Response to Amendment
This Non-Final Rejection is filed in response to Request for Continued Examination filed 06/22/2026.
Claims 1 and 18-19 are amended.
Claims 23-24 are cancelled.
New Claim 26 is added.
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 15--16, 18-22, and 26 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Argument 1, Applicant argues in Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment filed 06/22/2026 on pg. 10, that Atcheson does not teach or suggest selecting and executing a selected model without manual selection by a user.
Response to Argument 1, the examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that the BRI for the primary claim limitations, “wherein the analysis of the query is based on at least one or a combination of one or more parameters of the query, boundary conditions of a prediction related to the query, and an attribute for which a predicted value is being requested, and wherein the selected model is not manually selected by a user related to the query”, would encompass how Atchison teaches automatically selecting an appropriate machine learning based on the outcome query specified by a user. In this way the user may start the automatic process for searching for an appropriate machine learning model, but the user is not manually selecting a model and is instead selecting an outcome and having the appropriate model automatically selected.
The following paragraphs of Atcheson support this interpretation.
para. [0062], Alternatively, the outcome selection model 114 may automatically determine model metadata 202 independent of any manual user input, such as by analyzing a data source 124 upon which the machine learning model 122 was initially trained
para. [0064], the outcome selection module 114 may identify a machine learning model 122 that outputs a likely vacation destination given input data describing a user's age, geographic location, and hobbies of interest
para. [0088], the search bar 1204 includes a query for a “Car Prediction” classifier model. In response to receiving the query, the user experience system 104 is configured to search the model metadata 202 and identify one or more machine learning models 122 that are described by information in their respective model metadata as being a classifier model and including the keywords “Car Prediction”
Argument 2, Applicant argues in Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment filed 06/22/2026 on pg. 11, Atcheson does not teach or suggest a “unified API”, but at most teaches a user input via a user interface.
Response to Argument 2, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s specification defines a unified API in para. [0039] as, “In some embodiments, the API wraps underlying different types of libraries that are capable of producing their own types of models that are grouped together, wherein the libraries have their own nuances and have entry points that are customized to each of them. In some embodiments, a unified API is provided by 1) selecting a forecasting library (i.e., Prophet); 2) manipulating the data to support training a bunch of models associated with the library (e.g., Prophet models) in parallel, one model per each configured group of data; 3) giving a unified API to interface with each of the distinct but homogenous models (e.g., Prophet models instead of, for example, pmdrima or statsmodels)”. Thus the BRI for a unified API is a system that automatically determines which specific model to invoke based on an analysis of a user’s query. Atchison teaches an equivalent of the BRI in that Atcheson teaches a user experience system in combination with a data translation model that automatically detects acceptable input types and formats for a potential model and translates profile data as necessary to ensure compatibility. The examiner notes that while a UI is used by the user experience system, the two are different as the UI is merely a source of data for the user experience system.
The following paragraphs of Atcheson support this interpretation.
para. [0055], the user experience system 104 implements the data translation module 118 to ensure that any profile information 112 provided to a machine learning model 122, or a machine learning model's output provided as input to a different machine learning model, is of a format and type that is compatible with the machine learning model
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) ) 1, 18-19, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20200160229 “Atcheson”.
Claim 1:
Atcheson teaches a system, comprising: one or more processors (i.e. para. [0119], the processing system 2404 is illustrated as including hardware element 2410 that may be configured as processor) configured to: deploy a set of one or more models on one or more compute resources (i.e. para. [0081], “The user interface 702 includes a display of multiple machine learning models, represented by the propensity model 704, the classifier model 706, the image recognition model 708, and the anomaly model 71”, wherein it is noted that the models are stored on compute resources such as a database), wherein each model is trained with a respective subset of training data, wherein a first subset of training data for a first model in the set is different from a second subset of training data for a second model in the set (i.e. para. [0054], Each machine learning model 122 may be associated with a respective data source 124 that is used to train the machine learning model 122); receive, at a unified application programming interface (API), a query (i.e. para. [0076], Fig. 4, “Control 406 is selectable to select one or more models or target outcomes for use in generating the user experience”, wherein the BRI for a query encompasses a user input query for a target outcome. The examiner notes that this query does not result in the manual selection of a model, but rather starts the automated process for finding a matching model to the user query); transmit (i.e. para. [0106], Fig. 7, User input is then received, specifying at least one target outcome to be generated for the profile information (block 2206). The user experience system 104, for instance, receives