DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's arguments filed 19 May 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 8, 15, 16 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balasubramanian (US-20180034656-A1) in view of Patel (US 20180053094 A1).
Claim 1. Balasubramanian teaches a method for configuring devices for a user, the method comprising:
creating a device-set profile for the user, wherein the device-set profile includes a first set of configuration parameters for a first set of devices at a first location and wherein the device-set profile further includes usage characteristics information for devices in the first set of devices
([0017][0020] It is noted that Step 101 assumes that a user profile has already been set up for the user. That is, the user has previously set ambient conditions of devices and Step 102 (as described later) has learned the ambient conditions to add to the user profile for the devices.
(e.g. usage characteristics created in advance in [0026]-[0028])
[0021] That is, Step 101 can configure an ambient condition of a device detected in an environment to match an ambient condition of a Similar device in a user profile...including a setting that is the same between the device and the similar device of the user profile);
retrieving the device-set profile for the user
([0020]It is noted that Step 101 assumes that a user profile has already been set up for the user. That is, the user has previously set ambient conditions of devices and Step 102 (as described later) has learned the ambient conditions to add to the user profile for the devices.
[0025] In one embodiment, Step 101 can configure an IoT device such as a temperature control unit to set a first temperature based on the ambient condition in the user profile.);
discovering a second set of devices at a second location
([0030] Step 102 begins to identify the new devices in the environment. That is, Step 102 discovers different devices inside the environment to connect with them using, for example, a BLE/Zigbee protocol);
and automatically configuring the second set of devices based on the device-set profile for the user
([0030] When a device in the new environment matches a device of the user profile, Step 101 configures the ambient condition of the devices to match the ambient condition set for the device in the user profile.).
Balasubramanian further teaches the usage characteristics information for each device but does not specifically disclose wherein the device-set profile further includes device interactions information, and wherein the device interactions information for devices in the first set of devices comprises information about how devices in the first set of devices interact with each other.
However, Patel teaches device interactions information, and wherein the device interactions information for devices in the first set of devices comprises information about how devices in the first set of devices interact with each other.
([0036]Usage matrix 300 includes, for example, columns to record interactions between computing devices, the devices involved, and tasks performed (e.g., an application action) using the devices. Usage pattern matrix 300 can be indexed by a pattern number (e.g., pattern number 1, or 2, as illustrated) corresponding to a series of tasks that can be related. [0037] For example, usage pattern number “1” in usage matrix 300 records 3 device interactions: 31A, 32A, and 33A.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use device interactions information as taught by Patel within the system of Balasubramanian for the purpose of enhancing the system to create a record for mapping and re-use of all associated devices unified together for a specific task.
Claim 2. Balasubramanian teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the user includes a human or a robot
([0017] the user).
Claim 7. Balasubramanian teaches the method of claim 1, wherein automatically configuring the second set of devices based on the device-set profile for the user comprises: determining a correspondence between a first device in the first set of devices and a second device in the second set of devices; determining a first configuration from the device-set profile corresponding to the first device; and translating the first configuration into a second configuration for the second device, wherein the second configuration is compatible with the second device
([0037] Therefore, when the user needs to stay in a new environment (or any environment previously visited with IoT enabled devices), the method 100 can match each type of device in the new environment to a device in the user profile and keep their settings in parity (e.g., configure the settings of the devices to match).
[0039] match each discovered component with one from a preferred or default environment (e.g., a user's home), and after the match, copy matching setup information from the preferential component in the preferred environment and override the same for a component a in new environment.).
Claim 8. Balasubramanian teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: updating the device-set profile for the user, wherein updating the device-set profile for the user comprises adding additional configuration parameters for one or more devices; detecting a second set of devices at a second location; and receiving a second set of configuration parameters for the second set of devices at the second location, wherein updating the device-set profile for the user is performed in response to receiving the second set of configuration parameters
([0035] Step 102 identifies this schedule and the user profile is updated by Step 103 with the schedule factor such that the new environment is configured based on the ambient conditions according to the preferred schedule.).
