DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Office acknowledges receipt on 12 August 2026 of Applicants’ amendment in which claim 1 is amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 12, 14-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (CN107946341A) (English translation enclosed) in view of Hsu et al. (US20070194696A1) and Liu (US20200066809A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yu teaches in Fig. 6 an organic light-emitting diode display screen, comprising: a substrate (30), a buffer layer (70), a first electrode layer (511), a pixel layer (layer between 40 and 512), a second electrode layer (512), a packaging layer (81), a polarizing layer (82) and a cover plate (84) {[0043, 0052, 0055, 0056]};
wherein the pixel layer (layer between 40 and 512) includes a main display area (layer between 40 and 512 within 11) and a light-transmitting area (layer between 40 and 512 within 13), and the polarizing layer (82) has a polarizing layer through hole (821), and a part of the pixel layer (layer between 40 and 512) located directly below the polarizing layer through hole (821) forms the light-transmitting area (layer between 40 and 512 within 13), and the main display area (layer between 40 and 512 within 11) and the light-transmitting area (layer between 40 and 512 within 13) are not separated using a packaging material {no separation using packaging material}, and the packaging layer (81) packages the pixel layer (layer between 40 and 512) by covering upper surfaces of the main display area (layer between 40 and 512 within 11) and the light-transmitting area (layer between 40 and 512 within 13) {[0055]},
wherein the main display area (layer between 40 and 512 within 11) includes a plurality of pixel light-emitting structures (51) arranged in an array (at least 2x1 array) and a pixel defining structure (e.g., structure of layer between 40 and 512 laterally disposed between adjacent 51s) filling gaps (e.g., gaps between adjacent 51s in layer between 40 and 512) between the plurality of pixel light-emitting structures (51) {Fig. 6; [0043]}, and
a primary part of the pixel defining structure (e.g., structure of layer between 40 and 512 laterally disposed between adjacent 51s) is a light-transmitting filling material (material of layer between 40 and 512 laterally disposed between adjacent 51s) {Yu teaches, in paragraphs [0011, 0044, 0062], that first light-transmitting area 13 is transparent to allow outside light to pass through to a camera 20; thus, the material of layer between 40 and 512 laterally disposed between adjacent 51s , which is common to areas 11 and 13, is transparent},
wherein the light-transmitting area (layer between 40 and 512 within 13) is filled by a same material as the light-transmitting filling material (material of layer between 40 and 512 laterally disposed between adjacent 51s) of the pixel defining structure (e.g., structure of layer between 40 and 512 laterally disposed between adjacent 51s), and
wherein the main display area (layer between 40 and 512 within 11 within 11) and the light-transmitting area (layer between 40 and 512 within 13) constitute a continuous planar top surface.
Yu does not teach a light block layer is provided at a side wall of the pixel defining structure.
In an analogous art, Hsu teaches a light block layer (162) is provided at a side wall of a pixel defining structure (142) {Fig. 3; ¶0023}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu’s organic light-emitting diode display screen based on the teachings of Hsu – such that a light block layer is provided at a side wall of the pixel defining structure – so side emitting light … can be guided to an outside without interfering with adjacent pixel areas. Hsu ¶0025.
Although Yu seems to teach in Fig. 6 and paragraph [0045] that a pixel density of the light-transmitting area (13) is smaller than that of the main display area (11), so that a light transmittance of the light-transmitting area (13) is greater than that of the main display area (11), the Office supplements Yu’s teaching with a more explicit written description of such subject matter provided, in an analogous art, by Liu.
Liu teaches in Figs. 1-7B and paragraph [0057], a pixel density of the light-transmitting area (100) is smaller than that of the main display area (200), so that a light transmittance of the light-transmitting area (100) is greater than that of the main display area (200). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu’s organic light-emitting diode display screen as modified by Hsu based on the teachings of Liu, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, to allow light to pass through and into the display screen to meet requirement on light intensity or light receiving volume of the under-screen photosensitive module. Liu [0057]. Moreover, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07. Still further, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. MPEP §2143((I)(E).
Regarding claim 2, Yu as modified by Hsu and Liu teaches the organic light-emitting diode display screen of claim 1, but Yu does not expressly teach an aperture of the polarizing layer through hole is 1 mm to 2.5 mm.