user input selecting one of the target outcomes), via the unified API, information on the query to the one or more compute resources (i.e. para. [0055], “the user experience system 104 implements the data translation module 118 to ensure that any profile information 112 provided to a machine learning model 122, or a machine learning model's output provided as input to a different machine learning model, is of a format and type that is compatible with the machine learning model”, wherein the BRI for a unified API encompasses the programmatic layer that is the user experience system and data translation module that acts as a standardizing layer so that the user query may interact appropriately with the distinct machine learning models); determine, by the system, a selected model from the set of one or more models to invoke based on an analysis of the query (i.e. para. [0064], Upon receiving a selection of an … target outcome, the outcome selection module retrieves a corresponding machine learning model 122); wherein the analysis of the query is based on at least one or a combination of one or more parameters of the query, boundary conditions of a prediction related to the query, and an attribute for which a predicted value is being requested (i.e. para. [0088], the search bar 1204 includes a query for a “Car Prediction” classifier model. In response to receiving the query, the user experience system 104 is configured to search the model metadata 202 and identify one or more machine learning models 122 that are described by information in their respective model metadata as being a classifier model and including the keywords “Car Prediction”), wherein the selected model is not manually selected by a user related to the query (i.e. para. [0062-0064], “Alternatively, the outcome selection model 114 may automatically determine model metadata 202 independent of any manual user input, such as by analyzing a data source 124 upon which the machine learning model 122 was initially trained… the outcome selection module 114 is configured to identify that additional information not included in tlaim he profile information 112 is necessary to generate an accurate output using the identified model and may search for an additional machine learning model that is useable to predict likely hobbies of interest given input data describing a user's age and geographic location. Thus, the outcome selection module 114 is configured to identify combinations of two or more machine learning models that may be used together to generate a desired output, thereby leveraging a range of different machine learning models to generate an output that otherwise could not be generated given the available profile information 112 and a single machine learning model 122”, wherein it is noted that the outcome selection model automatically examines the user query in order to automatically identify an appropriate model according to the user query. In this way the user is not directly selecting the model but rather participating in an automated process to select a model based on identified metadata);
execute the selected model on at least one compute resource by applying trained parameters of the selected model to at least the information on the query to generate outputs (i.e. para. [0064], the outcome selection module 114 may identify a machine learning model 122 that outputs a likely vacation destination given input data describing a user's age, geographic location, and hobbies of interest), and
receive, at the unified API, a response from the at least one compute resource generated based at least on the outputs from the selected model (i.e. para. [0065], The outcome selection module 114 communicates the indication of the one or more different machine learning models to the data translation module 116 along with their respective model metadata 202 to inform the data translation module 116 of a data type and format to be supplied to the different machine learning models.); and
a memory coupled to the one or more processors and configured to provide the one or more processors with instructions (i.e. para. [0120], The memory/storage component 2412 may include volatile media (such as random access memory (RAM)) and/or nonvolatile media (such as read only memory (ROM)).
Claim 18:
Claim 18 is the method claim reciting similar limitations to Claim 1 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 19:
Claim 19 is the product claim reciting similar limitations to Claim 1 and is rejected for similar reasons
Claim 26:
Atcheson teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the unified API is not a user interface (i.e. para. [0055], “the user experience system 104 implements the data translation module 118 to ensure that any profile information 112 provided to a machine learning model 122, or a machine learning model's output provided as input to a different machine learning model, is of a format and type that is compatible with the machine learning model”, wherein the BRI for a unified API encompasses the programmatic layer that is the user experience system and data translation module that acts as a standardizing layer so that the user query may interact appropriately with the distinct machine learning models).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6, 9, 11, & 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20200160229 “Atcheson” and further in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20220180146 “Saxena”.
Claim 2:
Atcheson teaches the system of claim 1.
While Atcheson teaches the concept that some of the deployed models can be optimized (i.t. para. [0072], Generally, a gradient descent model can be implemented as an optimization algorithm designed to find the minimum of a function, and in the illustrated example implementation 300, optimizes for the loss function algorithm 316), Atcheson may not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
determine a plurality of optimizer modules with which to optimize the set of the one or more models; and cause the plurality of optimizer modules to respectively perform a respective optimizing process with respect to at least one model of the set of the one or more models.
