DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
1. Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received on 2/23/2026. Claims 1 & 3-13 are pending in this application. Claim 2 is canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In particular, claim 6 cites “the landing site includes a layer of metal alloy on copper” is not clear when reading into claims 1 & 5. Claim 1 require “the plurality of bumps including solder that physically contacts the side walls and the recess plane”, claim 6 requires a present of a layer of metal alloy on copper which separates the solder from being physically contacting the side walls and the recess plane. Difference shown in Figs. 2F & 3 of the application.
Applicant is suggested to revise and clarify the claim(s) to avoid any further confusions.
For best understanding and examination purpose, the claim(s) will be best considered based on drawings, disclosure, and/or any applicable prior arts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 3, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2002/0074634)
Re claims 1 & 3, Choi teaches, under BRI, Figs. 9A-C, [0055, 0075-0078], an integrated circuit (IC) package, comprising:
-a semiconductor die (100); and
-a leadframe (lead frame) including a plurality of leads (720), each of the plurality of leads (720) including a recessed portion (seating groove 721b), the recessed portion (721b) including a recess plane (bottom portion) and a sidewalls (of 721b) at an obtuse angle (more than 90o) with respect to the recess plane (bottom portion), each of the plurality of leads (720) electrically coupled to the semiconductor die (100) via a plurality of bumps (510, 750), the plurality of bumps (510, 750) including solder (of 510) that physically contacts the sidewalls and the recess plane (of 721b),
wherein each of the plurality of bumps (510, 750) touches the recessed portion (of 721b).
Note: 750 can be considered as part of recessed portion.
Choi does not explicitly teach the recess plane parallel to a plane of the lead.
Choi’s Fig. 8C teaches, [0068, 0071], a recess plane (of 621) parallel to a plane of the lead (620).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Choi’s Fig. 8C to obtain the recess plane parallel to a plane of the lead as claimed, because it aids in achieving desired shaped grooves within the leads. Further, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Re claim 5, Choi teaches, Figs. 9A-B, each of the plurality of leads (720) includes a landing site having the recessed portion (721).
Re claim 7, Choi teaches, Fig. 9A, [0075] a mold material (105) covering portions of the semiconductor die (100) and at least a portion of the plurality of leads (720).
4. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2002/0074634) in view of Park et al. (US 2006/0049517).
Re claims 1 & 3, Choi teaches, under BRI, Figs. 9A-C, [0055, 0075-0078], an integrated circuit (IC) package, comprising:
-a semiconductor die (100); and
-a leadframe (lead frame) including a plurality of leads (720), each of the plurality of leads (720) including a recessed portion (groove 721), the recessed portion (721) including a recess plane (flat portion) parallel to a plane of the lead (720) and a sidewalls (of 721) at an obtuse angle (more than 90o) with respect to the recess plane (flat portion), each of the plurality of leads (720) electrically coupled to the semiconductor die (100) via a plurality of bumps (510, 750), the plurality of bumps (510, 750) including solder (of 510) that contacts the sidewalls and the recess plane.
wherein each of the plurality of bumps (510, 750) touches the recessed portion (721).
Choi does not explicitly teach the plurality of bumps including solder that physically contacts the sidewalls and the recess plane.
Park teaches, Figs. 5 & 8-9, [0037-0039], the plurality of bumps including solder (113) that physically contacts the sidewalls and the recess plane (of groove 112).
As taught by Park, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the plurality of bumps including solder that physically contacts the sidewalls and the recess plane as claimed, because it aids in improving electrical contact/connection between a chip and leads.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Park in combination with Choi due to above reason.
Re claim 4, in combination cited above, Park teaches, Fig. 8, the solder (113) contacts an entirety of the recessed portion (112) including a portion along the recess plane (of 112).
Re claim 5, Choi teaches, Figs. 9A-B, each of the plurality of leads (720) includes a landing site having the recessed portion (721).
Re claim 7, Choi teaches, Fig. 9A, [0075], a mold material (105) covering portions of the semiconductor die (100) and at least a portion of the plurality of leads (720).
Re claim 8, Choi teaches, under BRI, Figs. 9A-B, claim 19, [0055, 0075-0078], an integrated circuit (IC) package, comprising:
-a semiconductor die (100); and
-a lead frame (lead frame) including a plurality of leads (720), each of the plurality of leads (720) including a concave portion (groove 721) with a semi-circular cross-sectional shape (721b);
-a metal alloy (metal layer 750, e.g., an alloy of Ni and Sn, claim 19) on the concave portion (721b);
-a solder (510) in the concave portion and contacting the metal alloy (750);
-mold material (105) covering portions of the semiconductor die (100) and the plurality of leads (720);
wherein each of the plurality of leads (720) include a first portion with a first thickness (indicated) and a second portion with a second thickness (indicated), a surface of the second portion (bottommost surface) coplanar with a surface of the mold compound (105), the first thickness being (indicated) lesser than the second thickness (indicated).
