DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to Application 17/584,986 filed on 02/12/2026. Claims 1, 11, 17 and 18 have been amended. Claims 4-7 and 12-15 are canceled. Claims 1-3, 8-11 and 16-28 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
(B)Applicant’s arguments submitted on 11/04/2025, with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections has been fully considered and is persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Fisher et al., US 20170355081 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11, 16, 17 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fisher et al., US 20170355081 A1, hereinafter referred to as Fisher.
Regarding claim 1, Fisher discloses a mobile machine comprising (Robot embodied as a mobile scrubber – See at least ¶68 and 75):
a frame (Frame – See at least ¶75);
ground engaging elements configured to support the frame above a surface of a worksite (The robot includes a structural body or frame and wheels coupled to an actuator for supporting and moving the robot over the floor – See at least ¶68 and 75);
a material receptacle configured to hold a material (Robot has tanks, which can hold water and/or cleaning chemicals – See at least ¶68 and FIG.1);
an imaging system configured to generate an image indicating spill of the material from the material receptacle (Spill detector detects dirty water or cleaning chemicals left on the floor because of a malfunction or failure involving the tank. The tank may leak water onto the floor and thereby form a spill. Spill detector includes a photo camera, video camera, infrared camera configured to capture an image of a scene containing the spill – See at least ¶69-70 and 87); and
a control system configured to (Controller – See at least ¶77-79):
identify, based on the image, presence of at least a portion of the material in an area outside of the material receptacle (Segmenting the captured image belong to spill and which portions belong to the floor surface. The controller may determine that an image contains the spill and determine that an image contains the spill and determine the spills location in the image. Because the spill is located on the floor outside the tank, the presence of spilled material in an area outside the material receptacle – See at least ¶149-152);
determine a material spill characteristic representing the spill of the material from the material receptacle based on the presence of the portion of material identified based on the image (Determining a confidence or probability that the spill has been detected based on the spill identified in one or more captured images. The confidence may be determined from the number or percentage of images identified as containing the spill and may be classified as high, medium, or low confidence – See at least ¶11 and 153-156. Examiner notes under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) the claimed “material spill characteristic” is construed as confidence or probability because it is a calculated characteristic representing whether and to what degree the identified image information indicates the presence of the spill); and
control the mobile machine based on the determined material spill characteristic (Portion includes determining if an action should be performed based at least in part on the confidence – See at least ¶157. In some implementations, spill detector may automatically perform an action, such as one or more actions associated with options. In some cases, spill detector can send a signal to robot indicative at least in part of the action. In response to the signal, robot may then actuate one or more of actuators – See at least ¶158).
Regarding claim 2, Fisher discloses wherein the imaging system is disposed outside of the material receptacle (Spill detector can include sensors such as a photo camera, video camera, infrared camera, and other cameras – See at least ¶87. Spill detector may not be physically located on robot. For example, in some cases, spill detector may be attached to a wall, shelf, ceiling, fixture, other shopping carts, furniture, etc – See at least ¶88).
Regarding claim 3, Fisher discloses wherein the control system is configured to control, based on the determined material spill characteristic, one or more of: a material transfer subsystem of the mobile machine to initiate a material transfer operation; a steering subsystem of the mobile machine to adjust a heading of the mobile machine; and a propulsion subsystem of the mobile machine to adjust a speed of the mobile machine (Actuators can include actuator, as described with reference to FIG. 1. In some implementations, actuators can include systems that allow movement of robot, such as motorize propulsion. For example, motorized propulsion can move robot in a forward or backward direction, and/or aid in turning robot left or right. By way of illustration, in this way, in this way, actuators can control if robot is moving or is stopped and/or allow robot to navigate from one location to another location – See at least ¶85).
