DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
2. Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received on 12/24/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 5, 7-11, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (CN 110098230) in view of Yu (US 2021/0184178).
Re claim 1, Fan teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1-6, claims 1, 2, 6 & 7, pages 5-9, a display panel (200), comprising:
-a substrate (10);
-a pixel definition layer (40) disposed on a side of the substrate (10), wherein the pixel definition layer (40) comprises a plurality of first pixel openings (between patterns of 40);
-a light-emitting layer (50) disposed on a side of the pixel definition layer (40) away from the substrate (10), wherein the light-emitting layer (50) comprises a plurality of first light-emitting pixel units displaying a first color (e.g., via color filter) and a plurality of second light-emitting pixel units displaying a second color (e.g., via color filter), and the first light-emitting pixel units are arranged corresponding to the first pixel openings (between patterns of 40); and
-a color filter layer (20) disposed on the side of the pixel definition layer away from the substrate (10) (e.g., portions of 22 & 23 over 21 away from 10), wherein the color filter layer comprises a light-shielding layer (21 and/or 24), and the light-shielding layer (21 and/or 24) comprises a plurality of first openings (between patterns of 21/24) arranged corresponding to the first pixel openings,
wherein the color filter layer (20) further comprises: a first color resist layer (22) allowing transmittance of the first color and a second color resist layer (23) allowing transmittance of the second color, the first color resist layer (22) is at least disposed at the first openings corresponding to the first pixel openings, the second color resist layer (23) is disposed on a side of the light-shielding layer (21 and/or 24) away (portions of 23 over 22) from the substrate (10), the second color resist layer (23) and the first color resist layer (22) overlap or contact (*) with the light- shielding layer (21/24), the second color resist layer (23) is also provided with second openings (between patterns of 23, space defined by opposite sides of 23) corresponding to the first pixel openings, and overlapping portions of the first openings (between patterns of 21/24) and the second openings (between 23) form light-transmitting openings of the color filter layer (20).
Note: (*) when considering “or contact”, layer 24 can be considered as light shielding layer.
Fan does not explicitly teach the second color different from the first color.
Yu teaches “… light sources of the display panel generate different colors of light through different color sub-pixels” [0030].
As taught by Yu, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Fan to obtain the second color different from the first color in the pixel units as claimed, because it aids in increasing luminous efficiency of the OLED displays.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Yu in combination with Fan due to above reason.
Note: Yu teaches shielding layers in color filter substrate.
Re claim 5, Fan teaches, Fig. 6, orthographic projections of the second openings (between 23) on the display panel are located within orthographic projections of the first openings (between 21/24) on the display panel.
Re claim 7, Fan teaches, under BRI, Fig. 6, the first color resist layer (22) is disposed on a side of the second color resist layer (23) away from the substrate (10) (e.g., portion of 22 above 21/24), or the first color resist layer (22) is disposed between the second color resist layer (23) and the light-shielding layer (21/24), and the first color resist layer (22) covers at least an area corresponding to the second openings (between 23).
Re claim 8, Fan teaches, Fig. 6, the second color resist layer (23) partially overlaps the light-shielding layer (21/24), and the second color resist layer (23) partially overlaps the first color resist layer (22).
Re claim 9, Fan teaches, Fig. 6, at least part of an orthographic projection of the second color resist layer (part of 23) on the display panel (200) is outside the orthographic projections of the first openings (between 21/24) on the display panel (200), and at least part of an orthographic projection of the first color resist layer (part of 22) on the display panel (200) is outside the orthographic projections of the second openings (between 23) on the display panel (200).
Re claim 10, Fan/Yu does not explicitly teach light transmittance of the light- transmitting openings of the color filter layer is greater than or equal to 40%, and the light-shielding layer comprises a material with an optical density greater than or equal to 1.5.
Fan does teach, Fig. 6, the light transmitting openings of the color filter (20) & the light-shielding layer (color resisting layer 21 and/or 24) (similar to the claimed invention).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well-known manufacturing constraints and ascertainable by routine experimentation and optimization to choose particular light transmittance/optical density, because applicant has not disclosed that, in view of the applied prior art, the light/transadmittance/optical destiny are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. For that matter, applicant has not disclosed that the light/transadmittance/optical destiny are for any purpose or produce any result. Moreover, it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another concentration(s). Indeed, it has been held that mere light/transadmittance/optical destiny limitation(s) are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to try the particular claimed light/transadmittance/optical destiny, because a change in light/transadmittance/optical destiny would have been a known option within the technical grasp of a person of ordinary skill in the art and, "a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007). See also, Pfizer Inc. v. Apotex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1852 (Fed. Cir. 2007).
