DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: METHOD FOR ALIGNING AND TRANSFERRING LEDS CONNECTED TO A TRANSFER BASE PLATE TO A TARGET BASE PLATE AND LIGHT-EMITTING BASE PLATE
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang, Xuan et al. (CN-113451217-A; hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 20, Yang discloses a light-emitting base plate, comprising:
a target base plate (10,20; Fig 2; ¶ [n0059-60]), wherein the target base plate comprises a target substrate (10; Fig 2; ¶ [n0059-60]), and a barrier layer (20; Fig 2; ¶ [n0059-60]), and a plurality of pad sets (101,102,103; Fig 2; ¶ [n0059-62]), that are disposed on a side of the target substrate, wherein a plurality of clamping grooves (201,202,203; Fig 2; ¶ [n0059-60]), are formed by the barrier layer and the target substrate, and one of the pad sets is exposed from one of the clamping grooves (101; Fig 2), and the thickness of the pad sets is less than the depth of the clamping grooves (as shown in Fig 2); and
a plurality of light-emitting diodes (LEDs) (301,302,303; Fig 2; ¶ [n0059-61]), wherein one of the LEDs is correspondingly disposed in one of the clamping grooves and is connected to the pad set (Fig. 2; ¶ [n0061]), wherein a distance between a surface of each of the LEDs away from the target substrate and the target substrate is greater than a distance between a surface of the barrier layer away from the target substrate and the target substrate (as shown in Fig 2, an upper surface of 301-303 extends above an upper surface of 20).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-19 allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including “a plurality of LEDs are connected to a side of the transfer base plate; aligning the target base plate with the transfer base plate, to cause the LEDs to be at least partially located in the clamping grooves; and moving the transfer base plate in a preset direction, wherein the preset direction and a plane in which the target substrate is located are parallel or intersect non-orthogonally, to cause the LEDs to be separated from the transfer base plate”.
That is, the primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter is moving the transfer base plate, non-orthogonally to a plane in which the target substrate is located, to cause the LEDs to be separated from the transfer base plate, in combination with the additional limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including “a plurality of LEDs are connected to a side of the transfer base plate; aligning the target base plate with the transfer base plate, to cause the LEDs to be at least partially located in the clamping grooves; and moving the transfer base plate in a preset direction, wherein the preset direction and a plane in which the target substrate is located are parallel or intersect non-orthogonally, to cause the LEDs to be separated from the transfer base plate”.
That is, the primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter is moving the transfer base plate, non-orthogonally to a plane in which the target substrate is located, to cause the LEDs to be separated from the transfer base plate, in combination with the additional limitations of claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chen; Hung-Wen (US 2021/0366755; the prior art discloses a method for transferring LEDs comprising moving a transfer base plate (102; Fig 1; ¶ [0039-52]) parallel to a target base plate (107; Figs 1,4; ¶ [0039-52]) at a distance from grooves formed by a barrier layer (adhesive) and a target substrate (102), and irradiating LEDs on the transfer base plate with a laser light to cause the LEDs to be detached from the transfer base plate (¶ [0040]) and move to a location within the grooves under an electric field force.
Zhang, Peng-yue et al. (CN-111540705-A; the prior art discloses a method for transferring LEDs comprising aligning a transfer base plate (211; Fig 4) by moving the transfer base plate parallel to a target base plate (220; Fig 4) at a distance from grooves formed by a barrier layer (photoresist 222; Fig 4) and a target substrate (221; Fig 4), and irradiating a peeling layer (212; Fig 4) on the transfer base plate with a laser to cause LEDs to be detached from the transfer base plate and fall into the grooves.
Min; Jung Hong et al. (US 2026/0068771; the prior art discloses a method of separating LEDs from a growth substrate {by chemical lift-off}; Figs 2I-2J; LEDs connected to a growth substrate having relevance to claims 5 and 15).
/B.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ELISEO RAMOS FELICIANO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817