DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s reply filed on 08 June 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 20 April 2026 and 06 August 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/716,928 in view of Shih (U.S. Pub. 2018/0102311).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 1. Claim 1 of the copending application appears not to explicitly disclose the second dielectric layer on the interconnect bridge;
a first conductive trace in the third dielectric layer, the first conductive trace coupled to the first via;
a second conductive trace in the third dielectric layer, the second conductive trace coupled to the conductive structure; and
the first die coupled to the first conductive trance and the second conductive trace.
Shih, however, in Fig. 14 (see annotated Fig. 14 below), discloses a second dielectric layer (202 and 550) on the interconnect bridge (101);
a first conductive trace (918) in the third dielectric layer (912), the first conductive trace (918) coupled to the first via (204);
a second conductive trace (918) in the third dielectric layer (912), the second conductive trace (918) coupled to the conductive structure (lower portion of 510); and
the first die (101) coupled to the first conductive trace (912) and to the second conductive trace (912).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application, as disclosed by Shih, to have made the second dielectric layer on the interconnect bridge;
a first conductive trace in the third dielectric layer, the first conductive trace coupled to the first via;
a second conductive trance in the third dielectric layer, the second conductive trance coupled to the conductive structure; and
the first die coupled to the first conductive trance and the second conductive trace in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device while protecting the surrounding elements.
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih discloses the limitations of claim 2. Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih appears not to explicitly disclose the first conductive trace is not coupled to the second conductive trace.
Shih, however, in Fig. 14 (see annotated Fig. 14 below), further discloses wherein the first conductive trace is not coupled to the second conductive trace.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih, as further disclosed by Shih, to have made the first conductive trace is not coupled to the second conductive trace in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device.
Regarding claims 3-8, claims 5-10, respectively, of the copending application disclose the limitations of claims 3-8 of the current application.
Regarding claim 9, claim 1 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 9. Claim 1 of the copending application appears not to explicitly disclose a printed circuit board; and
the package substrate coupled to a printed circuit board.
Shih, however, in paragraph 52, discloses solder balls 801 may have a ball pitch that is equal to the ball pad pitch on a printed circuit board.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application, as disclosed by Shih, to have a printed circuit board; and the package substrate coupled to a printed circuit board since the solder balls are spaced to have the same spacing as pads on a printed circuit board.
Further, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application, as disclosed by Shih, to have a printed circuit board; and the package substrate coupled to a printed circuit board in order to connect the package substrate to other chips.
Claim 1 of the copending application also appears not to explicitly disclose the first die coupled to the package substrate;
the second die coupled to the package substrate;
the second dielectric on the interconnect bridge;
a first conductive trace in the third dielectric layer, the first conductive trace coupled to the first via;
a second conductive trace in the third dielectric layer, the second conductive trace coupled to the conductive structure; and
the first die coupled to the first conductive trance and the second conductive trace.
Shih, however, in Fig. 14 (see annotated Fig. 14 below), further discloses the first die (11) coupled to a package substrate (10);
the second die (12) coupled to the package substrate (10);
the second dielectric layer (202 and 550) on the interconnect bridge (101);
a first conductive trace (918) in the third dielectric layer (912), the first conductive trace (918) coupled to the first via (204);
a second conductive trace (918) in the third dielectric layer (912), the second conductive trace (918) coupled to the conductive structure (lower portion of 510); and
the first die (11) coupled to the first conductive trace (912) and to the second conductive trace (912).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application, as disclosed by Shih, to have made the first die coupled to the package substrate;
the second die coupled to the package substrate
the second dielectric on the interconnect bridge;
a first conductive trace in the third dielectric layer, the first conductive trace coupled to the first via;
a second conductive trace in the third dielectric layer, the second conductive trace coupled to the conductive structure; and
the first die coupled to the first conductive trance and the second conductive trace in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device while protecting the surrounding elements.
Regarding claim 10, claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih discloses the limitations of claim 10. Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the package substrate is coupled to the printed circuit board by a plurality of solder balls.
Shih, however, in Fig. 14 and in paragraph 52, further discloses the package substrate (10) is coupled to the printed circuit board by a plurality of solder balls (810).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih, as further disclosed by Shih, to have made the package substrate is coupled to the printed circuit board by a plurality of solder balls in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device.
Regarding claim 11, claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih discloses the limitations of claim 11. Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih appears not to explicitly disclose wherein a first of the plurality of solder balls is vertically beneath the interconnect bridge, and wherein a second of the plurality of solder balls is vertically beneath the conductive structure.
Shih, however, in Fig. 14, further discloses a first of the plurality of solder balls (810 below 101) is vertically beneath the interconnect bridge (101), and wherein a second of the plurality of solder balls (two rightmost 810) is vertically beneath the conductive structure (lower portion of 510).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih, as further disclosed by Shih, to have made a first of the plurality of solder balls is vertically beneath the interconnect bridge, and wherein a second of the plurality of solder balls is vertically beneath the conductive structure in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device.
