DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “user input means” in claim 1.
Claim 1 – “[a] user input means that is connected to the management device via the communication line and receives information input from the user to the management device” See MPEP 2181. Underlined is the generic placeholder used by the claim and bolded is the functional language. The generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material or acts for performing the claim. Therefore, 112(f) is invoked.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Whether a Claim is to a Statutory Category
In the instant case, claims 1-6 recite a system/machine that is performing a series of functions. Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention of a machine. Step 1 is satisfied.
Step2A – Prong 1: Does the Claim Recite a Judicial Exception
Exemplary claim 1 recites the following abstract concepts that are found to include an enumerated “abstract idea”:
A rental space inventory management system that sets a usage time and rents a space to a user, comprising:
a management device that is connected to a communication line to manage information;
a user input means that is connected to the management device via the communication line and receives information input from the user to the management device; and
an inventory management means that is connected to the management device via the communication line and manages an inventory of goods provided to the user who uses the space, the inventory management means comprising one or more sensors configured to measure an inventory of the goods and to transmit, via the communication line, first sensor data indicative of an inventory level of the goods at a start of a reservation and second sensor data indicative of an inventory level of the goods after an end of use of the space is confirmed, wherein
the management device comprises:
a reservation manager that manages reservation information on the user who uses the space received via the user input means, including a reservation date and a reservation time;
a goods information obtainer that determines a variation of the inventory of the goods based on a comparison of the first sensor data and the second sensor data after the end of use of the space is confirmed from the inventory management means; and
a goods billing part that associates the variation of the inventory of the goods with the reservation information stored for the reservation date and reservation time and charges a consideration according to the variation of the inventory of the goods to the user who uses the space on the basis of the reservation information and the goods information that was obtained after the end of use of the space, wherein confirmation of the end of use of the space triggers the management device to request and obtain the variation of the inventory of the goods from the inventory management means and to automatically calculate the consideration based on the obtained variation.
[Emphasis added to show the bolded abstract idea being executed by unbolded additional elements that do not meaningfully limit the abstract idea]
This system claim is grouped within the "certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test because the claims involve a series of steps for sales activities of renting a space to a user and charging a consideration according to the variation of the inventory of the goods, which is a process that is encompassed by the abstract idea of commercial or legal interactions. See e.g., MPEP 2106.04(a)(2). Accordingly, claim 1 is found to recite abstract idea(s).
Step2A – Prong 2: Does the Claim Recite Additional Elements that Integrate the Judicial Exception into a Practical Application
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test, the additional elements of the claims such management device, communication line, user input means, inventory management means, sensors, reservation manager, goods information obtainer and goods billing part merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Specifically, the management device, communication line, user input means, inventory management means, sensors, reservation manager, goods information obtainer and goods billing part perform the steps or functions of sales activities of renting a space to a user and charging a consideration according to the variation of the inventory of the goods. The use of a processor/computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it requires no more than a computer (or technical elements disclosed at a high level of generality such as management device, communication line, user input means, inventory management means, sensors, reservation manager, goods information obtainer and goods billing part) performing functions of managing, receiving, measuring, transmitting, obtaining and charging that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f) and (h)). Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step2B: Does the Claim Amount to Significantly More
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional element analysis of Step 2A Prong 2 is equally applied to Step 2B. “Another consideration when determining whether a claim recites significantly more than a judicial exception is whether the additional element(s) are well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry. This consideration is only evaluated in Step 2B of the eligibility analysis.” MPEP 2106.05(d). The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional (“WURC”) functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. Exemplary claim 19 recites the following limitations that the courts have found to be WURC:
