DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 22-25, 27, 28, 30, 31, 33, and 51-58 are pending.
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. This Application is the national stage application of an international application that claims a domestic benefit to a US provisional application, filed on 29 Mar 2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement, submitted on 10 Sept 2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 because a certification statement was provided. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
The Reply alleges none of the cited prior art teaches a UE suppressing uplink transmissions “starting from a beginning of a first SSB detected as being transmitted by the radio access node.” Regarding Nam, the Reply finds Nam suppresses uplink transmission “only during discrete SSB symbol periods as indicated via SIB1, not from the point of SSB detection onward.” Reply, 3. The Reply also finds “LG does not teach or suggest that the UE should suppress UL based on the event of detecting the first SSB.” Reply, 4-5. The Reply further finds Yi “describes rate matching around specific resources, not suppression starting from the first detected SSB.” Reply, 5.
The arguments against all three references appear directed to the same concept – whether suppression of UL transmissions starts at the first detected SSB. As previously noted, Nam “rate match[es] around . . . the indicated SSB OFDM symbols.” Nam, ¶57. The SSBs are indicated by the eNB via an SIB1 signal. Id. at ¶55. The word “around” in Nam indicates that uplink transmissions before the SSB symbols are not suppressed. In other words, uplink transmissions are not suppressed until the indicated SSB symbol periods.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1, 10, 12, 22, 31, 33, 51, 54, 55, and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nam (US 20190098590) (cited on IDS dated 29 Sept 2021) or rendered obvious by Nam (of record) in view of NPL 1 on PTO-892, dated 27 Nov 2023 (hereinafter referred to as “LG”) or rendered obvious by Nam (of record) in view of Yi (US 20200067676).
Regarding claims 1 and 22, a method, performed at a User Equipment, and a UE, for handling transmissions in a serving cell Discovery Burst Transmission, DBT, window, the UE comprising: one or more processors; and memory comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the UE to:
receive a configuration indicating a serving cell DBT window (Nam, ¶¶123, 125 – UE receives SMTC configuration via SIB);
receive a configuration for UE-initiated Uplink, UL, transmission (Nam, ¶¶42, 56 – UE receives SIB with UL/DL composition information or UL/DL configuration);
suppress UE-initiated UL transmissions during at least a portion of the serving cell DBT window (Nam, ¶¶57-58 – UE prioritizes reception of SSB symbols over UL transmission within the SMTC window); and
receiving information indicating candidate Synchronization Signal (SS) Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) Block (SSB) positions that indicate symbols potentially occupied by SSBs (Nam, ¶55 – UE receives SS burst set composition via SIB, which indicates the pattern of symbols upon which SS blocks will be transmitted by the eNB [e.g. figure 10]; Nam, ¶57 – SMTC window [see pg. 82, section 5.5.2.10 of TS 38.331, cited in IDS of 10 Sept 2024, for SMTC standing for “SS/PBCH block measurement timing configuration”]),
and wherein suppressing the UE-initiated UL transmissions during the at least a portion of the serving cell DBT window comprises suppressing UE-initiated UL transmissions starting from a beginning of a first SSB detected as being transmitted by the radio access node. Nam, ¶57 (UE drops UL transmission in the indicated SSB OFDM symbols, while allowing UL transmission in the symbols “around on the indicated SSB OFDM symbols” via rate matching [i.e. suppression does not start until the SSB symbol]); Nam, ¶152 (slot may be 14 symbols).
In the first alternative, Nam does not explicitly teach suppressing UE-initiated UL transmissions “starting from a beginning of a first SSB detected as being transmitted by the radio access node.” However, LG is analogous art because it attempts to address collisions between SS/PBCH blocks and DL/UL control regions. LG, pg. 2 (1st paragraph under figure 1). To do so, LG enables the network to inform the UE of the positions of actual transmitted SS/PBCH blocks. LG, pg. 5 (under heading “The indication of actually transmitted SS/PBCH blocks within 5ms duration”). At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to drop UL transmissions that conflicted with SSB symbols, taught by Nam, where the SSB symbols are actually transmitted, as taught by LG, in order to improve resource utilization of the UE’s serving cell, while still executing measurements on the UE’s neighboring cells. LG, pgs. 5-6.
In the second alternative, Nam does not explicitly teach suppressing UE-initiated UL transmissions “starting from a beginning of a first SSB detected as being transmitted by the radio access node.” However, Yi also addresses collisions with a rate-matching pattern. Yi, ¶309. To do so, Yi, rate-matches so that its transmission do not overlap with an indicated resource, such as an “actually transmitted SS block.” Yi, ¶¶312-313. The rate matching of Yi may occur at the symbol level. Yi, ¶319. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to rate-match around SSB symbols, taught by Nam, where the SSB symbols are actually transmitted, as taught by Yi, in order to more efficiently use network resources. Yi, ¶260.