Regarding claim 12, claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih discloses the limitations of claim 12. Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the package substrate is coupled to the printed circuit board by a plurality of solder balls.
Shih, however, in Fig. 14 and in paragraph 52, further discloses the package substrate is coupled to the printed circuit board by a plurality of solder bumps (810).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih, as further disclosed by Shih, to have made the package substrate is coupled to the printed circuit board by a plurality of solder balls in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device.
Regarding claim 13, claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih discloses the limitations of claim 13. Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih appears not to explicitly disclose wherein a first of the plurality of solder bumps is vertically beneath the interconnect bridge, and wherein a second of the plurality of solder bumps is vertically beneath the conductive structure.
Shih, however, in Fig. 14, further discloses a first of the plurality of solder balls (810 below 101) is vertically beneath the interconnect bridge (101), and wherein a second of the plurality of solder balls (two rightmost 810) is vertically beneath the conductive structure (lower portion of 510).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih, as further disclosed by Shih, to have made a first of the plurality of solder balls is vertically beneath the interconnect bridge, and wherein a second of the plurality of solder balls is vertically beneath the conductive structure in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device.
Regarding claim 14, claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih discloses the limitations of claim 14. Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih appears not to explicitly disclose the first conductive trace is not coupled to the second conductive trace.
Shih, however, in Fig. 14 (see annotated Fig. 14 below), further discloses wherein the first conductive trace is not coupled to the second conductive trace.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 9 of the copending application in view of Shih, as further disclosed by Shih, to have made the first conductive trace is not coupled to the second conductive trace in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device.
Regarding claims 15-20, claims 5-10, respectively, of the copending application disclose the limitations of claims 15-20 of the current application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of copending Application No. 18/128,964 in view of Shih (U.S. Pub. 2018/0102311) in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. 2015/0028486) in view of Teh et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0093999).
Regarding claim 1, claims 1 and 2 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 1. Claims 1 and 2 of the copending application appears not to explicitly disclose a conductive structure laterally spaced apart from the interconnect bridge,
the second dielectric layer over the conductive structure;
the third via above and coupled to the conductive structure;
the third dielectric layer over the conductive structure;
the second conductive trace coupled to the conductive structure; and
the first die over the conductive structure, and the first die coupled to the first conductive trace and the second conductive trace.
Shih, however, in Fig. 14 (see annotated Fig. 14 below) discloses a conductive structure (lower portion of 510) laterally spaced spart from the interconnect bridge (101);
the second dielectric layer (202 and 550) over the conductive structure (lower portion of 510);
the third via (upper portion of 510) above and coupled to the conductive structure (lower portion of 510);
the third dielectric layer (912) over the conductive structure (lower portion of 510);
the second conductive trace (918) coupled to the conductive structure (lower portion of 510); and
the first die (11) over the conductive structure (lower portion of 510), and the first die (101) coupled to the first conductive trace (912) and to the second conductive trace (912).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 13 of the copending application, as disclosed by Shih, to have made a conductive structure laterally spaced apart from the interconnect bridge,
the second dielectric layer over the conductive structure;
the third via above and coupled to the conductive structure;
the third dielectric layer over the conductive structure;
the second conductive trace coupled to the conductive structure; and
the first die over the conductive structure, and the first die coupled to the first conductive trace and the second conductive trace in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device while protecting the surrounding elements.
Claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the conductive structure has an uppermost surface above a bottommost surface of the interconnect bridge;
the first dielectric layer laterally adjacent and in contact with the conductive structure; and
wherein the third via is separate and distinct from the conductive structure.
Liu et al., however, in Figs. 3a-3i and 3o, discloses the conductive structure (104c and 104e) has an uppermost surface (upper side surface of 104c) above a bottommost surface (bottom surface of 105) of the interconnect bridge (105),
the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2) laterally adjacent and in contact with the conductive structure (104c and 104e), and
wherein the third via (103b) is separate and distinct from the conductive structure (104c and 104e) in order to route electrical signals to different parts of the package.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih, as disclosed by Liu et al., to have made the conductive structure has an uppermost surface above a bottommost surface of the interconnect bridge;
the first dielectric layer laterally adjacent and in contact with the conductive structure; and
wherein the third via is separate and distinct from the conductive structure in order to be able to route electrical signals to different parts of the package (paragraph 22 of Liu et al.).
Claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. appears not to explicitly disclose the third via is through the second dielectric layer.
Teh et al., however, in Fig. 1(L), discloses the third via (30) is through the second dielectric layer (20 and 34).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of Teh et al. that is in the same field of endeavor with claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al., before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute the third via is through the second dielectric layer as disclosed by Teh et al. for the third via that is in the second dielectric layer disclosed by claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution of the third via is through the second dielectric layer disclosed by Teh et al. for the third via that is in the second dielectric layer disclosed by claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. would have yielded predictable results, namely providing a suitable electrical paths while protecting the surrounding elements. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Regarding claim 2, claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. discloses the limitations of claim 2. Claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. appears not to explicitly disclose the first conductive trace is not coupled to the second conductive trace.