However, the instant application does not disclose a special advantage acquired from the claimed aperture range of 1 to 2.5 mm. Further, it is known that the size of the aperture is a result effective variable since it affects the brightness, size, and depth of field of an image captured by a camera. See, e.g., MPEP §2144.05(II)(B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu’s organic light-emitting diode display screen as modified by Hsu and Liu for discovering an optimum or workable range of brightness, size, and/or depth of field of an image captured by a camera – such that an aperture of the polarizing layer through hole is 1 mm to 2.5 mm – because where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP §2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 3, Yu as modified by Hsu and Liu teaches the organic light-emitting diode display screen of claim 1, and Yu further teaches wherein the light-transmitting area (layer between 40 and 512 within 13) is formed by filling the same material as the light-transmitting filling material (material of layer between 40 and 512 laterally disposed between adjacent 51s) or a light-transmitting structure (structure of layer between 40 and 512 within 13) produced with the same material as the light-transmitting filling material (material of layer between 40 and 512 laterally disposed between adjacent 51s) {The former alternative of the two in the Markush Group is addressed fully with respect to base claim 1}.
Examiner’s Note: The recitation of “is formed by” is a product-by-process feature that does not further limit the scope of the claimed subject matter; even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. MPEP §2113(I).
Regarding claim 5, Yu as modified by Hsu and Liu teaches the organic light-emitting diode display screen of claim 1, and Yu further teaches the polarizing layer through hole (821) is filled with an optical glue {[0056], The second optical adhesive layer 83 fills at least a portion of the first hollow 821. Optionally, the material of the second optical adhesive layer 83 is OCA optical adhesive}.
Regarding claim 6, Yu as modified by Hsu and Liu teaches the organic light-emitting diode display screen of claim 1, and Yu further teaches wherein the packaging layer (81) packages the pixel layer (layer between 40 and 512) by covering the continuous planar top surface {e.g., Fig. 6, continuous planar top surface of unhatched portion of 50}.
Regarding claim 9, Yu as modified by Hsu and Liu teaches the organic light-emitting diode display screen of claim 1, and Yu further teaches the substrate (30) has a substrate through hole (31) corresponding to the light-transmitting area (layer between 40 and 512 within 13) {[0075]}.
Regarding claim 12, Yu as modified by Hsu and Liu teaches the organic light-emitting diode display screen of claim 6, and Yu further teaches wherein the light-transmitting filling material (material of layer between 40 and 512 laterally disposed between adjacent 51s) is a light-transmitting material {Yu teaches, in paragraphs [0011, 0044, 0062], that first light-transmitting area 13 is transparent to allow outside light to pass through to a camera 20; thus, the light-transmitting filling material of the unhatched portion of 50, which is common to areas 11 and 13, is transparent}.
Regarding claim 14, Yu as modified by Hsu and Liu teaches an under-screen camera assembly comprising:
the organic light-emitting diode display screen of claim 1 {see analysis with respect to claim 1}; and Yu further teaches
a camera module (20), wherein an optical axis of the camera module (20) is perpendicular to a surface of the organic light-emitting diode display screen, and the camera module (20) is located at a rear end of an under-screen camera assembly (30, 40, 50) {Fig. 6; [0039]}.
Regarding claim 15, Yu as modified by Hsu and Liu teaches the organic light-emitting diode display screen of claim 14, and Yu further teaches wherein the first electrode layer (511) and the second electrode layer (512) are respectively located below and above the pixel layer (50) {Fig. 6}.
Regarding claim 16, Yu as modified by Hsu and Liu teaches the organic light-emitting diode display screen of claim 15, and Yu further teaches wherein the packaging layer (81) covers an upper surface of the second electrode layer (512) {Yu page 6, [0055]}.
Regarding claim 20, Yu as modified by Hsu and Liu teaches a terminal device, comprising the under-screen camera assembly of claim 14 {see analysis with respect to claim 14}.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Hsu and Liu as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Tang (US20200185658A1).
Regarding claim 4, Yu as modified by Hsu and Liu teaches the organic light-emitting diode display screen of claim 3, but Yu does not teach the polarizing layer is bonded to the packaging layer by an optical glue.
In an analogous art of a display device and a manufacturing method thereof, Tang teaches in ¶0046 [t]he polarizing layer 60 may be attached directly onto the encapsulating layer 50 with an optical adhesive. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu’s organic light-emitting diode display screen as modified by Hsu and Liu based on the teachings of Tang – such that the polarizing layer is bonded to the packaging layer by an optical glue – to yield the predictable result of achieving a transparent bond between two elements by combining known elements according to known methods with no change in their respective functions. MPEP §2143(I)(A).
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Hsu and Liu as respectively applied respectively to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Kim (US20200287161A1).
