Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17 and 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPGPUB 20100071521, Hadaway, in view of USPGPUB 20160346851, Maki-Haapoja, and in view of USPN 4091698, Obear.
Regarding Claims 15 and 28 Hadaway discloses a woodworking machine (abstract, since the tool is a tablesaw, and tablesaws are known in the art to work on wood) comprising:
a workpiece table (111 and 102) with a horizontal workpiece support surface (102) and a saw slot (slot on table through which blade extends from under table, fig 1)
a saw unit with a circular saw blade (par 0083 and fig 1) arranged to protrude from the saw slot (fig 1) and defining a horizontal saw line (line extending through the table and through the longitudinal axis of the saw blade in fig 1);
a workpiece stop (12) movably arranged above the workpiece support surface (par. 0083), the workpiece stop having a vertically standing workpiece stop surface (surface of the part 12 that is closest to the blade, in fig. 1, and which is made to contact the workpiece, see Par. 0083) disposed such that a plate-shaped workpiece (0023, since workpieces can be plate shaped) resting on the workpiece support surface in a support area arranged horizontally between the saw blade and the workpiece stop can be placed with a side edge against the workpiece stop surface (par. 0083), and the workpiece stop being adapted to define a movable predetermined dimension between the saw blade and the workpiece stop (Par. 0083) wherein an actuator (stepper motor, par 0009) is mechanically coupled to the workpiece stop (par. 0009) (Claim 15);
Hadaway lacks (feature I): a sensor device wherein the sensor device is configured to generate a sensor signal, wherein the sensor signal characterizes a start of cut or an end of cut; wherein a control unit is in signal communication with the actuator and the sensor device in terms, and wherein the control unit is configured to receive the sensor signal and to generate an actuator control signal in dependence on the sensor signal and transmit the actuator control signal to the actuator, and wherein the actuator is adapted to move the workpiece stop upon receipt of the actuator control signal such that a distance between the circular saw blade and the workpiece stop surface is increased to eliminate a clamping of the workpiece between the circular saw blade and the workpiece stop surface, (claim 15) and (feature II) the sensor device generating a sensor signal, and the control unit receiving the signal in response to the detection of the presence or absence of a workpiece (claim 15) and the at least one workpiece sensor or the stop actuation sensor is selected from the group consisting of: optical sensors; capacitive sensors; inductive sensors; pneumatic sensors; linear longitudinal sensors; and ultrasonic sensors (Claim 28).
Regarding feature I the use of a sensor to generally move workpiece support stops upon a detection of a completion of cut: Maki-Haapoja discloses a cutting and splitting device in the form of a saw (par. 0043) in the same field of endeavor as saw cutter of the present invention and includes a sensor device (300 and 500, par 0056 and detector of par 0086, which detects when a blade has completed its cut and then retracts the blade); wherein a sensor signal characterizes a start of cut or an end of cut (detector of par 0086, which detects when a blade has completed its cut and then retracts the blade); wherein an actuator (1002) is mechanically coupled to a workpiece stop (1004), and wherein the actuator is adapted to move the workpiece stop upon receipt of the actuator control signal such that a distance between the circular saw blade and the workpiece stop surface is increased to eliminate a clamping of the workpiece between the circular saw blade and the workpiece stop surface (par 0073 and 0086), in order to re hold the log during a cut and release the log after the cut, (par. 9973 and 0086).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hadaway by including a sensor device, wherein a sensor signal characterizes a start of cut or an end of cut, wherein an actuator is mechanically coupled to a workpiece stop, and wherein the actuator is adapted to move the workpiece stop upon receipt of the actuator control signal such that a distance between the circular saw blade and the workpiece stop surface is increased to eliminate a clamping of the workpiece between the circular saw blade and the workpiece stop surface, in order to hold the log during a cut and release the log after the cut, as taught by Maki-Haapoja.