Regarding claim 11, Fisher discloses a computer-implemented method (controller containing one or more processors and memory storing instructions executable by the processor to perform the disclosed spill-detection methods and operate robot – See at least ¶78-79) comprising:
detecting, with a contact sensor outside of a material receptacle of a mobile machine, contact between a material and the contact sensor (As another example, spill detector can measure electric properties of surface and spill. By way of illustration, spill detector can have a plurality of electrodes and/or leads. In some cases, the electrodes and/or leads can make contact with surface and/or spill. For example, spill detector can include a capacitance meter, voltmeter, multimeter (e.g., a Digital Multimeter (“DMM”)), oscilloscope, ohmmeter, ammeter, etc. In some cases, surface and spill can have different electrical properties, where spill detector can use, at least in part, the different electrical properties of surface and spill to detect spill – See at least ¶137. Segmenting the captured image belong to spill and which portions belong to the floor surface. The controller may determine that an image contains the spill and determine that an image contains the spill and determine the spills location in the image. Because the spill is located on the floor outside the tank, the presence of spilled material in an area outside the material receptacle – See at least ¶149-152. Examiner notes the electrodes or leads and associated electrical measurement device collectively constitute the claimed “contact sensor” because the electrodes physically contact the spilled material and generates electrical measurements responsive to that contact);
detecting a presence of the material outside of the material receptacle based on the contact between the material and the contact sensor (Controller can detect a difference in electrical properties, such as a difference in conductivity, impedance, and/or capacitance. Controller receives the electrical measurements generated through contact with spill and detects spill based on the difference between the measured electrical properties of the spill and the predetermined properties of the dry floor – See at least ¶137);
determining a material spill characteristic based on the presence of the material outside of the material receptacle detected based on the contact between the material and the contact sensor (Determining a confidence or probability that the spill has been detected based on the spill identified in one or more captured images. The confidence may be determined from the number or percentage of images identified as containing the spill and may be classified as high, medium, or low confidence – See at least ¶11 and 153-156. As another example, spill detector can measure electric properties of surface and spill. By way of illustration, spill detector can have a plurality of electrodes and/or leads. In some cases, the electrodes and/or leads can make contact with surface and/or spill. For example, spill detector can include a capacitance meter, voltmeter, multimeter (e.g., a Digital Multimeter (“DMM”)), oscilloscope, ohmmeter, ammeter, etc. In some cases, surface and spill can have different electrical properties, where spill detector can use, at least in part, the different electrical properties of surface and spill to detect spill – See at least ¶137. Examiner notes under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) the claimed “material spill characteristic” is construed as confidence or probability because it is a calculated characteristic representing whether and to what degree the identified image information indicates the presence of the spill); and
controlling the mobile machine based on the material spill characteristic (Portion includes determining if an action should be performed based at least in part on the confidence – See at least ¶157. In some implementations, spill detector may automatically perform an action, such as one or more actions associated with options. In some cases, spill detector can send a signal to robot indicative at least in part of the action. In response to the signal, robot may then actuate one or more of actuators – See at least ¶158).
Regarding claim 16, Fisher discloses wherein controlling the mobile machine comprises controlling one or more of:
a material transfer subsystem of the mobile machine to initiate a material transfer operation; a steering subsystem of the mobile machine to adjust a heading of the mobile machine; and a propulsion subsystem of the mobile machine to adjust a speed of the mobile machine (Actuators can include actuator, as described with reference to FIG. 1. In some implementations, actuators can include systems that allow movement of robot, such as motorize propulsion. For example, motorized propulsion can move robot in a forward or backward direction, and/or aid in turning robot left or right. By way of illustration, in this way, in this way, actuators can control if robot is moving or is stopped and/or allow robot to navigate from one location to another location – See at least ¶85).
Regarding claim 17, Fisher discloses wherein the material spill characteristic comprises a spill location ( For example, server can use at least in part data received from spill detector and generate an alert (e.g., a message, notification, and/or any form of communication) indicating at least in part whether a spill (e.g., spill) has been detected, the status of spill detector, the location of a spill - See at least ¶89).
