated with the selected criteria associated with the one or more additional lift devices (e.g. Paragraphs [0087]-[0088], [0090]; where the user selection of the hour meters can be applied to specific vehicles and/or vehicle types, classes, etc., and the corresponding configuration data is wirelessly transmitted from the industrial application server (14) to the associated mobile asset(s));
control, by the controller, the beacon to provide an output based on the determined measure and in accordance with the indicator characteristic (e.g. Paragraphs [0040], [0043], [0051]-[0054], [0079], [0090]; where the system monitors predetermined events associated with the mobile asset (12) and the processor implements a function in response to the predetermined event (i.e. analyzes an input to determine a response); and where an alarm, e.g., a flashing light, or audible alarm may be activated to indicate functionality status),
where the output is one of a plurality of outputs, each output associated with a determined measure of the selected criteria of one of the plurality of lift devices (e.g. Paragraphs [0043], [0079], [0084]; where either the mobile asset (12) or user interacting with the industrial vehicle application server (14) can collect specific types of data, and where the processor may receive operational information from one or more components of the mobile asset (12); and where the industrial application server (14) may provide a display message that indicates the information related to the condition; and where an alarm such as a buzzer, horn, or light may be activated in response to a condition (i.e. plurality of outputs)) ‘…’.
Harshbarger fails to disclose every feature of where the housing of the connectivity module houses a controller, analyzer, a communications modem, and a beacon; the housing of the connectivity module coupled with an exterior of the top of the housing of the cab above the enclosed volume of the cab; the indication characteristic is at least one color associated with at least one state of the selected criteria; where the output is one of a first colored indicator associated with a first value of the selected criteria or a second colored indicator associated with a second value of the selected criteria, where the second value is less than the first value.
However, Grady, in a similar field of endeavor, more explicitly teaches the features of where the housing of the connectivity module houses a controller, analyzer, a communications modem, and a beacon.
Grady teaches a strobe beacon, where the beacon comprises a cover (i.e. housing), and comprises control circuitry and a flash controller, which may actuate the LEDs within the housing, and which also contains optical receivers configured to send and receive data to a central location via a network connection to enable communication with the beacon (e.g. Paragraphs [0025], [0029], [0031], [0044]; Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the method for managing an information system for industrial vehicles in the system of Harshbarger, with the feature of using having a housing for a connectivity module in the system of Grady, in order to provide visual indications to a user or operator conditions of the vehicle (see at least Paragraph [0003] of Grady).
Kunzig, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of the housing of the connectivity module is coupled with an exterior of the top above the enclosed volume of the cab. Kunzig teaches a method for managing manned and automated utility vehicles, where the beacon and wireless communication links are mounted on top of the vehicle (e.g. Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to further modify the method for managing a an information system for industrial vehicles in the system of Harshbarger, in view of Grady, with the feature of mounting the beacon on top of a vehicle, in order to enable wireless communications and improve knowledge of where the autonomous vehicles are located/ operating and alert an operator (see at least Paragraphs [0010], [0081] of Kunzig).
Boyd, in a similar field of endeavor, further teaches the features of the indication characteristic is at least one color associated with at least one state of the selected criteria; and control, by the controller, the beacon to provide an output based on the determined measure, where the output is one of a first color indicator associated with a first value of the selected criteria or a second colored indicator associated with a second value of the selected criteria, where the second value is less than the first value.
Boyd teaches a lighted vehicle beaconing system, where a group of fleet vehicles may receive a group lighting control sequence, which may include one or more of an availability status lighting sequence (e.g., a first predetermined color/pattern for available, a second predetermined color/pattern for unavailable), a charge status lighting sequence (e.g., a set of colors and/or patterns indicating approximate ranges of charge levels, such as less than or equal to 25% full charge, from 25% to 50%, from 50% to 75%, and 75% or above), a service status lighting sequence (e.g., a relatively slow “breathing” animation using a critical color, such as orange, when service is required), and/or other vehicle status lighting sequences configured to convey a characteristic and/or status of a fleet vehicle (e.g. Col. 21 lines 39-63).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to further modify the method for managing an information system for industrial vehicles in the system of Harshbarger, in view of Grady and Kunzig, with the feature of using light indicators in the system of Boyd, in order to assist in identifying the selected fleet vehicle (see at least Col. 21 lines 59-61 of Boyd).
Harshbarger further fails to disclose every feature of display, by the controller, via a graphical user interface, a map including one or more indicators associated with the measure and the one or more additional measures associated with the lift device and the one or more additional lift devices in accordance with the indicator characteristic, wherein the one or more indicators on the map correspond to the colored indicators of the outputs of the beacons of the lift device and the one or more additional lift devices.
