Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference, but disclosed in the secondary reference(s).
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta (US 20210296505 A1) in view of Yamazaki (US 20090140438 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ohta discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 1), comprising:
a substrate (1; [0070]: “substrate”);
a first gate (2; [0070]: “gate electrode”) disposed on the substrate;
a gate insulating layer (3; [0070]: “gate insulating layer”) disposed on the first gate and covering the first gate;
a first active component (collection of 4 with Cs and Cd; [0071]: “an active layer”) disposed on the gate insulating layer,
wherein the first active component has a channel region (Rc; [0072]: “channel region”) and doped regions (Rs, Rd; [0072]: “first region…second region”; [0108]: “may contain an n type impurity at a relatively low concentration”) located respectively on opposite sides of the channel region;
a first source (8s; [0070]: “source electrode”) disposed on the first active component and electrically connected to one of the doped regions of the first active component ([0070]: “electrically connected”); and
a first drain (8d; [0070]: “drain electrode”) disposed on the first active component and electrically connected to another one of the doped regions of the first active component ([0070]: “electrically connected”);
wherein the first active component comprises: a first semiconductor layer (72(3); [0078]: “amorphous silicon layer”);
and a contact layer stack (collection of 73(3), 71, and all intervening layers therebetween) disposed on the first semiconductor layer and disposed in the doped regions;
wherein the contact layer stack comprises: a first doped layer (73(3); [0078]: “n type impurity”) disposed on the first semiconductor layer;
a second semiconductor layer (72(2)) disposed on and directly contacting the first doped layer,
wherein the second semiconductor layer is a single undoped amorphous silicon layer ([0078]: “an intrinsic a-Si layer that substantially contains no n type impurity”); and
a second doped layer (73(2); [0078]: “n type impurity”) disposed on and directly contacting the second semiconductor layer; and
wherein an entirety of an orthographic projection of the first active component (See annotated figure) on the substrate is within an orthographic projection of the first gate (See annotated figure. Partially within.) on the substrate.
Illustrated below is a marked and annotated figure of Fig. 1 of Ohta.
Ohta fails to teach “an entirety of an orthographic projection of the first active component on the substrate is within an orthographic projection of the first gate on the substrate” because Ohta teaches the first active component having a shape where only a portion of an orthographic projection of the first active component on the substrate is within an orthographic projection of the first gate on the substrate (as cited above).
Yamazaki teaches an entirety of an orthographic projection (See annotated figure demarking the projection) of the first active component (the collection of 87, 88, 92a, 92b, 92c) on the substrate (50) is within an orthographic projection (See annotated figure demarking the projection) of the first gate (51) on the substrate. Modifying the shape of the first active component by incorporating the shape disclosed by Yamazaki would arrive at the claimed first active component configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success doing so because Yamazaki teaches incorporating this shape is an improvement over a shape substantially similar to the shape disclosed by Ohta (Yamazaki: Fig. 1D is substantially the same shape as Ohta: Fig. 1). Yamazaki provides a teaching to motivate one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the claimed shape of the first active component in that it would reduce manufacturing complexity by reducing the number of required photomasks ([0265]: “a display device can be formed in which a multi-tone mask is used to reduce the number of masks”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed first active component configuration because it would reduce manufacturing complexity. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Illustrated below is a marked and annotated figure of Fig. 18B of Yamazaki.
Regarding claim 2, Ohta in view of Yamazaki discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1 (Ohta: Fig. 1), wherein the first semiconductor layer is an amorphous silicon layer ([0078]: “amorphous silicon layer”).
Regarding claim 3, Ohta in view of Yamazaki discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1 (Ohta: Fig. 1), wherein the first doped layer is an N-type doped amorphous silicon layer ([0078]: “amorphous silicon layer…n type impurity”).
Regarding claim 5, Ohta in view of Yamazaki discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1 (Ohta: Fig. 1), wherein the second doped layer is an N-type doped amorphous silicon layer ([0078]: “amorphous silicon layer…n type impurity”).
Regarding claim 6, Ohta in view of Yamazaki discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1 (Ohta: Fig. 1), wherein a thickness of the first doped layer ranges from 5 nm to 10 nm ([0088]: “greater than 0 nm but not greater than 20 nm”).
Regarding claim 7, Ohta in view of Yamazaki discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1 (Ohta: Fig. 1), wherein a thickness of the second semiconductor layer ranges from 10 nm to 12 nm (the prior art discloses ranges overlapping the claimed ranges; [0088]: “73(n) may be e.g. greater than 0 nm but not greater than 20 nm…72(n) may be equal to or greater than the thickness of the third a-Si layer 73(n)”).