Regarding Feature II, Maki-Haapoja is silent as to how the sensors thereof sense when the cutting operation thereof has been completed, and thus lacks the sensing and signaling being in response to the detection of the presence or absence of a workpiece (emphasis added) (claim 15) and the at least one workpiece sensor or the stop actuation sensor is selected from the group consisting of: optical sensors; capacitive sensors; inductive sensors; pneumatic sensors; linear longitudinal sensors; and ultrasonic sensors (Claim 28).
Obear discloses a sawing device having an end of cut detector device (abstract), in the same field of endeavor as the sawing device having an end of cut detector device of the present invention and discloses that the end of cut sensing device therein includes: a sensor device (transformer pickup loop 40, col. 2, 35 - 60) generating a sensor signal (“signal picked up in loop 40 and amplified in 42”), and a control unit (comparator 48/ “control circuit”) receiving the signal in response to the detection of the presence or absence of a workpiece (col. 2, 35 – 60, AND Col. 3, 55-68 through col 4, 1-25) (claim 15), and the at least one workpiece sensor or the stop actuation sensor being a pneumatic sensor (since the sensing of the motor current change is based on a contact or non contact with the workpiece, e.g. by sensing load differences between the blade and the workpiece) (Claim 28), in order to automatically control the device once an end of cut is detected (Col. 1 55-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Hadaway by including the sensing device of Obear, to include the sensing and signaling of the end of cut (as included in view of Dunn) to be in response to the detection of the presence or absence of a workpiece, and to be perform via the pneumatic sensor of Obear, in order to perform the sensing of the end of cut in a manner known in the art to control the automatic functions of the Modified Hadaway machine, as taught by Obear.
Regarding Claim 16, in Hadaway the workpiece stop is configured as a parallel stop (since it is parallel to the saw line), wherein the workpiece stop surface of the parallel stop is aligned parallel to the circular saw blade (fig 1), and wherein the actuator is configured as a parallel stop actuator and is configured to move the parallel stop back and forth (along rail 9) to vary the distance (par 0083).
Regarding Claim 17, in Hadaway the parallel stop is a right hand stop, (a least in the perspective shown in fig 1).
Regarding Claim 30, in Hadaway the parallel stop comprises a right-hand stop (when facing the table from the 61 and D shown in fig 3).
Claims 29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadaway in view of Maki-Haapoja and Obear and in view of US20040118255A1, Peters.
Regarding Claim 29, Hadaway as modified by Maki-Haapoja and Obear discloses all the limitations of Claim 15 as discussed above.
Modified Hadaway lacks the woodworking machine having a first workpiece stop and a second workpiece stop, wherein the first workpiece stop is configured as a parallel stop, and the second workpiece stop is configured as a stop flap on an angle stop.
Peters discloses a table saw in the same field of endeavor as the table saw of the present invention, and discloses that in such an apparatus the table-saw comprises a first moveable workpiece stop (analogous to the moveable workpiece stop of Hadaway) and a second workpiece stop (combination of 90 and parts 32a and b), wherein the first workpiece stop is configured as a parallel stop (see fig 5), and the second workpiece stop is configured as a stop flap on an angle stop (since 32a and b pivot to bring part 90 against the workpiece, par 0047 and 0053), in order to provide a more Secure and Stable pushing force applicator for the work piece while cutting (par. 0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hadaway by having the woodworking machine having a first workpiece stop and a second workpiece stop, wherein the first workpiece stop is configured as a parallel stop, and the second workpiece stop is configured as a stop flap on an angle stop. in order to provide a more Secure and Stable pushing force applicator for the work piece while cutting, as taught via Peters.
Regarding Claim 31, Hadaway discloses a method for controlling a woodworking machine (abstract, since the tool is a tablesaw, and tablesaws are known in the art to work on wood) comprising the steps of: cutting a workpiece (par 0023) with a circular saw blade (fig 1, par 0023, 0089) that defines a saw line (line extending through long axis of the blade and crossing through the table in fig 1), wherein one side of the workpiece is arranged at a workpiece stop surface (surface of fence 12, par 0089 which is used to contact the work piece) of a movable workpiece stop 12, by means of a cut having a start of cut and an end of cut, and wherein the workpiece stop is adapted to define a movable predetermined dimension between the saw blade and the workpiece stop (par 0089); and
moving the workpiece stop via the actuator (stepper motor of par 0007-0009).