Boyd further teaches the features of display, by the controller, via a graphical user interface, a map including one or more indicators associated with the measure and the one or more additional measures associated with the lift device and the one or more additional lift devices in accordance with the indicator characteristic.
Boyd teaches a lighted vehicle beaconing system, where the user interface (113) of the fleet vehicle may be implemented as one or more of a display or any device capable of accepting user input and/or providing feedback to a user; and may be adapted to display a time series of positions, headings, and/or orientations of the fleet vehicle, overlaid on a geographical map; and where the user interface may render a beaconing sequence selector/ indicator, a route/ street map on a display of a user interface (132), and where the beaconing sequence selector/ indicator may be configured to receive user input defining a lighting control sequence, and the programmable light elements of the fleet vehicle may generate a beaconing sequence mirroring and/or corresponding to the multicolor and/or animated lighting sequence of a beaconing sequence selector/ indicator; and where the management system may provide the lighting control sequence to the user device and to a fleet vehicle simultaneously (e.g. Col. 5 lines 3-12; Col. 20 lines 23-28; Col. 20 line 51- Col. 21 line 5; Col. 26 lines 22-27; Figure 10A).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to further modify the method for managing an information system for industrial vehicles in the system of Harshbarger, in view of Grady and Kunzig, with the feature of using light indicators in the system of Boyd, in order to assist in identifying the selected fleet vehicle (see at least Col. 21 lines 59-61 of Boyd).
Boyd further teaches wherein the one or more indicators on the map correspond to the colored indicators of the outputs of the beacons of the lift device and the one or more additional lift devices.
Boyd teaches a lighted vehicle beaconing system, where the management system may provide the lighting control sequence to the user device and to a fleet vehicle simultaneously (e.g. Col. 26 lines 22-28; Figure 10A).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to further modify the method for managing an information system for industrial vehicles in the system of Harshbarger, in view of Grady and Kunzig, with the feature of using light indicators in the system of Boyd, in order to assist in identifying the selected fleet vehicle (see at least Col. 21 lines 59-61 of Boyd).
As per Claim 17, Harshbarger discloses the features of a method for controlling a lift device (e.g. Paragraphs [0014]; where mobile assets (12), which can include a fleet of forklifts; and where a plurality of mobile assets (12), (shown by way of illustration as a fleet of forklift trucks) wirelessly communicate with a processing device, such as an industrial vehicle application server (14); and may further facilitate interaction with the mobile assets (12)), comprising:
receiving, from a user device and via a controller of a connectivity module, a user selection of a criteria of a component each of the plurality of lift devices (e.g. Paragraphs [0026]-[0027], [0086]-[0087], [0090]; where the monitoring input/output module (48) may be utilized to receive sensor and control inputs, and receive data relating to travel usage, hydraulic usage, operational data, battery state of charge, etc. from a user or third party; and where the exchange of information across the vehicle network of an industrial vehicle may include functionality, hydraulic or control status of vehicle components or sub-components; and where the user may select and/or identify the type of hour meter, and select and/or associate the hour meter settings to one or more specific vehicles and/or vehicle types, classes, etc.) and
an indicator characteristic (e.g. Paragraphs [0038], [0080], [0087]; where the monitoring input/output module (38) may receive sensor data and control inputs and/or outputs, including horns, buzzers, lights, and other asset components and/or devices; and an alarm may be mounted to the mobile asset (12), and may be configured from the information linking device (38)); wherein
the selected criteria is a charge level of each of the plurality of lift devices (e.g. Paragraphs [0038], [0043], [0051], [0053]; where the monitoring input/output module (48) may be utilized to receive sensor and control inputs, and receive data relating to travel usage, hydraulic usage, operational data, battery state of charge, etc.; and where the exchange of information across the vehicle network of an industrial vehicle may include functionality, hydraulic or control status of vehicle components or sub-components; and where the application server (14) may conduct targeted communications with specific industrial vehicle information linking devices (38) or broadcast information to groups or all the industrial vehicle information linking devices (38)) and ‘…’ where
the connectivity module includes a housing that houses a controller, an analyzer, and a beacon(e.g. Paragraphs [0079]-[0080]; Figure 3; where the information linking device (38) comprises an input/output control module, a processor and a memory, a communications interface controller, and a monitoring input/output module (48), where the monitoring input/output module (48) can control inputs and outputs associated with horns, buzzers, lights, and other asset components and/or devices; and where an alarm and light may be mounted to the mobile asset (12) and may be coupled to the information linking device (38) via the monitoring input/output module (48));