Claim 15. Balasubramanian teaches a node adapted for configuring devices for a user, the node comprising:
a data storage system ([0007] a user profile database,); and
a data processing apparatus comprising a processor ([0007] a processor, and a memory), wherein the data processing apparatus is coupled to the data storage system, and the data processing apparatus is configured to:
create a device-set profile for the user, wherein the device-set profile includes a first set of configuration parameters for a first set of devices at a first location and wherein the device-set profile further includes usage characteristics information for devices in the first set of devices
([0017][0020] It is noted that Step 101 assumes that a user profile has already been set up for the user. That is, the user has previously set ambient conditions of devices and Step 102 (as described later) has learned the ambient conditions to add to the user profile for the devices.
[0021] That is, Step 101 can configure an ambient condition of a device detected in an environment to match an ambient condition of a similar device in a user profile...including a setting that is the same between the device and the similar device of the user profile);
retrieve the device-set profile for the user
([0020]It is noted that Step 101 assumes that a user profile has already been set up for the user. That is, the user has previously set ambient conditions of devices and Step 102 (as described later) has learned the ambient conditions to add to the user profile for the devices.
[0025] In one embodiment, Step 101 can configure an IoT device such as a temperature control unit to set a first temperature based on the ambient condition in the user profile.);
discover a second set of devices at a second location
([0030] Step 102 begins to identify the new devices in the environment. That is, Step 102 discovers different devices inside the environment to connect with them using, for example, a BLE/Zigbee protocol);
and automatically configure the second set of devices based on the device-set profile for the user
([0030] When a device in the new environment matches a device of the user profile, Step 101 configures the ambient condition of the devices to match the ambient condition set for the device in the user profile.).
Balasubramanian further teaches usage characteristics information for each device but does not specifically disclose wherein the device-set profile further includes device interactions information.
However, Patel teaches wherein the device-set profile further includes device interactions information and wherein the device interactions information for devices in the first set of devices comprises information about how devices in the first set of devices interact with each other.
[0036] Usage matrix 300 includes, for example, columns to record interactions between computing devices, the devices involved, and tasks performed (e.g., an application action) using the devices. Usage pattern matrix 300 can be indexed by a pattern number (e.g., pattern number 1, or 2, as illustrated) corresponding to a series of tasks that can be related. [0037] For example, usage pattern number “1” in usage matrix 300 records 3 device interactions: 31A, 32A, and 33A.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use device interactions information as taught by Patel within the system of Balasubramanian for the purpose of enhancing the system to create a record for mapping and re-use of all associated devices unified together for a specific task.
Claim 16. Balasubramanian teaches the node of claim 15, wherein the user includes one of a human and a robot
([0017] the user).
Claim 21. Balasubramanian teaches the node of claim 15, wherein automatically configuring the second set of devices based on the device-set profile for the user comprises: determining a correspondence between a first device in the first set of devices and a second device in the second set of devices; determining a first configuration from the device-set profile corresponding to the first device; and translating the first configuration into a second configuration for the second device, wherein the second configuration is compatible with the second device
([0037] Therefore, when the user needs to stay in a new environment (or any environment previously visited with IoT enabled devices), the method 100 can match each type of device in the new environment to a device in the user profile and keep their settings in parity (e.g., configure the settings of the devices to match).
[0039] match each discovered component with one from a preferred or default environment (e.g., a user's home), and after the match, copy matching setup information from the preferential component in the preferred environment and override the same for a component a in new environment.).
Claim 22. Balasubramanian teaches the node of claim 15, wherein the data processing apparatus 1s further configured to: update the device-set profile for the user, wherein updating the device-set profile for the user comprises adding additional configuration parameters for one or more devices
([0035] Step 102 identifies this schedule and the user profile is updated by Step 103 with the schedule factor such that the new environment is configured based on the ambient conditions according to the preferred schedule.).
Claim 23. Balasubramanian teaches the node of claim 22, wherein the data processing apparatus is further configured to detect a new device at the first location and wherein updating the device-set profile for the user is performed in response to detecting the new device at the first location
([0026] Step 102 begins to identify the new devices in the environment.).
