DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 5, 8, 14, 20, 22, 40, 42, 44, 46 and 55-57 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendment filed 07/16/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 14, 20, 22, 40, 42 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al (US 2018/0014298 A1) in view of Zhang et al (US 2019/0373607 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches a method in a wireless communication device (WCD), the method comprising:
the WCD receiving from a base station serving the WCD information indicating a plurality of transmission resources for a first channel between the WCD and the serving base station that have been allocated to the WCD, wherein the plurality of transmission resources allocated to the WCD comprises a first transmission occasions allocated to the WCD and one or more second transmission occasions allocated to the WCD (Sun: Fig. 4B; [0109]-[0110], UE receives multi-TTI grant from the bae station; the multi-TTI grant comprising TTI3 to TTI10 (8 TTIs/slots)/first slot and TTI0 to TTI2/second slot).
Sun does not explicitly disclose prior to the occurrence of the one or more second transmission occasions, the WCD transmitting to the network node uplink control information (UCI), wherein the UCI transmitted by the WCD explicitly identifies at least one of the one or more second transmission occasions allocated to the WCD that the WCD will not use to transmit any information on the first channel.
Zhang teaches prior to the occurrence of the one or more second transmission occasions, the WCD transmitting to the network node uplink control information (UCI), wherein the UCI transmitted by the WCD explicitly identifies at least one of the one or more second transmission occasions allocated to the WCD that the WCD will not use to transmit any information on the first channel (Zhang: Figs. 4-5; [0138], [0162]-[0175] early termination of transmission in a multi-grant TTI disclosed).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun wherein prior to the occurrence of the one or more second transmission occasions, the WCD transmitting to the network node uplink control information (UCI), wherein the UCI transmitted by the WCD explicitly identifies at least one of the one or more second transmission occasions allocated to the WCD that the WCD will not use to transmit any information on the first channel as disclosed by Zhang to provide a system for early feedback for transmission in a set of consecutive transmission time intervals (Zhang: Abstract).
Regarding claims 5 and 42, Sun in view of Zhang teaches wherein transmitting the indication comprises transmitting the indication on a second channel different to than the first channel (Zhang: Figs. 4-5; UCI on control channels 430 and 530).
Regarding claim 14, Sun teaches wherein the transmission resources comprise transmission resources of a PUSCH transmission (Sun: [0112]).
Regarding claim 20, Sun teaches a method performed by a base station, the method comprising:
allocating to a wireless communication device (WCD) a plurality of transmission resources of a first channel between the base station and the WCD for use by the WCD to transmit information to the base station via the first channel, wherein the plurality of transmission resources allocated to the WCD comprises a first transmission occasion allocated to the WCD and a and one or more second transmission occasions allocated to the WCD, wherein the first transmission resource comprises a first slot and the second transmission resource comprises a second slot (Sun: Fig. 4B; [0109]-[0110], UE receives multi-TTI grant from the bae station; the multi-TTI grant comprising TTI3 to TTI10 (8 TTIs/slots)/first slot and TTI0 to TTI2/second slot).
Sun does not explicitly disclose prior to the occurrence of the one or more second transmission occasions, the WCD transmitting to the network node uplink control information (UCI), wherein the UCI transmitted by the WCD explicitly identifies at least one of the one or more second transmission occasions allocated to the WCD that the WCD will not use to transmit any information on the first channel.
Zhang teaches prior to the occurrence of the one or more second transmission occasions, the WCD transmitting to the network node uplink control information (UCI), wherein the UCI transmitted by the WCD explicitly identifies at least one of the one or more second transmission occasions allocated to the WCD that the WCD will not use to transmit any information on the first channel (Zhang: Figs. 4-5; [0138], [0162]-[0175] early termination of transmission in a multi-grant TTI disclosed).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun wherein prior to the occurrence of the one or more second transmission occasions, the WCD transmitting to the network node uplink control information (UCI), wherein the UCI transmitted by the WCD explicitly identifies at least one of the one or more second transmission occasions allocated to the WCD that the WCD will not use to transmit any information on the first channel as disclosed by Zhang to provide a system for early feedback for transmission in a set of consecutive transmission time intervals (Zhang: Abstract).
Regarding claim 22, Sun in view of Zhang teaches before receiving the indication, sending to the WCD a message comprising information indicating the plurality of transmission resources allocated to the WCD (Zhang: Figs. 4-5; PDCCH 410, 510).
