DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following office action is in response to the amendment and remarks filed on 11/26/25.
Applicant’s amendment to claims 1 and 16 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 11-15 and 18 are canceled.
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 16, 17, and 19-23 are pending and claims 2, 4-8, 10, 17, 19 and 20 are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 9, 16, and 21-23 are subject to examination at this time.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the reference JP 5185062 B2:
The reference JP 5185062 B2 discloses element (3) is a “wiring board”.
Applicant’s citation to patent family member Osumi, US 20110115081 A1, discloses element (3) is an “interconnect substrate”.
A circuit board is not only comprised of the board material, but also the circuit layers therein. Such circuit layers include metallization layers like “wiring” or “interconnect” layers (4). Because a circuit board can comprise a plurality of layers/elements, the “wiring” or “interconnect” layers (4) are a part of the circuit board. Referring to JP 5185062 fig. 4, the pin (5) is disposed directly on the circuit board (3) that comprises the “wiring” or “interconnect” layers (4).
Regarding the Kim reference:
The combination of Kim and Chen is not impermissible hindsight because Chen provides motivation to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim to expose a side surface of the first pin such that the first pin is electrically connectable to an external device by a part of a side surface.
Specifically, the 35 USC 103 rejection cites to Chen’s disclosure of the advantages at para. [0082]:
“Due to the recessing of molding material 120 and the exposure of the sidewalls of through-vias 122, solder regions 206 are also in contact with the sidewalls of through-vias 122, resulting in the increase in the contact area between through-vias 122 and solder regions 206. Accordingly, the contact resistance is reduced. Furthermore, the bonding strength is improved.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 16, 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese publication No. JP 5185062 B2 (of record, see attached English machine translation) in view of Wolter et al., US Publication No. 2016/0240492 A1 (of record).
The reference JP 5185062 B2 teaches:
A packaging device, comprising (see fig. 4):
a circuit board (3, “wiring board”) having a first surface (e.g. top surface);
a first packaging layer (11) covering the first surface, wherein the first plastic packaging layer comprises a first channel (e.g. opening in 11 due to displacement by 5), the first channel penetrates the first plastic packaging layer in a first direction (e.g. vertical direction), and the first direction is a direction perpendicular to the first surface; and
a first pin (5), wherein the first pin is disposed directly on the circuit board (3) and electrically connected to the circuit board (3), the first pin (5) is located in the first channel (e.g. opening in 11 due to displacement by 5), at least a part of the first pin (5) is connected to an inner wall of the first channel, a first conductive surface (e.g. top surface) of the first pin that is away from the circuit board (3) is exposed from the first channel and the first pin (5) extends out of the first channel in the first direction to form an exposed portion of the first pin, and the first pin (5) is electrically connectable to an external device (8) by the first conductive surface and a part of a side surface of the exposed portion of the first pin (e.g. In fig. 4, the top, first conductive surface and side surface of pin 5 is exposed.),
wherein the first channel e.g. opening in 11 due to displacement by 5) is a through hole, the first channel is located in an area enclosed by side surfaces of the first packaging layer (11), and the side surfaces of the first packaging layer (11) intersect the first surface (e.g. top surface of 3). See attached English machine translation pages 1-12, figs. 1-6.
Regarding claim 1:
JP 5185062 B2 teaches the first packaging layer is a mold resin, but does not expressly teach the material is plastic, -i.e. a plastic packaging layer.
In an analogous art, Wolter teaches (see figs. 1 and 5-8) a suitable material for a packaging layer (118, 518, 618, 718) may comprise plastic, polymer or epoxy. See Wolter at para. [0029].
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to form the packing layer from plastic, since it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended purpose as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See MPEP § 2144.07, Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose.
The reference JP 5185062 B2 further teaches:
9. The packaging device according to claim 1, wherein the packaging device further comprises a first electronic component (1);
the first electronic component (1) is disposed on the first surface (e.g. top surface), and is electrically connected to the circuit board (3); and an upper surface of the first electronic component that is away from the circuit board is flush with the upper surface of the first plastic packaging layer that is away from the circuit board, or
an upper surface of the first electronic component (3) that is away from the circuit board (3) is covered by the first plastic packaging layer (11), fig. 4.
Regarding claim 16:
The reference JP 5185062 B2 teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above.
The reference JP 5185062 B2 further teaches the added limitation:
16. An electronic device, comprising:
an external device (8);
…the first pin (5) is electrically connected to the external device (8) by a solder connection (10) that contacts the first conductive surface (e.g. top surface) and a part of a side surface of the exposed portion of the first pin (5), fig. 4.
Regarding claims 22 and 23:
The reference JP 5185062 B2 teaches the limitations as applied to claim 9 above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed inventio to modify the teachings of JP 5185062 B2 with the teachings of Wolter because “The mold or molding compound may be formed of any of a variety of different materials, depending on the nature of the package and its intended use. Suitable mold compounds may include…a plastic material… Alternatively, …other material may be used to protect the die.” See Wolter at para. [0029].
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese publication No. JP 5185062 B2 in view of Wolter, as applied to claim 16 above, in further view of Myung et al., US Publication No. 2013/0200531 A1.
Regarding claim 21:
The reference JP 5185062 B2 and Wolter teach all the limitations of claim 16 above, and JP 5185062 B2 further teaches:
21. The electronic device according to claim 16, further comprising a first electronic component (1) disposed on the first surface (e.g. top surface), and electrically connected to the circuit board (3), fig. 4.
The reference JP 5185062 B2 does not expressly teach:
an upper surface of the first electronic component that is away from the circuit board is flush with the upper surface of the first plastic packaging layer that is away from the circuit board.