in response to receiving the user selection and indicator characteristic: receiving, by the controller and from a sensor, an input relating to the selected criteria (e.g. Paragraphs [0032], [0038], [0043], [0051], [0053]; where the monitoring input/output module (48) may be utilized to receive sensor and control inputs, and receive data relating to travel usage, hydraulic usage, operational data, battery state of charge, etc.; and where the exchange of information across the vehicle network of an industrial vehicle may include functionality, hydraulic or control status of vehicle components or sub-components; and where the user may select a criteria which is sent to the vehicle); and
determining, by the analyzer and using the input, a measure associated with the selected criteria (e.g. Paragraphs [0040], [0043], [0051]-[0052], [0054]; where the processor may receive operational information from one or more components of the mobile asset (12); and where information detected by the monitoring input/output module (48) or otherwise obtained by accessing the network system (68) may be temporarily stored, collected, maintained, manipulated, and/or otherwise processed by a processor; and where the system monitors predetermined events associated with the mobile asset (12) and the processor implements a function in response to the predetermined event (i.e. analyzes an input to determine a response)); and
transmitting, by the controller, the user selection of the criteria and the indicator characteristic to one or more additional lift devices of the plurality of lift devices (e.g. Paragraphs [0032], [0087]-[0088], [0091], [0097]; where the information linking device (38) may serve as an interface that facilitates interaction with the user and includes a display and controls for interacting with the user; and where the industrial vehicle application server software may allow a user to export data used to generate management reports; and where the operator may be able to establish one or more pre-conditions and conditions and exclude conditions associated with the vehicle, and where the fleet operator may can query data related to the fleet, to “wake up” a communication service at prescribed intervals to receive data collected by the vehicle application server; and the fleet operator may communicate with select mobile assets);
receiving, by the controller, one or more additional measures associated with the selected criteria associated with the one or more additional lift devices (e.g. Paragraphs [0087]-[0088], [0090]; where the user selection of the hour meters can be applied to specific vehicles and/or vehicle types, classes, etc., and the corresponding configuration data is wirelessly transmitted from the industrial application server (14) to the associated mobile asset(s));
controlling, by the controller, the beacon to provide an output based on the determined measure and in accordance with the indicator characteristic (e.g. Paragraphs [0040], [0043], [0051]-[0054], [0079], [0090]; where the system monitors predetermined events associated with the mobile asset (12) and the processor implements a function in response to the predetermined event (i.e. analyzes an input to determine a response); and where an alarm, e.g., a flashing light, or audible alarm may be activated to indicate functionality status),
where the output is one of a plurality of outputs, each output associated with a determined measure of the selected criteria of one of the plurality of lift devices (e.g. Paragraphs [0043], [0079], [0084]; where either the mobile asset (12) or user interacting with the industrial vehicle application server (14) can collect specific types of data, and where the processor may receive operational information from one or more components of the mobile asset (12); and where the industrial application server (14) may provide a display message that indicates the information related to the condition; and where an alarm such as a buzzer, horn, or light may be activated in response to a condition (i.e. plurality of outputs)) ‘…’.
Harshbarger fails to disclose every feature of where the housing of the connectivity module houses a controller, analyzer, a communications modem, and a beacon; the housing of the connectivity module coupled with an exterior of the top of the housing of the cab above the enclosed volume of the cab; the indication characteristic is at least one color associated with at least one state of the selected criteria; where the output is one of a first colored indicator associated with a first value of the selected criteria or a second colored indicator associated with a second value of the selected criteria, where the second value is less than the first value.
However, Grady, in a similar field of endeavor, more explicitly teaches the features of where the housing of the connectivity module houses a controller, analyzer, a communications modem, and a beacon.
Grady teaches a strobe beacon, where the beacon comprises a cover (i.e. housing), and comprises control circuitry and a flash controller, which may actuate the LEDs within the housing, and which also contains optical receivers configured to send and receive data to a central location via a network connection to enable communication with the beacon (e.g. Paragraphs [0025], [0029], [0031], [0044]; Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the method for managing an information system for industrial vehicles in the system of Harshbarger, with the feature of using having a housing for a connectivity module in the system of Grady, in order to provide visual indications to a user or operator conditions of the vehicle (see at least Paragraph [0003] of Grady).
