DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1, 3-10, 12-17, and 21-22 are currently pending in this application.
Claims 4, 17, and 20 are amended as filed on 06/29/2026.
Claim 19 is canceled as filed on 06/29/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9-16, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darty et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2015/0271380 A1), hereinafter Darty, in view of Kuroda et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2021/0015346 A1), hereinafter Kuroda, in view of ZHAO (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2018/0180868), hereinafter Zhao, and in further view of Hillman et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2021/0173195 A1), hereinafter Hillman.
2. With respect to claims 1 and 21, Darty taught an imaging system (0069) comprising: a first optical system configured to receive an imaging beam from a surgical region (0069, where the surgical regions is the intended use of the system. See also: 0307, where the system is designed for use in surgery), the imaging beam including a first wavelength band and a second wavelength band, wherein the imaging beam is directed along a first optical axis (0072-0073), wherein the first optical system includes a dichroic beam splitter, the first optical system is configured to direct a first optical beam associated with the first wavelength band along a first direction and direct a second optical beam associated with the second wavelength band along a second direction (0072-0073, where the dichroic splitter can be seen in 0103-0104); a first sensor located along the first direction and configured to capture a first image associated with the first optical beam (0069); and a second sensor (0157-0158).
However, while Darty did teach a lens reflection system (0053), Darty did not explicitly state that the lens reflection system was a lens relay system. On the other hand, Kuroda did teach that the lens reflection system was a lens relay system (0090). Both of the systems of Darty and Kuroda are directed towards medical imaging apparatuses and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Darty to utilize a lens relays system located at the distal end, as taught by Kuroda, in order to provide a more direct and efficient lens system.
However, Darty did not explicitly state that the relay lens system contains a second sensor located along the second direction and configured to capture a second image associated with the second optical beam; a first relay lens system provided between the first optical system and the second sensor, along the second direction, and configured to receive the second optical beam at a first end of the first relay lens system and transmit at least a portion of the second optical beam via a second end of the first relay lens system to the second sensor, wherein the first relay lens system is configured to allow for a location of a first image plane of the first sensor and a location of a second image plane of the second sensor to be independently adjusted; wherein the first relay lens system is configured to transmit the second optical beam to the second sensor and is further configured such that a position of an image plane formed at the first sensor and a position of an image plane formed at the second sensor can be adjusted independently relative to each other, thereby allowing independent focusing or alignment of the first sensor and the second sensor; and wherein the system is composed inside of a surgical scope. On the other hand, Hillman did teach that the relay lens system contains a second sensor located along the second direction and configured to capture a second image associated with the second optical beam (0236, where each of the detectors are light sensors in accordance with 0008, where the plurality of beams can be seen in figure 8C. See also: 0268-0269 and figures 15 & 16B); a first relay lens system provided between the first optical system and the second sensor, along the second direction, and configured to receive the second optical beam at a first end of the first relay lens system and transmit at least a portion of the second optical beam via a second end of the first relay lens system to the second sensor (0236, 0008, figure 8c, where the first relay 882 transmits beam 881 into the lens 886 and transmits 894 into relay 890, which is transmitted into lens 896), wherein the first relay lens system is configured to allow for a location of a first image plane of the first sensor and a location of a second image plane of the second sensor to be independently adjusted (figure 8c, items 882 & 890, where the beams 881 & 894 are independently adjusted); wherein the first relay lens system is configured to transmit the second optical beam to the second sensor and is further configured such that a position of an image plane formed at the first sensor and a position of an image plane formed at the second sensor can be adjusted independently relative to each other, thereby allowing independent focusing or alignment of the first sensor and the second sensor (figure 8c, items 882 & 890, where the beams 881 & 894 are independently adjusted and are focused on lenses 886 & 896 respectively. See also: 0221); and wherein the system is composed inside of a surgical scope (0188, the endoscope). Both of the systems of Darty and Hillman are directed towards lens relays systems and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Darty, to utilize a plurality of downstream relay lens that target a plurality of sensors, as taught by Hillman, in order to allow for the lens system to efficiently focus on the different images captured under different circumstances.
3. As for claim 3, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1. In addition, Darty taught wherein the surgical scope device is configured to receive the imaging beam in the surgical region and guide the imaging beam to the first optical system (0144. See also, 0258).
4. As for claim 4, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1. In addition, Kuroda taught wherein the surgical scope device is a stereo scope (fig. 7, items 843 & 845).
5. As for claim 5, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1. In addition, Kuroda taught wherein the surgical scope device is one of an endoscope and a laparoscope (0173).
6. As for claim 9, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1. In addition, Darty taught wherein the first sensor is located at the first image plane and the second sensor is located at the second image plane, wherein a first distance of the first sensor relative to the first optical system is less than a second distance of the second sensor relative to the first optical system (figure 2A, where sensors 210-1 and 210-3 are located in the different planes of 212-2 and 212-3, and where the relative distance is less as 210-3 is halfway back in the housing and 210-1 is at the distal end).
7. As for claim 10, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1. In addition, Kuroda taught wherein adjustment of the location of the second image plane of the second sensor, by the first relay lens system, is configured to change a magnification of the second image (0089).