Regarding claim 23, Fisher discloses wherein the control system is configured to process the image to identify a zone of the image, to identify presence of the material in the zone of the image, and to determine the material spill characteristic based on the presence of the material in the zone of the image (A camera of spill detector can be used to image spill and surface. Based at least on the colors, spill detector can segment (i.e. zone) the image and/or detect/identify spill. In some cases, based at least upon the detection/identification of spill from the images, spill detector can alert a user using display, wherein the user can view panel and determine if spill has been detected – See at least ¶139).
Claims 8 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher et al., US 20170355081A1, in view of John Lee Marsolek, US 20170228108 A1, hereinafter referred to as Fisher and Marsolek, respectively.
Regarding claim 8, Fisher fails to disclose wherein the control system is configured to generate a map of the worksite, and wherein the map comprises an indication of the material spill characteristic.
However, Marsolek teaches wherein the control system is configured to generate a map of the worksite, and wherein the map comprises an indication of the material spill characteristic (The processor is configured to generate an interactive map of the worksite on the display device – See at least ¶8. Off-board computer generates a map of an area containing one or more of haul trucks and generates a haul truck detail object for each haul truck on the map. Haul truck detail object include information, such as a capacity of material (i.e. material spill characteristic) in haul truck – See at least ¶81).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fisher and include the feature of wherein the control system is configured to generate a map of the worksite, and wherein the map comprises an indication of the material spill characteristic, as taught by Marsolek, for improving the efficiency or accuracy of an agricultural machine (See at least ¶6 of Marsolek).
Regarding claim 26, Fisher fails to disclose generating a map of a worksite at which the mobile machine operates, the comprising an indication of the material spill characteristic.
However, Marsolek teaches generating a map of a worksite at which the mobile machine operates, the comprising an indication of the material spill characteristic (The processor is configured to generate an interactive map of the worksite on the display device – See at least ¶8. Off-board computer generates a map of an area containing one or more of haul trucks and generates a haul truck detail object for each haul truck on the map. Haul truck detail object include information, such as a capacity of material (i.e. material spill characteristic) in haul truck – See at least ¶81).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fisher and include the feature of generating a map of a worksite at which the mobile machine operates, the comprising an indication of the material spill characteristic, as taught by Marsolek, for improving the efficiency or accuracy of an agricultural machine (See at least ¶6 of Marsolek).
Claims 9-10, 18 and 21-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher et al., US 20170355081A1, in view of Byttebier et al., US 20160249533 A1, hereinafter referred to as Fisher and Byttebier, respectively.
Regarding claim 9, Fisher fails to disclose wherein the control system is configured to determine, as the material spill characteristic, an amount of material spilled from the material receptacle over a side of the material receptacle based on the image.
However, Byttebier teaches wherein the control system is configured to determine, as the material spill characteristic, an amount of material spilled from the material receptacle over a side of the material receptacle based on the image (A material amount sensor may be provided that can detect the amount of material that is to be collected from the path. The material amount sensor may also be positioned in front of the agricultural harvesting machine. The material amount sensor may be a swath/crop measuring sensor as described above, which may be configured to determine the amount of material/crop at different regions of the path that is to be followed – See at least ¶69).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fisher and include the feature of wherein the control system is configured to determine, as the material spill characteristic, an amount of material spilled from the material receptacle over a side of the material receptacle based on the image, as taught by Byttebier, to maintain proper alignment, stability, and functional positing relative to a worksite surface.
Regarding claim 10, Fisher fails to disclose wherein the control system is configured to determine, as material spill characteristic, a location of material spilled from the material receptacle over a side of the material receptacle based on the image.
However, Byttebier teaches wherein the control system is configured to determine, as material spill characteristic, a location of material spilled from the material receptacle over a side of the material receptacle based on the image (A material location sensor may be provided that can detect the location of the material, (i.e. material outside) that is to be collected. The material location sensor may be positioned in front of the agricultural harvesting machine - See at least ¶66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fisher and include the feature of wherein the control system is configured to determine, as material spill characteristic, a location of material spilled from the material receptacle over a side of the material receptacle based on the image, as taught by Byttebier, to maintain proper alignment, stability, and functional positing relative to a worksite surface.
Regarding claim 18, Fisher fails to disclose wherein determining the material spill characteristic based on the sensor signal comprises: determining a spillage amount based on the sensor signal.