Claim 1 includes several limitations relating to receiving or transmitting data over a network (a management device that is connected to a communication line to manage information …; a user input means that is connected to the management device via the communication line and receives information …; an inventory management means that is connected to the management device via the communication line and manages an inventory of goods … to transmit, via the communication line, first sensor data…; and triggers the management device to request and obtain the variation of the inventory of the goods from the inventory management means … as claimed) data. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) where courts found to be WURC - i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("Unlike the claims in Ultramercial, the claims at issue here specify how interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result‐‐a result that overrides the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink." (emphasis added));
Claim 1 includes several limitations relating to performing repetitive calculations (the inventory management means comprising one or more sensors configured to measure an inventory of the goods …; determines a variation of the inventory of the goods based on a comparison of the first sensor data and the second sensor data … and charges a consideration according to the variation of the inventory of the goods to the user who uses the space on the basis of the reservation information and the goods information… to automatically calculate the consideration based on the obtained variation as claimed) data. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) where courts found to be WURC - ii. Performing repetitive calculations, Flook, 437 U.S. at 594, 198 USPQ2d at 199 (recomputing or readjusting alarm limit values); Bancorp Services v. Sun Life, 687 F.3d 1266, 1278, 103 USPQ2d 1425, 1433 (Fed. Cir. 2012) ("The computer required by some of Bancorp’s claims is employed only for its most basic function, the performance of repetitive calculations, and as such does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of those claims.");
Claim 1 includes several limitations relating to storing and retrieving information in memory (a reservation manager that manages reservation information on the user who uses the space… as claimed) data. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) where courts found to be WURC - ii. Performing repetitive calculations, Flook, 437 U.S. at 594, 198 USPQ2d at 199 (recomputing or readjusting alarm limit values); Bancorp Services v. Sun Life, 687 F.3d 1266, 1278, 103 USPQ2d 1425, 1433 (Fed. Cir. 2012) ("The computer required by some of Bancorp’s claims is employed only for its most basic function, the performance of repetitive calculations, and as such does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of those claims.");
Accordingly, when viewed alone and in ordered combination, these additional elements are not found to recite significantly more than the underlying abstract idea.
Dependent claim 2 further describes the abstract idea of commercial interactions of sales activities through renting a space to a user and charging a consideration according to the variation of the inventory of the goods. Dependent claim 2 does not include additional elements to perform the respective functions of obtaining, receiving and disclosing beyond technical elements disclosed at a high level of generality like an inventory information obtainer, inventory management means, management device and inventory information discloser as well as the elements disclosed in independent claim 1 that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or that provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, dependent claim 2 is also not patent eligible. Further, the dependency of this claim on ineligible independent claim 1 also renders dependent claim 2 as not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 3 further describes the abstract idea of commercial interactions of sales activities through renting a space to a user and charging a consideration according to the variation of the inventory of the goods. Dependent claim 3 does not include additional elements to perform the respective functions of obtaining, receiving, calculating and disclosing beyond technical elements disclosed at a high level of generality like an inventory information obtainer, inventory management means, management device, prediction information calculator and prediction information discloser as well as the elements disclosed in independent claim 1 that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or that provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, dependent claim 3 is also not patent eligible. Further, the dependency of this claim on ineligible independent claim 1 also renders dependent claim 3 as not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 4 further describes the abstract idea of commercial interactions of sales activities through renting a space to a user and charging a consideration according to the variation of the inventory of the goods. Dependent claim 4 does not include additional elements to perform the respective functions of managing, obtaining, charging and switching beyond technical elements disclosed at a high level of generality like a shared inventory management means, management device, identification code manager, shared goods information obtainer and shared goods billing part as well as the elements disclosed in independent claim 1 that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or that provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, dependent claim 4 is also not patent eligible. Further, the dependency of this claim on ineligible independent claim 1 also renders dependent claim 4 as not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 5 further describes the abstract idea of commercial interactions of sales activities through renting a space to a user and charging a consideration according to the variation of the inventory of the goods. Dependent claim 5 does not include additional elements to perform the respective functions of detecting beyond technical elements disclosed at a high level of generality such as sensors, weight sensors, position sensors and pressure sensors as well as the