However, Saxena teaches
determine a plurality of optimizer modules with which to optimize the set of the one or more models (i.e. para. [0092], Fig. 5, “the weighted aggregated single objective 518 is transmitted to a single objective joint optimization module 526 configured to define a ML pipeline 460 to optimize each aggregated single objective”, wherein the BRI for a plurality of optimizer modules encompasses that a plurality of optimization solutions may be determined based on each objective to be optimized based things such as user-specified object weights of the collected one or more collected models); and cause the plurality of optimizer modules to respectively perform a respective optimizing process with respect to at least one model of the set of the one or more models (i.e. para. [0076], “dominance is used to determine the quality of the solutions where a first solution is said to dominate a second solution if the first solution is better than or at least equal to the second solution in all objectives, and the first solution is strictly better than the second solution in at least one objective. Those solutions which are not dominated by any of the other solutions in light of all of the objectives are referred to as a Pareto-optimal solutions through Pareto optimization, i.e., Pareto-optimal solutions are non-dominated solutions and no other solution dominates them”, wherein the respective solution module is selected based on the objective selected for the model and in part by the dominance of the solution or if the solution is determined to be the best or Pareto-optimal).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add models; and cause the plurality of optimizer modules to respectively perform a respective optimizing process with respect to at least one model of the set of the one or more models, to Atcheson’s library of pre-trained models, with how a plurality of optimizer solutions may be applied to each respective algorithm, as taught by Saxena. One would have been motivated to combine Saxena with Atcheson and would have had a reasonable expectation of success as the combination improves robustness of computing functions, computing efficiency, time to generate a prediction as each model may have a tailor fit optimizer.
Claim 3:
Atcheson teaches the system of claim 1.
However, Atcheson may not explicitly teach
wherein the set of the one or more models are optimized according to a predetermined time interval
Saxena further teaches
wherein the set of the one or more models are optimized according to a predetermined time interval (i.e. para. [0096], “in some embodiments, the number of iterations N is bounded by the allotted processing time and/or the compute budget to generate N Pareto-optimal solutions 602 to define the Pareto-front 604”, wherein the BRI for a predetermined time interval encompasses how models may be optimized according to an allotted processing time or budget).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the set of the one or more models are optimized according to a predetermined time interval, to Atcheson’s library of pre-trained models, with wherein the set of the one or more models are optimized according to a predetermined time interval, as taught by Saxena. One would have been motivated to combine Saxena with Atcheson and would have had a reasonable expectation of success as the combination improves robustness of computing functions, computing efficiency, time to generate a prediction as each model may have a tailor fit optimizer.
Claim 4:
Atcheson and Saxena teach the system of claim 2,
Saxena further teaches wherein optimizing the set of the one or more models comprises:
obtaining a respective starting set of parameters with which to optimize the set of the one or more models (i.e. para. [0072], “F(x) is an expression of one or more objective values extending over a domain of x, and the optimization problem Min F(x) is solved through an algorithm that is configured to determine the solutions yielding minimum values for each f(x), where each f(x) is an objective function, and each x represents an optimization parameter”, wherein the BRI for a starting set of parameters encompasses the set of objectives for the respective models that are to be optimized); and running, by each of the plurality of optimizer modules, the respective optimizing process in connection with optimizing, based at least in part on the respective starting set of parameters, a particular model of the set of one or more models to optimize (i.e. para. [0072], each Pareto-optimal solution is a decision vector which optimizes F(x), and the decision vectors x are input vectors and F(x) is the output vector. In the case of the multi-objective ML problem that is to be solved, and as described further herein, each decision vector x denotes a ML pipeline determined by the choice of data transformers and ML model together with their hyperparameters).
Claim 5:
Atcheson and Saxena teach the system of claim 4.
Saxena further teaches wherein: at least two of the plurality of optimizer modules optimize a same model selected from among the plurality of respective models to be optimized (i.e. para. [0081], the Pareto-front includes the plurality of objective values F(x), i.e., the optimized numerical values associated with each point on the Pareto-front resulting from optimizing the respective aggregated single objective. For example, for the set of x, i.e., {x.sup.1, x.sup.2, . . . x.sup.k} that denotes the set of Pareto-optimal solutions, then the Pareto-front includes the set of objective values on these Pareto-optimal solutions); and the at least two of the plurality of optimizer modules optimize the same model using a different starting set of parameters (i.e. para. [0079], “the weights facilitate transforming the multi-objective problem to a single-objective formulation by performing a weighted aggregation of multiple objectives into a combined/aggregated single objective, thereby facilitating alignment of the transformers, hyperparameters, and models in the ML pipeline”, wherein the plurality of objectives to be optimized may be combined into one single objective that may be used to optimize a model).
Claim 6:
Atcheson and Saxena teach the system of claim 5.
Saxena further teaches wherein the at least two of the plurality of optimizer modules optimize parameters of the first model and parameters of the second model in parallel (i.e. para. [0069], Fig. 5, “for example, two blocks shown in succession may, in fact, be accomplished as one step, executed concurrently, substantially concurrently, in a partially or wholly temporally overlapping manner”, wherein the combined objective solutions into a single joint objective optimization module may concurrently optimize a model”, wherein N optimization parameters may be optimized). .
