DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 10/16/2025. As directed by the amendment: claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8, and 10 have been amended. Thus, claims 1 and 3-10 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed 10/16/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of the independent claim(s), in particular pertaining to the amendments better defining the claimed transverse plane and the interpretation of such claim terms discussed in the interview dated 10/6/2025, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019022408 A1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the prior art of record and the teaching reference of “DSPORT Performance and Tech Magazine, "The Science Behind Modern Performance Engine Bearings | Simple Complexity", PAGE 2, URL: https://dsportmag.com/the-tech/the-science-behind-modern-performance-engine-bearings-simple-complexity/2/, 21OCT2015” which teaches the elongate bearing limitation determining the bounds and orientation of the claimed transverse plane, central axis, and first/second directions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190224408 A1, henceforth written as Thomas, in view of “DSPORT Performance and Tech Magazine, "The Science Behind Modern Performance Engine Bearings | Simple Complexity", PAGE 2, URL: https://dsportmag.com/the-tech/the-science-behind-modern-performance-engine-bearings-simple-complexity/2/, 21OCT2015”, henceforth written as DSPORT.
Regarding Claim 1,
Thomas discloses:
A drive device comprising:
(device 1; fig 1-7)
a feed screw configured to rotate about a central axis;
(paragraph 49; drive rod 14 rotates about R1; fig 2; see examiner's annotation of Thomas' fig 2 and fig 3, below, illustrating the claimed axes and direction)
and a guided member configured to be guided in an axial direction along the central axis;
(pusher 12 and drive element 13 constitute the claimed guided member, and move in pushing direction P along axis R1; fig 2)
wherein the guided member comprises at least one nut member
(paragraph 47; clutch elements 130ab each constituting half nuts; fig 2-3)
having a screw portion screwed with the feed screw;
(paragraph 47; which spans the drive rod receptacle 132 of each clutch element 130a 130b is considered the claimed screw portion; fig 3)
wherein: in a transverse plane orthogonal to the central axis, the screw portion is configured to move in both a first direction toward the central axis and a second direction intersecting the first direction;
(fig 3 and examiner's annotated figure, below, demonstrate that the claimed screw portion demonstrates that as clutch elements 130ab move in the clutch direction C, the claimed screw portion moves in both a first direction toward the axis of the second direction to narrow a gap between receptacles 132 and secure around rod 14, and move in the second direction by rotating down around drive rod 14)
the at least one nut member has a bearing portion configured to turn the screw portion such that, in the transverse plane orthogonal to the central axis, the screw portion moves in the first direction;
(paragraph 58; each clutch element 130a 130b has a bearing hole (not enumerated) for pivotably connecting the clutch element 130a 130b about pivot axis 134, therein being configured to turn rod receptacle 132 disposed on the pivoted clutch element 130a 130b; fig 3-4)
Thomas discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
in the transverse plane orthogonal to the central axis, the bearing portion has an elongated hole shape that is elongated in the second direction.
However DSPORT teaches bearings for drive system wherein:
It is advantageous for a bearing of a drive system to be engineered to be shorter in the areas where the largest force is transmitted, thus the bearing has an oval -or elongated in a second direction- shape, such that under extreme loading the oval may deform to be slightly rounder and avoid metal to metal contact by permitting a hydrodynamic state of oil flow between the moving parts. Additionally, the eccentricity of this shape permits accommodation of rods received within the bearing which are not properly machined to be in an ideal tolerance/size relative to the bearing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement DSPORT’s teachings of an oval shaped bearing improving the reception of threaded drive rods and permitting improved oil lubricant hydrodynamics to the bearing of Thomas, such that Thomas’ bearing portion is oval shaped and lubricated so as to be elongated in the claimed second direction, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which avoids metal-to-metal contact under extreme loading and lubricates contacting components upon relative rotation, therein improving the fatigue resistance of the invention and the longevity of its components over its entire lifecycle, as well as accommodating rods of varied manufactured tolerances.
Regarding claim 3, the modified invention of Thomas in view of DSPORT discloses:
The drive device according to claim 1, wherein: the at least one nut member a first nut member and a second nut member;
Thomas: (paragraph 47; clutch element 130a 130b)
and the screw portions of the first nut member and the second nut member are arranged so as to sandwich the feed screw.
Thomas: (fig 3-7 illustrate the receptacle 132 of clutch element 130a 130b mate with either side of drive rod 14)
Regarding claim 4, the modified invention of Thomas in view of DSPORT discloses:
The drive device according to claim 3, wherein: the guided member has a shaft member received by both of the bearing portions of the first nut member and the second nut member.