Shih, however, in Fig. 14 (see annotated Fig. 14 below), further discloses wherein the first conductive trace is not coupled to the second conductive trace.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al., as further disclosed by Shih, to have made the first conductive trace is not coupled to the second conductive trace in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device.
Regarding claim 3, claim 10, respectively, of the copending application disclose the limitations of claim 3 of the current application.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4, respectively, of the copending application disclose the limitations of claim 4 of the current application.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, claims 11 and 12, respectively, of the copending application disclose the limitations of claims 5 and 6 of the current application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 7 and 8 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 2 of copending Application No. 18/128,964 in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Braunisch et al. (U.S. Pub. 2010/0327424).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. discloses the limitations of claims 7 and 8. Claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the first die is coupled to the interconnect bridge by a first plurality of conductive bumps having a first pitch, and wherein the first die further comprises a second plurality of conductive bumps having a second pitch greater than the first pitch; and
wherein the second die is coupled to the interconnect bridge by a third plurality of conductive bumps having a third pitch, and wherein the second die further comprises a fourth plurality of conductive bumps having a fourth pitch greater than the third pitch.
Braunisch et al., however, in Fig. 6, discloses the first die (520) is coupled to the interconnect bridge (540) by a first plurality of conductive bumps (bumps between 520 and 540) having a first pitch (fine pitch), and wherein the first die further comprises a second plurality of conductive bumps (bumps between 520 and 610) having a second pitch (course pitch) greater than the first pitch; and
wherein the second die (530) is coupled to the interconnect bridge (540) by a third plurality of conductive bumps (bumps between 530 and 510) having a third pitch (fine pitch), and wherein the second die further comprises a fourth plurality of conductive bumps (bumps between 530 and 610) having a fourth pitch (course pitch) greater than the third pitch in order to increase communication bandwidth.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al., as disclosed by Braunisch et al., to have made the first die is coupled to the interconnect bridge by a first plurality of conductive bumps having a first pitch, and wherein the first die further comprises a second plurality of conductive bumps having a second pitch greater than the first pitch; and
the second die is coupled to the interconnect bridge by a third plurality of conductive bumps having a third pitch, and wherein the second die further comprises a fourth plurality of conductive bumps having a fourth pitch greater than the third pitch in order to increase communication bandwidth (paragraph 22).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 9-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of copending Application No. 18/128,964 in view of Shih (U.S. Pub. 2018/0102311) in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. 2015/0028486) in view of Teh et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0093999).
Regarding claim 1, claims 1 and 2 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 1. Claims 1 and 2 of the copending application appears not to explicitly disclose a printed circuit board;
a package substrate coupled to a printed circuit board.
Shih, however, in paragraph 52, discloses solder balls 801 may have a ball pitch that is equal to the ball pad pitch on a printed circuit board.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application, as disclosed by Shih, to have a printed circuit board; and the package substrate coupled to a printed circuit board since the solder balls are spaced to have the same spacing as pads on a printed circuit board.
Further, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application, as disclosed by Shih, to have a printed circuit board; and the package substrate couple to a printed circuit board in order to connect the package substrate to other chips.
Claims 1 and 2 of the copending application appears not to explicitly disclose the first die coupled to the package substrate;
the second die coupled to the package substrate;
a conductive structure laterally spaced apart from the interconnect bridge,
the second dielectric layer over the conductive structure;
the third via above and coupled to the conductive structure;
the third dielectric layer over the conductive structure;
the second conductive trace coupled to the conductive structure;
the first die over the conductive structure, the first die coupled to the first conductive trace and to the second conductive trace.
Shih, however, in Fig. 14 (see annotated Fig. 14 below) discloses the first die (11) coupled to the package substrate (10); and
the second die (12) coupled to the package substrate (10)
a conductive structure (lower portion of 510) laterally spaced spart from the interconnect bridge (101);
the second dielectric layer (202 and 550) over the conductive structure (lower portion of 510);
the third via (upper portion of 510) above and coupled to the conductive structure (lower portion of 510);
the third dielectric layer (912) over the conductive structure (lower portion of 510);
the second conductive trace (918) coupled to the conductive structure (lower portion of 510); and
the first die (11) over the conductive structure (lower portion of 510), and the first die (101) coupled to the first conductive trace (912) and to the second conductive trace (912).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 13 of the copending application, as disclosed by Shih, to have made the first die coupled to the package substrate;
the second die coupled to the package substrate;
a conductive structure laterally spaced apart from the interconnect bridge,
the second dielectric layer over the conductive structure;
the third via above and coupled to the conductive structure;
the third dielectric layer over the conductive structure;
the second conductive trace coupled to the conductive structure; and
the first die over the conductive structure, and the first die coupled to the first conductive trace and the second conductive trace in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device while protecting the surrounding elements.
Claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the conductive structure has an uppermost surface above a bottommost surface of the interconnect bridge;
the first dielectric layer laterally adjacent and in contact with the conductive structure; and
wherein the third via is separate and distinct from the conductive structure.
