/DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16, 21-22, 25-27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al (US 2017/0222158) (Jung) in view of Male et al (US 2010/0013377) (Male).
In reference to claims 1-5, 8-13, 16, 21-22, and 25-26, Jung teaches an organic light emitting device and display device (Jung Abstract) comprising a material of formula 1 as shown below in an auxiliary electron transport layer and further comprises an electron transport layer including Liq (see e.g Jung [0248])
for example, wherein in the formula 1, Z10 to Z12 are each N, Z1 to Z9 are each CH, R1 is a substituted phenyl wherein the substituents are t-butyl groups, and R2 is an unsubstituted pyrimidine (Jung [0013]- [0019]; [0038]; [0041]).
Jung discloses the compound of formula 1 above that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein in the formula 1, Z10 to Z12 are each N, Z1 to Z9 are each CH, R1 is a substituted phenyl wherein the substituents are t-butyl groups, and R2 is an unsubstituted pyrimidine. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Jung are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula 1 to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Jung and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Jung does not provide any specific motivation to include t-butyl groups over other substituents but exemplifies it as a preferred alkyl group option.
With respect to the difference, Male teaches, in analogous art, that t-butyl groups are useful as solubilizing substituents on triazine compounds that improve solution processing, reduce crystallinity of films formed from deposition processing and can be used to tune physical properties of the resulting film and produce a device with better performance (Male [0035] [0036] [0042] examples throughout).
In light of the motivation of using t-butyl groups as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the t-butyl groups as described by Male in order to improve solution processing, reduce crystallinity of films formed from deposition processing and can be used to tune physical properties of the resulting film and produce a device with better performance and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
While Jung in view of Male are silent with respect to the refractive index of the compound described above, the compound is identical to the instantly claimed material and the claimed refractive index is inherent to the material itself. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I). Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. General Electric v. Jewe Incandescent Lamp Co., 67 USPQ 155. Titanium Metal Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 772. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 597, 195 USPQ 430.
While Jung refers to the layer comprising the compound of formula 1 as an “auxiliary electron transport layer” and not just an “electron transport layer” the name of a layer does not meaningfully limit the layer itself. The layer of Jung meets all composition (i.e. comprises the compound) and relative positional requirements (i.e. none) of the instant claims and therefore meets the claim limitations.
For Claim 1: Reads on Q1 to Q3 are each N, R0 is G1-1, R2 is pyrimidine, R4 is aryl substituted with alkyl groups.
For Claim 2: Reads on Q1 to Q3 are each N, R2 is pyrimidine, R4 is aryl substituted with alkyl groups.
For Claim 3: Reads on Q1 to Q3 are each N, R2 is pyrimidine, R4 is aryl substituted with alkyl groups.
For Claim 4-5: Reads on G1-2.
For Claim 8: Reads on alkyl groups.
For Claim 9: Reads on phenyl.
For Claim 10: Reads on ra-5.
For Claim 11: Reads on where no pyridine is present.
For Claim 12 and 25: Reads wherein no alicyclic group is present.
For Claim 13 and 26: Reads on t butyl.
For Claim 16: Reads on 137.
For Claim 21-22: Reads on wherein R2 is G1-2, m is 0, n is 1 and R20 is pyrimidine.
In reference to claims 27 and 29, Jung in view of Male teaches the device as described above for claims 1-2 including Liq in an electron transport layer that meets the instant claim requirements. That is, Applicant specifically states in the instant application that the electron transport layers are not limited to a single layer and may be a stack of two or more layers each containing any of the above substances (paragraph [0233] of the instant specification). Therefore, while Jung includes Liq in an adjacent electron transport layer, this still reads on the instant claims as there is no requirement that the layer have a uniform concentration of both Liq and the compound of formula G1 or G2. That is, Jung discloses an electron transport layer comprising two layers together including the claimed materials that meets the claim requirements.
In reference to claims 6-7 and 14-15, Jung in view of Male teaches the device as described above for claim 1. Jung further teaches that the linking group L2 can be phenylene groups and exemplifies
as a preferred embodiment of this group (see Jung [0087] and many example compounds).
Jung discloses the compound of formula 1 above that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein in the formula 1, L2 is a phenylene group as shown above. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Jung are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula 1 to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Jung and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al (US 2017/0222158) (Jung) in view of Male et al (US 2010/0013377) (Male) and further in view of Negi et al (Microsystem Technologies (2018) 24: 4981-89) (Negi).
In reference to claims 28 and 30, Jung in view of Male teaches the device as described above for claims 1-2. Jung does not expressly teach that the devices therein include a hole blocking layer. However, such layers are exceptionally well known in the art.
With respect to the difference, Negi teaches in analogous art that the inclusion of hole blocking and electron blocking layers result in improvements in luminance compared to devices without such layers (see Negi abstract and throughout).
In light of the motivation of using hole blocking layers as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the hole blocking layers as described by Negi in order to improve luminance and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remarks concerning the rejections under 35 USC 112(a) are moot as these rejections are withdrawn.
In reference to the outstanding rejections under 35 USC 103, Applicant argues that the person having ordinary skill in the art would not be able to arrive at the claimed compounds from the prior art disclosures without undue experimentation. Specifically, Applicant argues that ordinarily skilled artisan would be required to cherry pick from all of the possibilities allowed by chemical formula 1 in order to arrive at the general formula g1 of claim 1. Applicant argues that the example materials in the devices of Jung (A-37, A-7, A-24) are entirely distinct from general formula G1 and also argues that such examples teach away from the claimed invention. This argument has been fully considered but not found convincing.
Initially, while the disclosure of Jung does comprise thousands or millions of compounds as alleged by Applicant, the instant claims are also drawn to a comparably massive number of compounds. While arriving at a specific compound of Jung that overlaps with those instantly claimed requires many selections from among the genus, arriving at any one compound of the instantly claimed formula G1 also requires similar numbers of selections. Further, example compounds (e.g. A-43) of Jung differ from those instantly claimed only in the inclusion of additional optional alkyl groups such as t-butyl groups (Jung [0038]) and specific motivation to add these substituents are described by Male. Further, the presence of example materials does not constitute a teaching away from the use of unexemplified or otherwise unpreferred embodiments.
Applicant also argues that Male does not teach that the compound is in an electron transport layer. However, as noted above herein, the recitation of a specific name for the layer does not actually modify its structural or compositional requirements whatsoever. All layers within an organic electroluminescent device transport electrons and therefore any layer comprising the material meets the claim requirement.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786