Regarding claim 8, Ohta in view of Yamazaki discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1 (Ohta: Fig. 1), wherein a thickness of the second doped layer ranges from 5 nm to 10 nm ([0088]: “greater than 0 nm but not greater than 20 nm”).
Regarding independent claim 9, Ohta discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device (Fig. 1), comprising:
forming a first gate (2),
wherein a metal layer is deposited ([0105]: “sputtering…metal film”) on a substrate (1) and patterned ([0105]: “patterned”) to form the first gate;
forming a gate insulating layer (3) on the first gate,
wherein the gate insulating layer covers the first gate (3 is formed directly on 1, therefore completely and directly covering);
forming a first active component (collection of 4 with Cs and Cd; [0071]: “an active layer”) on the gate insulating layer,
wherein the first active component has a channel region (Rc; [0072]: “channel region”) and doped regions (Rs, Rd; [0072]: “first region…second region”; [0108]: “may contain an n type impurity at a relatively low concentration”) located respectively on opposite sides of the channel region; and
forming a first source (8s; [0070]: “source electrode”) and a first drain (8d; [0070]: “drain electrode”),
wherein a metal layer ([0117]: “a material similar to…the gate”) is deposited ([0117]: “by a method similar to…the gate”) on the first active component and patterned ([0117]: “by a method similar to…the gate”) to form the first source and the first drain respectively opposite to the doped regions, and the first source and the first drain are respectively electrically connected ([0070]: “source electrode…drain electrode…electrically connected”) to the doped regions of the first active component,
wherein the first active component comprises: a first semiconductor layer (72(3); [0078]: “amorphous silicon layer”); and
a contact layer stack (collection of 73(3), 71, and all intervening layers therebetween) disposed on the first semiconductor layer and disposed in the doped regions;
wherein the contact layer stack comprises: a first doped layer (73(3); [0078]: “n type impurity”) disposed on the first semiconductor layer;
a second semiconductor layer (72(2)) disposed on and directly contacting the first doped layer,
wherein the second semiconductor layer is a single undoped amorphous silicon layer ([0078]: “an intrinsic a-Si layer that substantially contains no n type impurity”); and
a second doped layer (73(2); [0078]: “n type impurity”) disposed on and directly contacting the second semiconductor layer; and
wherein an entirety of an orthographic projection of the first active component (See annotated figure) on the substrate is within an orthographic projection of the first gate on the substrate (See annotated figure. Partially within.).
Ohta fails to teach “an entirety of an orthographic projection of the first active component on the substrate is within an orthographic projection of the first gate on the substrate” because Ohta teaches the method of forming the first active component forms a shape where only a portion of an orthographic projection of the first active component on the substrate is within an orthographic projection of the first gate on the substrate (as cited above).
Yamazaki teaches a method wherein an entirety of an orthographic projection (See annotated figure demarking the projection) of the first active component (the collection of 87, 88, 92a, 92b, 92c) on the substrate (50) is within an orthographic projection (See annotated figure demarking the projection) of the first gate (51) on the substrate. Modifying the shape of the first active component by incorporating the shape disclosed by Yamazaki would arrive at the claimed first active component configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success doing so because Yamazaki teaches incorporating this shape is an improvement over a shape substantially similar to the shape disclosed by Ohta (Yamazaki: Fig. 1D is substantially the same shape as Ohta: Fig. 1). Yamazaki provides a teaching to motivate one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the claimed shape of the first active component in that it would reduce manufacturing complexity by reducing the number of required photomasks ([0265]: “a display device can be formed in which a multi-tone mask is used to reduce the number of masks”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed first active component configuration in the method because it would reduce manufacturing complexity. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Regarding claim 10, Ohta in view of Yamazaki discloses the method according to claim 9 (Ohta: Fig. 1), wherein the forming of the first active component comprises:
forming the first semiconductor layer, wherein an amorphous layer ([0115]: “a-Si film…720”) is deposited on the gate insulating layer by chemical vapor deposition ([0115]: “plasma CVD technique”) and the amorphous layer is patterned ([0118]: “patterned”) to form the first semiconductor layer opposite to the first gate;
forming the first doped layer ([0115]: “formed…730”) on the doped regions of the first semiconductor layer by chemical vapor deposition ([0115]: “plasma CVD technique”);
forming the second semiconductor layer ([0115]: “formed…720”) on the first doped layer by chemical vapor deposition ([0115]: “plasma CVD technique”);
and forming the second doped layer ([0115]: “formed…730”) on the second semiconductor layer by chemical vapor deposition ([0115]: “plasma CVD technique”).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta in view of Yamazaki as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Yang (CN 109713044 A, from IDS).
