DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to amendment filed on July 2, 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “one or more electrical conduits electrically coupled to one or more of the plurality of pads,” as recited in claim 1, and “wherein the circuit is electrically coupled to the one or more pads only via one or more surface layers of the circuit board,” as recited in claim 3, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 3, “the circuit,” line 1 of the claim, lacks proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 16, the claim ends with (;), instead of full stop. It is not clear if some more limitations are there in the claim, or is just a typographical mistake.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 13-16 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Mendolia (US 5,798,638).
Regarding claim 1, Mendolia, figure 3, discloses a circuit board, comprising: a pad board portion (portion outside the printed board 310A) and a module board (310A) portion within the pad board portion (see figure); a plurality of pads (pads of via 327, 350) positioned within the pad board portion proximal to a border (near the separating cut out line, see figure) separating the pad board portion from the module board portion; one or more electrical conduits (via 327, pads 350, and trace 330) electrically coupled to one or more of the plurality of pads (see figure); wherein the circuit board defines two separation guide voids (see figure) wherein each separation guide void is positioned to indicate two perpendicular edges of the border between the pad board portion and the module board portion (see figure).
Regarding claim 3, Mendolia further discloses wherein the circuit is electrically coupled to the one or more pads only via one or more surface layers of the circuit board (see figure).
Regarding claim 5, Mendolia further discloses wherein the feature indicative of a border between the pad board portion and the module board portion includes a linear edge and wherein the linear edge is collinear with an edge of the border (see figure).
Regarding claim 13, Mendolia further discloses wherein the circuit board includes a plurality of layers and wherein each of the one or more separation guides comprises an opening formed through each of the plurality of layers (column 3, line 1-10. Also, see figure, including figure 4).
Regarding claim 14, Mendolia further discloses wherein the circuit board includes a plurality of layers and wherein each of the one or more separation guides comprises an opening formed through each of the plurality of layers (see figure, the opening is through the board to be able to separate the board).
Regarding claim 15, Mendolia further discloses wherein the one or more electrical conduits include at least one of: one or more traces; and one or more vias (see figure, via 327, and trace 330).
Regarding claim 16, Mendolia further discloses one or more electronic components electrically coupled to one or more of the plurality of pads, wherein the one or more electronic components include at least one of: one or more surface-mounted circuit devices; and one or more integrated circuit packages (column 3, line 48-65).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (US 6246,0150), figure 1b, discloses a circuit board with a pad board portion (portion around the separation line 19’), and module board portion (portion within the separation line 19’), including pads (21, 20) in the pad board portion.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISHWARBHAI B PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847
IBP / October 22, 2025