Regarding claims 10 and 31, Nam also teaches suppressing symbols corresponding to potential transmissions of system information. Nam, ¶108 (CORESET properties are provided by the PBCH); Nam, ¶¶5-6 (SS/PBCH carries MIB/SIB information).
Regarding claims 12 and 33, Nam also teaches suppressing UE-initiated UL transmissions during an entire duration of the serving cell DBT window. Nam, ¶¶57-58 (UE prioritizes reception of SSB symbols over UL transmission within the entire SMTC window and does not outside the SMTC window).
Regarding claims 51 and 55, they are directed to a network node instead of a UE and thus require the inverse functionality of claims 1 and 22. The claimed inventions of claim 51 and 55 are rejected based upon the same rationale provided for claims 1 and 22 above.
Regarding claims 54 and 58, Nam or the combination of Nam and Harada teaches transmitting an ssb-PositionsInBurst Information Element. Harada, ¶97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 23, 25, 27, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam or Nam in view of LG or Yi (all of record), further in view of Intel Corp., R1-1814009: Summary of Discussions for Rel-15 NR mobility” 3GPP TSG WG1 Meeting #95, 12-16 Nov 2018, Spokane, Washington, 13 pages (cited on IDS, dated 30 Jan 2023) (hereinafter referred to as “Intel”).
Regarding claims 2 and 23, Nam or the combination of Nam and LG or Yi teaches the method of claim 1, the UE of claim 22, and wherein receiving the configuration indicating the serving cell DBT window (Nam, ¶¶123, 125 – UE receives SMTC configuration via SIB), where the SIB includes an information element that is periodically broadcasted (Nam, ¶¶45, 105). Nam or the combination of Nam and Harada does not explicitly teach its SIB “containing a field that indicates a duration of the serving cell DBT window.” However, Intel teaches the field measurementSlots, where the length of the bit string found in the field indicates the duration of the SMTC window. Intel, pg. 4, 2nd box (the number of slots [i.e. duration] of the SMTC corresponds to the number of bits in the bit string). At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to include the measurementSlots field, taught by Intel, within the SIB, taught by Nam or the combination of Nam and LG or Yi, in order to provide the UE with which slots it should measure the RSSI, thus improving coordination between the eNB and UE for acquiring the RSSI. Ibid. (when “1,” the UE measures the RSSI and when a “0,” the UE does not measure the RSSI).
Regarding claims 4 and 25, the combination of Nam, LG or Yi, and Intel teaches the method of claim 2, the UE of claim 23, and a field that indicates the duration of a serving cell DBT window. Intel, pg. 4, 2nd box (measurementSlots). The described invention seems to have the “discoveryBurstWindowLength-r16” field as containing an enumerated value of s0dot5, s1, s2, s3, s4, or s5. Spec, 16:24-25. The bitmap of measurementSlots similarly contains a value in the form of a binary number, while performing the same function as “discovery- BurstWindowLength-r16,” as shown in the rejection of claim 2 above. However, the combination of Nam and Intel does not teach naming its field being “discovery- BurstWindowLength-r16.” However, naming the field that provides the duration of a DBT window is a matter of design choice. At the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the name “discovery-BurstWindowLength-r16” in place of measurementSlots, as taught by the combination of Nam and Intel, in order to provide a field name that explicitly indicates that the field includes the duration of a SMTC window, thus reducing ambiguity as to the field’s contents.
Regarding claim 6 and 27, Nam or the combination of Nam and LG or Yi teaches the method of claim 1, the UE of claim 22 wherein receiving the information indicating the candidate SSB positions (Nam, ¶55 – UE receives SS burst set composition via SIB, which indicates the pattern of symbols upon which SS blocks will be transmitted by the eNB [see e.g. figure 10]), but does not explicitly teach “receiving a bitmap that indicates the pattern.” However, Intel teaches a measurementSlots field that contains a bit string where “1” indicates that the UE should measure the RSSI of a given slot in the SMTC window. Intel, pg. 4, second box and pg. 6 (box). At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to include the measurementSlots field, taught by Intel, within the SIB, taught by Nam or the combination of Nam and Harada, in order to provide the UE with which slots it should measure the RSSI, thus improving coordination between the eNB and UE for acquiring the RSSI. Ibid. (when “1,” the UE measures the RSSI and when a “0,” the UE does not measure the RSSI).
Regarding claims 7 and 28, the combination of Nam, LG or Yi, and Intel also teaches wherein the bitmap is contained in the Information Element ssb-PositionsInBurst. Intel, pg. 2 (box under “Summary of offline discussions”).