Regarding claim 11, Ohta in view of Yamazaki discloses the manufacturing method according to claim 10 (Ohta: Fig. 1), wherein the forming of the first doped layer comprises:
depositing an amorphous layer on the first semiconductor layer ([0115]: “a-Si”) by using H2 and SiH4 as reaction gases, using PH3 as a doping gas ([0115]: “a gaseous mixture of silane, hydrogen, and phosphine”), and controlling a flow ratio of PH3 to SiH4 (“(the ratio of flow rate of phosphine relative to silane) is adjusted as appropriate” [0115], thus controlling) to be 0.3 to 0.7, to form the first doped layer (730; corresponding to 73(3) of Fig. 1);
the forming of the second semiconductor layer comprises: depositing an amorphous layer ([0115]: “a-Si”) on the first doped layer by using H2 and SiH4, as reaction gases ([0115]: “a gaseous mixture that contains silane and hydrogen”), to form the second semiconductor layer (720; corresponding to 72(2) of Fig. 1); and
the forming of the second doped layer comprises: depositing an amorphous layer ([0115]: “a-Si”) on the second semiconductor layer by using H2 and SiH4, as reaction gases, using PH3 as a doping gas ([0115]: “a gaseous mixture of silane, hydrogen, and phosphine”), and controlling a flow ratio of PH3 to SiH4 (“(the ratio of flow rate of phosphine relative to silane) is adjusted as appropriate” [0115], thus controlling) to be 2 to 3, to form the second doped layer (710; corresponding to 71 of Fig. 1).
Ohta fails to teach the claimed flow ratios. Thus, Ohta in view of Yamazaki fails to teach “the forming of the first doped layer comprises:
depositing an amorphous layer on the first semiconductor layer by using H2 and SiH4 as reaction gases, using PH3 as a doping gas, and controlling a flow ratio of PH3 to SiH4 to be 0.3 to 0.7” and
“the forming of the second doped layer comprises: depositing an amorphous layer on the second semiconductor layer by using H2 and SiH4, as reaction gases, using PH3 as a doping gas, and controlling a flow ratio of PH3 to SiH4 to be 2 to 3”.
Yang discloses forming a doped layer in the same filed of endeavor comprising using SiH4 and PH3 as reaction and doping gases, and further discloses flow ratios between these gases substantially overlapping the claimed flow ratios (pg. 5 of translation: 0.32-4.1). Additionally, Yang teaches flow ratios may be varied according to desired dopant concentration (pg. 5 of translation: “larger doping concentration”).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date could have substituted the flow ratios of Yang in place of the comparable known flow ratios of Ohta in view of Yamazaki, and the results would have been predictable, because the flow ratios (of both Ohta in view of Yamazaki, and Yang) would have functioned in the same way to form N-type doped layers of deliberately chosen concentrations (Yang: pg. 5 of translation: “larger doping concentration”; Ohta: Tables 2 and 3; Ohta: [0090]: “n type impurity”; Ohta: [0098]: “concentration”; Ohta: [0087]: “concentration…n type impurity”; Ohta: [0078]: “n type impurity”; Ohta: [0088]: “concentration”; Ohta: [0115]: “(the ratio of flow rate of phosphine relative to silane) is adjusted as appropriate”). Therefore, having the claimed flow ratios would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date because these known flow ratios would have been used in the same way with the same predictable results. MPEP 2143 (I)(B).
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta in view of Yamazaki and Wu (US 20160291714 A1).
