DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-14 and 17-22 are pending.
3. This office action is in response to the Applicant’s communication filed 07/22/2025 in response to PTO Office Action mailed 06/18/2025. The Applicant’s remarks and amendments to the claims and/or the specification were considered with the results that follow.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/18/2025 and 07/22/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s argument with respect to amended independent claims has been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are summarized as:
1) “While Steely may describe a network layer 407 with a network tile 416 including a VC portal 461 acting as direct links to other tiles or a memory portal, nothing has been found or pointed out in Steely that can reasonably be said to disclose that the network layer 407 includes one or more routers connected to the first network interface and the second network interface, and where the routers are configured to route data between the first layer and the second layer through the network layer.”
As per argument 1, in response to applicant’s argument, Patil does not disclose “While Steely may describe a network layer 407 with a network tile 416 including a VC portal 461 acting as direct links to other tiles or a memory portal, nothing has been found or pointed out in Steely that can reasonably be said to disclose that the network layer 407 includes one or more routers connected to the first network interface and the second network interface, and where the routers are configured to route data between the first layer and the second layer through the network layer.”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Steely in col. 13, lines 33-45 provides a description of a virtual VC portal 461 that can be coupled to a multiplexer 465 to be selectively coupled to a memory layer 409 or to a computing layer 405. With the portal 461, VC signaling is selectively routed directly to the computing layer 405, or to the memory layer 409. As a result, the teachings of Steely could be used to implement the claim limitations.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,264,361 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims perform the same function with different terminology. Limitations that conflict are bolded below and underlined limitations are addressed as follows.
In the interest of time, the examiner is selecting only one of the independent claims from the instant application and U.S. Patent for the table below.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,264,361 B2
Claim 1. A system on chip (SoC) comprising:
a first layer including at least one component having a first network interface;
a second layer having a second network interface; and
a network layer including one or more routers connected to the first network interface and the second network interface,
wherein the network layer is positioned between the first layer and the second layer, and
wherein the one or more routers are configured to route data between the first layer and the second layer through the network layer.
Claim 2. The system of claim 1, wherein the first layer is an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) layer bonded to the network layer, and wherein the ASIC layer includes at least one component.
Claim 3. The system of claim 2, wherein the first network interface connects the at least one component to the one or more routers.
Claim 1. A system on chip (SoC) comprising:
a network layer including two or more routers; and
an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) layer bonded to the network layer, the ASIC layer including two or more components,
including a first component having a first network interface and a second component having a second network interface, wherein the first component is connected to a first router of the two or more routers via the first network interface and the second component is connected to a second router of the two or more routers via the second network interface,
wherein the first router and the second router of the two or more routers are configured to route data through the network layer from the first network interface of the first component to the second network interface of the second component.
Claims 4 and 5, respectfully, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,264,361 B2.
Claims 6 and 7, respectfully, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,264,361 B2.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,264,361 B2.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,264,361 B2.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,264,361 B2.
Claims 11-13, respectfully, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,264,361 B2.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,264,361 B2.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,264,361 B2.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,264,361 B2.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,264,361 B2.
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,264,361 B2.
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,264,361 B2.
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,264,361 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-8, 11, 12, 14, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Steely, Jr. et al. (US Patent No. 10,691,182 B2 hereinafter “Steely”).
Referring to claim 1, Steely discloses a system on chip (SoC) (Steely – Fig. 1(a) & col. 6, lines 26-28 disclose the computing system 100 includes the computing IC 110, which is included in a semiconductor package 103.) comprising:
a first layer including at least one component having a first network interface (Steely – Fig. 4(a) shows a computing tile 414 in a computing layer 405. Fig. 4(b) shows network VC ports 446. Fig. 4(a) & col. 11, line 39 disclose a computing tile 414 in a computing layer 405. Fig. 4(b) & col. 12, lines 8-10 disclose there may be other computing elements, e.g., a processor core, or an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) in the computing tile 414.);
a second layer having a second network interface (Steely – Fig. 4(a) shows a memory tile 418 in a memory layer 409. Col. 13, line 45 disclose address ports of a D-bank 452 of the memory layer 409.); and
a network layer including one or more routers connected to the first network interface and the second network interface (Steely – Fig. 4(a) shows a network tile 416 in a network layer 407. Col. 13, lines 33-45 disclose the network tile 416 having a VC portal 461 coupled to a multiplexer 465 to be selectively coupled to a compute element in the computing layer 405 or to the address ports of a D-bank 452 of the memory layer 409.),
wherein the network layer is positioned between the first layer and the second layer (Steely – Fig. 2 shows a network layer 207 is positioned between the computing layer 205 and the memory layer 209.), and
wherein the one or more routers are configured to route data between the first layer and the second layer through the network layer (Steely – Col. 13, lines 33-45 disclose the network tile 416 having a VC portal 461 coupled to a multiplexer 465 to be selectively coupled to a compute element in the computing layer 405 or to the address ports of a D-bank 452 of the memory layer 409.).
