DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s amendment filed on 7/2/25. Claims 1, 9 and 17. Claims 23 and 24 canceled. Claims 1-22 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. US Patent No. 7, 456, 748 cited in previous in view of Forster US Publication No. 2005/0282495.
Re Claim 1, Cheng discloses a radio frequency identification (RFID) device comprising (see abstract; refer to figs. 1 and 2 and corresponding text) : an antenna (10) defining a gap (between pads 11) ; and an RFID strap (‘die strap’) electrically coupled to the antenna across the gap (Via adhesive 15 on pads 11), wherein the RFID strap is secured to the antenna by only a self-adhesive substance (Cheng teaches several different types of adhesive 15 which can be applied to the antenna pads 11; Cheng teaches the adhesive can be a pressure-sensitive adhesive and teaches this as the only means of attachment, thus satisfying the limitations of “…by only a self-adhesive substance” as claimed; see col. 2 ll. 47-67 and col. 3 ll. 20-21 and 25-34, etc.), and wherein the self-adhesive substance does not require a separate curing procedure (Cheng’s disclosed pressure-sensitive adhesive is applied with pressure and does not require ‘a separate curing procedure’).
Cheng fails to disclose selecting the self-adhesive substance based on thickness and the dielectric constant of the substance and a real and imaginary part of a dielectric constant, wherein the thickness and the dielectric constant of the self-adhesive substance is selected in a manner to obtain a capacitance value that enables a desired electric coupling between the RFID strap and the antenna, and wherein self-adhesive substance is disposed exclusively on the RFID Strap.
However, Forster discloses selecting the self-adhesive substance based on thickness and the dielectric constant of the substance and a real and imaginary part of a dielectric constant (note that a dielectric constant necessarily includes real and imaginary parts as claimed) , wherein the thickness and the dielectric constant of the self-adhesive substance is selected in a manner to obtain a capacitance value that enables a desired electric coupling between the RFID strap and the antenna, and wherein self-adhesive substance is disposed exclusively on the RFID Strap (P49, P51, P59, P60).
Given the teachings of Forster it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cheng to base the selection of the self-adhesive substance on the thickness and the dielectric constant of the substance and a real and imaginary part of a dielectric constant, wherein the thickness and the dielectric constant of the self-adhesive substance is selected in a manner to obtain a capacitance value that enables a desired electric coupling between the RFID strap and the antenna, and wherein self-adhesive substance is disposed exclusively on the RFID Strap .
Doing so would provide and RFID transponder that is configured and assembled to operate more reliably in the given operating environment (P34).
Re Claim 2, Cheng and Forster discloses the RFID device of claim 1, and Cheng discloses wherein the self-adhesive substance comprises a pressure- sensitive adhesive (Cheng col. 3 ll. 20-21 and 25-34, etc.).
Re Claim 3, Cheng and Forster discloses the RFID device of claim 1, and Cheng discloses wherein the self-adhesive substance comprises an isotropic conductive adhesive (Cheng col 2, l 53-55) .
Re Claim 4, Cheng and Forster discloses the RFID device of claim 3, and Cheng discloses wherein said isotropic conductive adhesive comprises a paste (Cheng col 2, l 47-50).
Re Claim 5, Cheng and Forster discloses the RFID device of claim 3, and Cheng discloses wherein said isotropic conductive adhesive comprises a film (Cheng col 2, l 47-55).
Re Claim 6, Cheng and Forster discloses the RFID device of claim 1, and Cheng wherein the self-adhesive substance comprises an anisotropic conductive adhesive (Cheng col 2, l 47-55).
Re Claim 7, Cheng and Forster discloses the RFID device of claim 6, and Cheng discloses wherein said anisotropic conductive adhesive comprises a paste (Cheng col 2, l 47-55).
Re Claim 8, Cheng and Forster discloses the RFID device of claim 6, and Cheng discloses wherein said anisotropic conductive adhesive comprises a film (Cheng col 2, l 47-55).
