DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-13 and 83 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Silverbrook (US 6,383,833 B1)
Regarding claims 1-4, 9-13 and 83:
re claim 1, Silverbrook discloses (in Figs. 1, 7 and 8) a micro-component module, comprising:
a module substrate 10 (Col. 2, line 38) having a top side and an opposing bottom side, wherein the module substrate is flexible (e.g., the module substrate 10 in Figs. 7-8 can be separated into portions, i.e., substrate 10 is not a single, rigid substrate);
a component 16 (Col. 2, lines 40-42) disposed on [an opposing side of] the top side of the module substrate 10; and
a module tether 24 (Figs. 7-8 and Col. 2, line 61),
wherein the module tether 24 extends (i) beyond the module substrate 10 and (ii) directly
beneath only a portion of the bottom side of the [entire] module substrate 10 and within only a portion of [an entire orthographical projection of] the module substrate 10;
re claim 2, the micro-component module of claim 1, wherein the module tether 24 extends beneath only a portion of the bottom side of the [entire] module substrate 10;
re claim 3, the micro-component module of claim 1, wherein the module tether extends within only a portion of [the entire orthographical projection of] the module substrate;
re claim 4, the micro-component module of claim 1, wherein the module tether 24 further extends on only [an opposing side of] a portion of the top side of the [entire] module substrate;
re claim 9, the micro-component module of claim 1, wherein the module tether 24 is broken (Fig. 8);
re claim 10, the micro-component module of claim 1, further comprising a second module tether (e.g., in Figs. 7-8, there are a plurality of module tethers 24) wherein the second module tether extends (i) beyond the module substrate 10 and (ii) directly beneath only a portion of the bottom side of the module substrate 10, within only a portion of [an entire orthographical projection of] the module substrate 10, or both;
re claim 11, the micro-component module of claim 1, comprising an encapsulation layer 56 (Fig. 8) disposed on [a bottom side] the module substrate 10 and the component 16 and wherein the module tether 24 extends directly over only a portion of the encapsulation layer 57 (i.e., in Fig. 8, the module tether 24 being removed overlaps only a portion of the encapsulation layer 57 due to the opening for the UV light 54);
re claim 12, the micro-component module of claim 1, comprising an encapsulation layer 57 (Fig. 8) disposed on [a bottom side] the module substrate 10 and the component 16 and wherein the encapsulation layer 57 extends directly over only a portion of [an entire orthographical projection of] the module tether 24 (i.e., encapsulation layer 57 has an opening, therefore, it cannot extend directly over an entire orthographical projection of the module tether 24);
re claim 13, the micro-component module of claim 11, wherein the encapsulation layer 57 comprises a same material (e.g., atoms, neutrons, protons, or electrons) as the module substrate 10; and
re claim 83, A micro-component module, comprising:
a module substrate 10 (Col. 2, line 38) having a top side and an opposing bottom side, wherein the module substrate is flexible (e.g., the module substrate 10 in Figs. 7-8 can be separated into portions, i.e., substrate 10 is not a single, rigid substrate);
a component 16 (Col. 2, lines 40-42) disposed on [an opposing side of] the top side of the module substrate; and
a module tether 24 (Figs. 7-8 and Col. 2, line 61),
wherein the module tether 24 extends (i) beyond the module substrate 10 and (ii) directly
beneath only a portion of the bottom side of the [entire] module substrate.
Therefore, Silverbrook anticipates claims 1-4, 9-13 and 83
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silverbrook.
Regarding claims 5-8:
The current claims are essentially directed to, or related to, specific materials for the module substrate and module tether. Although Silverbrook does not specifically disclose materials as currently recited, the current claims are deemed obvious because the general conditions of the claimed invention have been disclosed, and given Silverbrook, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to incorporate well known materials according to there suitability for the intended purpose. In other word, the materials recited in the current claims are well known in the art, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to incorporate such well-known materials without extensive experimentation. Note that it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (MPEP 2144.07). In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silverbrook in view of Yeh et al. (US 2013/0140655 A1; hereinafter, “Yeh”).
Regarding claim 14:
Silverbrook anticipates the micro-component module of claim 1 and discloses the micro-component module is a MEMS chip; however, Silverbrook does not disclose exactly how the MEMS chip would be mounted on a source wafer.
Yeh teaches a MEMS chip 216 (Fig. 2 and [0019]) suspended over a source wafer 202 by a module tether 218/230 defining a gap between the micro-component module 216 and the wafer 202. Yeh discloses such a structure provides an acoustic transducer [0004 and 0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to specifically mount Silverbrook’s MEMS chip on a source wafer, as taught by Yeh, because such a structure could provide an acoustic transducer.
Regarding claim 15:
Although Silverbrook is silent as to whether the module substrate 10 is curved, however, the module substrate comprises chambers 34/36 (Fig. 1); accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to specifically incorporate chambers 34/36 such that the upper corners of the chambers have a slight curvature in order to prevent that the struts 30 from breaking off. Furthermore, when Silverbrook’s MEMS chip is incorporated with a source wafer, as taught by Yeh, the module substrate 10 would not be in contact with the wafer other than by the module tether 24, which is a support for the MEMS chip.
Remarks
Claims 16-20 remain withdrawn from consideration.
The amendment to the claims overcome the prior rejections; however, the currents claims are broad enough to be anticipated or rendered obvious by Silverbrook and Yeh.
Conclusion
/LEX H MALSAWMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892