8. As for claim 12, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1. In addition, Darty taught wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (figure 2A, items 212-2 and 212-3).
9. As for claim 13, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1. In addition, Darty taught wherein a light source is used to illuminate the object to be imaged (0010).
10. As for claim 14, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 13. In addition, Darty taught wherein the light source includes a plurality of individually selectable narrow or wide wavelength bands (0010, where the light ranges can be seen in 0088).
11. As for claim 15, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 14. In addition, Darty taught wherein the light source includes one or more of lasers, light emitting diodes and incandescent sources configured to generate the narrow or wide wavelength bands (0293, where this, at least, teaches the laser limitation).
12. As for claim 16, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1. In addition, Darty taught a second optical system configured to receive the imaging beam from the surgical region, wherein the imaging beam is directed along a second optical axis (0069, where the surgical regions is the intended use of the system. See also: 0307, where the system is designed for use in surgery. Accordingly, the following claims are essentially a repeat of the independent claim 1, but for a second lens relays system located in the distal end of the endoscope. This can be seen, from here on out, with the combination of Kuroda: 0090 & fig 1, items 5005, 5003, 5025a), wherein the second optical system includes a second dichroic beam splitter configured to receive the imaging beam and direct a third optical beam associated with the first wavelength band along a third direction and direct a fourth optical beam associated with the second wavelength band along a fourth direction (0072-0073, where the dichroic splitter can be seen in 0103-0104. Accordingly, the different directions can be seen by Chou: 0060 & 0103); a third sensor along the third direction and configured to capture a third image associated with the third optical beam (Kuroda: 0090); a fourth sensor along the fourth direction and configured to capture a fourth image associated with the fourth optical beam (Kuroda: 0090); and a second relay lens system between the second optical system and the fourth sensor, along the fourth direction, and configured to receive the fourth optical beam at a first end of the second relay lens system and transmit at least a portion of the fourth optical beam via a second end of the second relay lens system to the fourth sensor, wherein the second relay lens system is configured to allow for a location of a third image plane of the third sensor and a location of a fourth image plane of the fourth sensor to be independently adjusted (Kuroda: 0090).
13. As for claim 6, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1. In addition, Hillman taught wherein at least one optical element in the first optical system is a 45 degree prism, wherein the 45 degree prism includes a dichroic beam splitter (0286, where the light redirector can be a prism in accordance with 0151).
14. As for claim 22, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 21. In addition, Darty taught wherein the processor is configured to generate a modified image that includes a superposition of at least a portion of the first image and at least a portion of the second image (0111, the composite image)
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darty, in view of Kuroda, in view of Hillman, and in further view of Balas (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2021/0381893 A1).
15. As for claim 7, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1. In addition, Balas taught wherein at least one optical element in the first optical system is a pentaprism, wherein the pentaprism includes the dichroic beam splitter (0034, where the dichroic nature of the prism can be seen in 0030). However, Darty did not explicitly state taught wherein at least one optical element in the first optical system is a pentaprism, wherein the pentaprism includes the dichroic beam splitter. On the other hand, Balas did teach wherein at least one optical element in the first optical system is a pentaprism, wherein the pentaprism includes the dichroic beam splitter (0034, where the dichroic nature of the prism can be seen in 0030). Both of the systems of Darty and Balas are directed towards dichroic beam splitters and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Darty to utilize a 45 degree pentaprism, as taught by Balas, as was an efficient part that was used in contemporary lens relay systems.
16. As for claim 8, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 7. In addition, Balas taught wherein the dichroic beam splitter is located at a proximal surface of the pentaprism (fig 3. & 0096, where the devices are proximal, at least, because they remain in the same housing).
Claim(s) 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darty, in view of Kuroda, and in further view of Hillman.
17. With respect to claim 17, Darty taught an imaging system (0069) comprising: a first optical system configured to receive an imaging beam from a surgical region (0069, where the surgical regions is the intended use of the system. See also: 0307, where the system is designed for use in surgery), the imaging beam including a first wavelength band and a second wavelength band, wherein the imaging beam is directed along a first optical axis (0072-0073), wherein the first optical system includes a dichroic beam splitter, the first optical system is configured to direct a first optical beam associated with the first wavelength band along a first direction and direct a second optical beam associated with the second wavelength band along a second direction (0072-0073, where the dichroic splitter can be seen in 0103-0104); a first sensor located along the first direction and configured to capture a first image associated with the first optical beam (0069); and a second sensor (0157-0158).
However, while Darty did teach a lens reflection system (0053), Darty did not explicitly state that the lens reflection system was a lens relay system. On the other hand, Kuroda did teach that the lens reflection system was a lens relay system (0090). Both of the systems of Darty and Kuroda are directed towards medical imaging apparatuses and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Darty to utilize a lens relays system located at the distal end, as taught by Kuroda, in order to provide a more direct and efficient lens system.
However, Darty did not explicitly state wherein a size of an active optical area of the first sensor is different from a size of an active area of the second sensor. On the other hand, Zhao did teach wherein a size of an active optical area of the first sensor is different from a size of an active area of the second sensor (0057). Both of the systems of Darty and Zhao are directed towards medical imaging apparatuses and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Darty to utilize different size sensors, as taught by Zhao, in order to provide a more efficient system for image reception with different properties.