Referring to claim 2, Steely discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first layer is an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) layer bonded to the network layer (Steely – Fig. 2 & col. 9, lines 49-56 disclose additionally and alternatively, the network layer 207, the computing layer 205, or the memory layer 209 may be bonded together by direct bonding, where one or more contact points 212 of a first tile in a first layer is in direct contact with one or more contact points of a second tile of a second layer, the first layer or the second layer may be selected from the network layer 207, the computing layer 205, or the memory layer 209. Fig. 4(a) & col. 11, line 39 disclose a computing tile 414 in a computing layer 405. Fig. 4(b) & col. 12, lines 8-10 disclose there may be other computing elements, e.g., a processor core, or an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) in the computing tile 414.).
Referring to claim 3, Steely discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the first network interface connects the at least one component to the one or more routers (Steely – Col. 13, lines 33-45 disclose the network tile 416 having a VC portal 461 coupled to a multiplexer 465 to be selectively coupled to a compute element in the computing layer 405 or to the address ports of a D-bank 452 of the memory layer 409.).
Referring to claim 4, Steely discloses the system of claim 3, wherein each of the at least one component is connected to at least one of the one or more routers via one or more conductive structures (Steely – Fig. 2 & col. 9, lines 47-56 disclose The network layer 207, the computing layer 205, or the memory layer 209 may be coupled together by through-silicon vias (TSV) 214. Additionally and alternatively, the network layer 207, the computing layer 205, or the memory layer 209 may be bonded together by direct bonding, where one or more contact points 212 of a first tile in a first layer is in direct contact with one or more contact points of a second tile of a second layer, the first layer or the second layer may be selected from the network layer 207, the computing layer 205, or the memory layer 209.).
Referring to claim 5, Steely discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the conductive structures include one or more of traces, vias, contacts, or terminals (Steely – Fig. 2 & col. 9, lines 47-56 disclose The network layer 207, the computing layer 205, or the memory layer 209 may be coupled together by through-silicon vias (TSV) 214. Additionally and alternatively, the network layer 207, the computing layer 205, or the memory layer 209 may be bonded together by direct bonding, where one or more contact points 212 of a first tile in a first layer is in direct contact with one or more contact points of a second tile of a second layer, the first layer or the second layer may be selected from the network layer 207, the computing layer 205, or the memory layer 209.).
Referring to claim 6, Steely discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the network layer includes: an active surface (Steely – Fig. 4(a) shows a top surface having network tiles 416 of a network layer 407.); and a second surface opposite the active surface (Steely – Col. 6, lines 47-48 disclose the network layer 107 has a first side and a second side opposite to the first side.).
Referring to claim 7, Steely discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the ASIC layer (Steely – Fig. 4(b) & col. 12, lines 8-10 disclose there may be other computing elements, e.g., a processor core, or an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) in the computing tile 414.) includes: an active surface (Steely – Fig. 4(a) shows a top surface having computing tiles 414 in a computing layer 405.); and a second surface opposite the active surface (Steely – Fig. 2 shows a second side opposite to the top side.).
Referring to claim 8, Steely discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the active surface of the ASIC layer and the second surface of the network layer each includes one or more contacts, wherein the network layer is bonded to the ASIC layer via bonds formed between the one or more contacts on the second surface of the network layer and the one or more contacts on the active surface of the ASIC layer (Steely – Fig. 2 & col. 9, lines 49-56 disclose additionally and alternatively, the network layer 207, the computing layer 205, or the memory layer 209 may be bonded together by direct bonding, where one or more contact points 212 of a first tile in a first layer is in direct contact with one or more contact points of a second tile of a second layer, the first layer or the second layer may be selected from the network layer 207, the computing layer 205, or the memory layer 209.).
