DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to application 17/599,551 filed 12/08/2025.
Claims 4-7, 10 and 11 are canceled. Claims 1 and 9 have been amended. Claims 1-3, 8-9, 12 and 13 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority for Application No. DE102019108065.7, filed on 03/28/2019.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the claim objections of claims 1 and 9 have been fully considered. Applicant has amended claims 1 and 9, thereby rendering previous objection moot.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are unpersuasive.
With respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1, Applicant argues that there is no motivation to combine the references because “Kohler does not teach an RFID device” and therefore cannot teach how to reduce the risk of loss to such a device.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that claim 1 does not recite an “RFID device.” Claim 1 broadly recites a “component identification number which is arranged on the vehicle component.” This broad functional language encompasses any physical or electronic means of providing an ID, such as a printed label, an engraved number, or the “electronic nameplate” disclosed by Kohler. The rejection does not rely on Kohler solely for teaching an RFID device, but rather for teaching an electronic identification element associated with a component that provides identity-related data used to access associated information. Such identification element reasonably corresponds to a smart tag or RFID-type identification mechanism used to identify a component and retrieve associated data.
Applicant further argues that Kohler does not teach or suggest the claimed “hyperlink.” This argument is also not persuasive. The claim broadly recites operational data linked to a hyperlink for accessing a remote storage device and does not limit the hyperlink to a specific implementation such as a conventional web hyperlink. Kohler discloses an electronic nameplate providing identity related data associated with stored information, which enables retrieval of information associated with a component. Such an association between an identifier and stored information reasonably corresponds to a linking mechanism that allows access to the associated data and therefore meets or at least suggests the claimed hyperlink functionality.
Accordingly, the combination of Kohler and Templ teaches or suggests the claimed limitations, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained.
Examiner notes the same arguments apply to independent claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 9, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohler et al., US 20190023296 A1, in view of Templ et al., US 20130293349 A1, hereinafter referred to as Kohler and Templ, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Kohler discloses a system for automatically acquiring, transmitting, storing, accessing and providing remote, controlled access to operational data of a component of an air supply system of a rail vehicle, the system comprising (The rail vehicle component group also includes at least one control unit which is suitable for bidirectional communication with the machine component. Operating data may be generated in the control unit – See at least ¶10):
at least one detector having a sensor for automatically acquiring the operational data of a vehicle component during operation of the rail vehicle (In an embodiment, the machine component has at least one sensor for generating sensor data. This may be acquired in the control unit by bidirectional communication during operation of the machine component, i.e. vehicle component, wherein the operating data may be at least partially generated in the control unit using the acquired sensor data – See at least ¶21);
a transmitter coupled to the at least one detector for automatically transmitting the operational data of the vehicle component to a remote external storage device for storing the operational data linked to a hyperlink for the external storage device (A connection between a “sensor with storage unit” and a control unit is used not only for transmitting measured values, but also for transmitting data to and from the incorporated storage unit – See at least ¶22. The “sensor with storage unit” therefore contains at least the identification data provided by the electronic nameplate. In the course of time, the “sensor with storage unit” is filled with the data of the life history actions (e.g., service data) of the machine component on which it is mounted by the higher-level intelligent controller -See at least ¶23. Examiner notes the claimed “hyperlink” is construed as “electronic nameplate” defined in the Kohler reference); and
a component identification number which is arranged on the vehicle component (The electronic nameplate, i.e. hyperlink, may include at least identification data for uniquely identifying the machine component – See at least ¶30),
wherein the vehicle component further comprises the hyperlink (The electronic nameplate, i.e. hyperlink, contains the identification data, e.g., an at least unique serial number of the machine component – See at least ¶42),
a user device which is configured to acquire the identification number of the component and the hyperlink to communicate with the remote external storage device, and to receive processed operational data from the remote external storage device via the hyperlink, wherein the operational data of the vehicle component is stored with the component identification number in the external storage device (This is the case, for example, if the machine component and the storage unit or rather the sensor with storage unit have never been connected to the controller, e.g., to the converter. Before being mounted on the machine component, the neutral “replacement sensor with new storage unit” is therefore provided with the identification data thereof (e.g., unique serial number). The data required for this purpose may come, e.g., from the old sensor's machine-readable electronic nameplate, i.e. hyperlink, which has been acquired using a mobile terminal, i.e. user device, and is now programmed into the storage unit – See at least ¶44. Operating data is stored in the storage unit in a time-structured manner. Storing of the operating data in the storage unit enables an electronic life history of the machine component to be generated – See at least ¶49. Operating data is stored in the storage unit in the sensor permanently fixed to the component, (e.g., the machine component carries the operating data with it) – See at least ¶52), and
wherein the remote external storage device is configured to be connected to a computing device with which the operational data is processed, and is configured to enable the processed operational data to be retrieved by the user device via the hyperlink (The data required for this purpose may come, e.g., from a central database, a so-called cloud, or from the old sensor's machine-readable electronic nameplate which has been acquired using a mobile terminal and is now programmed into the storage unit – See at least ¶44).