elements disclosed in independent claim 1 that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or that provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, dependent claim 5 is also not patent eligible. Further, the dependency of this claim on ineligible independent claim 1 also renders dependent claim 5 as not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 6 further describes the abstract idea of commercial interactions of sales activities through renting a space to a user and charging a consideration according to the variation of the inventory of the goods. Dependent claim 6 does not include additional elements to perform the respective functions of transmitting and deferring billing calculation beyond technical elements disclosed at a high level of generality such as inventory management means and management device as well as the elements disclosed in independent claim 1 that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or that provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, dependent claim 6 is also not patent eligible. Further, the dependency of this claim on ineligible independent claim 1 also renders dependent claim 6 as not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokuchi (US 2020/0117326 A1) in view of Bashkin (US 2018/0091782 A1) and Vivadelli et al. (US 2008/0109289 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Tokuchi teaches:
A rental space inventory management system that sets a usage time and rents a space to a user, comprising (See Tokuchi ¶ [0398] – a system for reserving space in a rental room for a set time period):
a management device that is connected to a communication line to manage information (See Tokuchi ¶ [0077-0078] – a server or multiple servers managing data related to reservations [of rooms], entrance and exit [of rooms], billing a charge for use and member registration through connection via the internet);
a user input means that is connected to the management device via the communication line and receives information input from the user to the management device (See Tokuchi ¶ [0081-0083] – a user smartphone communicating at least electronic key information to the management server via wireless internet communication); and
an inventory management means that is connected to the management device via the communication line and manages an inventory of goods provided to the user who uses the space, the inventory management means comprising one or more sensors configured to measure … and to transmit, via the communication line, … at a start of a reservation and … (See Tokuchi ¶ [0089] - the space management server collects information from various apparatuses arranged inside or outside the space. Various apparatuses include a motion sensor, a monitoring camera, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, an illuminance sensor, and the like, [0130] – a reservation management server obtaining relevant information for a reservation, [0160] -said relevant information comprising an inventory of items available for use during a reservation period, [0263] - even in a case where the function is included in the multifunction peripheral, it is necessary to make the reservation for using the function. The reservation can be made not only in advance but also after the start of the time of reservation and Fig. 1 – the servers, user terminal [smartphone] and space [room] are all connected via a cloud network),
wherein
the management device comprises:
a reservation manager that manages reservation information on the user who uses the space received via the user input means, including a reservation date and a reservation time (See Tokuchi ¶ [0130] – a reservation management server maintaining reservation information based on user inputs and [0145] – reservation date and time);
a goods information obtainer that determines a variation of the inventory of the goods … from the inventory management means (See Tokuchi ¶ [0263-0264] – managing paper [sheets] usage in a multi-function peripheral device by recognizing the number of sheets used compared to the number of sheets already included with a reservation); and
a goods billing part that associates the variation of the inventory of the goods with the reservation information stored for the reservation date and reservation time and charges a consideration according to the variation of the inventory of the goods to the user who uses the space on the basis of the reservation information and the goods information (See Tokuchi ¶ [0263-0264] – managing paper [sheets] usage in a multi-function peripheral device by recognizing the number of sheets used compared to the number of sheets already included with a reservation, stopping supply of said sheets when the reserved number of sheets is consumed and resuming supply of sheets when a new reservation [payment] for said sheets is confirmed and Fig. 24 – showing a reservation date and time) … triggers the management device to request and obtain the variation of the inventory of the goods from the inventory management means and to automatically calculate the consideration based on the obtained variation (See Tokuchi ¶ [0263-0264] – The reservation can be made not only in advance but also after the start of the time of reservation …, using the scan function requires 10 yen per hour. Using the copy function requires 10 yen per hour. Using both of the scan function and the copy function requires 20 yen per hour. In addition, the reservation can be made at a charge of 10 yen per sheet for up to 10 output sheets. The reservation can be made at a charge of 9 yen per sheet for 11 to 50 output sheets. The reservation can be made at a charge of 8 yen per sheet for 51 to 100 output sheets. In addition, the reservation can be made for color printing in a case where 10 yen per sheet is added. In the present exemplary embodiment, in a case where the actual number of output sheets reaches the reserved number of sheets, the output of the paper is stopped until confirmation of a new reservation).