However, Darty did not explicitly state that the relay lens system contains a second sensor located along the second direction and configured to capture a second image associated with the second optical beam; a first relay lens system provided between the first optical system and the second sensor, along the second direction, and configured to receive the second optical beam at a first end of the first relay lens system and transmit at least a portion of the second optical beam via a second end of the first relay lens system to the second sensor, wherein the first relay lens system is configured to allow for a location of a first image plane of the first sensor and a location of a second image plane of the second sensor to be independently adjusted; wherein the first relay lens system is configured to compensate for optical path differences between the first optical beam and the second optical beam, thereby optimizing focus for imaging across multiple wavelength bands; and wherein the system is composed inside of a surgical scope; wherein the proximal end of the surgical scope includes a processor configured to receive a first signal representative of the first image detected by the first sensor and receive a second signal representative of the second image detected by the second sensor. On the other hand, Hillman did teach that the relay lens system contains a second sensor located along the second direction and configured to capture a second image associated with the second optical beam (0236, where each of the detectors are light sensors in accordance with 0008, where the plurality of beams can be seen in figure 8C. See also: 0268-0269 and figures 15 & 16B); a first relay lens system provided between the first optical system and the second sensor, along the second direction, and configured to receive the second optical beam at a first end of the first relay lens system and transmit at least a portion of the second optical beam via a second end of the first relay lens system to the second sensor (0236, 0008, figure 8c, where the first relay 882 transmits beam 881 into the lens 886 and transmits 894 into relay 890, which is transmitted into lens 896), wherein the first relay lens system is configured to allow for a location of a first image plane of the first sensor and a location of a second image plane of the second sensor to be independently adjusted (figure 8c, items 882 & 890, where the beams 881 & 894 are independently adjusted); wherein the first relay lens system is configured to compensate for optical path differences between the first optical beam and the second optical beam, thereby optimizing focus for imaging across multiple wavelength bands (0168); wherein the system is composed inside of a surgical scope (0188, the endoscope); and wherein the proximal end of the surgical scope includes a processor configured to receive a first signal representative of the first image detected by the first sensor and receive a second signal representative of the second image detected by the second sensor (0236). Both of the systems of Darty and Hilman are directed towards lens relays systems and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Darty, to utilize a plurality of downstream relay lens that target a plurality of sensors, as taught by Hilman, in order to allow for the lens system to efficiently focus on the different images captured under different circumstances.
18. As for claim 20, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 17. In addition, Darty taught wherein the processor is configured to generate a modified image that includes a superposition of at least a portion of the first image and at least a portion of the second image (0111, the composite image)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18 is allowable over the prior-art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
17. The applicant argues on page 16 that “The Office Action invites Applicant to "argue that the technology of Darty couldn't be made at a smaller scale such that it could fit into a surgical scope." Office Action, p. 13. The present application addresses the problem associated with having multiple image sensors located at the distal end of the scope. Thus, the present application has the benefit of using the claimed combination of components to move the sensors apart to reduce the bulk of the optical components in the distal end of a surgical scope.”
However, miniaturization of lenses was well known at the time of the filing of the invention. The applicant has not provided a clear reasons why Darty’s system could not be miniaturized based on the teachings of the combination under 35 U.S.C. 103. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
18. The applicant argues on pages 16-17 that “As shown in FIG. 4 of the present specification, a relay lens system receives an image and creates a conjugate image at another image plane. See Present Specification, at [0045]. The long pass beam splitters the Office cites in the Office Action are do not receive or create a focused image. Instead, the cited long pass beam splitters are for screening wavelengths and folding the light to a new direction. Furthermore, as FIG. 8C of Hillman demonstrates, the POSITA would not take the teachings of Hillman, alone or in combination with Darty and Kuroda, and arrive at the present claims of a relay lens in front of the second sensor.”
However, the system explicitly states that the beams are moved via relay lenses in accordance with 0268-0269 and figures 15 & 16B.
19. The applicant argues on page 17 that “FIG. 8C depicts two sensors next to each other leading to a bulkier design which abandons an advantage described in the present specification.”
However, the system is explicitly indicated to be capable of miniaturization and placed into an endoscope in accordance with 0188.
20. The applicant argues on page 18 that “At no point does the description in paragraph [0236], or the interpretation of FIG. 8C in the Office Action, arrive at how or why the sensors could or should be adjusted independently. At no point does Hillman describe in the cited passage and figure that the sensors are anything other than stationary or otherwise different one from the other. Additionally, the Office Action points to paragraph [0221], which describes FIGS. 6A-D. Again, no disclosure is present that would suggest the idea of independent adjustability of two sensors. Instead, FIGS. 6A-D clearly depict only one sensor 618 per figure.”
However, the claim requires that the lenses are adjustable as they transmit light to the sensor. This capability can be found through the specification of Hillman in, at least, paragraphs 0221, 0217, 0171, 0017, and 0012-0013.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH L GREENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443