Kohler fails to explicitly disclose wherein the remote external storage device is configured to permit transmission of the processed operational data to the user device only after authentication of the user device, and wherein the remote external storage device is configured to carry out the authentication of the user device by a comparison of the identification number of the vehicle component transmitted from the user device to the remote external storage device with the identification number associated with the operational data in the remote external storage device.
However, Templ teaches:
wherein the remote external storage device is configured to permit transmission of the processed operational data to the user device only after authentication of the user device (The verification system may respond to the authentication request with an authentication response, wherein the authentication response may indicate whether the user/vehicle ID, or the user ID and the vehicle ID has/have been verified by the verification system. The authentication response may be transmitted from the verification system to the authentication device using the same technology that was used when transmitting the authentication request and the ID/IDs to the verification system – See at least ¶21); and
wherein the remote external storage device is configured to carry out the authentication of the user device by a comparison of the identification number of the vehicle component transmitted from the user device to the remote external storage device with the identification number associated with the operational data in the remote external storage device (The first server may route the user/vehicle ID or the user ID and the vehicle ID together with user information to a corresponding other server, i.e. the second server. The second server may be configured to compare the user/vehicle ID, or the user ID and/or the vehicle ID with entries in a database and configured to transmit the authentication response to the authentication device. The authentication response may indicate whether the user/vehicle ID, or the user ID and/or the vehicle ID match an entry in the database – See at least ¶35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kohler and include the feature of wherein the remote external storage device is configured to permit transmission of the processed operational data to the user device only after authentication of the user device, and wherein the remote external storage device is configured to carry out the authentication of the user device by a comparison of the identification number of the vehicle component transmitted from the user device to the remote external storage device with the identification number associated with the operational data in the remote external storage device, as taught by Templ, to reduce the risk of loss and damage to the RFID device and lack of flexibility (See at least ¶5).
Regarding claim 2, Kohler discloses wherein the vehicle component furthermore comprises a smart tag, RFID, or a QR code, in which at least the identification number of the component and the hyperlink to the external storage device are stored (In other words, the sensor which is disposed in the machine component and incorporates the storage unit has an electronically readable nameplate containing machine component data (e.g., RFID, barcode) and which carries at least the unique serial number – See at least ¶46).
Regarding claim 3, Kohler as modified discloses the system of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Kohler as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the transmitter is a mobile radio transmitter, which is configured to transmit according to a mobile radio standard.
However, Templ teaches wherein the transmitter is a mobile radio transmitter, which is configured to transmit according to a mobile radio standard (This transmission may be a wireless or wired transmission. For example, an ID/IDs and the authentication request may be transmitted over radio, e.g. over a wireless access network, or for example over a LAN, a WAN or the internet – See at least ¶20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kohler and include the feature of wherein the transmitter is a mobile radio transmitter, which is configured to transmit according to a mobile radio standard, as taught by Templ, to reduce the risk of loss and damage to the RFID device and lack of flexibility (See at least ¶5).
Regarding claim 8, Kohler discloses wherein the external storage device is configured to transmit the processed operational data to the user device, or is configured such that the processed operational data is retrievable by the user device using the hyperlink (Before being mounted on the machine component, the neutral “replacement sensor with new storage unit” is therefore provided with the identification data thereof (e.g., unique serial number). The data required for this purpose may come, e.g., from the old sensor's machine-readable electronic nameplate, i.e. hyperlink, which has been acquired using a mobile terminal, i.e. user device, and is now programmed into the storage unit – See at least ¶44).
Regarding claim 9, Kohler discloses a method for automatically acquiring, transmitting, storing, accessing and providing remote, controlled access to operational data of a component of an air supply system of a rail vehicle, the method comprising (The rail vehicle component group also includes at least one control unit which is suitable for bidirectional communication with the machine component. Operating data may be generated in the control unit – See at least ¶10):
automatically acquiring the operational data of a vehicle component via a sensor during operation of the rail vehicle (In an embodiment, the machine component has at least one sensor for generating sensor data. This may be acquired in the control unit by bidirectional communication during operation of the machine component, i.e. vehicle component, wherein the operating data may be at least partially generated in the control unit using the acquired sensor data – See at least ¶21);
automatically transmitting the operational data of the vehicle component to an external storage device and storing the operational data linked to a hyperlink for the external storage device (A connection between a “sensor with storage unit” and a control unit is used not only for transmitting measured values, but also for transmitting data to and from the incorporated storage unit – See at least ¶22. The “sensor with storage unit” therefore contains at least the identification data provided by the electronic nameplate. In the course of time, the “sensor with storage unit” is filled with the data of the life history actions (e.g., service data) of the machine component on which it is mounted by the higher-level intelligent controller -See at least ¶23. Examiner notes the claimed “hyperlink” is construed as “electronic nameplate” defined in the Kohler reference),
wherein the external storage device is configured to be connected to a computing device with which the operational data is processed, and is configured to enable the processed operational data to be retrieved by the user device via the hyperlink (The data required for this purpose may come, e.g., from a central database, a so-called cloud, or from the old sensor's machine-readable electronic nameplate which has been acquired using a mobile terminal and is now programmed into the storage unit – See at least ¶44).