While Tokuchi teaches a reserved space monitoring system that uses sensors to measure conditions of said reserved space and allows access to an inventory of products for use by a user of the reserved space (Tokuchi ¶ [0089], [0264]), Tokuchi does not explicitly teach that said sensors measure an inventory of the goods from first sensor data indicative of an inventory level of the goods and second sensor data indicative of an inventory level of the goods or that sensor data is indicative of a variation of the inventory of the goods based on a comparison of the first sensor data and the second sensor data. This is taught by Bashkin (See Bashkin ¶ [0048] - the system can utilize a scale system that is configured to measure a weight of one or more items housed within the storage container and determine whether the number of items changed based on a change in weight [comparison of the first sensor data and the second sensor data by example]. For instance, a number of items can have a first weight and when one or more items are removed or returned, a new weight is detected by a scale system to determine a number of items, [0052-0053] – In order to more accurately track inventory present, added, or removed [variation of inventory of goods], inventory can be marked in one or more ways facilitating accurate identification. Accurate identification can include a multi-factor test applied based on activity related to the container (e.g., weight on scale reduced or increased, motion sensed, and others) and [0078] - the inventory system further includes a scale system that measures a weight associated with at least one of the first item or the second item to determine at least one of the first amount [level] or the second amount [level]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the space reservation and inventory of products usage monitoring system of Tokuchi the use of sensors to track the use of said inventory of products as taught by Bashkin to improve enterprise efficiency by reducing inventory replenishment costs (Bashkin ¶ [0088]), thereby increasing the efficiency of the reserved space monitoring system of Tokuchi.
While Tokuchi teaches a reserved space monitoring system that uses sensors to measure conditions of said reserved space, allows access to an inventory of products for use by a user of the reserved space and manages billing based on reservation information (Tokuchi ¶ [0089], [0091] and [0264]), Tokuchi does not explicitly teach obtaining information after an end of use of the space is confirmed, wherein confirmation of the end of use of the space triggers the management device or that information was obtained after the end of use of the space. This is taught by Vivadelli (See Vivadelli ¶ [0097] - an inventory component, a user component, a reservation component, a system integration component, a data import and export component and a billing component. The inventory component can store and access information about every reservable resource, whether that resource is (1) physical workspace, such as a cubicle, conference room or training room; (2) a physical item, such as food and beverage, computer, telephone, writing implements; or (3) services, such as catering, photocopying, or courier services, or network or voice connectivity, [0110] – Upon checking out of a reservation, the user is informing the system that he or she is relinquishing possession of a workspace… The system will also track time used for billing purposes and [0148-0149] - Once the user has checked in to the reservation as at, the billing component may be notified as at to track the user's occupancy and other potential charges for resources. It will be appreciated that, while the billing component may be most frequently tied to check in and check out, the billing component may interact with the reservation system on more occasions… If the user then requires post check-in changes to resources, he may request them to the extent allowed as at. Upon check out at, the billing component may again be notified). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the space reservation and inventory of products usage monitoring and billing system of Tokuchi the use of billing procedures at the end of use of the reserved space as taught by Vivadelli to provide significantly enhanced data accuracy regarding use of space, which improves system effectiveness and affects individual behavior to produce even greater data accuracy and improved control and management of resources (Vivadelli ¶ [0088]), thereby increasing the accuracy and efficiency of the reserved space monitoring system of Tokuchi.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Tokuchi teaches:
The rental space inventory management system according to claim 1, wherein the management device comprises:
an inventory information obtainer that obtains inventory information on a current goods inventory from the inventory management means, when receiving the information input to the management device by the user input means (See Tokuchi ¶ [0135 and 0138] – the reservation information update control unit updates inventory information of available objects based on user input for said reservation configuration); and
an inventory information discloser that discloses the inventory information obtained by the inventory information obtainer to the user (See Tokuchi ¶ [0223-0225] – the system recognizing an item [multifunction peripheral] is not available because the reserved quantity exceeds a limit).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Tokuchi teaches:
The rental space inventory management system according to claim 1, wherein the management device comprises:
an inventory information obtainer that obtains inventory information on a current goods inventory from the inventory management means, when receiving the information input to the management device by the user input means (See Tokuchi ¶ [0135 and 0138] – the reservation information update control unit updates inventory information of available objects based on user input for said reservation configuration and [0223-0225] – the system recognizing an item [multifunction peripheral] is not available because the reserved quantity exceeds a limit);