Regarding claim 8, Yu as modified by Hsu and Liu teaches the organic light-emitting diode display screen of claim 1, but Yu does not teach that each of the pixel light-emitting structures includes a hole layer, an electron layer, and a light-emitting material layer located between the hole layer and the electron layer, and the hole layer includes a hole injection layer and a hole transport layer, and the electron layer includes an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer.
In an analogous art of an organic light emitting display (OLED) screen, Kim teaches in Fig. 13 a hole layer (1421, 1422), an electron layer (1413, 1414), and a light-emitting material layer (13) located between the hole layer (1421, 1422) and the electron layer (1413, 1414), and the hole layer (1421, 1422) includes a hole injection layer (1422) and a hole transport layer (1421), and the electron layer (1413, 1414) includes an electron transport layer (1414) and an electron injection layer (1413) {¶¶0155, 0156}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu’s organic light-emitting diode display screen as modified by Hsu and Liu based on the teachings of Kim – such that each of the pixel light-emitting structures includes a hole layer, an electron layer, and a light-emitting material layer located between the hole layer and the electron layer, and the hole layer includes a hole injection layer and a hole transport layer, and the electron layer includes an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer – to yield the predictable result of a light-emitting structure by combining known elements according to known methods with no change in their respective functions. MPEP §2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 17, Yu as modified by Hsu and Liu teaches the organic light-emitting diode display screen of claim 14, and Yu further teaches the substrate (30) has a substrate through hole (31) corresponding to the light-transmitting area (layer between 40 and 512 within 13).
Yu does not teach that a top end of the camera module extends into the substrate through hole and bears against a bottom surface of the buffer layer.
Kim teaches in Fig. 25 and ¶0178 in the first part 101 of the OLED screen 10, the OLED screen 10 does not include the cushion layer 140 and the heat sink layer 150. Therefore, a position that is below the OLED screen 10 and that corresponds to the first part 101 may be used as space for the optical device 21 such as the camera 22, so that at least a part of the optical device 21 such as the camera 22 can be disposed in the cushion layer 140 or the heat sink layer 150 in the second part 102, so as to be built inside the OLED screen 10 to reduce a thickness of the OLED screen 10 as much as possible.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu’s organic light-emitting diode display screen as modified by Hsu and Liu based on the teachings of Kim – such that a top end of the camera module extends into the substrate through hole and bears against a bottom surface of the buffer layer – for the benefit whereby the camera can be built inside the OLED screen 10 to reduce a thickness of the OLED screen 10 as much as possible.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Hsu and Liu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang (US20180190170A1).
Regarding claim 10, Yu as modified by Hsu and Liu teaches the organic light-emitting diode display screen of claim 1, but Yu does not teach that the substrate is provided with a positioning mark, and the positioning mark is used to align a camera module to be assembled with the through hole during the assembly process.
In an analogous art of inspecting manufactured OLED and LCD display devices, Yang teaches in ¶0098 the inspection apparatus 200 may include an alignment camera mounted on the horizontal structure 230 so that it senses an alignment mark on an inspection object or a substrate when the inspection object is placed on the holder 220, and aligns the optical inspection unit 240 with the inspection object while moving the holder 220.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu’s organic light-emitting diode display screen as modified by Hsu and Liu based on the teachings of Yang – such that the substrate is provided with a positioning mark, and the positioning mark is used to align a camera module to be assembled with the through hole during the assembly process – for the benefit whereby an optical inspection unit may be readily aligned with an inspection object (e.g., the substrate).
The limitation whereby “the positioning mark is used to align the camera module to be assembled with the through hole during the assembly process” is directed to a manner in which the claimed subject matter is intended to be employed and, accordingly, does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. MPEP §2114(II) – a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Hsu and Liu as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US20220081313A1), and Verhaar et al. (US20090161239A1).
Regarding claim 18, Yu as modified by Hsu and Liu teaches the organic light-emitting diode display screen of claim 15, but Yu does not teach wherein the first electrode layer is a cathode layer, and the cathode layer has a cathode layer through hole to form an aperture of a diaphragm, and a thickness of the cathode layer achieves a thickness suitable for light shielding to form a light shielding portion of the diaphragm.