Choi does not teach a solder cap in the concave portion, a metal pillar on the solder cap and electrically connected to the semiconductor die.
Park teaches, Fig. 8, [0034-0036], a solder cap (113) in the concave portion (112), a metal pillar (a post formed of 124, 125) on the solder cap (113) and electrically connected to the semiconductor die (121).
As taught by Park, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Cho to obtain a solder cap in the concave portion, a metal pillar on the solder cap and electrically connected to the semiconductor die as claimed, because it aids in achieving a flip chip semiconductor device having an improved structure, which allows the semiconductor chip to be securely coupled to the lead frame while preventing defective contacts between them.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Park in combination with Choi due to above reason.
Re claim 9, Choi teaches, Fig. 9B, the concave portion (721b) is in the first portion.
Re claim 10, Choi teaches, Fig. 9A, each of the plurality of leads (720) include a landing site having the concave portion (721).
Re claim 13, Choi teaches, Figs. 9A-B, the semiconductor die (100) include an active surface (bottom of 100) with functional circuit including bond pads (101) thereon, and wherein the active surface faces the concave portion (721).
5. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do as modified Choi as modified by Park as applied to claims 1 & 5 above, and further in view of Miyazaki (US 2002/0195720).
The teachings of Choi/Park have been discussed above.
Re claim 6, Choi teaches, Figs. 9A-B, claim 19, [0078], the landing site include a layer of metal alloy (750).
Choi/Park does not explicitly teach a layer of metal alloy on copper.
Miyazaki teaches, Figs. 5E-G, claim 9, [0051], a metal alloy (6) on copper (7).
As taught by Miyazaki, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain a layer of metal alloy on copper as claimed, because it aids in securing and improving stability/mounting reliability of the package.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Miyazaki in combination with Choi/Park due to above reason.
6. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi as modified by Park as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Do et al. (2012/0126429.
The teachings of Chen/Park have been discussed above.
Re claim 12, Choi/Park does not explicitly teach the lead frame is of a copper or a copper alloy.
Do teaches the lead frame is of a copper or a copper alloy [0042].
As taught by Do, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the lead frame is of a copper or a copper alloy as claimed, because copper is known material & widely used in the art as material of a lead frame. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Do in combination with Choi/Park due to above reason.
7. Claims 8, 10 and 11 are, alternatively, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2002/0074634) in view of Park et al. (US 2006/0049517) and Miyazaki (US 2002/0195720).
Re claim 8, Choi teaches, under BRI, Figs. 9A-B, claim 19, [0055, 0075-0078], an integrated circuit (IC) package, comprising:
-a semiconductor die (100); and
-a lead frame (lead frame) including a plurality of leads (720), each of the plurality of leads (720) including a concave portion (groove 721) with a semi-circular cross-sectional shape (721b);
-a metal alloy (metal layer 750, e.g., an alloy of Ni and Sn, claim 19) on the concave portion (721b);
-a solder (510) in the concave portion (721) and contacting the metal alloy (750);
-mold material (105) covering portions of the semiconductor die (100) and the plurality of leads (720);
wherein each of the plurality of leads (720) include a first portion with a first thickness (indicated) and a second portion with a second thickness (indicated), a surface of the second portion (bottommost surface) coplanar with a surface of the mold compound (105), the first thickness being (indicated) lesser than the second thickness (indicated).
Choi does not teach a solder cap in the concave portion, a metal pillar on the solder cap and electrically connected to the semiconductor die.
Park teaches, Fig. 8, [0034-0036], a solder cap (113) in the concave portion (112), a metal bump (formed of 124, 125) on the solder cap (113) and electrically connected to the semiconductor die (121).
As taught by Park, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Cho to obtain a solder cap in the concave portion, a metal bump on the solder cap and electrically connected to the semiconductor die as claimed, because it aids in achieving a flip chip semiconductor device having an improved structure, which allows the semiconductor chip to be securely coupled to the lead frame while preventing defective contacts between them.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Park in combination with Choi due to above reason.
Choi/Park does not explicitly teach a metal pillar.
Miyazaki teaches a metal pillar (metallic post 8) (Fig. 5G, [0047]).
As taught by Miyazaki, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Choi/Park to obtain a metal pillar as claimed, because it aids in improving stability/mounting reliability of the package. Further, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Miyazaki in combination with Choi/Park due to above reason.
Re claim 10, Choi teaches, Fig. 9A, each of the plurality of leads (720) include a landing site having the concave portion (721).
Re claim 11, in combination cited above, Miyazaki teaches, Figs. 5F-H, the metal pillar (8) is aligned with the landing site (with films 6, 7).
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Response to arguments on newly added limitations are responded to in the above rejection.
The claims amended with newly added features, rejection & interpretation under the cited priors (e.g., Choi & Miyazaki) are also changed to meet the claims. Details included in the above rejection.
The rejection of claims under Do et al. & Hasebe et al. is withdrawn due to
claim amendment.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 3/9/26