DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrigeon [US 5141775] in view of Hayashi [KR 20070090763] and Holder [CN 1305540].
Claim 1: Patrigeon is directed to manufacture of a composite material by densifying via chemical vapor infiltration (CVI) using a tool [abstract] wherein the tool comprises a graphite body [col 3, ln 14-15]. Patrigeon further teaches that the composite can be a ceramic matrix composites (CMC) [col 1, ln 22 and col 2, ln 47]. Patrigeon also teaches the tool (dies) are perforated with a plurality of holes for easy access of the gaseous infiltration phase for the composite to be densified [col 3, ln 15-18] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that by having holes to allow for gas access to the supported composite therein, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the surface of the graphite body would have a porous surface. Patrigeon teaches that the graphite body/dies can have a inserted layer to allow for better release between the composite and tool [col 3, ln 35-45]. However, Patrigeon does not appear to teach a glass carbon layer on the graphite body to hermetically seal the porous surface. Hayashi and Holder are provided.
Hayashi teaches a process for producing preform with press molding [title], wherein it is preferable to adding a carbon containing film, such as glassy carbon film as a release film on the mold [pg 13, para 4]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a release film such as a glassy carbon film since Hayashi teaches this type of release film can be used in high temperature molding temperature [pg 13, para 4]. However, Hayashi does not appear to teach the glassy carbon layer hermetically seals the porous surface. Holder is provided.
Holder teaches a glassy carbon film is capable of acting as protective sealing layer on graphite [pg 4, para 4]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide glassy carbon on a graphite to seal the surface, since Holder teaches it operable to provide glassy carbon as a protective and sealing layer on graphite.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrigeon in view of Hayashi in view of Holder as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Goto [JP 2009078973].
The prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach glassy carbon layer is formed by heat cured carbon yield resin. Goto is provided.
Claim 2: Goto teaches providing a thermosetting resin to form a glassy carbon mold by heat and carbonization after curing [pg 3, para 4]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the glassy carbon layer by heat cured carbon yield resin since the prior art appears to be silent on how to form the glassy carbon and Goto provides an operable and known way of producing glassy carbon.
Claim(s) 3-4, 6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrigeon in view of Hayashi, Holder and Goto as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Pellegri [CA2341508].
The prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach including filler particles in the carbon resin. Pellegri is provided.
Claims 3-4, 6: Pellegri teaches the resin includes filler particles such as carbon particles or graphite particles or fibers in a resin for coating [abstract]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide such particles in the resin so as to impart some properties such as conductivity to the coating that is similar to the surface material (i.e. graphite).
Claim(s) 8, 10-11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrigeon in view of Hayashi, Holder, Goto and Pellegri as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of JP415 [JP4899415].
The prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach a second coating on the glassy carbon layer, wherein the glassy carbon layer is part of the first coating between the porous surface and the second coating. JP415 is provided.
Claim 8: JP415 teaches a second coating on the glassy carbon layer can be formed (second treatment) [Tech-Solution, pg 3, para 6]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a second coating on the glassy carbon layer (second treatment) to further ensure sealing of the porous surface [Tech-Solution, pg 3, para 6].
Claim 10: JP415 teaches there could be multiple layers of the heat cured carbon yielding resin (applied twice or more) [pg 4, para 6].
Claim 11: JP415 teaches the carbon resin can be furan based resin [pg 4, para 1].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrigeon in view of Hayashi, Holder, Goto and Pellegri as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Wu [CN108675790].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned which uses graphite particles but does not appear to teach graphite flakes. Wu is provided.
Claim 5: Wu teaches the graphite particles naturally in the form of flakes [pg 3, para 2]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use graphite flakes since graphite particles naturally occur in flake form.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrigeon in view of Hayashi, Holder, Goto and Pellegri as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of LI [CN109251651].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach the claimed ratio of claim 7. Li is provided.
Claim 7: Li teaches the ratio of the resin can impart particular properties to the coating such as good adhesion, resistance and etc. [pg 3, ln 10]. Although the prior art does not explicitly teach the claimed range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the ratio of the particles to the resin through routine experimentation since Li teaches the amount of particles to resin can affect the properties of the coating.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrigeon in view of Hayashi, Holder, Goto, Pellegri and JP415 as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Gawin [CA1322948].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach using neat resin. Gawin is provided.
Claim 9: Gawin teaches using neat resin mixed with particles [abstract], wherein using neat resins increases damage tolerance [pg 70]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use neat resins so as to increase damage tolerance in the coating.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument that it would be improper to modify Patrigeon to add a carbon containing film such as a glossy carbon film as a release film on the mold of Patrigeon, purportedly using hindsight to add the glossy carbon film; however, Patrigeon teaches that the inserted layer is located between the die and the composite material part to allow for easy release of the part [col 4, ln 4-10]. Hayashi, also directed to forming preform with press molding, teaches a glassy carbon film can also act as a release film for a preform mold [pg 13, para 4]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the inserted layer of Patrigeon with the glassy carbon layer of Hayashi because both materials are taught to aid in easier release of preforms in molding processes. As for applicant’s argument that glassy carbon layer would be on the opposite side of the inserted layer rather in contact with the part being densified, it is argued that the glassy carbon layer is a substitution for the inserted layer acting as a release layer for easier release of the part from the mold. Applicant acknowledges that Hayashi does also teach the release film can be used in high temperature applications (on page 7). Applicant argues that Holder is non-analogous art; however, it is relied upon Holder to teach that glassy carbon layer naturally acts a seal on graphite (porous) surfaces. Since Patrigeon and Hayashi already teaches putting a glassy carbon layer on a graphite, and Holder teaches that glassy carbon layers has sealing properties on graphite, explain what would naturally happen to the materials used in Patrigeon and Hayash. Therefore, it would appear that Holder is in fact, related to the problem of applicant’s invention.
Conclusion
/MANDY C LOUIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718