Referring to claim 11, Steely discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the second layer is a memory layer including an active surface including one or more contacts (Steely – Fig. 2 & col. 9, lines 49-56 disclose additionally and alternatively, the network layer 207, the computing layer 205, or the memory layer 209 may be bonded together by direct bonding, where one or more contact points 212 of a first tile in a first layer is in direct contact with one or more contact points of a second tile of a second layer, the first layer or the second layer may be selected from the network layer 207, the computing layer 205, or the memory layer 209.).
Referring to claim 12, Steely discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the memory layer is bonded to the network layer via bonds formed between one or more contacts on the active surface of the network layer and the one or more contacts on the active surface of the memory layer (Steely – Fig. 2 & col. 9, lines 49-56 disclose additionally and alternatively, the network layer 207, the computing layer 205, or the memory layer 209 may be bonded together by direct bonding, where one or more contact points 212 of a first tile in a first layer is in direct contact with one or more contact points of a second tile of a second layer, the first layer or the second layer may be selected from the network layer 207, the computing layer 205, or the memory layer 209.).
Referring to claim 14, Steely discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the memory layer includes one or more memory segments (Steely – Fig. 4(c) & col. 11, lines 59-64 disclose the memory tile 418 represents a memory tile stack or a memory stack having multiple tiles in multiple sublayers, e.g., a tile of a control sublayer 451 of the memory layer 409, and one or more storage tiles of one or more storage sublayers 453, e.g., 8 storage sublayers, of the memory layer 409.), the network layer is configured to route data between the at least one component in the ASIC layer and the one or more memory segments (Steely – Fig. 4(d) & col. 13, lines 33-38 disclose The portal 461 can be coupled to a multiplexer 465 to be selectively coupled to a storage cell in the memory layer 409, or to a computing element 469 of the computing tile 414 of the computing layer 405. The network tile 416 functions as an integrated nexus for data movement, both within the tile stack and between the tile and its neighbors.), and wherein each of the one or more memory segments is connected to at least one of the one or more routers in the network layer (Steely – Col. 13, lines 33-45 disclose the network tile 416 having a VC portal 461 coupled to a multiplexer 465 to be selectively coupled to a compute element in the computing layer 405 or to the address ports of a D-bank 452 of the memory layer 409.) via one or more conductive structures (Steely – Fig. 2 & col. 9, lines 47-56 disclose The network layer 207, the computing layer 205, or the memory layer 209 may be coupled together by through-silicon vias (TSV) 214. Additionally and alternatively, the network layer 207, the computing layer 205, or the memory layer 209 may be bonded together by direct bonding, where one or more contact points 212 of a first tile in a first layer is in direct contact with one or more contact points of a second tile of a second layer, the first layer or the second layer may be selected from the network layer 207, the computing layer 205, or the memory layer 209.).
Referring to claim 17, Steely discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the network layer is configured to ignore faulty (Steely – Col. 9, lines 32-34 disclose distributed place and route algorithms for the network layer 107 may route around defective tiles.) memory segments within the one or more memory segments (Steely – Col. 11, lines 43-45 disclose the memory tile 418 may represent a memory tile stack or a memory stack having multiple tiles in multiple sublayers, e.g., a tile of a control sublayer of the memory layer, and one or more storage tiles of one or more storage sublayers of the memory layer.).
Referring to claim 18, Steely discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the network layer includes at least two routers, wherein the at least two routers are connected via one or more routing traces in the network layer (Steely – Fig. 1(a) & col. 7, lines 35-47 disclose the network layer 107 may include a single-hop circuit-switched network to support circuit-switching, where the single-hop circuit-switched network is configured by software. The single-hop circuit-switched network may include one or more signal pathways or virtual circuits (VC). For example, the network layer 107 may include a VC 142 starting at a tile 141 and ending at a tile 143, where the VC 142 is a direct, unbuffered signal pathway extending through multiple tiles of the network layer 107. The network layer 107 may include one or more signal pathways or VCs, e.g., the VC 142, dynamically configurable between multiple pre-defined topologies for the multiple tiles on the die of the network layer 107.).
Referring to claim 20, Steely discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the at least one component includes one or more of processors, graphics processing units (GPUs), logic boards, digital sound processors (DSP), or network adaptors (Steely – Fig. 4(b) & col. 12, lines 8-10 disclose there may be other computing elements, e.g., a processor core, or an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) in the computing tile 414.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steely in view of Teig et al. (US Patent No. 10,672,744 B2 hereinafter “Teig” – IDS Submission).
Referring to claim 9, Steely discloses the system of claim 8, however, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the bonds are formed via ZiBond direct bonding and/or direct bond interconnect (DBI) hybrid bonding.