Re Claim 9, Cheng discloses a method of assembling a radio frequency identification (RFID) device comprising (see abstract; refer to figs. 1 and 2 and corresponding text):
providing an antenna (10) defining a gap(between pads 11);
providing an RFID strap (‘die strap’) ; and securing the RFID strap (‘die strap’) to the antenna (10) using only a self-adhesive substance so as to electrically couple the RFID strap ( die strap) to the antenna (10) across the gap (Via adhesive 15 on pads 11), and wherein the self-adhesive substance does not require a separate curing procedure (Cheng teaches several different types of adhesive 15 which can be applied to the antenna pads 11; Cheng teaches the adhesive can be a pressure-sensitive adhesive and teaches this as the only means of attachment, thus satisfying the limitations of “…by only a self-adhesive substance” as claimed; see col. 2 ll. 47-67 and col. 3 ll. 20-21 and 25-34, etc.)
Cheng fails to disclose wherein the self-adhesive substance is selected based on a thickness of the self-adhesive substance and a real and imaginary part of a dielectric constant associated with the self-adhesive substance, wherein the thickness and the dielectric constant of the self-adhesive substance is selected in a manner to obtain a capacitance value that enables a desired electric coupling between the RFID strap and the antenna, and wherein the self-adhesive substance is disposed exclusively on the RFID strap.
However, Forster discloses wherein the self-adhesive substance is selected based on a thickness of the self-adhesive substance and a real and imaginary part of a dielectric constant associated with the self-adhesive substance (note that a dielectric constant necessarily includes real and imaginary parts as claimed) , wherein the thickness and the dielectric constant of the self-adhesive substance is selected in a manner to obtain a capacitance value that enables a desired electric coupling between the RFID strap and the antenna, and wherein the self-adhesive substance is disposed exclusively on the RFID strap (P49, P51, P59, P60).
Given the teachings of Forster it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cheng wherein the self-adhesive substance is selected based on a thickness of the self-adhesive substance and a real and imaginary part of a dielectric constant associated with the self-adhesive substance, wherein the thickness and the dielectric constant of the self-adhesive substance is selected in a manner to obtain a capacitance value that enables a desired electric coupling between the RFID strap and the antenna, and wherein the self-adhesive substance is disposed exclusively on the RFID strap.
Doing so would provide and RFID transponder that is configured and assembled to operate more reliably in the given operating environment (P34).
Re Claim 10, Cheng and Forster discloses the method of claim 9, and Cheng discloses wherein the self-adhesive substance comprises a pressure- sensitive adhesive (Cheng col. 3 ll. 20-21 and 25-34, etc.).
Re Claim 11, Cheng and Forster discloses the method of claim 9, and Cheng discloses wherein the self-adhesive substance comprises an isotropic conductive adhesive (Cheng col 2, l 47-55).
Re Claim 12, Cheng and Forster discloses the method of claim 11, and Cheng discloses wherein said isotropic conductive adhesive comprises a paste (Cheng col 2, l 47-55).
Re Claim 13, Cheng and Forster discloses the method of claim 11, and Cheng discloses wherein said isotropic conductive adhesive comprises a film (Cheng col 2, l 47-55).
Re Claim 14,Cheng and Forster discloses the method of claim 9, and Cheng discloses wherein the self-adhesive substance comprises an anisotropic conductive adhesive (Cheng col 2, l 47-55).
Re Claim 15, Cheng and Forster discloses the method of claim 14, and Cheng discloses wherein said anisotropic conductive adhesive comprises a paste (Cheng col 2, l 47-55).
Re Claim 16, Cheng and Forster discloses the method of claim 14, and Cheng discloses wherein said anisotropic conductive adhesive comprises a film (Cheng col 2, l 47-55).
Re Claim 17, Cheng discloses a system for assembling a radio frequency identification (RFID) device, comprising (see abstract; refer to figs. 1 and 2 and corresponding text):
an antenna (10) defining a gap (between pads 11); and
a strap attach to electrically couple an RFID strap (‘die strap’) to the antenna (10) across the gap (Via adhesive 15 on pads 11),, wherein the RFID strap (‘die strap’) is secured to the antenna (10) by only a self-adhesive substance and wherein the self-adhesive substance does not require a separate curing procedure, (Cheng teaches several different types of adhesive 15 which can be applied to the antenna pads 11; Cheng teaches the adhesive can be a pressure-sensitive adhesive and teaches this as the only means of attachment, thus satisfying the limitations of “…by only a self-adhesive substance” as claimed; see col. 2 ll. 47-67 and col. 3 ll. 20-21 and 25-34, etc.).