Regarding independent claim 12, Ohta discloses a display panel ([0168]: “display apparatuses”), comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 1: 1; [0070]: “substrate”);
a light sensor (Ohta is relied upon here to teach a generic component different from a light sensor) comprising:
a first gate (2; [0070]: “gate electrode”) disposed on the substrate;
a gate insulating layer (3; [0070]: “gate insulating layer”) disposed on the first gate and covering the first gate;
a first active component (collection of 4 with Cs and Cd; [0071]: “an active layer”) disposed on the gate insulating layer,
wherein the first active component has a channel region (Rc; [0072]: “channel region”) and doped regions (Rs, Rd; [0072]: “first region…second region”; [0108]: “may contain an n type impurity at a relatively low concentration”) located respectively on opposite sides of the channel region;
a first source (8s; [0070]: “source electrode”) disposed on the first active component and electrically connected to one of the doped regions of the first active component ([0070]: “electrically connected”);
and a first drain (8d; [0070]: “drain electrode”) disposed on the first active component and electrically connected to another one of the doped regions of the first active component ([0070]: “electrically connected”);
wherein the first active component comprises: a first semiconductor layer (72(3); [0078] “amorphous silicon layer”); and
a contact layer stack (collection of 73(3), 71, and all intervening layers therebetween) disposed on the first semiconductor layer and disposed in the doped regions; and
wherein the contact layer stack comprises:
a first doped layer (73(3); [0078]: “n type impurity”) disposed on the first semiconductor layer;
a second semiconductor layer (72(2)) disposed on and directly contacting the first doped layer,
wherein the second semiconductor layer is a single undoped amorphous silicon layer ([0078]: “an intrinsic a-Si layer that substantially contains no n type impurity”); and
a second doped layer (73(2); [0078]: “n type impurity”) disposed on and directly contacting the second semiconductor layer;
a switching transistor (another Fig. 1; [0165]: “a plurality of pixels…For each pixel, a pixel TFT is provided as a switching element”. Thus, Fig. 1 may be replicated within the display panel and configured as a switching transistor) comprising:
a second gate (2) disposed between the substrate and the gate insulating layer;
a second active component (collection of 4 with Cs and Cd; [0071]: “an active layer”) disposed on the gate insulating layer and opposite to the second gate;
a second source (8s; [0070]: “source electrode…electrically connected”) disposed on the second active component; and
a second drain (8d; [0070]: “drain electrode…electrically connected”) disposed on the second active component;
a protective layer (Fig. 3: 12) disposed on the gate insulating layer and covering the first source, the first drain, the second source, and the second drain; and
a wiring layer (13) disposed on the protective layer, wherein a portion of the wiring layer is electrically connected to one of the first source and the first drain ([0124]: “Each pixel electrode 13 is in contact with the drain electrode 8d of the corresponding TFT within the contact hole”) through a first via hole of the protective layer ([0122]: “contact hole CH that reaches the drain electrode 8d”), and
another portion of the wiring layer is electrically connected to one of the second source and the second drain ([0124]: “Each pixel electrode 13 is in contact with the drain electrode 8d of the corresponding TFT within the contact hole”) through a second via hole of the protective layer ([0122]: “contact hole CH that reaches the drain electrode 8d”),
wherein an entirety of an orthographic projection of the first active component (See annotated figure) on the substrate is within an orthographic projection of the first gate (See annotated figure. Partially within.) on the substrate.
Illustrated below is Fig. 3 of Ohta.
Ohta fails to teach “an entirety of an orthographic projection of the first active component on the substrate is within an orthographic projection of the first gate on the substrate” because Ohta teaches the first active component having a shape where only a portion of an orthographic projection of the first active component on the substrate is within an orthographic projection of the first gate on the substrate (as cited above).
Yamazaki teaches an entirety of an orthographic projection (See annotated figure demarking the projection) of the first active component (the collection of 87, 88, 92a, 92b, 92c) on the substrate (50) is within an orthographic projection (See annotated figure demarking the projection) of the first gate (51) on the substrate. Modifying the shape of the first active component by incorporating the shape disclosed by Yamazaki would arrive at the claimed first active component configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success doing so because Yamazaki teaches incorporating this shape is an improvement over a shape substantially similar to the shape disclosed by Ohta (Yamazaki: Fig. 1D is substantially the same shape as Ohta: Fig. 1). Yamazaki provides a teaching to motivate one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the claimed shape of the first active component in that it would reduce manufacturing complexity by reducing the number of required photomasks ([0265]: “a display device can be formed in which a multi-tone mask is used to reduce the number of masks”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed first active component configuration because it would reduce manufacturing complexity. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Ohta separately teaches the component having utility in both a light sensor and a display panel ([0168]: “display apparatuses…image sensors”); however, Ohta in view of Yamazaki fails to disclose the claimed nested configuration of “a display panel, comprising: […] a light sensor”. Nonetheless, Ohta does not expressly require these utilities being mutually exclusive of one another ([0168]).
Wu discloses a display panel (Fig. 2; [0021]: “touch display device”), comprising: a light sensor (T1; [0028]: “sense”) and a switching transistor (T2; [0030]: “turns on”).
Modifying the display panel of Ohta in view of Yamazaki, by including the switching transistor and light sensor in the same panel in the same way as Wu, would arrive at the claimed functional configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date could have combined the functional configurations of Ohta in view of Yamazaki, and Wu and in combination each element merely performs the same function as it does separately (i.e. the switching transistor and the light sensor each retain these functions). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable because Wu teaches a panel using the same elements as Ohta, and functionally configured together in the same panel. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to do so to produce a display panel having both input (a light sensor) and output functionality (a display panel) in a single integrated display panel. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date because it appears to be a mere combination of prior art element configurations according to known functional configurations yielding a predictable panel. MPEP 2143 (I)(A).
