DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on 02/27/2026 has been entered and considered. Upon entering claims 1-6, 8-12, 14-16, and 18-20 were pending; Claims 1, 3-5, 8-9, 12, and 14-15 have been amended; and claims 7, 13, and 17 have been canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/27/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as further noted.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 12, recite the term “and/or” is confusing and unclear. It is unclear whether “and” or “or” is intended and it is noted that the two terms (“and” and “or”) have different meanings making it imperative to know which term is intended in order to understand the metes and bounds of the claim. Applicant is advised to select EITHER “and” or “or”, but not both. The claim will be examined as best understood wherein “and/or” is taken to mean “or”.
Claims 1 and 12, recite the limitation “if” should be changed to -when- to avoid the conditional step.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 10-12, 14-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael (EP0178276) in view of Christian et al. (DE102014110732) and further in view of Hammer et al. (US 2016/0181024).
Regarding claim 1, Michael teaches a method for carrying out a switchover of at least one switch for at least one item of equipment (see figure 2 and page 2/7, lines 9-50), wherein the at least one item of equipment is a transformer (“transformer” and “the switch units are operably connected to a controller which controls the opening and the closing of the switch units in a predetermined manner”; see figure 2 and page 2/7, lines 9-50) with a first switch (fig. 2@ 62, 64) and a second switch (fig. 2@ 66, 68), and wherein a first motor (fig. 2@ 42) is connected to the first switch (62, 64) and a second motor (fig. 2@ 44) is connected to the second switch (66, 68), the method comprising:
receiving, by a controller (fig. 2@ controller 70), a switching signal (“the switch units are operably connected to a controller which controls the opening and the closing of the switch units”; see page 2/7, lines 21-26); selecting the at least one switch for switchover by the controller (70) on the basis of the switching signal (see page 2/7, lines 21-26); checking a locking condition for the selected switch on the basis of at least one parameter (“The switch units are operably connected to a controller which controls the opening and the closing of the switch units in a predetermined manner. The manner of opening and closing the switch units is intended to generate a sinusoid-shaped motor current. This current is detected using a sensing resistor which communicates with a controller. The controller opens and closes the switch units based on the current sensed” see page 2/7, lines 21-26); and carrying out the switchover by the at least one selected switch by the first motor of the first switch upon determining that the corresponding locking condition is met (see page 2/7, lines 19-26, the manner of opening and closing the switch units is intended to generate a sinusoid-shaped motor current. This current is detected using a sensing resistor which communicates with a controller. The controller opens and closes the switch units based on the current sensed), wherein the locking condition defines, based on the at least one parameter, whether a respective switching operation is blocked, such that if the locking condition is met, the switching operation can take place (see page 2/7, lines 19-26).
However, Michael does not explicitly teach an on-load tap changer is associated with the transformer as the first switch or a double reversing change-over selector is associated with the transformer as the second switch, wherein the motor is connected to the switch via a drive shaft.
Christian teaches an on-load tap changer is associated with the transformer as a first switch (see figures 1a-1b; Abstract and par. [0001-0004], an on-load tap- changer with a motor drive for switching over between winding taps of a tap-changing transformer. A drive shaft is driven by means of the motor drive. The rotational movement of the motor drive is provided via two switchable coupling devices of a first drive shaft, which is associated with the selector, and a second drive shaft, which is associated with the diverter switch), wherein a first motor is connected to the switch via a drive shaft (see figures 1a-1b; Abstract and par. [0001-0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Michael with the teachings of Christian by having an on-load tap changer is associated with the transformer as a first switch, wherein a motor is connected to the switch via a drive shaft in order to provide an on-load tap changer on a transformer is its ability to dynamically adjust the voltage ratio without interrupting the power supply, which improves system reliability and voltage stability.
