DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 11/03/2025 has been entered into the prosecution of the application.
Currently, claim(s) 42-46 is/are pending examination. Claims 1-41 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 42-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 42, the term “about” in claim 1, ln. 21, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, the term “about” is interpreted as being within a range between 10% of the value being compared to (e.g., a value being about 2 comprises a range of from 1.8 to 2.2).
Claims 42-46 are rejected for being dependent on claim 42.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 42-43 and 45-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olaf Kuhl of US 2017/0057818 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Kuhl) in view of Gallon, Helen J., and Christopher Whitehead. Dry reforming of methane using non-thermal plasma-catalysis. Diss. University of Manchester, 2011 (hereinafter, Gallon) and Daniel R. Cohen of US 2010/0022669 A1 (hereinafter, Cohen).
As to claim 42, Kuhl teaches to a system (Kuhl, Fig. 1, teaches to an apparatus 1) for chemical production having a reduce carbon footprint, comprising:
a first electrically driven plasma reformer unit configured to receive a first reactant stream (Kuhl, paragraph [0030], Fig. 1, teaches to a first electrically driven plasma reformer unit, as Kuhl teaches to a Kvaerner reactor serving as a hydrocarbon converter 9) comprising methane and water (Kuhl, paragraph [0009], teaches a reactor configured to receive a first reactant stream comprising methane and water, as Kuhl teaches that water is usually mixed with a portion of the hydrocarbons, wherein Kuhl, paragraph [0030], teaches that the hydrocarbon comprise methane), and to use a first portion of electrical energy to reform the first reactant stream into a first product stream comprising a hydrogen-rich syngas having a H2:CO ratio greater than 2.5 (Kuhl, paragraph [0008], teaches to using a first portion of electrical energy to reform the first reactant stream into a first product stream comprising a hydrogen-rich syngas having a H2:CO ratio greater than 2.5, as Kuhl teaches to the method, wherein the ratio of CO to H2 in the hydrogen-rich syngas is 1/3, or having a H2:C ratio of 3);
a second electrically driven plasma reformer unit configured to receive a second reactant stream (Kuhl, paragraph [0014], Fig. 1, teaches to a second electrically driven plasma reformer unit, as Kuhl teaches to a hydrocarbon converter 25) comprising methane (Kuhl, paragraph [0062], teaches to comprising methane, as Kuhl teaches that methane can be fed to hydrocarbon inlets 11, 27), and to use a second portion of electrical energy to reform the second reactant stream into a second product stream comprising a hydrogen-lean syngas having a H2:CO ratio between 0 and 1.5 (Kuhl, paragraph [0008], teaches to using a second portion of electrical energy to reform the second reactant stream into a second product stream comprising a hydrogen-lean syngas having a H2:CO ratio between 0 and 1.5, as Kuhl teaches to the method, wherein the ratio of CO to H2 in the hydrogen-rich syngas is greater than 1:1, or having a H2:C ratio greater than 1:1; the hydrogen-rich syngas of Kuhl reads into the hydrogen-lean syngas of the claimed invention);
a conditioning unit (Kuhl, paragraph [0033], Fig. 1, teaches to a conditioning unit, as Kuhl teaches to a mixer 20) fluidly connected to both the first and second reformer units (Kuhl, Fig. 1, teaches that a conditioning unit is fluidly connected to both the first and second reformer units, as Kuhl teaches that the reformed products are mixed at the mixer 20) and configured to:
mix the first and second product streams to form a conditioned intermediate gas having a target H2:CO ratio of about 2 (Kuhl, paragraph [0008], teaches to mixing the first and second product streams to form a conditioned intermediate gas having a target H2:CO ratio of about 2, as Kuhl teaches to a mixer 20 and the ratio of syngas having a value of approximately 2.1; Kuhl, paragraph [0053], teaches to a Fischer-Tropsch converter, wherein the one of ordinary skill in the art would have desired a hydrogen-rich composition of synthesis gas),
and provide the conditioned intermediate gas to a downstream processing unit (Kuhl, paragraph [0033], Fig. 1, teaches to providing the conditioned intermediate gas to a downstream processing unit, as Kuhl, teaches to directing the H2-rich synthesis gas from the mixer 20 to a synthesis gas inlet 22 of the first CO-converter 7);
wherein the downstream processing unit is configured to convert the conditioned intermediate gas into a synthetic hydrocarbon product (Kuhl, paragraph [0053], Fig. 1, teaches to wherein the downstream processing unit is configured to convert the conditioned intermediate gas into a synthetic hydrocarbon product, as Kuhl teaches to a hydrocarbon outlet 23 for expelling synthetic functionalized and/or non-functionalized hydrocarbons from the first CO-converter 7);
Kuhl does not explicitly teach a second electrically driven plasma reformer unit configured to receive a second reactant stream comprising methane and carbon dioxide.