Regarding claim 13, Ohta in view of Yamazaki and Wu discloses the display panel according to claim 12 (Ohta: Fig. 1), wherein a material of the first active component and the second active component comprises any one of amorphous silicon, IZO, In2O3, IGZO, and ZnO (selecting amorphous silicon; [0071]: “amorphous silicon”).
Regarding claim 14, Ohta in view of Yamazaki and Wu discloses the display panel according to claim 12 (Ohta: Fig. 1), further comprising: a light-shielding layer ([0166]: “color filter”. Note: the color filter filters at least some colors, thereby “shielding” one side from another) disposed on the switching transistor, wherein an orthographic projection of the second active component on the substrate is within an orthographic projection of the light-shielding layer on the substrate ([0166]: “attached together”, therefor there must be at least a direction between these features, thus an orthographic projection).
Regarding claim 15, Ohta in view of Yamazaki and Wu discloses the display panel according to claim 12 (Ohta: Fig. 1), wherein the first semiconductor layer is an amorphous silicon layer ([0078]: “amorphous silicon layer”); and the first doped layer is an N-type doped amorphous silicon layer ([0078]: “amorphous silicon layer…n type impurity”).
Regarding claim 16, Ohta in view of Yamazaki and Wu discloses the display panel according to claim 12 (Ohta: Fig. 1), wherein the second doped layer is an N-type doped amorphous silicon layer ([0078]: “amorphous silicon layer…n type impurity”).
Regarding claim 17, Ohta in view of Yamazaki and Wu discloses the display panel according to claim 12 (Ohta: Fig. 1), wherein a thickness of the first doped layer ranges from 5 nm to 10 nm ([0088]: “greater than 0 nm but not greater than 20 nm”), and a thickness of the second doped layer ranges from 5 nm to 10 nm ([0088]: “greater than 0 nm but not greater than 20 nm”).
Regarding claim 18, Ohta in view of Yamazaki and Wu discloses the display panel according to claim 12 (Ohta: Fig. 1), wherein a thickness of the second semiconductor layer ranges from 10 nm to 12 nm (the prior art discloses ranges overlapping the claimed ranges; [0088]: “73(n) may be e.g. greater than 0 nm but not greater than 20 nm…72(n) may be equal to or greater than the thickness of the third a-Si layer 73(n)”).
Regarding claim 19, Ohta in view of Yamazaki and Wu discloses the display panel according to claim 12 (Ohta: Fig. 1), wherein the second active component comprises: a third semiconductor layer (4; [0070]: “semiconductor layer”) disposed on the gate insulating layer; and a third doped layer (74; [0090]: “containing an n type impurity”) disposed on the third semiconductor layer.
Regarding claim 20, Ohta in view of Yamazaki and Wu discloses the display panel according to claim 12 (Ohta: Fig. 1), wherein the second active component comprises: a third semiconductor layer (4; [0070]: “semiconductor layer”); and a second contact layer stack (collection of Cs and Cd; [0070]: “contact layer”) disposed on the third semiconductor layer and disposed in second doped regions (Rs, Rd; [0072]: “first region…second region”; [0108]: “may contain an n type impurity at a relatively low concentration”), wherein the second contact layer stack comprises: a third doped layer (74; [0090]: “containing an n type impurity”) disposed on the third semiconductor layer; a fourth semiconductor layer (72(1); [0078]: “a-Si”) disposed on the third doped layer; and a fourth doped layer (73(1); [0078]: “n type impurity contained”) disposed on the fourth semiconductor layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claims 1, 9, and 12 that “it can be seen from FIG. 1(b) of Ohta that an orthographic projection of the collection of semiconductor layer 4 with contact layers Cs and Cd (allegedly corresponding to the first active component of the instant application) on substrate 1 is beyond an orthographic projection of gate electrode 2 on substrate 1. Therefore, Ohta fails to disclose at least “an entirety of an orthographic projection of the first active component on the substrate is within an orthographic projection of the first gate on the substrate” of the above limitations of each of amended Claims 1, 9 and 12”. Remarks at pg. 2.
Examiner’s reply:
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 2, filed 3/3/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 9, and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yamazaki, as necessitated by the amendments to the claims. The examiner notes that Applicant’s amendments to the claims have changed the scope of the claims. Thus, further consideration and search was required to determine patentability and necessitated the new grounds of rejection in the instant Office action.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM H ANDERSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817 March 16, 2026