Claim 24. Balasubramanian teaches the node of claim 22, wherein the data processing apparatus 1s further configured to: detect a second set of devices at a second location; and receive a second set of configuration parameters for the second set of devices at the second location, wherein updating the device-set profile for the user is performed in response to receiving the second set of configuration parameters
([0033] Step 103 updates the user profile to store the new ambient condition of the firmness setting of the bed. That is, if the user changes their preference in the ambient condition, Step 102 identifies the change to the user preference and updates the user profile in Step 103 such that the next time the user enters a room with a matching device, the device is automatically configured (e.g., via Step 101) to have the updated, more preferential, ambient condition.).
Claim 25. Balasubramanian teaches the node of claim 15, wherein creating the device-set profile for the user comprises receiving a master device-set profile from a database
([0017][0020] It is noted that Step 101 assumes that a user profile has already been set up for the user. That is, the user has previously set ambient conditions of devices and Step 102 (as described later) has learned the ambient conditions to add to the user profile for the devices.).
Claim(s) 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balasubramanian, Patel and further in view of Bruhn (US 20170191695 A1).
Claim 4. Balasubramanian teaches the method of claim 1, and further discloses the process of recording interaction and device information usage of the user within each location after a threshold period of time (Wilson [0066] [0130]). The prior art does not specifically disclose wherein discovering the second set of devices at the second location comprises: determining the user is at the second location for a period of time greater thana threshold, wherein the second location is different from the first location; and determining which devices at the second location are relevant to the user based on the device-set profile.
However, Bruhn teaches determining the user is at the second location for a period of time greater than a threshold, wherein the second location is different from the first location; and
determining which devices at the second location are relevant to the user based on the device-set profile
([O0010] by the television receiver, the period of time to a predetermined threshold period of time; and in response to determining that the period of time exceeds the threshold period of time, applying the home automation settings associated with the second location to the home automation system.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the process of determining the user is at the second location for a period of time greater thana threshold, wherein the second location is different from the first location; and determining which devices at the second location are relevant to the user based on the device-set profile as taught by Bruhn within the system of Balasubramanian for the purpose of enhancing the system to detect and adjust settings on the basis of the sedentary action of a user at a particular location.
Claim 18. Balasubramanian teaches the node of claim 15, wherein discovering the second set of devices at the second location comprises: determining the user is at the second location for a period of time greater thana threshold, wherein the second location is different from the first location; and determining which devices at the second location are relevant to the user based on the device-set profile.
However, Bruhn teaches determining the user is at the second location for a period of time greater than a threshold, wherein the second location is different from the first location; and determining which devices at the second location are relevant to the user based on the device-set profile.
([O0010] by the television receiver, the period of time to a predetermined threshold period of time; and in response to determining that the period of time exceeds the threshold period of time, applying the home automation settings associated with the second location to the home automation system.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the process of determining the user is at the second location for a period of time greater than a threshold, wherein the second location is different from the first location; and determining which devices at the second location are relevant to the user based on the device-set profile as taught by Bruhn within the system of Balasubramanian for the purpose of enhancing the system to detect and adjust settings on the basis of the sedentary action of a user at a particular location.
Claim(s) 14, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balasubramanian, Patel and further in view of Baudino (US 20060123081 A1).
Claim 14. Balasubramanian teaches the method of claim 1, and discloses the process of possessing a master device profile and updating the master device profile but does not specifically disclose wherein creating the device-set profile for the user comprises receiving a master device-set profile from a database, the method further comprising: updating the master device-set profile for a given time instant; creating a profile difference between the device-set profile for the user and the master device-set profile; and updating the device-set profile based on the profile difference.
However, Baudino teaches wherein creating the device-set profile for the user comprises receiving a master device-set profile from a database, the method further comprising: updating the master device-set profile for a given time instant; creating a profile difference between the device-set profile for the user and the master device-set profile; and updating the device-set profile based on the profile difference
([0040] Once the master device (52) gets the information (parameters/profiles), the device 52 can generate difference from what is stored locally and send it to the other device 54. After all the data is downloaded successfully, the master device 52 starts sending its own profile to the other device. Once all the data is updated, then both devices can start using the new parameters/profile and can update the respective User interfaces, favorites, etc. on each of the devices.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the master device set-profile as taught by Baudino within the system of Balasubramanian for the purpose of enhancing the system to create a profile with similar characteristics which can be shared between both devices.