Hammer teaches motor drive is coupled to multiple driven shafts and multiple selectors (see par. [0087-0097]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Michael and Christian with the teachings of Hammer by having motor drive is coupled to multiple driven shafts and multiple selectors in order minimizing radial size, and reducing the physical footprint of motors coupled to multiple shafts.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches the method comprising evaluating, by the controller (70), a plurality of parameters for the selected switch so that the selected switch is actuated as needed in accordance with the corresponding locking conditions, wherein the plurality of parameters comprise one or more temperatures, customer- specific switching signals, a status of a circuit breaker, or a safety device (see page 2/7, lines 19-26; Michael).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches querying the parameter by way of the controller (70) from a feedback system (see page 2/7, lines 21-26; the current is detected using a sensing resistor) which is associated with the first motor (fig. 2@ 42) of the first switch (fig. 2@ 62, 64), (see page 2/7, lines 21-26; Michael).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches wherein the feedback system is associated with the drive shaft for the first motor (see Abstract and page 2/7, lines 10-26; a number of switch units (62, 64, 66, 68) are electrically connected to the motor windings for use in controlling movement of the motor shaft; Michael).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches wherein a power section, which is associated with the equipment, is actuated by the controller (70) for operating the switch and the power section operates the first switching using the first motor via the drive shaft depending on the ascertained locking condition (see figure 2; abstract and page 2/7, lines 10-41; Michael).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches wherein three on- load tap-changers are associated with the transformer as the first switch, wherein, for carrying out the switchover, a power section, which is associated with the transformer, is actuated by the controller for operating one of the three on-load tap-changers and the power section operates a first motor of each on-load tap-changer via corresponding a drive shaft depending on the switchover being carried out (see figures 1a-1b; Abstract and par. [0001-0005]; Christian).
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches wherein the plurality of parameters, which are ascertained by way of feedback systems, for the switchover of the on-load tap-changer or for the switchover of the double reversing change-over selector is a location or position of the respective on-load tap- changer or the double reversing change-over selector (see Abstract and par. [0001-0005] and [0024]; Christian).
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches wherein an ascertained parameter of the feedback systems of the on-load tap-changer and double reversing change-over selector which are required for the switchover indicates whether the on-load tap-changer or the double reversing change-over selector are presently being operated, (see Abstract and par. [0001-0005] and [0024]; Christian).
Regarding claim 12, Michael teaches A drive system for at least one switch for equipment (see figure 2), wherein the equipment is a transformer (“transformer” and “the switch units are operably connected to a controller which controls the opening and the closing of the switch units in a predetermined manner”; see figure 2 and page 2/7, lines 9-50) with a first switch (fig. 2@ 62, 64) and a second switch (fig. 2@ 66, 68), the drive system comprising: a first motor (fig. 2@ 42) which is mechanically coupled to the first switch (62, 64), of the at least one switch (62, 64); a second motor (fig. 2@ 44) which is mechanically coupled to the second switch (66, 68), of the at least one switch (66, 68); and a controller (fig. 2@ controller 70) which is connected in a communicating manner to a power section in order to operate the first switch (62, 64) using the first motor (42), in which, by at least one ascertained parameter that is configured to be evaluated in the controller (70), a corresponding locking condition is configured to be met (“The switch units are operably connected to a controller which controls the opening and the closing of the switch units in a predetermined manner. The manner of opening and closing the switch units is intended to generate a sinusoid-shaped motor current. This current is detected using a sensing resistor which communicates with a controller. The controller opens and closes the switch units based on the current sensed” see page 2/7, lines 10-26), wherein the at least one ascertained parameter comprises a position, and wherein the locking condition defines, based on the at least one parameter, whether a respective switching operation is blocked, such that if the locking condition is met, the switching operation can take place (see page 2/7, lines 19-26).
However, Michael does not explicitly teaches an on-load tap changer is associated with the transformer as the first switch, wherein the first motor is connected to the switch via a drive shaft.
Christian teaches an on-load tap changer is associated with the transformer as a first switch (see figures 1a-1b; Abstract and par. [0001-0004], an on-load tap- changer with a motor drive for switching over between winding taps of a tap-changing transformer. A drive shaft is driven by means of the motor drive. The rotational movement of the motor drive is provided via two switchable coupling devices of a first drive shaft, which is associated with the selector, and a second drive shaft, which is associated with the diverter switch), wherein a first motor is connected to the switch via a drive shaft (see figures 1a-1b; Abstract and par. [0001-0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Michael with the teachings of Christian by having an on-load tap changer is associated with the transformer as a first switch, wherein a motor is connected to the switch via a drive shaft in order to provide an on-load tap changer on a transformer is its ability to dynamically adjust the voltage ratio without interrupting the power supply, which improves system reliability and voltage stability.
Hammer teaches motor drive is coupled to multiple driven shafts and multiple selectors (see par. [0087-0097]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Michael and Christian with the teachings of Hammer by having motor drive is coupled to multiple driven shafts and multiple selectors in order minimizing radial size, and reducing the physical footprint of motors coupled to multiple shafts.