Thomas: (paragraph 58; frame member 131 has an element (not enumerated) for pivotably connecting clutch elements 130a 130b at, and permitting rotation about, a common pivot axis 134; fig 3-7)
Regarding claim 5, the modified invention of Thomas in view of DSPORT discloses:
The drive device according to claim 4, wherein: the guided member comprises a housing to which the shaft member is attached and that accommodates the first nut member and the second nut member.
Thomas: (housing of frame 131 accommodates clutch elements 130ab within it, and fig 3-7 demonstrate the attachment of the element spanning pivot axis 134 to frame 131)
Regarding claim 6, the modified invention of Thomas in view of DSPORT discloses:
The drive device according to claim 1, further comprising: a switching member configured to switch a position of the screw portion between
Thomas: (cam element 18; fig 4-7)
(i) a screwing position in which the screw portion is screwed with the feed screw, and (ii) a non- screwing position in which the screw portion is not screwed with the feed screw.
Thomas: (paragraph 63-65; clutching device 13 is switched from a clutched to unclutched position via cam element 18, where clutch elements 130a 130b have and haven't screwed with drive rod 14; fig 3-7)
Regarding claim 7, the modified invention of Thomas in view of DSPORT discloses:
The drive device according to claim 6, wherein: the switching member comprises a cam configured to slide with respect to the at least one nut member.
Thomas: (fig 7 demonstrates that cam body portion 182, of cam 18, slides relative to clutch elements 130a 130b)
Regarding Claim 8,
Thomas discloses:
A medical infusion pump comprising: a drive device comprising:
(paragraph 3+41; device 1, of the embodiment of fig 4-7, for infusing a syringe 2 containing medical fluid; best illustrated in the whole by fig 1)
a feed screw configured to rotate about a central axis;
(paragraph 49; drive rod 14 rotates about R1; fig 2; see examiner's annotation of Thomas' fig 2 and fig 3 illustrating the claimed axes and direction, above)
and a guided member configured to be guided in an axial direction along the central axis;
(pusher 12 and drive element 13 constitute the claimed guided member, and move in pushing direction P along axis R1; fig 2)
wherein the guided member comprises at least one nut member
(paragraph 47; clutch elements 130ab each constituting half nuts; fig 2-3)
having a screw portion screwed with the feed screw,
(paragraph 47; which spans the drive rod receptacle 132 of each clutch element 130a 130b is considered the claimed screw portion; fig 3)
wherein: in a transverse plane orthogonal to the central axis, the screw portion is configured to move in both a first direction toward the central axis and a second direction intersecting the first direction;
(fig 3 and examiner's annotated figure, above, demonstrate that the claimed screw portion demonstrates that as clutch elements 130ab move in the clutch direction C, the claimed screw portion moves in both a first direction toward the axis of the second direction to narrow a gap between receptacles 132 and secure around rod 14, and move in the second direction by rotating down around drive rod 14)
the at least one nut member has a bearing portion configured to turn the screw portion such that, in the transverse plane orthogonal to the central axis, the screw portion moves in the first direction;
(paragraph 58; each clutch element 130a 130b has a bearing hole (not enumerated) for pivotably connecting the clutch element 130a 130b about pivot axis 134, therein being configured to turn rod receptacle 132 disposed on the pivoted clutch element 130a 130b; fig 3-4)
Thomas discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
in the transverse plane orthogonal to the central axis, the bearing portion has an elongated hole shape that is elongated in the second direction.
However DSPORT teaches bearings for drive system wherein:
It is advantageous for a bearing of a drive system to be engineered to be shorter in the areas where the largest force is transmitted, thus the bearing has an oval -or elongated in a second direction- shape, such that under extreme loading the oval may deform to be slightly rounder and avoid metal to metal contact by permitting a hydrodynamic state of oil flow between the moving parts. Additionally, the eccentricity of this shape permits accommodation of rods received within the bearing which are not properly machined to be in an ideal tolerance/size relative to the bearing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement DSPORT’s teachings of an oval shaped bearing improving the reception of threaded drive rods and permitting improved oil lubricant hydrodynamics to the bearing of Thomas, such that Thomas’ bearing portion is oval shaped and lubricated so as to be elongated in the claimed second direction, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which avoids metal-to-metal contact under extreme loading and lubricates contacting components upon relative rotation, therein improving the fatigue resistance of the invention and the longevity of its components over its entire lifecycle, as well as accommodating rods of varied manufactured tolerances.
Regarding claim 9, the modified invention of Thomas in view of DSPORT discloses:
The medical infusion pump according to claim 8, further comprising: a case
Thomas: (housing 10 of the embodiment of fig 4-7, best illustrated in fig 1)
that comprises a placement unit configured to receive a syringe that comprises a syringe body and a plunger;
Thomas: (paragraph 43; fixation device 110 receives syringe 2; fig 1)
wherein the guided member comprises a pressing portion configured to press the plunger of the syringe.
