Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “he insulating layer comprises a second main portion and a second connecting portion” and “the second connecting portion is located in the opening, at least part of the second connecting portion is disconnected from the first main portion at the inner wall of the opening” in claim 14, no such connecting portion of the insulating layer is illustrated with the figures must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2, 18 and dependent claims recites the limitation "the first body portion" in “a first connecting portion connected to the first body portion”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination “the first body portion” will be interpreted as ‘a first body portion’. In addition, the specification does not directly reference ‘a first body portion’, Thus this is not consistent with the language of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20220310972 A1 Park et al hereafter “Park”.
[CLAIM 1] Park teaches a display panel (illustrated fig. 3) comprising a display area (DA fig. 3) and a bonding area ( comprising 2100 and/or 2200 fig. 3 met under MPEP 2112.01 the structure and/or composition is the same as disclosed and/or illustrated) located adjacent to the display area [sufficiently illustrated fig. 3];
wherein the display panel further comprises a substrate (100 fig. 6) and a first electrode (223 left of G fig. 6-7), a common layer (222a and/or 222c fig. 6-7), and a second electrode (223 right of G and in G fig. 6-7) laminated on the substrate;
and wherein the display panel further comprises a first metal layer (the layer comprising but not limited to ML, DL, DE and SE fig. 6-7) disposed between the substrate and the common layer, and an undercut opening (G and/or OP1 fig. 6-7) is defined in the first metal layer in the display area [illustrated fig. 6-7], and wherein the second electrode is connected to the first metal layer in the undercut opening [illustrated fig. 6-7].
[CLAIM 2] Park as shown above teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein the second electrode comprises a first main portion (223 Right of G fig. 6-7) disposed on the first metal layer and a first connecting portion (223 in G fig. 6-7) connected to the first body portion (sML1 and/or sML2 Fig. 6-7), and wherein the first connecting portion is located in the undercut opening [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7], at least part of the first connecting portion is disconnected from the first main portion at an inner wall of the undercut opening [OP1-2 fig.7 explicitly disclosed “the groove G may disconnect (or separate) a second electrode 223 (see FIG. 6) and/or at least some of the common layers included in an intermediate layer 222 (see FIG. 6) described below paragraph 0087”], and the first connecting portion is connected to the first metal layer at the inner wall [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7].
[CLAIM 3] Park as shown above teaches the display panel of claim 2, wherein the undercut opening passes through a side wall [OP1 fig. 7] of the first metal layer, and the first connecting portion is connected to the first main portion from the side wall of the first metal layer [sufficiently illustrated fig. 7].
[CLAIM 4] Park teach as shown above The display panel of claim 2, wherein the common layer comprises a second main portion (222a/c outside G fig. 6-7) and a second connecting portion (222a/c inside G fig. 6-7), the second main portion is located between the first metal layer and the first main portion [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7], the second connecting portion is located in the undercut opening [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7], at least part of the second connecting portion is disconnected from the first main portion at the inner wall of the undercut opening [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7], and the second connecting portion is located between the first connecting portion and the substrate [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7].
[CLAIM 5] Park as shown above teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein the first metal layer comprises a first sub-metal layer (sML3 fig. 6-7)and a second sub-metal layer (sML2 fig. 7) arranged in a stacked arrangement on the substrate [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7], the undercut opening comprises a first sub-undercut (OP1-3 fig. 7) opening defined in the first sub-metal layer and a second sub-undercut (OP1-2 fig. 7) opening defined in the second sub-metal layer, the first sub- undercut opening communicates with the second sub-undercut opening [met under MPEP 2112.01 the structure and/or composition is the same, thus the function is presumed], and the second sub-undercut opening has a diameter greater than a diameter of the first sub-undercut opening [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7].