a prediction information calculator that calculates prediction information predicting the inventory of the goods at the reservation date and time when using the space received via the user input means on the basis of the inventory information obtained by the inventory information obtainer (For the purpose of examination, the limitation prediction or predicting is interpreted as a check on availability of a certain item at the reservation date and time, as there is no other use or definition of said prediction or predicting in the specification of the instant application. Therefore, see Tokuchi ¶ [0200-0207] – checking availability of objects for reservation based on the date and time of said reservation as well as the conditions of the space being reserved); and
a prediction information discloser that discloses the prediction information calculated by the prediction information calculator to the user (See Tokuchi ¶ [0217-0222] and Fig. 16 – displaying to a user which objects [multifunction peripherals] are available at the time of a room reservation or if said objects [multifunction peripherals] are temporarily unavailable).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Tokuchi teaches:
The rental space inventory management system according to claim 1, comprising:
a shared inventory management means that is disposed in a shared space provided side by side with a plurality of spaces and manages an inventory of shared goods provided to the user, wherein the management device comprises (See Tokuchi ¶ [0113] – the space maybe a large single room or split into a plurality of spaces with connecting walls that may be used [shared] by a large number of people and [0247-0252] – shows management of a plurality of the same type of inventory object for the same [shared] reserved space):
an identification code manager that manages identification code information related to identification codes individually set for the spaces (See Tokuchi ¶ [0280] and Fig. 28 – shows a plurality of spaces with unique room ID numbers);
a shared goods information obtainer that obtains shared goods information on the variation of the inventory of the shared goods from the shared inventory management means (See Tokuchi ¶ [0113] – the space maybe a large single room or split into a plurality of spaces with connecting walls that may be used [shared] by a large number of people and [0283-0287] and Fig. 30 – shows movement of a multifunction peripheral device between rooms on a shared reservation); and
a shared goods billing part that charges the consideration according to the variation of the inventory of the shared goods to the user who uses the space on the basis of the reservation information, the identification code information, and the shared goods information (See Tokuchi ¶ [0113] – the space maybe a large single room or split into a plurality of spaces with connecting walls that may be used [shared] by a large number of people and [0283-0287] and Fig. 30 – shows movement of a multifunction peripheral device between rooms [with unique ID numbers] on a shared reservation, wherein the charge [billing] for said peripheral follows the movement of said peripheral), and
the shared inventory management means switches between an available state in which the shared goods are available to the user when the identification code is received and an unavailable state in which the shared goods are unavailable to the user when the identification code is not received (See Tokuchi ¶ [0113] – the space maybe a large single room or split into a plurality of spaces with connecting walls that may be used [shared] by a large number of people, [0201-0202] – the room ID number is required to determine availability of objects for said room and [0283-0287] and Fig. 30 – shows movement of a multifunction peripheral device from a first room to a second room [with unique ID numbers] on a shared reservation, wherein the peripheral device is only available to the room ID designated at the time a reservation is completed).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Tokuchi teaches:
The rental space inventory management system according to claim 1, wherein the goods comprise consumable items at least partially physically depleted during use of the space (See Tokuchi ¶ [0263-0264] – The reservation can be made not only in advance but also after the start of the time of reservation …, using the scan function requires 10 yen per hour. Using the copy function requires 10 yen per hour. Using both of the scan function and the copy function requires 20 yen per hour. In addition, the reservation can be made at a charge of 10 yen per sheet for up to 10 output sheets. The reservation can be made at a charge of 9 yen per sheet for 11 to 50 output sheets. The reservation can be made at a charge of 8 yen per sheet for 51 to 100 output sheets. In addition, the reservation can be made for color printing in a case where 10 yen per sheet is added. In the present exemplary embodiment, in a case where the actual number of output sheets reaches the reserved number of sheets, the output of the paper is stopped until confirmation of a new reservation), …