Kunzig, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of the housing of the connectivity module is coupled with an exterior of the top above the enclosed volume of the cab. Kunzig teaches a method for managing manned and automated utility vehicles, where the beacon and wireless communication links are mounted on top of the vehicle (e.g. Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to further modify the method for managing a an information system for industrial vehicles in the system of Harshbarger, in view of Grady, with the feature of mounting the beacon on top of a vehicle, in order to enable wireless communications and improve knowledge of where the autonomous vehicles are located/ operating and alert an operator (see at least Paragraphs [0010], [0081] of Kunzig).
Boyd, in a similar field of endeavor, further teaches the features of the indication characteristic is at least one color associated with at least one state of the selected criteria; and control, by the controller, the beacon to provide an output based on the determined measure, where the output is one of a first color indicator associated with a first value of the selected criteria or a second colored indicator associated with a second value of the selected criteria, where the second value is less than the first value.
Boyd teaches a lighted vehicle beaconing system, where a group of fleet vehicles may receive a group lighting control sequence, which may include one or more of an availability status lighting sequence (e.g., a first predetermined color/pattern for available, a second predetermined color/pattern for unavailable), a charge status lighting sequence (e.g., a set of colors and/or patterns indicating approximate ranges of charge levels, such as less than or equal to 25% full charge, from 25% to 50%, from 50% to 75%, and 75% or above), a service status lighting sequence (e.g., a relatively slow “breathing” animation using a critical color, such as orange, when service is required), and/or other vehicle status lighting sequences configured to convey a characteristic and/or status of a fleet vehicle (e.g. Col. 21 lines 39-63).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to further modify the method for managing an information system for industrial vehicles in the system of Harshbarger, in view of Grady and Kunzig, with the feature of using light indicators in the system of Boyd, in order to assist in identifying the selected fleet vehicle (see at least Col. 21 lines 59-61 of Boyd).
Harshbarger further fails to disclose every feature of display, by the controller, via a graphical user interface, a map including one or more indicators associated with the measure and the one or more additional measures associated with the lift device and the one or more additional lift devices in accordance with the indicator characteristic, wherein the one or more indicators on the map correspond to the colored indicators of the outputs of the beacons of the lift device and the one or more additional lift devices.
Boyd further teaches the features of display, by the controller, via a graphical user interface, a map including one or more indicators associated with the measure and the one or more additional measures associated with the lift device and the one or more additional lift devices in accordance with the indicator characteristic.
Boyd teaches a lighted vehicle beaconing system, where the user interface (113) of the fleet vehicle may be implemented as one or more of a display or any device capable of accepting user input and/or providing feedback to a user; and may be adapted to display a time series of positions, headings, and/or orientations of the fleet vehicle, overlaid on a geographical map; and where the user interface may render a beaconing sequence selector/ indicator, a route/ street map on a display of a user interface (132), and where the beaconing sequence selector/ indicator may be configured to receive user input defining a lighting control sequence, and the programmable light elements of the fleet vehicle may generate a beaconing sequence mirroring and/or corresponding to the multicolor and/or animated lighting sequence of a beaconing sequence selector/ indicator; and where the management system may provide the lighting control sequence to the user device and to a fleet vehicle simultaneously (e.g. Col. 5 lines 3-12; Col. 20 lines 23-28; Col. 20 line 51- Col. 21 line 5; Col. 26 lines 22-27; Figure 10A).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to further modify the method for managing an information system for industrial vehicles in the system of Harshbarger, in view of Grady and Kunzig, with the feature of using light indicators in the system of Boyd, in order to assist in identifying the selected fleet vehicle (see at least Col. 21 lines 59-61 of Boyd).
Boyd further teaches wherein the one or more indicators on the map correspond to the colored indicators of the outputs of the beacons of the lift device and the one or more additional lift devices.
Boyd teaches a lighted vehicle beaconing system, where the management system may provide the lighting control sequence to the user device and to a fleet vehicle simultaneously (e.g. Col. 26 lines 22-28; Figure 10A).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to further modify the method for managing an information system for industrial vehicles in the system of Harshbarger, in view of Grady and Kunzig, with the feature of using light indicators in the system of Boyd, in order to assist in identifying the selected fleet vehicle (see at least Col. 21 lines 59-61 of Boyd).
As per Claim 3, and similarly for Claims 11 and 19, Harshbarger, in view of Grady, Kunzig, and Boyd, teaches the features of Claims 1, 9, and 17, respectively, and Harshbarger further teaches the features of wherein each of the plurality of outputs is configured provide an indication of a status of the associated lift device to an observer (e.g. Paragraphs [0038], [0079]-[0080]; where an alarm and light may be mounted on the mobile asset (12) provides distinction from normal functionality of the mobile asset (12); and where the monitoring input/output module (48) may control outputs such as horns, buzzers, lights, and other asset components and/or devices).