However, Byttebier teaches wherein determining the material spill characteristic based on the sensor signal comprises: determining a spillage amount based on the sensor signal (A material amount sensor may be provided that can detect the amount of material that is to be collected from the path. The material amount sensor may also be positioned in front of the agricultural harvesting machine. The material amount sensor may be a swath/crop measuring sensor as described above, which may be configured to determine the amount of material/crop at different regions of the path that is to be followed – See at least ¶69).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fisher and include the feature of wherein determining the material spill characteristic based on the sensor signal comprises: determining a spillage amount based on the sensor signal, as taught by Byttebier, to maintain proper alignment, stability, and functional positing relative to a worksite surface.
Regarding claim 21, Fisher fails to disclose wherein the imaging system includes a field of view that includes an interior of the material receptacle.
However, Byttebier teaches wherein the imaging system includes a field of view that includes an interior of the material receptacle (The camera is positioned such that it records images that include at least a portion of the container, and optionally also the stream of crop material as it passes from the discharge spout to the container – See at least ¶55-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fisher and include the feature of wherein the imaging system includes a field of view that includes an interior of the material receptacle, as taught by Byttebier, to maintain proper alignment, stability, and functional positing relative to a worksite surface.
Regarding claim 22, Fisher fails to disclose wherein the imaging system includes a field of view that includes an exterior of the material receptacle.
However, Byttebier teaches wherein the imaging system includes a field of view that includes an exterior of the material receptacle (Alternatively, details of such obstacles may be determined in real-time based on image processing of image data returned from a camera having a field of view in front of the agricultural harvesting machine and/or collection vehicle – See at least ¶63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fisher and include the feature of wherein the imaging system includes a field of view that includes an exterior of the material receptacle, as taught by Byttebier, to maintain proper alignment, stability, and functional positing relative to a worksite surface.
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher et al., US 20170355081A1, in view of Blank et al., US 20190277687 A1, hereinafter referred to as Fisher and Blank, respectively.
Regarding claim 24, Fisher fails to disclose wherein the control system is configured to control an interface mechanism of the mobile machine to generate an indication of the material spill characteristic.
However, Blank teaches wherein the control system is configured to control an interface mechanism of the mobile machine to generate an indication of the material spill characteristic (Operator can interact with operator interface mechanisms in order to control and manipulate various items of harvester. Control system can receive operator inputs and inputs from sensors and other items, and generate control signals to control the controllable subsystems. The controllable subsystems may include an elevator positioning subsystem that positions the elevator on harvester between an unloading position for unloading into wagon and a storage position. In this way, the location of the spout of the elevator (i.e. material spill characteristics) can be identified as well – See at least ¶69).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fisher and include the feature of wherein the control system is configured to control an interface mechanism of the mobile machine to generate an indication of the material spill characteristic, as taught by Blank, to maintain proper alignment, stability, and functional positing relative to a worksite surface.
Regarding claim 25, Fisher fails to disclose controlling an interface mechanism to generate an indication of the material spill characteristic.
However, Blank teaches controlling an interface mechanism to generate an indication of the material spill characteristic (Control signal generator can generate a variety of different types of control signals (or action signals) based upon the fill level metric output by system. For instance, it can control an operator interface mechanism to provide an indication to operator of the fill level (i.e. material characteristic) – See at least ¶37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fisher and include the feature of controlling an interface mechanism to generate an indication of the material spill characteristic, as taught by Blank, in order to generate a measure that is used to estimate a fill level of a wagon (See at least ¶4 of Blank).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 and 27-28 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Missotten et al., (US 20160150733 A1) discloses receive image data representative of a stream of crop material as it passes from the unloading apparatus to the container; process the image data in order to determine a shape of the stream of crop material in the image data; and set an attribute of the unloading apparatus in accordance with the determined shape of the stream of crop material in order to direct the crop material from the unloading apparatus to the container.
RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED
/MAHMOUD M KAZIMI/Examiner, Art Unit 3665