DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 8 recites “the at least one counterbalancing is,” which appears to contain a typographical error (i.e. “counterbalancing system is”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “the… counterweight system,” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-10, 12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 108582034 A (hereinafter “Ren”).
Regarding claim 1 Ren discloses a system for a robotic platform for use in large workspaces comprising:
a moving platform (5);
a set of cable controlling units (11/12);
a set of towers (1) defining the large workspace, the set of towers (1) for housing at least two of the set of cable controlling units (11/12), the at least two of the set of cable controlling units (11/12) vertically spaced apart from each other (see figs. 1 and 3);
a set of cables (14/15) connected between the moving platform (5) and the set of cable controlling units (11/12), wherein the set of cables (14/15) are connected in a parallelogram manner (see fig. 1) to the moving platform (5); and
at least one counterbalancing system (10) for managing unwanted forces being experienced by the moving platform (5), wherein each of the at least one counterbalancing systems (10) is attached to the moving platform (5) via at least two of the cable controlling units (11/12).
Regarding claim 8 Ren discloses the above system, and further discloses wherein the at least one counterbalancing [system] (10) is a counterweight system.
Regarding claim 9 Ren discloses the above system, and further discloses wherein the counterweight system comprises:
a counterweight apparatus (10); and
a closed cable loop (14/15 are wound together at 18, forming a closed loop from 10 to 5; see paragraph 30) passing through two adjacent cable controlling units (11/12) and the counterweight apparatus (10) and connected to two corners (see fig. 1) of the moving platform (5), the closed cable loop being a part of the set of cables (14/15).
Regarding claim 10 Ren discloses the above system, and further discloses wherein the counterweight apparatus comprises:
a set of pulleys (pulleys 9); and
a counterweight (10);
wherein at least some of the set of pulleys (9) are associated with the closed cable loop and are indirectly connected to the counterweight (10).
Regarding claim 12 Ren discloses the above system, and further discloses a controller (i.e. winches must have an operator interface or they cannot be operated) for controlling the cable controlling units (11/12) and the at least one counterbalancing system (10).
Regarding claim 15 Ren discloses the above system, and further discloses wherein each of the set of cable controlling units (11/12) comprises a top actuator unit (11, which is actuated indirectly by 8).
Regarding claim 16 Ren discloses the above system, and further discloses wherein each of the set of cable controlling units (11/12) comprises a bottom actuator unit (12, which is actuated indirectly by 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-7, and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHANIEL L ADAMS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654