Hadaway lacks (feature I) detecting and end of cut, and wherein depending on the detection of the end of cut a distance between the circular saw blade and the workpiece stop surface is increased to eliminate a clamping of the workpiece between the circular saw blade and the workpiece stop surface, by: moving the workpiece stop surface horizontally away from the circular saw blade; or pivoting the saw blade about a horizontal axis away from the workpiece stop, and (feature II) detecting the end of cut via a sensor that detects the presence or absence of a workpiece, wherein the sensor is in signal communication with an actuator mechanically coupled to the workpiece stop, and Feature III: the workpiece being plate shaped.
Regarding Feature I Maki-Haapoja discloses a cutting and splitting device in the form of a saw (par. 0043) in the same field of endeavor as saw cutter of the present invention and includes
sensor device (300 and 500, par 0056 and detector of par 0086, which detects when a blade has completed its cut and then retracts the blade); wherein a sensor signal characterizes a start of cut or an end of cut (detector of par 0086, which detects when a blade has completed its cut and then retracts the blade); wherein an actuator (1002) is mechanically coupled to a workpiece stop (1004), and wherein the actuator is adapted to move the workpiece stop upon receipt of the actuator control signal such that a distance between the circular saw blade and the workpiece stop surface is increased to eliminate a clamping of the workpiece between the circular saw blade and the workpiece stop surface (par 0073 and 0086), in order to re hold the log during a cut and release the log after the cut, (par. 9973 and 0086).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hadaway by including a sensor device, detecting and end of cut, and wherein depending on the detection of the end of cut a distance between the circular saw blade and the workpiece stop surface is increased to eliminate a clamping of the workpiece between the circular saw blade and the workpiece stop surface, by: moving the workpiece stop surface horizontally away from the circular saw blade, in order to release a workpiece once an end of cut is detected and to allow for post cutting processing, as taught by Maki-Haapoja.
Regarding Feature II, Maki-Haapoja is silent as to how the sensors thereof sense when the cutting operation thereof has been completed, and thus lacks detecting the end of cut via a sensor that detects the presence or absence of a workpiece.
Obear discloses a sawing device having an end of cut detector device (abstract), in the same field of endeavor as the sawing device having an end of cut detector device of the present invention and discloses that the end of cut sensing device therein includes: a sensor device (transformer pickup loop 40, col. 2, 35 - 60) generating a sensor signal (“signal picked up in loop 40 and amplified in 42”), and a control unit (comparator 48/ “control circuit”) receiving the signal in response to the detection of the presence or absence of a workpiece (col. 2, 35 – 60, and Col. 3, 55-68 through col 4, 1-25), wherein the sensor is in signal communication with an actuator mechanically coupled to the workpiece stop (Col. 3, 55-68 through col 4, 1-25), thus detecting the end of cut via a sensor that detects the presence or absence of a workpiece (col 4, 1-40) in order to automatically control the device once an end of cut is detected (Col. 1 55-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Hadaway by including the sensing device of Obear, to include detecting the end of cut via a sensor that detects the presence or absence of a workpiece, wherein the sensor is in signal communication with an actuator mechanically coupled to the workpiece stop, in order to perform the sensing of the end of cut in a manner known in the art to control the automatic functions of the Modified Peters machine, as taught by Obear.
Regarding Feature III, Peters discloses a table saw in the same field of endeavor as the table saw of the present invention, and discloses that in such an apparatus the table-saw is used for cutting plate shaped workpieces (100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hadaway by having the woodworking machine be used for cutting plate shaped workpieces as Peters discloses that this is one possible workpiece the able to be cut by the table saw thereof.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 3/4/26, with respect to the prior art rejections of the claims under 102/103 (as the claims have now been amended) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the prior art rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hadaway.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPN’s/USPGPUB’s 20060065087, 10464149 20100326251 12257733 5921726 20190299483 5251142 11642810 20050223862 20060065087 20100071521 4696213 20050204883 and 20210069849.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FERNANDO A AYALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724