In an analogous art, Gallon teaches to a second electrically driven plasma reformer unit configured to receive a second reactant stream comprising methane and carbon dioxide (Gallon, pg. 49, teaches to focusing on the use of a plasma technology for dry reforming methane (DRM); DRM requires methane and carbon dioxide as reactants; Gallon, pg. 95, Figure 3.2, teaches to a electrically driven plasma reformer reactor configured to receive a second reactant stream comprising methane and carbon dioxide).
Both Kuhl and Gallon relate to reforming processes (Gallon, pg. 45). Kuhl does not explicitly teach using carbon dioxide as a reactant. Kuhl does teach steam reforming using methane and steam for producing a syngas comprising carbon monoxide and hydrogen gas. Gallon teaches to using dry reforming using methane and carbon dioxide for producing a syngas comprising carbon monoxide and hydrogen gas. Gallon, pg. 45, teaches that using dry reforming is beneficial as it involves the destruction of two greenhouse gases.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Kuhl with the carbon dioxide of Gallon for using dry reforming for production of syngas, thereby improving the system having a reduced carbon footprint.
Kuhl in view of Gallon does not explicitly teach wherein at least a portion of the electrical energy used by the plasma reformer units is obtained from a renewable, non-greenhouse gas-emitting source.
In an analogous art, Cohen teaches to wherein at least a portion of the electrical energy used by the plasma reformer units is obtained from a renewable, non-greenhouse gas-emitting source (Cohen, paragraph [0010], Fig. 1, teaches to using a renewable source of electricity for producing syngas, wherein Cohen, paragraphs [0044]-[0045], teaches to using electrolyzers for electrolysis of water).
Both Kuhl in view of Gallon and Cohen relate to an electricity-driven reformer, and in particular, plasma driven reformers (Cohen, paragraph [0049]) for producing syngas. Kuhl in view of Gallon does not explicitly teach using a renewable, non-greenhouse gas-emitting source for driving the plasma reformer units. Kuhl in view of Gallon does teach using plasma reformer units for producing syngas. Cohen, Fig. 1, teaches to using a renewable source of electricity for producing syngas and for reducing CO2 emission (Cohen, paragraph [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Kuhl in view of Gallon with the renewable source of electricity of Cohen for producing syngas and for reducing CO2 emission, thereby improving the system having a reduced carbon footprint.
As to claim 43, Kuhl in view of Gallon and Cohen teaches to wherein the conditioning unit additionally compresses the first and second product and removes water, carbon dioxide, or sulfur-containing molecules from the first and second product streams when forming the conditioned intermediate gas (Kuhl, paragraph [0075], teaches to a various types of separating device, including a PSA apparatus (PSA: Pressure Swing Adsorption), wherein the separating device may be integrated over lines 19 and 21; the PSA apparatus of Kuhl is configured to compress and remove undesired substances from further processing).