Claim 9:
Atcheson and Saxena teach the system of claim 4.
Saxena further teaches
wherein running the respective optimizing process includes performing at least a number of iterations of training the particular model of the plurality of respective models to be optimized (i.e. para. [0081], A selectable number of iterations are performed such that a Pareto-front is generated… the weights on the next iterative run may be adjusted either through the uniform weights, through adaptive weighting as a function of the previous objective values, or through user-selected weights).
Claim 11:
Atcheson and Saxena teach the system of claim 2.
Saxena further teaches wherein determining the plurality of optimizer modules comprises: determining a set of available threads (i.e. para. [0027], Resource pooling: the provider's computing resources are pooled to serve multiple consumers using a multi-tenant model, with different physical and virtual resources dynamically assigned and reassigned according to demand); and creating a pool of threads with which to implement the plurality of optimizer modules (i.e. para. [0023], cloud computing is a model of service delivery for enabling convenient, on-demand network access to a shared pool of configurable computing resources (e.g., networks, network bandwidth, servers, processing, memory, storage, applications, virtual machines, and services).
Claim 20:
Atcheson teaches the system of claim 1.
(i.e. para. [0054], “Each machine learning model 122 may be associated with a respective data source 124 that is used to train the machine learning model 122”, wherein different models may have different and respective data source training parameters).
While Atcheson teaches that the models may run on compute resources, Atcheson may not explicitly teach
wherein the one or more compute resources are one or more virtual machines (VM).
However, Saxena further teaches
wherein the one or more compute resources are one or more virtual machines (VM) (i.e. para. [0023], “Cloud computing is a model of service delivery for enabling convenient, on-demand network access to a shared pool of configurable computing resources (e.g., networks, network bandwidth, servers, processing, memory, storage, applications, virtual machines, and services)”, wherein it is noted that the plurality of ML algorithms may be deployed on computing resources such as virtual machines).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the one or more compute resources are one or more virtual machines (VM), to Atcheson’s stored machine learning models, with how machine learning algorithms may be enabled using virtual machines in the cloud, as taught by Saxena. One would have been motivated to combine Saxena and Atcheson because deploying resources using cloud computing that can be rapidly provisioned and released with minimal management effort or interaction with a provider of the service.
Claim 21:
Claim 21 is the method claim reciting similar limitations to Claim 20 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 22:
Claim 22 is the product claim reciting similar limitations to Claim 20 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim(s) 8, & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20200160229 “Atcheson” and further in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20220180146 “Saxena”, as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in light of U.S. Patent NO. 9569745 “Ananthanarayanan”.
Claim 8:
Atcheson and Saxena teach the system of claim 2.
While Saxena teaches a plurality of optimizer modules, Saxena may not explicitly teach
wherein each of the plurality of optimizer modules is run on a different thread or compute node.
However, Ananthanarayanan teaches
wherein each of the plurality of optimizer modules is run on a is different thread or compute node (i.e. Col. 9, lines 45-55, multiple optimization techniques may be run in parallel, such as by separate processing devices or on separate threads of a single processing device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein each of the plurality of optimizer modules is run on a is different thread or compute node, to Atcheson-Saxena’s machine learning optimization programs, with how different optimization techniques may be run in parallel on separate threads, as taught by Ananthanarayanan. One would have been motivated to combine Ananthanarayanan and Atcheson-Saxena as specializing threads in multithreading enhances performance and resource utilization by assigning specific tasks or functionalities to each thread, allowing for efficient execution and improved responsiveness.
Claim 12:
Atcheson and Saxena teach the system of claim 11.
Saxena further teaches wherein: (i.e. para. [0093], “hyperparameter optimization or hyperparameter tuning is associated with the problem of choosing a set of optimal hyperparameters for a learning algorithm… These measures may be the hyperparameters, and the hyperparameters have to be tuned so that the model can optimally solve the machine learning problem presented thereto. Hyperparameter optimization finds a tuple of hyperparameters that yields an optimal model which minimizes a predefined loss function on given independent data”, wherein the BRI for an optimized model being selected encompasses how a tuple of tuned hyperparameters are found and used to yield an optimal model over iterations).