Liu et al., however, in Figs. 3a-3i and 3o, discloses the conductive structure (104c and 104e) has an uppermost surface (upper side surface of 104c) above a bottommost surface (bottom surface of 105) of the interconnect bridge (105),
the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2) laterally adjacent and in contact with the conductive structure (104c and 104e), and
wherein the third via (103b) is separate and distinct from the conductive structure (104c and 104e) in order to route electrical signals to different parts of the package.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih, as disclosed by Liu et al., to have made the conductive structure has an uppermost surface above a bottommost surface of the interconnect bridge;
the first dielectric layer laterally adjacent and in contact with the conductive structure; and
wherein the third via is separate and distinct from the conductive structure in order to be able to route electrical signals to different parts of the package (paragraph 22 of Liu et al.).
Claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. appears not to explicitly disclose the third via is through the second dielectric layer.
Teh et al., however, in Fig. 1(L), discloses the third via (30) is through the second dielectric layer (20 and 34).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of Teh et al. that is in the same field of endeavor with claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al., before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute the third via is through the second dielectric layer as disclosed by Teh et al. for the third via that is in the second dielectric layer disclosed by claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution of the third via is through the second dielectric layer disclosed by Teh et al. for the third via that is in the second dielectric layer disclosed by claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. would have yielded predictable results, namely providing a suitable electrical paths while protecting the surrounding elements. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Regarding claim 10, claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. discloses the limitations of claim 10. Claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the package substrate is coupled to the printed circuit board by a plurality of solder balls.
Shih, however, in Fig. 14 and in paragraph 52, further discloses the package substrate (10) is coupled to the printed circuit board by a plurality of solder balls (810).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al., as further disclosed by Shih, to have made the package substrate is coupled to the printed circuit board by a plurality of solder balls in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device.
Regarding claim 11, claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. discloses the limitations of claim 11. Claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. appears not to explicitly disclose wherein a first of the plurality of solder balls is vertically beneath the interconnect bridge, and wherein a second of the plurality of solder balls is vertically beneath the conductive structure.
Shih, however, in Fig. 14, further discloses a first of the plurality of solder balls (810 below 101) is vertically beneath the interconnect bridge (101), and wherein a second of the plurality of solder balls (two rightmost 810) is vertically beneath the conductive structure (lower portion of 510).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al., as further disclosed by Shih, to have made a first of the plurality of solder balls is vertically beneath the interconnect bridge, and wherein a second of the plurality of solder balls is vertically beneath the conductive structure in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device.
Regarding claim 12, claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. discloses the limitations of claim 12. Claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the package substrate is coupled to the printed circuit board by a plurality of solder balls.
Shih, however, in Fig. 14 and in paragraph 52, further discloses the package substrate is coupled to the printed circuit board by a plurality of solder bumps (810).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al., as further disclosed by Shih, to have made the package substrate is coupled to the printed circuit board by a plurality of solder balls in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device.
Regarding claim 13, claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. discloses the limitations of claim 13. Claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. appears not to explicitly disclose wherein a first of the plurality of solder bumps is vertically beneath the interconnect bridge, and wherein a second of the plurality of solder bumps is vertically beneath the conductive structure.
Shih, however, in Fig. 14, further discloses a first of the plurality of solder balls (810 below 101) is vertically beneath the interconnect bridge (101), and wherein a second of the plurality of solder balls (two rightmost 810) is vertically beneath the conductive structure (lower portion of 510).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al., as further disclosed by Shih, to have made a first of the plurality of solder balls is vertically beneath the interconnect bridge, and wherein a second of the plurality of solder balls is vertically beneath the conductive structure in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device.
Regarding claim 14, claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. discloses the limitations of claim 14. Claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. appears not to explicitly disclose the first conductive trace is not coupled to the second conductive trace.
Shih, however, in Fig. 14 (see annotated Fig. 14 below), further discloses wherein the first conductive trace is not coupled to the second conductive trace.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al., as further disclosed by Shih, to have made the first conductive trace is not coupled to the second conductive trace in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device.
Regarding claim 15, claim 10, respectively, of the copending application disclose the limitations of claim 3 of the current application.
Regarding claim 16, claim 4, respectively, of the copending application disclose the limitations of claim 4 of the current application.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, claims 11 and 12, respectively, of the copending application disclose the limitations of claims 5 and 6 of the current application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 19 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of copending Application No. 18/128,964 in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Braunisch et al. (U.S. Pub. 2010/0327424).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. discloses the limitations of claims 19 and 20. Claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the first die is coupled to the interconnect bridge by a first plurality of conductive bumps having a first pitch, and wherein the first die further comprises a second plurality of conductive bumps having a second pitch greater than the first pitch; and
wherein the second die is coupled to the interconnect bridge by a third plurality of conductive bumps having a third pitch, and wherein the second die further comprises a fourth plurality of conductive bumps having a fourth pitch greater than the third pitch.