Regarding claims 9 and 30, Nam or the combination of Nam and LG or Yi teaches the method of claim 1, the UE of claim 22, and suppressing the UE-initiated UL transmissions during the at least a portion of the serving cell DBT window (Nam, ¶¶57-58 – UE prioritizes reception of SSB symbols over UL transmission within the SMTC window). Nam does not explicitly teach “suppressing UE-initiated UL transmissions during all symbols of any slot containing symbols potentially occupied by the SSBs according to the candidate SSB positions.” Instead of suppressing all symbols of a slot (i.e. slot-level granularity), Nam teaches suppressing only the symbols that are SSB (i.e. symbol-level granularity). However, Intel teaches slot level granularity for suppressing UL transmissions. Intel, pg. 2, second box (“for reception of SS/PBCH blocks, the UE does not transmit PUSCH, PUCCH, PRACH in the slot if a transmission would overlap with any symbol”). At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the slot-level of granularity for prohibiting UL transmissions, as taught by Intel, in place of the symbol-level of granularity, as taught by Nam or the combination of Nam and LG or Yi, in order to simplify the allocation of uplink and downlink resources through the use of larger resource block designations, which eases the hardware requirements on the antenna chain to delineate between smaller resources.
Claims 3, 24, 52, 52, 56, and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Intel (both of record) or Nam in view of LG or Yi and Intel (all of record), as applied above, and further in view of Takahashi (US 2021/0360665).
Regarding claims 3 and 24, the combination of Nam, LG or Yi, and Intel teaches the method of claim 2, the UE of claim 23, and a SIB with an information element that is broadcasted. Nam, ¶¶45, 105. The combination of Nam, Harada, and Intel does not explicitly teach “wherein the field in dedicated signaling is ServingCellConfigCommon and the field in broadcast signaling is ServingCellConfigCommonSIB.” However, Takahashi teaches both fields. Takahashi, ¶55 (ServingCellConfigCommonSIB is ServingCellConfigCommon in SIB1). At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the field names, taught by Takahashi, for the fields of the SIB, taught by the combination of Nam, LG or Yi, and Intel, in order to take advantage of the flexible signaling of parameters provided by a hierarchical structure conveying cell-specific parameter configuration information to the UE. Id. at ¶¶52, 54; see also id. at ¶26 (layers may be omitted or added as needed).
Regarding claims 52 and 56, Nam or the combination of Nam and LG or Yi teaches the method of claim 51, and the radio access node of claim 55 and transmitting the configuration indicating the serving cell DBT window. Nam, ¶¶123, 125 (UE receives SMTC configuration via SIB). Nam does not explicitly teach “transmitting a ServingCellConfigCommon Information Element, IE, or a ServingCellConfigCommonSlB IE containing a field that indicates a duration of the serving cell DBT window. However, Intel teaches the field measurementSlots, where the length of the bit string that comprises the field indicates the duration of the SMTC window. Intel, pg. 4, 2nd box (the number of slots [i.e. duration] of the SMTC corresponds to the number of bits in the bit string). At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to include the measurementSlots field, taught by Intel, within the SIB, taught by Nam, in order to provide the UE with which slots it should measure the RSSI, thus improving coordination between the eNB and UE for acquiring the RSSI. Ibid. (when “1,” the UE measures the RSSI and when a “0,” the UE does not measure the RSSI).
The combination of Nam and Intel does not explicitly teach “a ServingCellConfigCommon Information Element” or “a ServingCellConfigCommonSlB IE” conveying the duration of the DBT window. However, Takahashi teaches both fields. Takahashi, ¶55 (ServingCellConfigCommonSIB is ServingCellConfigCommon in SIB1). At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the field names, taught by Takahashi, for the fields of the SIB, taught by the combination of Nam and Intel, in order to take advantage of the flexible signaling of parameters provided by a hierarchical structure conveying cell-specific parameter configuration information to the UE. Id. at ¶¶52, 54; see also id. at ¶26 (layers may be omitted or added as needed).
Regarding claims 53 and 57, the combination of Nam, LG or Yi, Intel, and Takahashi teaches the method of claim 52, the radio access node of claim 56, and a field that indicates the duration of a serving cell DBT window. Intel, pg. 4, 2nd box (measurementSlots). The described invention seems to have the “discoveryBurstWindowLength-r16” field as containing an enumerated value of s0dot5, s1, s2, s3, s4, or s5. Spec, 16:24-25. The bitmap of measurementSlots similarly contains a value in the form of a binary number, while performing the same function as “discovery- BurstWindowLength-r16,” as shown in the rejection of claim 2 above. However, the combination of Nam and Intel does not teach naming its field being “discovery- BurstWindowLength-r16.” However, naming the field that provides the duration of a DBT window is a matter of design choice. At the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the name “discovery-BurstWindowLength-r16” in place of measurementSlots, as taught by the combination of Nam and Intel, in order to provide a field name that explicitly indicates that the field includes the duration of a SMTC window, thus reducing ambiguity as to the field’s contents.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure include ¶108 of Kang, which describes a period for a SS block pattern; ¶65 of a second Harada reference (prior art by 1 day), which describes a “duration” parameter for an SMTC window; and pg. 5 of R1-1713121, which describes an indication of “actually transmitted SS/PCH bocks” within a SS burst duration.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benjamin Lamont/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461