In an analogous art, Myung teaches:
(see figs. 3 and 5) an upper surface of the first electronic component (200) that is away from the circuit board (100) is flush with the upper surface of the first packaging layer (300) that is away from the circuit board. See Myung at para. [0053].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed inventio to modify the teachings of JP 5185062 B2 with the teachings of Myung to reduce the size of the semiconductor package. See Myung ‘s disclosure of “As the thickness of an electronic device using the semiconductor package is gradually decreasing, the thickness of the semiconductor package is generally also reduced.” at para. [0053].
Claim(s) 1, 9, 16 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, US Publication No. 2012/0139090 A1 in view of Wolter et al., US Publication No. 2016/0240492 A1 (of record) and Chen et al., US Publication No. 2019/0259720 A1 (of record).
Kim teaches:
1. A packaging device, comprising (see fig. 5):
a circuit board (110L) having a first surface (e.g. top surface);
a first packaging layer (130L) covering the first surface, wherein the first plastic packaging layer comprises a first channel (e.g. opening in 130L due to displacement by 151a), the first channel penetrates the first packaging layer (130L) in a first direction (e.g. vertical direction), and the first direction is a direction perpendicular to the first surface (e.g. top surface); and
a first pin (151a), wherein the first pin is disposed directly on the circuit board (110L) and electrically connected to the circuit board (110L), the first pin (151a) is located in the first channel (e.g. opening in 130L due to displacement by 151a), at least a part of the first pin (151a) is connected to an inner wall of the first channel, a first conductive surface (e.g. top surface) of the first pin (151a) that is away from the circuit board (110L) is exposed from the first channel…and the first pin is electrically connectable to an external device (115U) by the first conductive surface (e.g. top surface)…,
wherein the first channel (e.g. opening in 130L due to displacement by 151a) is a through hole, the first channel is located in an area enclosed by side surfaces of the first packaging layer (130L), and the side surfaces of the first packaging layer (130L) intersect the first surface (e.g. top surface). See Kim at para. [0001] – [0126], figs. 1-8.
Regarding claim 1:
Kim teaches the first packaging layer is an epoxy or polyimide, but does not expressly teach the material is plastic, -i.e. a plastic packaging layer.
In an analogous art, Wolter teaches (see figs. 1 and 5-8) a suitable material for a packaging layer (118, 518, 618, 718) may comprise plastic, polymer or epoxy. See Wolter at para. [0029].
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to form the packing layer from plastic, since it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended purpose as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See MPEP § 2144.07, Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose.
Wolter shows that plastic, polymer or epoxy are considered equivalent materials known in the art for a packaging layer. Therefore, because these materials were art-recognized equivalents, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute Kim’s epoxy or polyimide material for plastic. Also see MPEP § 2144.06, Art Recognized Equivalence for the Same Purpose.
Kim does not expressly teach:
the first pin extends out of the first channel in the first direction to form an exposed portion of the first pin, and the first pin is electrically connectable to an external device by…a part of a side surface of the exposed portion of the first pin,
In an analogous art, Chen teaches:
(see figs. 23-25) the first pin (122) extends out of the first channel (e.g. opening in 120 due to displacement by 122) in the first direction (e.g. vertical direction) to form an exposed portion of the first pin, and the first pin (122) is electrically connectable to an external device (200) by the first conductive surface (e.g. top surface) and a part of a side surface of the exposed portion of the first pin (122). See Chen at para. [0078] – [0083]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with Chen to expose a side surface of the first pin such that the first pin is electrically connectable to an external device by a part of a side surface because Chen teaches the following advantage at para. [0082]:
“Due to the recessing of molding material 120 and the exposure of the sidewalls of through-vias 122, solder regions 206 are also in contact with the sidewalls of through-vias 122, resulting in the increase in the contact area between through-vias 122 and solder regions 206. Accordingly, the contact resistance is reduced. Furthermore, the bonding strength is improved.”
Kim further teaches:
9. The packaging device according to claim 1, wherein the packaging device further comprises a first electronic component (115L);
(see fig. 5) the first electronic component (115L) is disposed on the first surface (e.g. top surface), and is electrically connected to the circuit board (110L); and an upper surface of the first electronic component (115L) that is away from the circuit board is flush with the upper surface of the first plastic packaging layer (130L) that is away from the circuit board (110L), or
an upper surface of the first electronic component that is away from the circuit board is covered by the first plastic packaging layer.
Regarding claim 16:
Kim, Wolter and Chen teach the limitations as applied to claim 1 above.
Kim further teaches the added limitation:
an external device (105U);
…the first pin (151a) is electrically connected to the external device (150U) by a solder connection (152a).., fig. 5.
Chen also teaches:
an external device (200);
…the first pin (122) is electrically connected to the external device (200) by a solder connection (206)… fig. 24.
Regarding claim 21:
Kim, Wolter and Chen teach the limitations as applied to claim 9 above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed inventio to modify the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Wolter because “The mold or molding compound may be formed of any of a variety of different materials, depending on the nature of the package and its intended use. Suitable mold compounds may include…a plastic material… Alternatively, …other material may be used to protect the die.” See Wolter at para. [0029]. Furthermore, providing more than one material selection for the packaging layer enables greater flexibility in semiconductor manufacturing.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed inventio to modify the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Chen because “Due to the recessing of molding material 120 and the exposure of the sidewalls of through-vias 122, solder regions 206 are also in contact with the sidewalls of through-vias 122, resulting in the increase in the contact area between through-vias 122 and solder regions 206. Accordingly, the contact resistance is reduced. Furthermore, the bonding strength is improved.” See Chen at para. [0082].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michele Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818
29 January 2026