Braunisch et al., however, in Fig. 6 and in paragraphs 22, 46, 48 and 51, discloses the first die (520) is coupled to the interconnect bridge (540) by a first plurality of conductive bumps (bumps between 520 and 540) having a first pitch (fine pitch), and wherein the first die further comprises a second plurality of conductive bumps (bumps between 520 and 610) having a second pitch (course pitch) greater than the first pitch; and
wherein the second die (530) is coupled to the interconnect bridge (540) by a third plurality of conductive bumps (bumps between 530 and 510) having a third pitch (fine pitch), and wherein the second die further comprises a fourth plurality of conductive bumps (bumps between 530 and 610) having a fourth pitch (course pitch) greater than the third pitch in order to increase communication bandwidth.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claims 1 and 2 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al., as disclosed by Braunisch et al., to have made the first die is coupled to the interconnect bridge by a first plurality of conductive bumps having a first pitch, and wherein the first die further comprises a second plurality of conductive bumps having a second pitch greater than the first pitch; and
wherein the second die is coupled to the interconnect bridge by a third plurality of conductive bumps having a third pitch, and wherein the second die further comprises a fourth plurality of conductive bumps having a fourth pitch greater than the third pitch in order to increase communication bandwidth (paragraph 22).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih (U.S. Pub. 2018/0102311) in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. 2015/0028486) in view of Teh et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0093999).
Claim 1: Shih discloses a multi-chip package, in annotated Fig. 14 below and in paragraphs 27, 39, 43, 49, 56 and 60, comprising:
an interconnect bridge (101) having a first contact pad (204) and a second contact pad (204) thereon, the interconnect bridge (101) comprising a silicon die;
a conductive structure (lower portion of 510) laterally spaced spart from the interconnect bridge (101);
a second dielectric layer (202 and 550) on the interconnect bridge, the second dielectric layer (202 and 550) over the conductive structure (lower portion of 510);
a first via (204) in the second dielectric layer (202 and 550), the first via (204) coupled to the first contact pad; (204);
a second via (204) in the second dielectric layer (202 and 550), the second via (204) coupled to the second contact pad (204);
a third via (upper portion of 510) in the second dielectric layer (202 and 550), the third via (upper portion of 510) above and coupled to the conductive structure (lower portion of 510);
a third dielectric layer (912) on the second dielectric layer (202 and 550), the third dielectric layer (912) over the interconnect bridge (101) and over the conductive structure (lower portion of 510);
a first conductive trace (918) in the third dielectric layer (912), the first conductive trace (918) coupled to the first via (204);
a second conductive trace (918) in the third dielectric layer (912), the second conductive trace (918) coupled to the conductive structure (lower portion of 510);
a first die (11) over the third dielectric layer (912), the first die (11) over the interconnect bridge (101) and over the conductive structure (lower portion of 510), and the first die (101) coupled to the first conductive trace (912) and to the second conductive trace (912); and
a second die (12) over the interconnect bridge (101), the second die (12) coupled to the first die (11) by the interconnect bridge (101).
Shih appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the conductive structure has an uppermost surface above a bottommost surface of the interconnect bridge,
a first dielectric layer, the first dielectric layer laterally adjacent the interconnect bridge, and the first dielectric layer laterally adjacent and in contact with the conductive structure,
the second dielectric layer on the first dielectric layer, and
wherein the third via is separate and distinct from the conductive structure.
Liu et al., however, in Figs. 3a-3i and 3o and in paragraphs 22, 32, 35, 36 and 39, discloses the conductive structure (104c and 104e) has an uppermost surface (upper side surface of 104c) above a bottommost surface (bottom surface of 105) of the interconnect bridge (105),
a first dielectric layer (104a in N-2), the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2) laterally adjacent the interconnect bridge (105), and the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2) laterally adjacent and in contact with the conductive structure (104c and 104e),
the second dielectric layer (104a in N-1) on the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2), and
wherein the third via (103b) is separate and distinct from the conductive structure (104c and 104e) in order to route electrical signals to different parts of the package.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih with the disclosure of Liu et al. to have made the conductive structure has an uppermost surface above a bottommost surface of the interconnect bridge,
a first dielectric layer, the first dielectric layer laterally adjacent the interconnect bridge, and the first dielectric layer laterally adjacent and in contact with the conductive structure,
the second dielectric layer on the first dielectric layer, and
wherein the third via is separate and distinct from the conductive structure in order to be able to route electrical signals to different parts of the package (paragraph 22 of Liu et al.).
Shih in view of Liu et al. appears not to explicitly disclose the first via is through the second dielectric layer;
the second via is through the second dielectric layer; and
the third via is through the second dielectric layer.