Thomas: (fig 1, demonstrates that push device 12 has a surface (not enumerated) which presses against piston 21)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas in view of DSPort, and further in view of US 4939946 A, henceforth written as Teramachi.
Regarding Claim 10,
Thomas discloses:
A drive device comprising:
(device 1; fig 1-7)
a feed screw configured to rotate about a central axis;
(paragraph 49; drive rod 14 rotates about R1; fig 2; see examiner's annotation of Thomas' fig 2 and fig 3 illustrating the claimed axes and direction)
a motor configured to rotate the feed screw;
(paragraph 49; electric drive motor 141 rotates drive rod 14; fig 2)
a guide member
(the claimed guide member comprises at least guide device 120, rod 14, and spindle 160, best illustrated by fig 2)
comprising a plurality of rod members extending in an axial direction along the central axis,
(fig 2 showing rod 14 and spindle 160 extending along axis R1)
and a guide tube portion;
(paragraph 44; guide device 120 constitutes the claimed guide tube portion; fig 1)
and a guided member configured to be guided by the guide member in the axial direction, wherein the guided member comprises:
(pusher 12 and drive element 13 constitute the claimed guided member, and move in pushing direction P along axis R1; fig 2)
a housing configured to slide with respect to the plurality of rod members,
(frame member 131; fig 2-3)
an end member comprising a pressing portion configured to press a plunger of a syringe,
(See fig 1, pusher device 12 has a surface (not enumerated) which presses against piston 21)
a -- shaft configured to slide with respect to the guide tube portion,
(paragraph 44+46; connecting rod 121 move in pushing direction P relative to claimed guide tube portion; fig 1-2)
wherein a first end of the -- shaft is connected to the housing, and a second end of the -- shaft is connected to the end member,
(fig 2 best illustrates rod 121 being connected to frame member 131 and pushing surface (not enumerated) of device 12)
and a first nut member and a second nut member,
(paragraph 47; clutch elements 130ab each constituting half nuts; fig 2-3)
each having a screw portion screwed with the feed screw;
(paragraph 47; which spans the drive rod receptacle 132 of each clutch element 130a 130b is considered the claimed screw portion; fig 3)
wherein: in a transverse plane orthogonal to the central axis, each screw portion is configured to move in both a respective first direction toward the central axis and a respective second direction intersecting the first direction;
(fig 3 and examiner's annotated figure, below, demonstrate that the claimed screw portion demonstrates that as clutch elements 130ab move in the clutch direction C, the claimed screw portion moves in both a first direction toward the axis of the second direction to narrow a gap between receptacles 132 and secure around rod 14, and move in the second direction by rotating down around drive rod 14)
each of the first nut member and the second nut member has a bearing portion configured to turn the screw portion such that, in the transverse plane orthogonal to the central axis, the screw portion moves in the first direction;
(paragraph 58; each clutch element 130a 130b has a bearing hole (not enumerated) for pivotably connecting the clutch element 130a 130b about pivot axis 134, therein being configured to turn rod receptacle 132 disposed on the pivoted clutch element 130a 130b; fig 3-4)
Thomas discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
and in the transverse plane orthogonal to the central axis, each bearing portion of the first nut member and the second nut member has an elongated hole shape that is elongated in the second direction
However DSPORT teaches bearings for drive system wherein:
It is advantageous for a bearing of a drive system to be engineered to be shorter in the areas where the largest force is transmitted, thus the bearing has an oval -or elongated in a second direction- shape, such that under extreme loading the oval may deform to be slightly rounder and avoid metal to metal contact by permitting a hydrodynamic state of oil flow between the moving parts. Additionally, the eccentricity of this shape permits accommodation of rods received within the bearing which are not properly machined to be in an ideal tolerance/size relative to the bearing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement DSPORT’s teachings of an oval shaped bearing improving the reception of threaded drive rods and permitting improved oil lubricant hydrodynamics to the bearing of Thomas, such that Thomas’ bearing portion is oval shaped and lubricated so as to be elongated in the claimed second direction, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which avoids metal-to-metal contact under extreme loading and lubricates contacting components upon relative rotation, therein improving the fatigue resistance of the invention and the longevity of its components over its entire lifecycle, as well as accommodating rods of varied manufactured tolerances.
The modified invention of Thomas in view of DSPORT discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
a hollow shaft configured to slide
However, Teramachi teaches a motion guide device
a hollow shaft configured to slide
(col 5 line 30-33; "shaft member 21 is a hollow rod -- so that its weight and, hence, influence of inertia at the times of start and stop are reduced"; fig 5)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the hollow shaft teachings of Teramachi to the shaft disclosed by Thomas in order to advantageously arrive at sliding shaft which has reduced weighed and therein reduced “influence of inertia at the times of start and stop”, see col 5 line 30-33 of Teramachi and MPEP 2144.02.
Conclusion
/FORREST B DIPERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783