As per Claim 4, and similarly for Claim 12, Harshbarger, in view of Grady, Kunzig, and Boyd, teaches the features of Claims 3 and 11, respectively, and Boyd further teaches the features of wherein the connectivity module is configured to control the beacon to be in at least one of a solid on state, a solid off state, a flashing state, and a strobe state.
Boyd teaches a lighted vehicle beaconing system, where a group of fleet vehicles may receive a group lighting control sequence, which may include one or more of an availability status lighting sequence (e.g., a first predetermined color/pattern for available, a second predetermined color/pattern for unavailable), a charge status lighting sequence (e.g., a set of colors and/or patterns indicating approximate ranges of charge levels, such as less than or equal to 25% full charge, from 25% to 50%, from 50% to 75%, and 75% or above), a service status lighting sequence (e.g., a relatively slow “breathing” animation using a critical color, such as orange, when service is required), and/or other vehicle status lighting sequences configured to convey a characteristic and/or status of a fleet vehicle (e.g. Col. 21 lines 39-63).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to further modify the method for managing an information system for industrial vehicles in the system of Harshbarger, in view of Grady and Kunzig, with the feature of using light indicators in the system of Boyd, in order to assist in identifying the selected fleet vehicle (see at least Col. 21 lines 59-61 of Boyd).
As per Claim 5, and similarly for Claim 13 and 20, Harshbarger, in view of Grady, Kunzig, and Boyd, teaches the features of Claims 1, 9, and 17, respectively, and Harshbarger further teaches the features of wherein the connectivity module is configured to communicate an instruction to an interface of the lift device in order to provide a message to a user relating to commercial services (e.g. Paragraphs [0097]-[0099]; where the fleet operator can farm the data collected by the industrial vehicle application server (14) to the vehicle manufacturer, to facilitate communication with the manufacturer server to determine what data to send to the manufacturer, if a work request needs to be generated, etc.).
As per Claim 6, and similarly for Claim 14, Harshbarger, in view of Grady, Kunzig, and Boyd, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 9, respectively, and Harshbarger further teaches the features of wherein the connectivity module is configured to communicate an instruction to a control system of the lift device in order to provide a software update to the lift device (e.g. Paragraph [0049]]; where the industrial vehicle application server (14) may implement changes from the server software, and dynamically adjust data within the software, and communicate the updated settings to the corresponding mobile asset (12)).
As per Claim 7, and similarly for Claim 15, Harshbarger, in view of Grady, Kunzig, and Boyd, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 9, respectively, and Harshbarger further teaches the features of wherein the connectivity module is configured to communicate an instruction to the implement of the lift device in order to reposition the lift device (e.g. Paragraph [0044]; where the information linking device (38) may communicate with input/output controls and corresponding I/O controller (72), such as for controlling switches, buttons, levers, handles, pedals, etc., that are assigned to functions of the industrial vehicle, and may communicate with a vehicle control module (VCM, 74) to control the hydraulics, e.g., the lift of the vehicle (i.e. reposition an implement of the lift device)).
As per Claim 8, and similarly for Claim 16, Harshbarger, in view of Grady, Kunzig, and Boyd, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 9, respectively, and Harshbarger further teaches the features of wherein the connectivity module is configured to communicate an instruction to an interface of the lift device in order to provide a message to a user relating to commerce services relating to the lift device (e.g. Paragraphs [0082], [0097]-[0099]; where the fleet operator can farm the data collected by the industrial vehicle application server (14) to the vehicle manufacturer, to facilitate communication with the manufacturer server to determine what data to send to the manufacturer, if a work request needs to be generated, etc.; and where a message may be communicated to the industrial application server (14) so that an appropriate action may be taken).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Absmeier, et al (U.S. 2018/0004213 A1), which teaches a method for managing a vehicle and sharing information between vehicles.
Buttolo, et al (U.S. 2018/0284761 A1), which teaches a method for prompting autonomous vehicles in a fleet to provide vehicle data and information to a central management system.
Gregory, et al (U.S. 11,854,318 B1), which teaches a user interface for monitoring a fleet of vehicles.
Turato, et al (U.S. 2019/0025856 A1), which teaches a method for managing connected fleet vehicles, and transmitting diagnostic commands to each vehicle in the fleet.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERRITT LEVY/Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663