Teh et al., however, in Fig. 1(L) and in paragraphs 16 and 19, discloses the first via (right 42) is through the second dielectric layer (20 and 34);
the second via (left 42) is through the second dielectric layer (20 and 34); and
the third via (30) is through the second dielectric layer (20 and 34).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of Teh et al. that is in the same field of endeavor with Shih in view of Liu et al., before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute the first via is through the second dielectric layer; the second via is through the second dielectric layer; and the third via is through the second dielectric layer as disclosed by Teh et al. for the first via, the second via and the third via that are in the second dielectric layer disclosed by Shih in view of Liu et al. The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution of the first via is through the second dielectric layer; the second via is through the second dielectric layer; and the third via is through the second dielectric layer disclosed by Teh et al. for the first via, the second via and the third via that are in the second dielectric layer disclosed by Shih in view of Liu et al. would have yielded predictable results, namely providing a suitable electrical paths while protecting the surrounding elements. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Claim 2: Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. discloses the multi-chip package of claim 1, and in Fig. 14, Shih further discloses wherein the first conductive trace is not coupled to the second conductive trace.
Claim 9: Shih discloses a system, in annotated Fig. 14 below and in paragraphs 27, 39, 43, 47, 49, 56 and 60, comprising:
a package substrate (10);
a first die (11) coupled to the package substrate (10); and
a second die (12) coupled to the package substrate (10), wherein the package substrate (10) comprises:
an interconnect bridge (101) having a first contact pad (204) and a second contact pad (204) thereon, the interconnect bridge (101) comprising a silicon die;
a conductive structure (lower portion of 510) laterally spaced apart from the interconnect bridge (101);
a second dielectric layer (202 and 550) on the interconnect bridge (101), the second dielectric layer (202 and 550) over the conductive structure (lower portion of 510);
a first via (204) in the second dielectric layer (202 and 550), the first via (204) coupled to the first contact pad (204);
a second via (204) in the second dielectric layer (202 and 550), the second via (204) coupled to the second contact pad (204);
a third via (upper portion of 510) in the second dielectric layer (202 and 550), the third via (upper portion of 510) above and coupled to the conductive structure (lower portion of 510);
a third dielectric layer (912) on the second dielectric layer (202 and 550), the third dielectric layer (912) over the interconnect bridge (101) and over the conductive structure (lower portion of 510);
a first conductive trace (918) in the third dielectric layer (912), the first conductive trace (918) coupled to the first via (204);
a second conductive trace (918) in the third dielectric layer (912), the second conductive trace (918) coupled to the conductive structure (lower portion of 510);
wherein the first die (11) is over the third dielectric layer (912), and the first die (11) is over the interconnect bridge (101) and over the conductive structure (lower portion of 510), the first die (11) coupled to the first conductive trace (918) and to the second conductive trace (918); and
wherein the second die (12) is over the interconnect bridge (101), the second die (12) coupled to the first die (11) by the interconnect bridge (101).
Shih appears not to explicitly disclose a printed circuit board; and
the package substrate coupled to a printed circuit board.
Shih, however, in paragraph 52, discloses solder balls 801 may have a ball pitch that is equal to the ball pad pitch on a printed circuit board.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih to have a printed circuit board; and the package substrate coupled to a printed circuit board since the solder balls are spaced to have the same spacing as pads on a printed circuit board.
Further, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih to have a printed circuit board; and the package substrate coupled to a printed circuit board in order to connect the package substrate to other chips.
Shih also appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the conductive structure has an uppermost surface above a bottommost surface of the interconnect bridge,
a first dielectric layer, the first dielectric layer laterally adjacent the interconnect bridge, and the first dielectric layer laterally adjacent and in contact with the conductive structure,
the second dielectric layer on the first dielectric layer, and
wherein the third via is separate and distinct from the conductive structure.
Liu et al., however, in Figs. 3a-3i and 3o and in paragraphs 22, 32, 35, 36 and 39, discloses the conductive structure (104b, 104c and 104e) has an uppermost surface (upper side surface of 104b) above a bottommost surface (bottom surface of 105) of the interconnect bridge (105),
a first dielectric layer (104a in N-2), the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2) laterally adjacent the interconnect bridge (105), and the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2) laterally adjacent and in contact with the conductive structure (104b, 104c and 104e),
the second dielectric layer (104a in N-1) on the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2), and
wherein the third via (103b) is separate and distinct from the conductive structure (104a, 104c and 104e) in order to route electrical signals to different parts of the package.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih with the disclosure of Liu et al. to have made the conductive structure has an uppermost surface above a bottommost surface of the interconnect bridge,
a first dielectric layer, the first dielectric layer laterally adjacent the interconnect bridge, and the first dielectric layer laterally adjacent and in contact with the conductive structure,
the second dielectric layer on the first dielectric layer, and
wherein the third via is separate and distinct from the conductive structure in order to be able to route electrical signals to different parts of the package (paragraph 22 of Liu et al.).
Shih in view of Liu et al. appears not to explicitly disclose the first via is through the second dielectric layer;
the second via is through the second dielectric layer; and
the third via is through the second dielectric layer.