Cheng fails to disclose wherein the self-adhesive substance is selected based on a thickness of the self-adhesive substance and a real and imaginary part of a dielectric constant associated with the self-adhesive substance, wherein the thickness and the dielectric constant of the self-adhesive substance is selected in a manner to obtain a capacitance value that enables a desired electric coupling between the RFID strap and the antenna, and wherein the self-adhesive substance is disposed exclusively on the RFID strap and an antenna creation station and a strap attachment station .
However Forster discloses wherein the self-adhesive substance is selected based on a thickness of the self-adhesive substance and a real and imaginary part of a dielectric constant associated with the self-adhesive substance(note that a dielectric constant necessarily includes real and imaginary parts as claimed) , wherein the thickness and the dielectric constant of the self-adhesive substance is selected in a manner to obtain a capacitance value that enables a desired electric coupling between the RFID strap and the antenna, and wherein the self-adhesive substance is disposed exclusively on the RFID strap and an antenna creation station and a strap attachment station(P49, P51, P59, P60; Figs. 1, 7, and 11).
Given the teachings of Forster it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cheng with wherein the self-adhesive substance is selected based on a thickness of the self-adhesive substance and a real and imaginary part of a dielectric constant associated with the self-adhesive substance, wherein the thickness and the dielectric constant of the self-adhesive substance is selected in a manner to obtain a capacitance value that enables a desired electric coupling between the RFID strap and the antenna, and wherein the self-adhesive substance is disposed exclusively on the RFID strap and an antenna creation station and a strap attachment station .
Doing so would provide and RFID transponder that is configured and assembled to operate more reliably in the given operating environment (P34).
Re Claim 18, Cheng and Forster discloses the system of claim 17, and Forster discloses a testing station configured to test the performance of the RFID device assembled by the system (Fig. 7, steps 88, 90, 92; Fig. 11, Step 112) .
Re Claim 19, Cheng and Forster discloses the system of claim 17, and Forster discloses a programming station configured to program an RFID chip of the RFID device assembled by the system (P34).
Re Claim 20, Cheng and Forster discloses the system of claim 17, and Forster discloses a printing station configured to apply human-readable indicia to the RFID device assembled by the system (P51, P54).
Claim 22, Cheng and Forster discloses the method of claim 9, and Cheng discloses wherein the strap is a wet strap that comprises one of a laminating transfer tape or at least one adhesive with a liner (Cheng, Col. 3, lines 10-16).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. US Patent No. 7, 456, 748 cited in previous action in view of Forster US Publication No. 2005/0282495 as applied to claim 17 above and further in view of Cote et al. US Publication No. 2007/0238245 cited in previous action, herein referred to as Cote ‘245.
Re Claim 21, Chen, and Forster disclose the system of claim 17.
Chen and Forster fails to disclose a cutting station configured to cut a portion of an RFID device assembled by the system.
Cote ‘245 discloses a printing station configured to apply human- readable indicia to an RFID device assembled by the system (P39).
Given the teachings of ‘Cote 245 it would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen and Forster with a printing station configured to apply human- readable indicia to an RFID device assembled by the system.
Doing so provides an extremely low-cost RFID tag that is simple to manufacture and comprises a minimal number of materials.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant amended the claims with new limitations which necessitated new search and consideration. Therefore this action is made Final.
Conclusion
The following reference is cited but not relied upon:
Ferguson et al. discloses a method of making an RFID inlay includes placing a strap on an inlay substrate such that conductive bumps on the strap are in contact with an antenna on the substrate, and attaching the strap to the antenna and inlay substrate. According to a specific embodiment of the invention, the attaching may include curing an adhesive on the conductive bumps.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SONJI N. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/SONJI N JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876