Re claim 11, Fan teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1-6, claims 1 & 6, pages 5-9, a display panel, comprising:
-a substrate (10);
-a pixel definition layer (40) disposed on a side of the substrate (10), wherein the pixel definition layer (40) comprises a plurality of first pixel openings (between patterns of 40);
-a light-emitting layer (50) disposed on a side of the pixel definition layer (40) away from the substrate (10), wherein the light-emitting layer (50) comprises a plurality of first light-emitting pixel units displaying a first color (e.g., via color filter) and a plurality of second light-emitting pixel units displaying a second color (e.g., via color filter), and the first light-emitting pixel units are arranged corresponding to the first pixel openings (between patterns of 40); and
-a color filter layer (20) disposed on the side of the pixel definition layer away from the substrate (10) (e.g., portions of 22 & 23 over 21 away from 10), wherein the color filter layer comprises a light-shielding layer (21 and/or 24), and the light-shielding layer (21) comprises a plurality of first openings (between patterns of 21/24) arranged corresponding to the first pixel openings,
wherein the color filter layer (20) further comprises: a first color resist layer (22) allowing transmittance of the first color and a second color resist layer (23) allowing transmittance of the second color, the first color resist layer (22) is at least disposed at the first openings corresponding to the first pixel openings, the second color resist layer (23) is disposed on a side of the light-shielding layer (21/24) away (portions of 23 over 22) from the substrate (10), the second color resist layer (23) and the first color resist layer (22) overlap or contact (*) with the light- shielding layer (21/24), the second color resist layer (23) is also provided with second openings (between patterns of 23, space defined by opposite sides of 23) corresponding to the first pixel openings, and overlapping portions of the first openings (between patterns of 21/24) and the second openings (between 23) form light-transmitting openings (between 22, 23) of the color filter layer (20), and
wherein the first light-emitting pixel units (of 50) are located in the first pixel openings (between 40), and the first pixel openings (between 40) are greater than or equal to the light-transmitting openings (between 22 & 23) of the color filter layer (20).
Note: (*) when considering “or contact”, layer 24 can be considered as light shielding layer.
Fan does not explicitly teach the second color different from the first color.
Yu teaches “… light sources of the display panel generate different colors of light through different color sub-pixels” [0030].
As taught by Yu, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Fan to obtain the second color different from the first color in the pixel units as claimed, because it aids in increasing luminous efficiency of the OLED displays.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Yu in combination with Fan due to above reason.
Note: Yu teaches shielding layers in color filter substrate.
Re claim 15, Fan teaches, Fig. 6, orthographic projections of the second openings (between 23) on the display panel are located within orthographic projections of the first openings (between 21/24) on the display panel.
Re claim 17, Fan teaches, under BRI, Fig. 6, the first color resist layer (22) is disposed on a side of the second color resist layer (23) away from the substrate (10) (e.g., portion of 22 above 21/24), or the first color resist layer (22) is disposed between the second color resist layer (23) and the light-shielding layer (21/24), and the first color resist layer (22) covers at least an area corresponding to the second openings (between 23).
Re claim 18, Fan teaches, Fig. 6, the second color resist layer (23) partially overlaps the light-shielding layer (21/24), and the second color resist layer (23) partially overlaps the first color resist layer (22).
Re claim 19, Fan teaches, Fig. 6, at least part of an orthographic projection of the second color resist layer (part of 23) on the display panel (200) is outside the orthographic projections of the first openings (between 21/24) on the display panel (200), and at least part of an orthographic projection of the first color resist layer (part of 22) on the display panel (200) is outside the orthographic projections of the second openings (between 23) on the display panel (200).
Re claim 20, Fan/Yu does not explicitly teach light transmittance of the light- transmitting openings of the color filter layer is greater than or equal to 40%, and the light-shielding layer comprises a material with an optical density greater than or equal to 1.5.
Fan does teach, Fig. 6, the light transmitting openings of the color filter (20) & the light-shielding layer (color resisting layer 21 and/or 24) (similar to the claimed invention).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well-known manufacturing constraints and ascertainable by routine experimentation and optimization to choose particular light transmittance/optical density, because applicant has not disclosed that, in view of the applied prior art, the light/transadmittance/optical destiny are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. For that matter, applicant has not disclosed that the light/transadmittance/optical destiny are for any purpose or produce any result. Moreover, it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another concentration(s). Indeed, it has been held that mere light/transadmittance/optical destiny limitation(s) are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to try the particular claimed light/transadmittance/optical destiny, because a change in light/transadmittance/optical destiny would have been a known option within the technical grasp of a person of ordinary skill in the art and, "a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007). See also, Pfizer Inc. v. Apotex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1852 (Fed. Cir. 2007).
4. Claims 2, 6, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan as modified by Yu as applied to claims 1 & 11 above, and further in view of Yokozawa (US 2010/0253819).
The teachings of Fan/Yu have been discussed above.
Re claims 2, 6, 13 & 16, Fan/Yu does not explicitly teach a top view pattern of each of the light-transmitting openings of the color filter layer comprises a circle or a quasi-circular polygon, the quasi-circular polygon comprises a plurality of sides and a plurality of inflection points connecting adjacent ones of the sides, the quasi-circular polygon further comprises a center point, and distances from the center point to the plurality of inflection points are all equal.
Yokazawa teaches, Figs. 1A, 16A & 17A, a top view pattern of each of the light-transmitting openings of the color filter layer (22, 122) comprises a circle or a quasi-circular polygon, the quasi-circular polygon comprises a plurality of sides and a plurality of inflection points connecting adjacent ones of the sides, the quasi-circular polygon further comprises a center point, and distances from the center point to the plurality of inflection points are all equal.
As taught by Yokazawa, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Fan to obtain a top view pattern of each of the light-transmitting openings of the color filter layer comprises a circle or a quasi-circular polygon, the quasi-circular polygon comprises a plurality of sides and a plurality of inflection points connecting adjacent ones of the sides, the quasi-circular polygon further comprises a center point, and distances from the center point to the plurality of inflection points are all equal as clamed, because it aids preventing a reduction in image quality. Further, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Yokazawa in combination with Fan/Yu due to above reason.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 3, 4, 13 & 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Response to arguments on newly added limitations are responded to in the above rejection.
Conclusion
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 5/4/26