Teh et al., however, in Fig. 1(L) and in paragraphs 16 and 19, discloses the first via (right 42) is through the second dielectric layer (20 and 34);
the second via (left 42) is through the second dielectric layer (20 and 34); and
the third via (30) is through the second dielectric layer (20 and 34).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of Teh et al. that is in the same field of endeavor with Shih in view of Liu et al., before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute the first via is through the second dielectric layer; the second via is through the second dielectric layer; and the third via is through the second dielectric layer as disclosed by Teh et al. for the first via, the second via and the third via that are in the second dielectric layer disclosed by Shih in view of Liu et al. The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution of the first via is through the second dielectric layer; the second via is through the second dielectric layer; and the third via is through the second dielectric layer disclosed by Teh et al. for the first via, the second via and the third via that are in the second dielectric layer disclosed by Shih in view of Liu et al. would have yielded predictable results, namely providing a suitable electrical paths while protecting the surrounding elements. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Claim 10: Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. discloses the system of claim 9, and in Fig. 14 and in paragraph 52, Shih further discloses wherein the package substrate (10) is coupled to the printed circuit board by a plurality of solder balls (810).
Claim 11: Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. discloses the system of claim 10, and in Fig. 14, Shih further discloses wherein a first of the plurality of solder balls (810 below 101) is vertically beneath the interconnect bridge (101), and wherein a second of the plurality of solder balls (two rightmost 810) is vertically beneath the conductive structure (lower portion of 510).
Claim 12: Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. discloses the system of claim 9, and in Fig. 14 and in paragraph 52, Shih further discloses wherein the package substrate is coupled to the printed circuit board by a plurality of solder bumps (810).
Claim 13: Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. discloses the system of claim 12, and in Fig. 14, Shih further discloses wherein a first of the plurality of solder bumps (810 below 101) is vertically beneath the interconnect bridge, and wherein a second of the plurality of solder bumps (two rightmost 810) is vertically beneath the conductive structure.
Claim 14: Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. discloses the system of claim 9, and in Fig. 14, Shih further discloses wherein the first conductive trace is not coupled to the second conductive trace.
Claim(s) 3-8 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Braunisch et al. (U.S. Pub. 2010/0327424).
Claim 3: Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. disclose the multi-chip package of claim 1.
Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. appears not to explicitly disclose a cavity laterally between the interconnect bridge and the first dielectric layer.
Braunisch et al., however, in Fig. 6 and in paragraph 49 and 62, discloses a cavity (615) laterally between the interconnect bridge (540) and the first dielectric layer (610) in order to prevent underfillings of dies from being disturbed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. with the disclosure of Braunisch et al. to have made a cavity laterally between the interconnect bridge and the first dielectric layer in order to prevent underfillings of dies from being disturbed (paragraph 49 of Braunisch).
Claim 4: Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. disclose the multi-chip package of claim 1.
Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the interconnect bridge is laterally spaced apart from the first dielectric layer.
Braunisch et al., however, in Fig. 6 and in paragraph 49 and 62, discloses the interconnect bridge (540) is laterally spaced apart from the first dielectric layer (610) in order to prevent underfillings of dies from being disturbed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. with the disclosure of Braunisch et al. to have made the interconnect bridge is laterally spaced apart from the first dielectric layer in order to prevent underfillings of dies from being disturbed (paragraph 49 of Braunisch).
Claims 5 and 6: Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. discloses the multi-chip package of claim 1.
Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the first die is a main die, and the second die is a secondary die; and
wherein the main die is a die selected from the group consisting of a central processing unit (CPU) die, a graphics processing unit (GPU) die, and an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) die, and wherein the secondary die is a die selected from the group consisting of a memory die and a transceiver die.
Braunisch et al., however, in paragraph 74, discloses the first die (1120) is a main die, and the second die (1130) is a secondary die; and
wherein the main die (1120) is a die selected from the group consisting of a central processing unit (CPU) die, a graphics processing unit (GPU) die, and an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) die, and wherein the secondary die (1130) is a die selected from the group consisting of a memory die and a transceiver die.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. with the disclosure of Braunisch et al. to have made the first die is a main die, and the second die is a secondary die; and
wherein the main die is a die selected from the group consisting of a central processing unit (CPU) die, a graphics processing unit (GPU) die, and an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) die, and wherein the secondary die is a die selected from the group consisting of a memory die and a transceiver die in order to for the package to have functionality.
Claims 7 and 8: Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. disclose the multi-chip package of claim 1.
Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the first die is coupled to the interconnect bridge by a first plurality of conductive bumps having a first pitch, and wherein the first die further comprises a second plurality of conductive bumps having a second pitch greater than the first pitch; and
wherein the second die is coupled to the interconnect bridge by a third plurality of conductive bumps having a third pitch, and wherein the second die further comprises a fourth plurality of conductive bumps having a fourth pitch greater than the third pitch.