Teig discloses the bonds are formed via ZiBond direct bonding and/or direct bond interconnect (DBI) hybrid bonding (Teig – Fig. 5 shows a DBI Bonding Layer between each of the dies.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Teig’s teachings with Steely’s techniques because it is advantageous to use DBI connections to connect overlapping connected regions on two dies that are vertically stacked because DBI allows for far greater density of connections than other z-axis connection schemes (Teig – Col. 18, lines 35-39).
Referring to claim 13, Steely discloses the system of claim 12, however, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the bonds are formed via ZiBond direct bonding and/or direct bond interconnect (DBI) hybrid bonding.
Teig discloses the bonds are formed via ZiBond direct bonding and/or direct bond interconnect (DBI) hybrid bonding (Teig – Fig. 5 shows a DBI Bonding Layer between each of the dies.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Teig’s teachings with Steely’s techniques because it is advantageous to use DBI connections to connect overlapping connected regions on two dies that are vertically stacked because DBI allows for far greater density of connections than other z-axis connection schemes (Teig – Col. 18, lines 35-39).
11. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steely in view of Barowski et al. (US Patent No. 9,501,603 B2 hereinafter “Barowski”).
Referring to claim 10, Steely discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the second surface of the ASIC layer to form electrical connections between the SoC with one or more components external to the SoC (Steely – See fig. 1(a) showing a computing layer 105 within a package 103 coupled to a PCB 101.).
Barowski discloses the second surface of the processor layer includes one or more terminals configured to form electrical connections between the SoC with one or more components external to the SoC (Barowski – Fig. 2 & col. 7, lines 26-37 disclose C4s 212 of processor chip 218 are then subsequently bonded to conductive pads 220 of PC board 222. PC board 222 may be useful as a platform on which to mechanically mount and through which to electrically interconnect a 3-D IC, including chips 204, 218, with other electronic devices.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Barowski’s teachings with Steely’s techniques for providing cost-effective design changes for use in 3-D IC designs by using existing and proven design, floorplanning, routing and 3-D IC fabrication technologies (Barowski – Col. 2, lines 24-26).
12. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steely in view of Solomon (US Patent No. 8,042,082 B2 hereinafter “Solomon” – IDS Submission).
Referring to claim 19, Steely discloses the system of claim 1, however, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the network layer is connected to memory located outside of the SoC.
Solomon discloses the network layer is connected to memory located outside of the SoC (Solomon – Col. 19, lines 60-65 disclose FIG. 31 shows a router on a layer of a multilayer IC. The router (R1) transfers data from external devices to the multilayer memory module. Data are imported both through the router and through the logic layer. Data are also transferred from the memory module to external devices from the router and the logic layer. Col. 19, lines 26-29 disclose data are sent to these crossbars on the outside edges of the iSoC package as an intermediate destination before off-loading to external memory devices.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Solomon’s teachings with Steely’s techniques because it uses 3D logic and memory nodes, the system has closer memory access and faster response (Solomon – Col. 5, lines 66-66).
10. Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steely in view of Small et al. (US Pub. No. 2008/0144513 A1 hereinafter “Small”).
Referring to claim 21, Steely discloses the system of claim 1, however, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the network layer includes a plurality of routers arranged in a ring pattern.
Small discloses wherein the network layer includes a plurality of routers arranged in a ring pattern (Small – Par. [0017] discloses routers 130-135, 140-142 of the example transport network 110 of FIG. 1 are arranged and/or communicatively coupled to create any type of transport network topology, such as a mesh topology, a ring topology, a star topology, and/or any combination(s) of such topologies.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Small’s teachings with Steely’s techniques for providing Methods and apparatus to manage network transport paths in accordance with network policies (Small – Abstract).
Referring to claim 22, Steely discloses the system of claim 1, however, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the network layer includes a plurality of routers arranged in a star pattern.
Small discloses wherein the network layer includes a plurality of routers arranged in a star pattern (Small – Par. [0017] discloses routers 130-135, 140-142 of the example transport network 110 of FIG. 1 are arranged and/or communicatively coupled to create any type of transport network topology, such as a mesh topology, a ring topology, a star topology, and/or any combination(s) of such topologies.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Small’s teachings with Steely’s techniques for providing Methods and apparatus to manage network transport paths in accordance with network policies (Small – Abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAYTON LEWIS-TAYLOR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2181
/IDRISS N ALROBAYE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2181