[CLAIM 6] Park as shown above teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein the first metal layer comprises a first sub-metal layer (sML3 fig. 7), a second sub-metal layer (sML2 fig. 7), and a third sub-metal layer (sML1 fig. 7) arranged in a stacked arrangement on the substrate [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7], and the undercut opening comprises a first sub-undercut opening (OP1-3 fig. 7) defined in the first sub-metal layer, a second sub-undercut opening (OP1-2 fig. 7) defined in the second sub- metal layer, and a third sub-undercut opening (OP1-1 fig. 7) defined in the third sub-metal layer, wherein the first sub-undercut opening, the second sub-undercut opening, and the third sub-undercut opening are in communication with each other [sufficiently illustrated fig. 7 and met under MPEP 2112.01 as the structure and composition is the same], and wherein each of a diameter of the first sub-undercut opening and a diameter of the third sub-undercut opening is smaller than a diameter of the second sub-undercut opening [Sufficiently illustrated fig. 7].
[CLAIM 7] Park as shown above teaches the display panel of claim 6, wherein the common layer comprises a second main portion (222a and/or 222c outside of G fig. 7) and a second connecting portion (222a and/or 22c inside of G fig. 7), wherein the second main portion is located between the first metal layer and the first electrode [sufficiently illustrated fig. 7], and the second connecting portion is located in the undercut opening [sufficiently illustrated fig. 7], and wherein a thickness of the second connecting portion is less than a sum of depths of the third sub-undercut opening and the second sub- undercut opening [sufficiently illustrated fig. 7].
[CLAIM 8] Park as shown above teaches the display panel of claim 7, wherein the first sub-metal layer is made of titanium, the second sub-metal layer is made of aluminum, and the third sub-metal layer is made of titanium [Sufficiently disclosed Paragraph 0137 in “the first sublayer sML1 and the first conductive layer e1 include titanium (Ti), the second sublayer sML2 and the second conductive layer e2 include aluminum (Al), and the third sublayer sML3 and the third conductive layer e3 may include titanium (Ti)”].
[CLAIM 9] Park as shown above teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein the display panel comprises a plurality of sub-pixels (P fig. 3) spaced apart from each other [sufficiently illustrated fig. 3], and the first metal layer comprises a plurality of the undercut openings located in the display area and a plurality of first metal traces extending from one end of the undercut openings to the bonding area; and wherein the undercut openings and the first metal traces are all located in gaps between the sub-pixels [illustrates the grid/array pattern with sufficiently specificity fig.3, fig. 5-6 the metal lines ML extend to region PA and/or 2200 ML in PA and/or 2200 and ML constitutes metal traces].
[CLAIM 10] Park as shown above teaches the display panel of claim 9, wherein the first metal layer further comprises a source/drain electrode layer (SE/DE fig. 6) located in the display area and a plurality of second metal traces located in the bonding area [illustrates the grid/array pattern with sufficiently specificity fig.3, fig. 5-6 the source electrodes SE extend to region PA and/or 2200 ML in PA and/or 2200 and SE/DE constitutes metal traces], and wherein the second metal traces are connected to the first metal traces [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6 they are at least electrically connected through the connection structure and LED], respectively.
[CLAIM 12] Park teaches a display panel comprising a display area (DA fig. 3) and a bonding area (2200 and/or 2100 fig. 3) located adjacent to the display area;
wherein the display panel further comprises:
a substrate (100 fig. 6);
a first conductive layer (comprising but not limited to ML, DL, DE, and/or SE fig. 6) disposed on the substrate;
an insulating layer (208 fig. 6) disposed on the first conductive layer; and
a second conductive layer (comprising but not limited to 222a, 222c, and/or 223 fig. 6) disposed on the insulating layer; and
wherein the first conductive layer comprises an opening (G fig. 6-7) defined in the display area, and the second conductive layer comprises a first main portion (the second conductive layer outside of G fig. 6-7) disposed on the first conductive layer and a first connecting portion (the second conductive layer inside of G fig. 6-7) connected to the first main portion [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7], and wherein the first connecting portion is located in the opening [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7], at least part of the first connecting portion is disconnected from the first main portion at an inner wall of the opening [OP1 fig. 6-7, sufficiently illustrated], and the first connecting portion is connected to the first conductive layer at the inner wall [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7].
[CLAIM 13] Park as shown above teaches the display panel of claim 12, wherein the opening passes through a side wall of the first conductive layer [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7], and the first connecting portion is connected to the first main portion from the side wall [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7].