Claim 27. Balasubramanian teaches the node of claim 25, and discloses the process of possessing a master device profile and updating the master device profile but does not specifically disclose wherein the data processing apparatus 1s further configured to: update the master device-set profile for a given time instant; create a profile difference between the device-set profile for the user and the master device-set profile; and send the profile difference to the database
However, Baudino teaches wherein the data processing apparatus 1s further configured to: update the master device-set profile for a given time instant; create a profile difference between the device-set profile for the user and the master device-set profile; and send the profile difference to the database
([0040] Once the master device (52) gets the information (parameters/profiles), the device 52 can generate difference from what is stored locally and send it to the other device 54. After all the data is downloaded successfully, the master device 52 starts sending its own profile to the other device. Once all the data is updated, then both devices can start using the new parameters/profile and can update the respective User interfaces, favorites, etc. on each of the devices.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the master device set-profile as taught by Baudino within the system of Balasubramanian for the purpose of enhancing the system to create a profile with similar characteristics which can be shared between both devices.
Claim 28. Balasubramanian teaches the node of claim 25, and discloses the process of possessing a master device profile and updating the master device profile but does not specifically disclose wherein the data processing apparatus is further configured to: update the master device-set profile for a given time instant; create a profile difference between the device-set profile for the user and the master device-set profile; and update the device-set profile based on the profile difference
([0033] Step 103 updates the user profile to store the new ambient condition of the firmness setting of the bed. That is, if the user changes their preference in the ambient condition, Step 102 identifies the change to the user preference and updates the user profile in Step 103 such that the next time the user enters a room with a matching device, the device is automatically configured (e.g., via Step 101) to have the updated, more preferential, ambient condition.).
However, Baudino teaches wherein the data processing apparatus is further configured to: update the master device-set profile for a given time instant; create a profile difference between the device-set profile for the user and the master device-set profile; and update the device-set profile based on the profile difference
([0040] Once the master device (52) gets the information (parameters/profiles), the device 52 can generate difference from what is stored locally and send it to the other device 54. After all the data is downloaded successfully, the master device 52 starts sending its own profile to the other device. Once all the data is updated, then both devices can start using the new parameters/profile and can update the respective User interfaces, favorites, etc. on each of the devices.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the master device set-profile as taught by Baudino within the system of Balasubramanian for the purpose of enhancing the system to create a profile with similar characteristics which can be shared between both devices.
Claim(s) 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balasubramanian, Patel and further in view of Wilson (US 20170054615 A1).
Claim 26. Balasubramanian teaches the node of claim 25, but does not specifically disclose wherein the master device-set profile is based on input received from multiple users
However, Wilson teaches the master device-set profile is based on input received from multiple users
([0082] For instance, home automation settings database 347 may be configured to store information on which types of events should be indicated to users, to which users, in what order, and what communication methods should be used.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the master device-set as taught by Wilson within the system of Balasubramanian for the purpose of enhancing the system of have a preferred profile in which a user can select.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 6 and 20 are dependent from the objected claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: After careful consideration of Applicant’s arguments, the Examiner has determined that the prior art fails to specifically teach claim 5 as a whole. The Examiner has also determined that the prior art fails to specifically teach claim 19 as a whole.
Prior art such as Zalewski (US 20200244297 A1) was the closest prior art related to connecting groups of devices and sharing access to with hardware after discovery of devices within the environment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages, filed 27 October 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 15, 16 and 21-26 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Balasubramanian (US-20180034656-A1) in view of Patel (US 20180053094 A1).
For at least claims 1 and 15, the prior art of Patel provides the obviousness improvement teaching the device interactions information and wherein the device interactions information for devices in the first set of devices comprises information about how devices in the first set of devices interact with each other.
Further, Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Therefore, Balasubramanian and Patel are obvious over the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/RUFUS C POINT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689