In an analogous art pertaining to a QLED, Zhang teaches wherein the first electrode layer is a cathode layer {¶0071-0072, some embodiments of the present application provide a QLED, which includes: a bottom electrode and a top electrode oppositely arranged, here the bottom electrode is an anode, and the top electrode is a cathode; or the bottom electrode is a cathode, and the top electrode is an anode}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu’s organic light-emitting diode display screen as modified by Hsu and Liu based on the teachings of Zhang – such that the anode for the cathode are oppositely arranged – to obtain the predictable result of reversing the directional flow of current (e.g., so as to reorient the light-emitting element 180 degrees and thereby change its direction of emission or alternatively to accommodate a light-emitting element of reversely-oriented anode and cathode contacts). MPEP §2143(I)(A). Moreover, the rearrangement of features that provides no unexpected or novel result is an obvious modification for a skilled artisan. MPEP §2144.04(VI)(C); and See, e.g., In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975) (The manner in which electrical contact is made for Smith’s battery would be an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art).
Yu as modified by Zhang above does not teach the cathode layer has a cathode layer through hole to form an aperture of the diaphragm.
In an analogous art, Verhaar teaches wherein the cathode layer has a cathode layer through hole to form an aperture of a diaphragm {¶0028, electrodes 15 and 25 form an aperture diameter of a camera diaphragm, substantially in the center region 30; ¶0029, the hole 30 forms the aperture diameter of a camera diaphragm}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu’s organic light-emitting diode display screen as modified by Hsu, Liu, and Zhang based on the teachings of Verhaar – such that the cathode layer has a cathode layer through hole to form an aperture of a diaphragm – for the purpose of performing a function associated with a camera aperture or diaphragm. Verhaar ¶0029.
Yu as modified by Zhang and Verhaar above does not expressly teach a thickness of the cathode layer achieves a thickness suitable for light shielding to form a light shielding portion of the diaphragm.
The instant application states, in ¶0076, that (with respect to the light shielding portion of the diaphragm) the thickness of the first electrode can be increased to be sufficient to limit the size of the imaging light beam passing through the light-passing channel, and the first electrode can be made into a diaphragm. Thus, the instant application acknowledges that the thickness of the first electrode inherently/implicitly limits the size of the imaging light beam passing through the light-passing channel (i.e., determines the amount of light shielding). Verhaar teaches in Fig. 1A and paragraph [0028] that electrodes 15 and 25 form an aperture diameter of a camera diaphragm, substantially in the center region 30, the thickness of the diaphragm enclosed by the two electrodes 15 and 25 in this center region 30 also inherently/implicitly limits the size of the imaging light beam passing through the light-passing channel (i.e., determines the amount of light shielding). Accordingly, Yu as modified by Hsu, Liu, Zhang and Verhaar inherently/implicitly teach wherein a thickness of the cathode layer achieves a thickness suitable for light shielding to form a light shielding portion of the diaphragm.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Hsu and Liu as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Verhaar and Yuan et al. (US20200350374A1).
Regarding claim 19, Yu as modified by Hsu and Liu teaches the organic light-emitting diode display screen of claim 15, but Yu does not expressly teach wherein the first electrode layer has a first through hole to form an aperture of a diaphragm, and the first through hole is filled with an optical glue.
However, Yu teaches in Fig. 6 the first electrode layer (511) has separations (e.g., pixel definition structures) between light-emitting diodes (51) and the separation (e.g., pixel definition structure) existing in the space defined by first light-transmitting area (13) forms an aperture of a diaphragm. Verhaar more explicitly teaches a first electrode layer having a first through hole that forms an aperture of a diaphragm, as described immediately below.
Verhaar teaches wherein the first through hole forms an aperture of the diaphragm {¶0028, electrodes 15 and 25 form an aperture diameter of a camera diaphragm, substantially in the center region 30; ¶0029, the hole 30 forms the aperture diameter of a camera diaphragm}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu’s organic light-emitting diode display screen as modified by Hsu and Liu based on the teachings of Verhaar – such that the first through hole forms an aperture of the diaphragm – for the purpose of performing a function associated with a camera aperture or diaphragm. Verhaar ¶0029.
Yu as modified by Verhaar above does not teach the first through hole is filled with an optical glue.
In an analogous art, Yuan teaches in Fig. 2C a display panel (10) having a first electrode layer (31/33) with a first through hole (space between laterally-adjacent electrodes 31/33) forming an aperture of a diaphragm (9). Yuan further teaches in Figs. 2C, 6I, and 6J and paragraph [0089] that the first through hole (space between laterally-adjacent electrodes 31/33) is filled with the optical glue (401) to form a pixel definition layer (4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu’s organic light-emitting diode display screen as modified by Hsu, Liu, and Verhaar based on the teachings of Yuan – such that the first through hole, constituted by Yu’s pixel defining structure separating laterally-adjacent electrodes is formed by an optical glue as taught by Yuan – for allowing light to pass therethrough to a photoelectric device below. Yuan ¶0053.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891