DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2015/0017461 (hereinafter “Lindgren”), and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2015/0197942 (hereinafter “Pervan”).Regarding claim 1 Lindgren teaches a method of making a planar building panel (planar workpiece) 10, the method includes applying a first binder and free lignocellulosic or cellulosic particles on a first surface of a carrier for forming a first layer 11, applying a second binder and free lignocellulosic or cellulosic particles on the first layer 11 for forming a second layer 12, wherein the first binder is different from the second binder, and applying heat and pressure to the first and second layers 11, 12 to form a building panel 10 (abstract and Figure 2). Lindgren teaches the first layer 11 (corresponding to a component of the planar workpiece) is produced from a first mix (material) 3 comprising lignocellulosic particles, also defined as fibers, and a first binder (a production step of gluing the fibers), where at least the first layer 11 undergoes the application of heat and pressure to form the building panel (planar workpiece) 10 (paragraphs [0019], [0067] and [0068], and Figure 1). Lindgren teaches the first binder includes a melamine formaldehyde resin or a phenol formaldehyde resin, where the first binder (or binder of the first mix) is present in an amount of 45-60 wt% (paragraphs [0066] – [0068]), which overlaps the claimed range. Lindgren teaches the building panel (planar workpiece) 10 has an upper face and a lower face and lateral surfaces (Figure 2). Lindgren does not explicitly teach that after the formation of the building panel (planar workpiece) 10, additional steps of: providing the planar workpiece, applying a coating, and applying a decoration are performed. Pervan teaches a building panel (workpiece) having an upper face, a lower face, and lateral surfaces, comprising lignocellulosic fibers and binders, such as melamine formaldehyde resin, phenol formaldehyde resin, etc. (abstract, paragraph [0033], and Figure 1). Pervan teaches the building panel is formed after the application of heat and pressure (paragraphs [0072] – [0075]). Pervan teaches the building panel includes a surface layer 1 which may further comprise a protective overlay (coating) arranged thereon (providing the workpiece and applying a coating) (abstract and paragraph [0041]). Pervan teaches the protective overlay may be applied on the surface layer after pressing (paragraph [0070]), which corresponds to after the formation of the building panel, additional steps of: providing the building panel, applying a coating, and applying a decoration are performed. Pervan teaches the protective overlay is applied to increase wear resistance to the building panel and results in surface of the building panel which has a more attractive surface design and/or better surface properties than present panels (paragraphs [0013] and [0070]), which corresponds to providing a workpiece having an upper face, a lower face, and lateral surfaces, applying a coating, and applying a decoration. Lindgren and Pervan are analogous inventions in the field of building panels. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify the surface of the building panel (planar workpiece) 10 of Lindgren with the protective overlay of Pervan to increase the wear resistance of the building panel.Regarding claim 2 In addition, Pervan teaches the protective overlay includes a lacquer (heat-curable synthetic resin or varnish) (paragraph [0070]).Regarding claim 3 In addition, Pervan teaches the protective overlay (coating) includes a lacquer (applied as a liquid coating), a protective foil, etc. (paragraph [0070]). Pervan teaches known foils include paper or plastic foils (applied in the form of papers and/or in the form of films) (paragraph [0045]).Regarding claim 4 In addition, the protective overlay (coating) from Pervan is considered to meet the limitations of claim 4 because said protective overlay (coating) must necessarily have either a single layer or multiple layers as these two options encompass the entire range of possible layered configurations.Regarding claims 7 and 14 In addition, each of Lindgren and Pervan teach the surfaces of their respective building panels are embossed to form a structured surface, formed by the use of an embossed press plate (Lindgren – paragraph [0083]; and Pervan – paragraphs [0025] – [0026], and [0029]). Therefore, with Pervan’s teachings of applying a protective overlay in the form of a lacquer or protective foil on the surface layer after pressing (paragraph [0070]), the protective overlay is considered to at least partially conform to the embossed topography of the surface layer when applied thereon, which corresponds to a step of structuring the coating, by mechanical means, at least on a portion of an upper face, a lower face, or a lateral face.Regarding claim 8 In addition, Pervan teaches the protective overlay includes wear resistant particles (aggregates) (paragraphs [0054] and [0070]).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindgren and Pervan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of United States Patent Number 5,462,792 (hereinafter “Jong”).Regarding claims 5 and 15 The limitations from claim 1 have been set forth above. In addition, each of Lindgren and Pervan teach a general desire to cure the components which make up their building panels to yield the final product (Lindgren – paragraphs [0013], [0078], [0083] – [0084], [0086], etc.; and Pervan – paragraphs [0026], etc.). Pervan also teaches the protective overlay includes a lacquer (paragraph [0070]). Pervan does not explicitly teach the protective overlay (coating), such as the lacquer, is: cured under the effect of pressure and/or temperature; and/or includes a step of curing. Jong teaches a sheet material including a textured coating applied thereon, where the sheet material is formed by a substrate having on at least one face a cured, heat-dried or heat-cured lacquer layer (abstract). Jong teaches the lacquer layer may be cured at a temperature of about 325°C for 24 seconds (cured under the effect of temperature) (column 2, lines 40-45). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to introduce the lacquer material of Pervan to the heat-curing step, as taught by Jong, to provide a cured protective overlay (coating) to the building panel, which is desired by each of Lindgren and Pervan.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed 21 October 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-5, 7, 8, 14, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-5, 7, 8, 14, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 21 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argued a person having ordinary skill in the art would not look to Pervan to coat the panel of Lindgren because Lindgren teaches a surface material having 60% thermosetting resin, and Pervan teaches a surface material of fiberboard, plywood, particle board or OSB. The examiner respectfully disagrees. While it is noted that Pervan does teach fiberboard, plywood, particle board or OSB materials, these materials are directed to what is contained in the wood fiber based core. Therefore, due to the fact that Pervan also teaches different layers 1, 3, and 7 are applied to either surface of the wood fiber based core 2, a person having ordinary skill in the art would not consider the compatibility of the protective overlay with the core because the protective overlay would not be in contact with the core. Furthermore, Pervan teaches the protective overlay may be provided over a veneer containing holes, cracks, or other features where a lower sub-layer 3 may fill in these features, which would result in the sub-layer being in contact with said protective overlay. Pervan teaches the sub-layer 3 comprises lignocellulosic fibers and binders, such as melamine formaldehyde resin, phenol formaldehyde resin, etc., which is not different than Lindgren or the pending claims. See abstract, paragraphs [0023], [0032] – [0033], [0040] and [0041], and Figure 1 from Pervan. The applicant argued Pervan does not disclose any information as to how coatings may react with a surface which is mainly thermosetting resin. The examiner respectfully disagrees and contends that Pervan does teach their protective overlay (coating) may have contact with the thermosetting resin containing sub-layer and Pervan does not highlight any potential issues, such as the issues highlighted by the applicant. In other words, the applicant’s position is conclusory in nature and is not supported by the prior art references.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN HANDVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783