While Saxena teaches a plurality of optimizer modules, Saxena may not explicitly teach that
the plurality of optimizer modules are respectively implemented on different threads from the pool of threads
However, Ananthanarayanan teaches that
the plurality of optimizer modules are respectively implemented on different threads from the pool of threads (i.e. Col. 9, lines 45-55, multiple optimization techniques may be run in parallel, such as by separate processing devices or on separate threads of a single processing device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the plurality of optimizer modules are respectively implemented on different threads from the pool of threads, to Atcheson-Saxena’s machine learning optimization programs, with how different optimization techniques may be run in parallel on separate threads, as taught by Ananthanarayanan. One would have been motivated to combine Ananthanarayanan and Atcheson-Saxena as specializing threads in multithreading enhances performance and resource utilization by assigning specific tasks or functionalities to each thread, allowing for efficient execution and improved responsiveness.
Claim(s) 10, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over .S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20200160229 “Atcheson” and further in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20220180146 “Saxena”, as applied to Claim 4 above, and further in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20210232920 “Parangi”.
Claim 10:
Atcheson and Saxena teach the system of claim 4.
Saxena may not explicitly teach
wherein a training dataset used in connection with optimizing the particular model is stored in cache while a particular optimizer module runs the respective optimization process.
However, Parangi teaches
wherein a training dataset used in connection with optimizing the particular model is stored in cache while a particular optimizer module runs the respective optimization process (i.e. para. [0031, 0075], Figs 1, 4C, “the system not only optimizes a specific model but also optimizes how that model is generated, and potentially that feedback process as well, and so on); training, by the machine learning engine, the machine learning model using the second training data set … a cache memory 440 in communication with the central processing unit 421”, wherein it is noted that the optimized machine learning model and a training data set may reside in the cache memory).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein a training dataset used in connection with optimizing the particular model is stored in cache while a particular optimizer module runs the respective optimization process, to Atcheson-Saxena’s machine learning plurality of optimization programs that optimize a plurality of models, with how an optimized model and its training data may be stored in cache memory, as taught by Parangi. One would have been motivated to combine Parangi and Atcheson-Saxena because caching model data during training significantly speeds up the process by storing frequently accessed data in a temporary location, reducing the need for repeated computations and improving overall efficiency.
Claim 15:
Atcheson and Saxena teach the system of claim 2.
Saxena may not explicitly teach
wherein the at least one of the one or more models is stored in cache during optimization with respect to at least one model.
However, Parangi teaches
wherein the at least one of the one or more models is stored in cache during optimization with respect to at least one model (i.e. para. [0031, 0075], Figs 1, 4C, “the system not only optimizes a specific model but also optimizes how that model is generated, and potentially that feedback process as well, and so on); training, by the machine learning engine, the machine learning model using the second training data set … a cache memory 440 in communication with the central processing unit 421”, wherein it is noted that the optimized machine learning model and a training data set may reside in the cache memory).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the at least one of the one or more models is stored in cache during optimization with respect to at least one model, to Atcheson-Saxena’s machine learning plurality of optimization programs that optimize a plurality of models, with how an optimized model and its training data may be stored in cache memory, as taught by Parangi. One would have been motivated to combine Parangi and Atcheson-Saxena because caching model data during training significantly speeds up the process by storing frequently accessed data in a temporary location, reducing the need for repeated computations and improving overall efficiency.
Claim 16:
Atcheson and Saxena teach the system of claim 2.
Saxena may not explicitly teach
wherein at least a subset of the set of the one or more models are obtained and stored in a cache in response to determining to optimize the subset of the set of the one or more models.
However, Parangi teaches
wherein at least a subset of the set of the one or more models are obtained and stored in a cache in response to determining to optimize the subset of the set of the one or more models (i.e. para. [0017, 0031, 0075], Figs 1, 4C, “The system 100 may include a plurality of machine learning models 107a-n… the system not only optimizes a specific model but also optimizes how that model is generated, and potentially that feedback process as well, and so on); training, by the machine learning engine, the machine learning model using the second training data set … a cache memory 440 in communication with the central processing unit 421”, wherein it is noted that the optimized machine learning model and a training data set may reside in the cache memory).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein at least a subset of the set of the one or more models are obtained and stored in a cache in response to determining to optimize the subset of the set of the one or more models, to Atcheson-Saxena’s machine learning plurality of optimization programs that optimize a plurality of models, with how a subset of machine learning models and its training data may be stored in cache memory in response to be specified for optimization, as taught by Parangi. One would have been motivated to combine Parangi and Atcheson-Saxena because caching model data during training significantly speeds up the process by storing frequently accessed data in a temporary location, reducing the need for repeated computations and improving overall efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20210304073 “Li” teaches in para. [0106], The model optimizer module may utilize multiple graphics processing units (GPUs), multiple processing cores, and multiple processing computing clusters to efficiently optimize the generated models. The model optimizer module may also generate model optimization information relating to the optimization process for a corresponding model and solution.
/D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2145
/CHAU T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2145