Regarding claim 40, Sun teaches A wireless communications device (WCD), the WCD comprising:
a receiver for receiving from a base station serving the WCD information indicating a plurality of transmission resources for a first channel between the WCD and the serving base station that have been allocated to the WCD, wherein the plurality of transmission resources allocated to the WCD comprises a first transmission occasions allocated to the WCD and one or more second transmission occasions allocated to the WCD (Sun: Fig. 4B; [0109]-[0110], UE receives multi-TTI grant from the bae station; the multi-TTI grant comprising TTI3 to TTI10 (8 TTIs/slots)/first slot and TTI0 to TTI2/second slot).
Sun does not explicitly disclose prior to the occurrence of the one or more second transmission occasions, the WCD transmitting to the network node uplink control information (UCI), wherein the UCI transmitted by the WCD explicitly identifies at least one of the one or more second transmission occasions allocated to the WCD that the WCD will not use to transmit any information on the first channel.
Zhang teaches prior to the occurrence of the one or more second transmission occasions, the WCD transmitting to the network node uplink control information (UCI), wherein the UCI transmitted by the WCD explicitly identifies at least one of the one or more second transmission occasions allocated to the WCD that the WCD will not use to transmit any information on the first channel (Zhang: Figs. 4-5; [0138], [0162]-[0175] early termination of transmission in a multi-grant TTI disclosed).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun wherein prior to the occurrence of the one or more second transmission occasions, the WCD transmitting to the network node uplink control information (UCI), wherein the UCI transmitted by the WCD explicitly identifies at least one of the one or more second transmission occasions allocated to the WCD that the WCD will not use to transmit any information on the first channel as disclosed by Zhang to provide a system for early feedback for transmission in a set of consecutive transmission time intervals (Zhang: Abstract).
Regarding claim 46, Sun teaches A base station (BS), the BS comprising: a processor; and a memory, the memory containing instructions executable by the processor such that the BS is operable to perform a method comprising:
allocating to a wireless communication device (WCD) a plurality of transmission resources of a first channel between the base station and the WCD for use by the WCD to transmit information to the base station via the first channel, wherein the plurality of transmission resources allocated to the WCD comprises a first transmission occasion allocated to the WCD and a and one or more second transmission occasions allocated to the WCD, wherein the first transmission resource comprises a first slot and the second transmission resource comprises a second slot (Sun: Fig. 4B; [0109]-[0110], UE receives multi-TTI grant from the bae station; the multi-TTI grant comprising TTI3 to TTI10 (8 TTIs/slots)/first slot and TTI0 to TTI2/second slot).
Sun does not explicitly disclose prior to the occurrence of the one or more second transmission occasions, the WCD transmitting to the network node uplink control information (UCI), wherein the UCI transmitted by the WCD explicitly identifies at least one of the one or more second transmission occasions allocated to the WCD that the WCD will not use to transmit any information on the first channel.
Zhang teaches prior to the occurrence of the one or more second transmission occasions, the WCD transmitting to the network node uplink control information (UCI), wherein the UCI transmitted by the WCD explicitly identifies at least one of the one or more second transmission occasions allocated to the WCD that the WCD will not use to transmit any information on the first channel (Zhang: Figs. 4-5; [0138], [0162]-[0175] early termination of transmission in a multi-grant TTI disclosed).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun wherein prior to the occurrence of the one or more second transmission occasions, the WCD transmitting to the network node uplink control information (UCI), wherein the UCI transmitted by the WCD explicitly identifies at least one of the one or more second transmission occasions allocated to the WCD that the WCD will not use to transmit any information on the first channel as disclosed by Zhang to provide a system for early feedback for transmission in a set of consecutive transmission time intervals (Zhang: Abstract).
Claims 8 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al (US 2018/0014298 A1) in view of Zhang et al (US 2019/0373607 A1) in further view of Mukherjee et al (US 2020/0267752 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 44, Sun in view of Zhang does not teach but Mukherjee teaches wherein the method further comprises the WCD determining, based on a buffer status, an amount of information to be transmitted in a transmission occasion, a number of earlier Listen Before Talk (LBT) failures, and/or a channel occupancy of the first channel, that the second transmission resource allocated to the WCD can be allocated to another WCD (Mukherjee: Fig. 13; [0040], [0085]).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun in view of Zhang wherein the method further comprises the WCD determining, based on a buffer status, an amount of information to be transmitted in a transmission occasion, a number of earlier Listen Before Talk (LBT) failures, and/or a channel occupancy of the first channel, that the second transmission resource allocated to the WCD can be allocated to another WCD as disclosed by Mukherjee to provide a system for efficient scheduling of uplink resources (Mukherjee: Abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478