While Tokuchi teaches a reserved space monitoring system that uses sensors to measure conditions of said reserved space and allows access to an inventory of products for use by a user of the reserved space (Tokuchi ¶ [0089], [0264]), Tokuchi does not explicitly teach that the one or more sensors comprise physical quantity sensors selected from weight sensors, position sensors, or pressure sensors configured to detect depletion of the consumable items. This is taught by Bashkin (See Bashkin ¶ [0048] - the system can utilize a scale system that is configured to measure a weight of one or more items housed within the storage container and determine whether the number of items changed based on a change in weight. For instance, a number of items can have a first weight and when one or more items are removed or returned, a new weight is detected by a scale system to determine a number of items, [0052-0053] – In order to more accurately track inventory present, added, or removed [depletion of the consumable items], inventory can be marked in one or more ways facilitating accurate identification. Accurate identification can include a multi-factor test applied based on activity related to the container (e.g., weight on scale reduced or increased, motion sensed [position sensors], and others) and [0078] - the inventory system further includes a scale system that measures a weight associated with at least one of the first item or the second item to determine at least one of the first amount or the second amount). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the space reservation and inventory of products usage monitoring system of Tokuchi the use of sensors to track the use of said inventory of products as taught by Bashkin to improve enterprise efficiency by reducing inventory replenishment costs (Bashkin ¶ [0088]), thereby increasing the efficiency of the reserved space monitoring system of Tokuchi.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Tokuchi teaches:
The rental space inventory management system according to claim 1, wherein the inventory management means transmits sensor data … during the reservation period (See Tokuchi ¶ [0089] - the space management server collects information from various apparatuses arranged inside or outside the space. Various apparatuses include a motion sensor, a monitoring camera, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, an illuminance sensor, and the like, [0130] – a reservation management server obtaining relevant information for a reservation, [0160] -said relevant information comprising an inventory of items available for use during a reservation period, [0263] - even in a case where the function is included in the multifunction peripheral, it is necessary to make the reservation for using the function. The reservation can be made not only in advance but also after the start of the time of reservation and Fig. 1 – the servers, user terminal [smartphone] and space [room] are all connected via a cloud network), …
While Tokuchi teaches a reserved space monitoring system that uses sensors to measure conditions of said reserved space and allows access to an inventory of products for use by a user of the reserved space (Tokuchi ¶ [0089], [0264]), Tokuchi does not explicitly teach that said sensors transmit data indicative of changes in inventory. This is taught by Bashkin (See Bashkin ¶ [0048] - the system can utilize a scale system that is configured to measure a weight of one or more items housed within the storage container and determine whether the number of items changed based on a change in weight. For instance, a number of items can have a first weight and when one or more items are removed or returned, a new weight is detected by a scale system to determine a number of items and [0052-0053] – In order to more accurately track inventory present, added, or removed [changes in inventory], inventory can be marked in one or more ways facilitating accurate identification. Accurate identification can include a multi-factor test applied based on activity related to the container (e.g., weight on scale reduced or increased, motion sensed, and others)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the space reservation and inventory of products usage monitoring system of Tokuchi the use of sensors to track the use of said inventory of products as taught by Bashkin to improve enterprise efficiency by reducing inventory replenishment costs (Bashkin ¶ [0088]), thereby increasing the efficiency of the reserved space monitoring system of Tokuchi.
While Tokuchi teaches a reserved space monitoring system that uses sensors to measure conditions of said reserved space, allows access to an inventory of products for use by a user of the reserved space and manages billing based on reservation information (Tokuchi ¶ [0089], [0091] and [0264]), Tokuchi does not explicitly teach that the management device defers billing calculation until after confirmation of the end of use. This is taught by Vivadelli (See Vivadelli ¶ [0110] – Upon checking out of a reservation, the user is informing the system that he or she is relinquishing possession of a workspace… The system will also track time used for billing purposes and [0148-0149] - Once the user has checked in to the reservation as at, the billing component may be notified as at to track the user's occupancy and other potential charges for resources. It will be appreciated that, while the billing component may be most frequently tied to check in and check out, the billing component may interact with the reservation system on more occasions… If the user then requires post check-in changes to resources, he may request them to the extent allowed as at. Upon check out at, the billing component may again be notified). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the space reservation and inventory of products usage monitoring and billing system of Tokuchi the use of billing procedures at the end of use of the reserved space as taught by Vivadelli to provide significantly enhanced data accuracy regarding use of space, which improves system effectiveness and affects individual behavior to produce even greater data accuracy and improved control and management of resources (Vivadelli ¶ [0088]), thereby increasing the accuracy and efficiency of the reserved space monitoring system of Tokuchi.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101:
The amendments to independent claim 1 do not improve patent eligibility of the claimed invention of the instant application and the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 in maintained.