Braunisch et al., however, in Fig. 6 and in paragraphs 22, 46, 48 and 51, discloses the first die (520) is coupled to the interconnect bridge (540) by a first plurality of conductive bumps (bumps between 520 and 540) having a first pitch (fine pitch), and wherein the first die further comprises a second plurality of conductive bumps (bumps between 520 and 610) having a second pitch (course pitch) greater than the first pitch; and
wherein the second die (530) is coupled to the interconnect bridge (540) by a third plurality of conductive bumps (bumps between 530 and 510) having a third pitch (fine pitch), and wherein the second die further comprises a fourth plurality of conductive bumps (bumps between 530 and 610) having a fourth pitch (course pitch) greater than the third pitch in order to increase communication bandwidth.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. with the disclosure of Braunisch et al. to have made the first die is coupled to the interconnect bridge by a first plurality of conductive bumps having a first pitch, and wherein the first die further comprises a second plurality of conductive bumps having a second pitch greater than the first pitch; and
the second die is coupled to the interconnect bridge by a third plurality of conductive bumps having a third pitch, and wherein the second die further comprises a fourth plurality of conductive bumps having a fourth pitch greater than the third pitch in order to increase communication bandwidth (paragraph 22).
Claim 15: Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. discloses the system of claim 9.
Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. appears not to explicitly disclose a cavity laterally between the interconnect bridge and the first dielectric layer.
Braunisch et al., however, in Fig. 6 and in paragraph 49 and 62, discloses a cavity (615) laterally between the interconnect bridge (540) and the first dielectric layer (610) in order to prevent underfillings of dies from being disturbed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. with the disclosure of Braunisch et al. to have made a cavity laterally between the interconnect bridge and the first dielectric layer in order to prevent underfillings of dies from being disturbed (paragraph 49 of Braunisch).
Claim 16: Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. discloses the system of claim 9.
Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the interconnect bridge is laterally spaced apart from the first dielectric layer.
Braunisch et al., however, in Fig. 6 and in paragraph 49 and 62, discloses the interconnect bridge (540) is laterally spaced apart from the first dielectric layer (610) in order to prevent underfillings of dies from being disturbed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. with the disclosure of Braunisch et al. to have made the interconnect bridge is laterally spaced apart from the first dielectric layer in order to prevent underfillings of dies from being disturbed (paragraph 49 of Braunisch).
Claims 17 and 18: Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. discloses the system of claim 9.
Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the first die is a main die, and the second die is a secondary die; and
wherein the main die is a die selected from the group consisting of a central processing unit (CPU) die, a graphics processing unit (GPU) die, and an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) die, and wherein the secondary die is a die selected from the group consisting of a memory die and a transceiver die.
Braunisch et al., however, in paragraph 74, discloses the first die (1120) is a main die, and the second die (1130) is a secondary die; and
wherein the main die (1120) is a die selected from the group consisting of a central processing unit (CPU) die, a graphics processing unit (GPU) die, and an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) die, and wherein the secondary die (1130) is a die selected from the group consisting of a memory die and a transceiver die.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. with the disclosure of Braunisch et al. to have made the first die is a main die, and the second die is a secondary die; and
wherein the main die is a die selected from the group consisting of a central processing unit (CPU) die, a graphics processing unit (GPU) die, and an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) die, and wherein the secondary die is a die selected from the group consisting of a memory die and a transceiver die in order to for the package to have functionality.
Claims 19 and 20: Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. discloses the system of claim 9.
Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the first die is coupled to the interconnect bridge by a first plurality of conductive bumps having a first pitch, and wherein the first die further comprises a second plurality of conductive bumps having a second pitch greater than the first pitch; and
wherein the second die is coupled to the interconnect bridge by a third plurality of conductive bumps having a third pitch, and wherein the second die further comprises a fourth plurality of conductive bumps having a fourth pitch greater than the third pitch.
Braunisch et al., however, in Fig. 6 and in paragraphs 22, 46, 48 and 51, discloses the first die (520) is coupled to the interconnect bridge (540) by a first plurality of conductive bumps (bumps between 520 and 540) having a first pitch (fine pitch), and wherein the first die further comprises a second plurality of conductive bumps (bumps between 520 and 610) having a second pitch (course pitch) greater than the first pitch; and
wherein the second die (530) is coupled to the interconnect bridge (540) by a third plurality of conductive bumps (bumps between 530 and 510) having a third pitch (fine pitch), and wherein the second die further comprises a fourth plurality of conductive bumps (bumps between 530 and 610) having a fourth pitch (course pitch) greater than the third pitch in order to increase communication bandwidth.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. with the disclosure of Braunisch et al. to have made the first die is coupled to the interconnect bridge by a first plurality of conductive bumps having a first pitch, and wherein the first die further comprises a second plurality of conductive bumps having a second pitch greater than the first pitch; and
the second die is coupled to the interconnect bridge by a third plurality of conductive bumps having a third pitch, and wherein the second die further comprises a fourth plurality of conductive bumps having a fourth pitch greater than the third pitch in order to increase communication bandwidth (paragraph 22).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends Shih does not disclose the first via coupled to the first contact pad and the second via coupled to the second contact pad.
Examiner notes that Shih, in Fig. 14, discloses the first via coupled to the first contact pad and the second via coupled to the second contact pad (see annotated Fig. 14 above).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.L/ Examiner, Art Unit 2815 /JOSHUA BENITEZ ROSARIO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2815