[CLAIM 14] The display panel of claim 12, wherein the insulating layer comprises a second main portion and a second connecting portion, the second main portion is located between the first conductive layer and the first main portion [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7], the second connecting portion is located in the opening, at least part of the second connecting portion is disconnected from the first main portion at the inner wall of the opening, and the second connecting portion is located between the first connecting portion and the substrate [illustrated fig. 7, the structure appears to be identical to what is illustrated in fig.’s 3 and 8 of the instant application, thus the limitation is met in the same manner as it is illustrated in the instant application].
[CLAIM 15] Park teaches The display panel of claim 12, wherein the first conductive layer comprises a first sub-conductive layer (sML3 fig. 6-7) and a second sub-conductive layer (sML2 fig. 6-7) arranged in a stacked arrangement on the substrate [illustrated fig. 6], the opening comprises a first sub-opening (OP1-3 fig. 7) defined in the first sub-conductive layer and a second sub-opening (OP1-2 fig. 7) defined in the second sub-conductive layer, the first sub-opening communicates with the second sub-opening [Met under MPEP 2112.01 the structure and/or composition is the same and/or identical as disclosed, thus the function is presumed], and the second sub- opening has a diameter greater than a diameter of the first sub-opening [sufficiently illustrated fig. 7].
[CLAIM 16] Park as shown above teaches the display panel of claim 15, wherein a linear distance between at least part of the inner wall of the opening and a center line of the opening gradually increases in a direction from the first main portion to the first connecting portion [sufficiently illustrated fig. 7 with the curvature of OP1].
[CLAIM 17] Park as shown above teaches a display device, comprising a display panel comprising a display area (DA fig. 3) and a bonding area (2100 and/or 2200 fig. 3) located adjacent to the display area;
wherein the display panel further comprises a substrate (100 fig. 6) and a first electrode (a first portion of left 223 fig. 6-7), a common layer (222a/c fig. 6-7), and a second electrode (a portion of 223 in G and left of G fig. 6-7) laminated on the substrate [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6];
and wherein the display panel further comprises a first metal layer (comprising but not limited to ML, DL, SE, and/or DE fig. 6) disposed between the substrate and the common layer [illustrated fig. 6], and an undercut opening (G fig. 6-7) is defined in the first metal layer in the display area [illustrated fig. 6-7], and wherein the second electrode is connected to the first metal layer in the undercut opening [illustrated fig. 6-7].
[CLAIM 18] Park as shown above teaches the display device of claim 17, wherein the second electrode comprises a first main portion (223 right of G fig. 7) disposed on the first metal layer and a first connecting portion (223 in G fig. 7) connected to the first body portion [sufficiently illustrated fig. 7 connects through ML], wherein the first connecting portion is located in the undercut opening [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7], at least part of the first connecting portion is disconnected from the first main portion at an inner wall [the walls of OP1] of the undercut opening [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7] , and the first connecting portion is connected to the first metal layer at the inner wall [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7].
[CLAIM 19] Park as shown above teaches the display device of claim 18, wherein the undercut opening passes through a side wall (the walls of OP1 fig. 6-7) of the first metal layer, and the first connecting portion is connected to the first main portion from the side wall of the first metal layer [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7].
[CLAIM 20] Park as shown above teaches the display device of claim 18, wherein the common layer comprises a second main portion (223 outside G fig. 6-7) and a second connecting portion (223 inside G fig. 6-7), the second main portion is located between the first metal layer and the first main portion [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7], the second connecting portion is located in the undercut opening [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7], at least part of the second connecting portion is disconnected from the first main portion at the inner wall of the undercut opening [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7], and the second connecting portion is located between the first connecting portion and the substrate [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6-7].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to the claims above, and further in view of US 20160172428 A1 Song et al hereafter “Song”.
[CLAIM 11] Park teaches the display panel of claim 1,
Park does not teach wherein the undercut opening has a cross-section being Y-like, U-like, or C-like in shape in a direction parallel to the substrate.
Song teaches Y-like, U-Like, and/or C-Like traces patterns [Fig. 10 and in view of fig. 11A].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Song such that “the undercut opening has a cross-section being Y-like, U-like, or C-like in shape in a direction parallel to the substrate”.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable a strain reducing trace design and/or flexible display unit [sufficiently disclosed paragraph 0139 Song].
Conclusion
/WCT/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893