As to claim 45, Kuhl in view of Gallon and Cohen teaches to the system of claim 42, further comprising a recycling line configured to return a portion of the first product stream or the second product stream to one or both plasma reformer units to reduce solid carbon formation (Kuhl, paragraph [0058], Fig. 1, teaches to further comprising a recycling line configured to return a portion of the first product stream or the second product stream to one or both plasma reformer units to reduce solid carbon formation, as Kuhl teaches to the optional return pipe 48 for returning a portion for feeding back into one or both of the hydrocarbon inlets 11, 27 of the hydrocarbon converters 9, 25; the term “to reduce solid carbon formation” is interpreted as an intended use, but the optional return pipe 48 of Kuhl would have been nonetheless capable of performing the intended use).
As to claim 46, Kuhl teaches to the system of claim 42, wherein the downstream processing unit comprises a Fischer-Tropsch reactor which synthesizes the synthetic hydrocarbon product (Kuhl, paragraphs [0033] and [0053]-[0054], teaches to wherein the downstream processing unit comprises a Fischer-Tropsch reactor which synthesizes the synthetic hydrocarbon product, as Kuhl, paragraph [0033], teaches that high H2:CO ratio is preferred for a Fischer-Tropsch process, as Kuhl, paragraph [0053], teaches that the CO-converter is preferably a Fischer-Tropsch converter, and as Kuhl, paragraph [0054], teaches a Fischer-Tropsch converter catalytically converting a synthesis gas into hydrocarbons and water).
Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olaf Kuhl of US 2017/0057818 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Kuhl) in view of Gallon, Helen J., and Christopher Whitehead. Dry reforming of methane using non-thermal plasma-catalysis. Diss. University of Manchester, 2011 (hereinafter, Gallon) and Daniel R. Cohen of US 2010/0022669 A1 (hereinafter, Cohen), as applied to claim 42 above, and in further view of Robert Carl Dalton of US 2017/0369786 A1 (hereinafter, Dalton).
As to claim 44, Kuhl in view of Gallon and Cohen does not explicitly teach wherein the first and second plasma reformer units comprise microwave discharge reactors operating at pressures between 0.95 and 5 atm.
In an analogous art, Dalton teaches to the system of claim 42, wherein the first and second plasma reformer units comprise microwave discharge reactors operating at pressures between 0.95 and 5 atm (Dalton, paragraph [0158], teaches to operating at pressures between 0.95 and 5 atm, as Dalton teaches to operating a conversion at pressure between 1 and 200 atm).
Both Kuhl in view of Gallon and Cohen and Dalton relate to chemical reactions, including Fischer-Tropsch synthesis of syngas (Dalton, paragraph [0033]). Kuhl in view of Gallon and Cohen does not explicitly teach operating at pressures between 0.95 and 5 atm. Kuhl in view of Gallon and Cohen does teach to the first and second plasma reactor units comprising microwave discharge reactors. Dalton teaches to applying electromagnetic energy, microwave in particular, for driving chemical reactions, including reforming and Fischer-Tropsch synthesis of syngas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Kuhl in view of Gallon and Cohen with the operating pressure of Dalton for optimizing reaction conditions for using the system having a reduced carbon footprint.
Response to Arguments
Applicant should submit an argument under the heading “Remarks” pointing out disagreements with the examiner’s contentions. Applicant must also discuss the references applied against the claims, explaining how the claims avoid the references or distinguish from them.
In response to the amendments, claim(s) 42-43 and 45-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olaf Kuhl of US 2017/0057818 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Kuhl) in view of Gallon, Helen J., and Christopher Whitehead. Dry reforming of methane using non-thermal plasma-catalysis. Diss. University of Manchester, 2011 (hereinafter, Gallon) and Daniel R. Cohen of US 2010/0022669 A1 (hereinafter, Cohen). Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olaf Kuhl of US 2017/0057818 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Kuhl) in view of Gallon, Helen J., and Christopher Whitehead. Dry reforming of methane using non-thermal plasma-catalysis. Diss. University of Manchester, 2011 (hereinafter, Gallon) and Daniel R. Cohen of US 2010/0022669 A1 (hereinafter, Cohen), as applied to claim 42 above, and in further view of Robert Carl Dalton of US 2017/0369786 A1 (hereinafter, Dalton).
Please refer to the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/JAMES LIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794