Contrary to the applicant’s assertion that amended independent claim 1integrate the abstract idea into a practical application by automatically measuring physical depletion through sensors, synchronizing that measurement with reservation lifecycle events, and performing post-use reconciliation in the management device, the system reduces manual data entry, reduces timing errors, and improves reliability of inventory tracking and billing accuracy, said amendments leave the methods of said claims as executed by technical elements disclosed at a high level of generality such that said methods are not more than merely applying a computer to perform the functions required by said methods, which does not show integration into a practical application nor does it show significantly more than the abstract ideas discussed above in the current rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101. This high level of generality leaves any improvement shown by the amended claims of the instant application as to the abstract idea itself, not the underlying technology. Any improvement of a claimed invention must be clearly reflected by said claims. The specification of an instant application is not read into the claims during examination.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103:
The amendments to independent claim 1 do not overcome the cited prior art combination of record, namely: Tokuchi in view of Bashkin and Vivadelli and the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is maintained.
Argument 1: Contrary to the applicant’s assertion that Tokuchi and Bashkin do not teach determining a reservation-specific inventory variation based on a comparison of sensor-measured inventory levels captured at the beginning and end of a defined reservation period, these requirements are taught by the combination of Tokuchi, Bashkin and Vivadelli as described above in the current rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103. Tokuchi teaches reservation specific inventory variations at the beginning of a reservation period, Bashkin teaches comparison of sensor-measured inventory levels and Vivadelli teaches that the end of a reservation period ends system calculation of space and resources used, including inventory, for billing purposes.
Argument 2: Contrary to the applicant’s assertion that Vivadelli does not disclose triggering retrieval of sensor- derived inventory variation and calculating a consumable-based charge based on comparison of pre- and post-reservation inventory measurements, these requirements are taught by the combination of Tokuchi, Bashkin and Vivadelli as described above in the current rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103. Tokuchi teaches reservation specific inventory variations and charges at the beginning of a reservation period, Bashkin teaches comparison of sensor-measured inventory levels and Vivadelli teaches that the end of a reservation period ends system calculation of space and resources used, including inventory, for billing purposes.
Argument 3: Contrary to the applicant’s assertion that Tokuchi does not disclose associating a sensor-determined inventory variation (computed from first and second measurements) with stored reservation information after confirmed end of use for purposes of calculating a charge attributable to that completed reservation, these requirements are taught by the combination of Tokuchi, Bashkin and Vivadelli as described above in the current rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103. Tokuchi teaches reservation specific inventory variations and charges at the beginning of a reservation period, Bashkin teaches comparison of sensor-measured inventory levels and Vivadelli teaches that the end of a reservation period ends system calculation of space and resources used, including inventory, for billing purposes.
Argument 4: Contrary to the applicant’s assertion that in claim 2, Tokuchi does not disclose obtaining sensor- measured current consumable inventory information from an inventory management means and disclosing that measured inventory information to the user, these requirements are taught by the combination of Tokuchi, Bashkin and Vivadelli as described above in the current rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103. Tokuchi teaches reservation specific inventory variations at the beginning of a reservation period, Bashkin teaches comparison of sensor-measured inventory levels and Vivadelli teaches that the end of a reservation period ends system calculation of space and resources used, including inventory, for billing purposes.
Argument 5:
Contrary to the applicant’s assertion that in claim 3, Tokuchi does not disclose calculating predicted future inventory levels of consumable goods based on sensor-derived inventory information, these requirements are taught by the combination of Tokuchi, Bashkin and Vivadelli as described above in the current rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103. Tokuchi teaches reservation specific inventory variations at the beginning of a reservation period, Bashkin teaches comparison of sensor-measured inventory levels and Vivadelli teaches that the end of a reservation period ends system calculation of space and resources used, including inventory, for billing purposes.
New claims 5 and 6 are not patentable for reasons noted above in the current rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
The applicant is generally reminded that prior art must be considered in its entirety (MPEP 2141.02 (VI)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW S WERONSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3627
/MICHAEL JARED WALKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627