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches wherein a feedback system (see page 2/7, lines 21-26; the current is detected using a sensing resistor) is associated with the first motor (42) and the second motor (fig. 2@ 44) in order to ascertain the at least one parameter of the first switch (62, 64) and the at least one parameter of the second switch (66, 68), (see page 2/7, lines 10-26; Michael).
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches wherein the feedback system is associated with the drive shaft for the first motor (see Abstract and page 2/7, lines 10-26; a number of switch units (62, 64, 66, 68) are electrically connected to the motor windings for use in controlling movement of the motor shaft; Michael).
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches wherein three on-load tap-changers are associated with the transformer (see figures 1a-1b; Abstract and par. [0001-0005]; Christian).
Regarding claim 19, the combination teaches wherein a single on-load tap-changer and two double reversing change-over selectors are associated with the transformer (see figures 1a-1b; Abstract and par. [0001-0005]; Christian).
Claims 6, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael (EP0178276) in view of Christian et al. (DE102014110732), in view of Hammer et al. (US 2016/0181024) and further in view of Teising et al. (US 2015/0061806).
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches the method above, but does not explicitly teach wherein three items of equipment, comprising the at least one item of equipment are provided and power sections are respectively associated with each of the three items of equipment and the power sections are actuated by a central controller, wherein on-load tap-changers of a first switch for the three items of equipment are combined to form a first switch group, and first double-reversing change-over selectors and second double-reversing change-over selectors of at least two second switches for the three items of equipment are combined to form a second switch group and a third switch group.
Teising teaches three items of equipment (see figures 2, 6 and 8, three circuits 30), comprising the at least one item of equipment are provided and power sections are respectively associated with each of the three items of equipment and the power sections are actuated by a central controller (134), wherein on-load tap-changers of a first switch for the three items of equipment are combined to form a first switch group, and first double-reversing change-over selectors and second double-reversing change-over selectors of at least two second switches for the three items of equipment are combined to form a second switch group and a third switch group (see figures 2-4, 6, 8 and 17-21; and par. [0049] and [0077-0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Michael, Christian and Hammer with the teachings of Teising by having three items of equipment, comprising the at least one item of equipment are provided and power sections are respectively associated with each of the three items of equipment and the power sections are actuated by a central controller, wherein on-load tap-changers of a first switch for the three items of equipment are combined to form a first switch group, and first double-reversing change-over selectors and second double-reversing change-over selectors of at least two second switches for the three items of equipment are combined to form a second switch group and a third switch group in order to provide maximize the power efficiency of the motor.
Regarding claim 16, the combination teaches the drive systems above, but does not explicitly teach three items of equipment comprising the equipment, and a plurality of power sections, comprising the power section, wherein for each of the drive systems, the respective power section is associated with the respective drive system and the respective power sections are connected to a central controller via a respective bus, wherein the first switch of each of the drive systems are combined to form a first switch group, and at least two second switches of the drive systems are combined to form a second switch group or a third switch group.
Teising teaches three items of equipment comprising the equipment (see figures 2 and 8), and a plurality of power sections, comprising the power section, wherein for each of the drive systems, the respective power section is associated with the respective drive system and the respective power sections are connected to a central controller(134) via a respective bus (200), (see figure 8), wherein the first switch of each of the drive systems are combined to form a first switch group, and at least two second switches of the drive systems are combined to form a second switch group or a third switch group, (see figures 2-4, 6, 8 and 17-21; and par. [0049] and [0077-0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Michael, Christian and Hammer with the teachings of Teising by having three items of equipment comprising the equipment, and a plurality of power sections, comprising the power section, wherein for each of the drive systems, the respective power section is associated with the respective drive system and the respective power sections are connected to a central controller via a respective bus, wherein the first switch of each of the drive systems are combined to form a first switch group, and at least two second switches of the drive systems are combined to form a second switch group or a third switch group in order to provide maximize the power efficiency of the motor.
Regarding claim 20, the combination teaches the drive system above, but does not explicitly teach wherein the controller or the power section comprise a memory.
Teising teaches the controller or the power section comprise a memory (fig. 8@ 272), (see figure 8 and par. [0076], [0079-0082]; non-volatile memory 272).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Michael, Christian and Hammer with the teachings of Teising by having the controller or the power section comprise a memory in order to controls the flow of data, managing read and write operations, and ensuring data integrity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/XUAN LY/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 /REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836