acquiring an identification number of the vehicle component or the hyperlink via scanning by a user device, wherein the vehicle component further comprises the hyperlink (This is the case, for example, if the machine component and the storage unit or rather the sensor with storage unit have never been connected to the controller, e.g., to the converter. Before being mounted on the machine component, the neutral “replacement sensor with new storage unit” is therefore provided with the identification data thereof (e.g., unique serial number). The data required for this purpose may come, e.g., from a the old sensor's machine-readable electronic nameplate, i.e. hyperlink, which has been acquired using a mobile terminal, i.e. user device, and is now programmed into the storage unit – See at least ¶44. Operating data is stored in the storage unit in a time-structured manner. Storing of the operating data in the storage unit enables an electronic life history of the machine component to be generated – See at least ¶49. Operating data is stored in the storage unit in the sensor permanently fixed to the component, (e.g., the machine component carries the operating data with it) – See at least ¶52),
transmitting the identification number of the vehicle component to the external storage device (The electronic nameplate, i.e. hyperlink, may include at least identification data for uniquely identifying the machine component – See at least ¶30);
transmitting the operational data from the external storage device to the user device using the identification number (Before being mounted on the machine component, the neutral “replacement sensor with new storage unit” is therefore provided with the identification data thereof (e.g., unique serial number). The data required for this purpose may come, e.g., from a the old sensor's machine-readable electronic nameplate, i.e. hyperlink, which has been acquired using a mobile terminal, i.e. user device, and is now programmed into the storage unit – See at least ¶44. Operating data is stored in the storage unit in a time-structured manner. Storing of the operating data in the storage unit enables an electronic life history of the machine component to be generated – See at least ¶49. Operating data is stored in the storage unit in the sensor permanently fixed to the component, (e.g., the machine component carries the operating data with it) – See at least ¶52).
Kohler fails to explicitly disclose identifying the operational data in the external storage device by a comparison of the identification number of the vehicle component transmitted from the user device to the external storage device with the identification number associated with the operational data in the external storage device and wherein transmitting the operational data to the user device occurs only after successful authentication of the user device.
However, Templ teaches:
identifying the operational data in the external storage device by a comparison of the identification number of the vehicle component transmitted from the user device to the external storage device with the identification number associated with the operational data in the external storage device (The system comprises an identification (ID) device adapted to store an user/vehicle ID string, wherein the user/vehicle ID string identifies the user of the vehicle and the associated vehicle – See at least abstract. Alternatively, or in addition, an ID may be transmitted by reading the ID from an RFID device in the ID device, e.g. via a modulated radio-frequency signa – See at least ¶19. The charging station controller may then indicate to the user over the human machine interface, e.g. a touch sensitive display, that the charging procedure can be started – See at least ¶25, i.e. receive the operational data from the external storage device); and
wherein transmitting the operational data to the user device occurs only after successful authentication of the user device (The verification system may respond to the authentication request with an authentication response, wherein the authentication response may indicate whether the user/vehicle ID, or the user ID and the vehicle ID has/have been verified by the verification system. The authentication response may be transmitted from the verification system to the authentication device using the same technology that was used when transmitting the authentication request and the ID/IDs to the verification system – See at least ¶21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kohler and include the feature of identifying the operational data in the external storage device by a comparison of the identification number of the vehicle component transmitted from the user device to the external storage device with the identification number associated with the operational data in the external storage device and wherein transmitting the operational data to the user device occurs only after successful authentication of the user device, as taught by Templ, to reduce the risk of loss and damage to the RFID device and lack of flexibility (See at least ¶5).
Regarding claim 12, Kohler as modified discloses the method of claim 9, accordingly, the rejection of claim 9 above is incorporated.
Kohler as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the transmission of the operational data of the vehicle component to the external storage device takes place at least partially by mobile radio.
However, Templ teaches wherein the transmission of the operational data of the vehicle component to the external storage device takes place at least partially by mobile radio (This transmission may be a wireless or wired transmission. For example, an ID/IDs and the authentication request may be transmitted over radio, e.g. over a wireless access network, or for example over a LAN, a WAN or the internet – See at least ¶20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kohler and include the feature of wherein the transmission of the operational data of the vehicle component to the external storage device takes place at least partially by mobile radio, as taught by Templ, to reduce the risk of loss and damage to the RFID device and lack of flexibility (See at least ¶5).
Regarding claim 13, Kohler discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium on which instructions are stored, which carry out the method of claim 9 when they are executed by a computing device (The data required for this purpose may come, e.g., from a central database, a so-called cloud, or from the old sensor's machine-readable electronic nameplate which has been acquired using a mobile terminal and is now programmed into the storage unit – See at least ¶44).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yoshida et al., (US 20050253726 A1). Yoshida discloses RFID tag containing the identification information and configured to transmit a reply signal containing the identification information through the antenna device in response to a transmission request signal transmitted from outside and received by the antenna device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665