DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21 and 34-35 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Amendments to overcome Claim Objections have been fully considered and the objections withdrawn accordingly.
Applicant’s arguments directed toward 112(f) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claims are no longer being interpreted to invoke 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 25, 29-35, and 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns (WO 2017201466 A1), Santos (US-20210173392-A1), and Wilhelm Rekow (US-20020165649-A1) in view of Weiss (US-20060150584-A1).
Claim 21 (Currently amended): Burns (WO 2017201466 A1) discloses A self-propelled round baler for providing round bales, the round baler being an autonomous driving vehicle [0003, 0036] The baling vehicle may be a baling implement that is towed by a tractor or a self-propelled baling vehicle. and comprising:
a frame [0026-28] chassis 9;
a first wheel and a second wheel associated to the frame [0027] The vehicle 1 includes first and second rear drive wheels 17 ... The drive wheels 17 are attached to the chassis 9;
a bailing chamber supported by the frame, for receiving crops and for housing a formed bale [0047; FIG.1] The vehicle includes a baling device 5 that includes an expandable baling chamber 62 for forming a bale;
a conveying assembly, which delimits the bailing chamber for imparting a rotating movement to the crops contained in the bailing chamber [0047] The baling device 5 operates by utilizing a series of bale forming belts 64 routed around a series of rollers 66a-l. Alternatively, a single bale forming belt may be utilized. Additionally, the baling device 5 includes a drive gear 65 that is driven by a baler motor. The drive gear 65 is connected to several rollers 66 to rotate the belts 64 during bale formation and during bale wrapping sequences. Alternatively, the bale forming belts 64 may be directly driven by the baler motor without a drive gear or chains, wherein the conveying assembly includes a plurality of rollers or a belt and a plurality of pulleys [0047] forming belts 64 routed around a series of rollers 66a-l;
a binder, configured for binding the formed bale with a fastening element [0049] The wrapping mechanism 82 is configured to apply one or more layer of wrap material to the outer circumference of the completed bale. The wrap material is spooled on a roll. A linear actuator directs wrap material into contact with the outer perimeter of the completed bale. The bale device drive motor powers the belts to cause the bale to continue to rotate to pull the wrap material from the supply roll and onto the circumference of the bale. After the wrap sequence is complete, the wrap material is cut. The wrap material may include a variety of materials suitable for retaining the shape of the bale, protecting the bale and for limiting exposure of the bale to moisture. Rope-like twine, sheet-type netwrap, plastic or fabric sheets, or film-type sheets are just some examples of commonly used wrap material;
a motorization unit connected to the first wheel and to the second wheel, for moving the round baler on the ground [0052] The vehicle 1 includes an engine 101 (e.g., gas or diesel powered engine) that drives one or more hydraulic pumps which in turn power the various hydraulic motors and cylinders (e.g., first and second drive wheel motors, baling chamber motor, pick-up device motor, pick-up device lift cylinder, tailgate cylinder and/or ramp cylinder). The engine 101 also provides power for the electrical systems of the vehicle 1. The engine 101 is between the rotational axes Rn of the rear drive wheels 17 and the rotational axes R-27 of the front caster wheels 27;
a steering system [0033-0035] …The speed and steering of the vehicle 1 may be controlled by any of the known methods available to those of skill in the art…Steering may be performed by a steering wheel (i.e., drive-by-wire system) which regulates the relative rotational speeds of the first and second drive wheels 17
***,
the steering system configured to vary an advancing direction of the round baler [0035] Steering may be performed by a steering wheel (i.e., drive-by-wire system) which regulates the relative rotational speeds of the first and second drive wheels 17...;
a control unit, having a processor [claim 13] …the control system comprising a controller, the controller including a processor and a memory device, the memory device storing instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to:…, and connected to the motorization unit and to the steering system and configured for generating control signals for controlling the motorization unit and the steering system [0060; FIG.8] The controller is communicatively coupled to the ground drive system 208 and the baler system 210 of the vehicle 1. The ground drive system 208 includes the components for maneuvering the vehicle 1 along the ground, such as motors for driving wheels 17, steering components, and the like. As explained in more detail herein, the controller 202 is operable to control operation of the components of the ground drive system 208 to control movement of the vehicle. The controller 202 may control movement of the vehicle based on instructions stored in a memory device (not shown in FIG. 8), input received from sensors 204, input from the user via the user interface 206, feedback received from the ground drive system and/or the baler system, and/or input received from any other suitable data source,
wherein the round baler comprises a wireless connection [0067] Processor 212 is operatively coupled to a communication interface 216 such that controller 202 is capable of communicating with remote devices such as the ground drive system 208, the baler system 210, sensors 204, a remote computing device (not shown), and the like, wherein the control unit is configured to receive command signals through the wireless connection and is programmed to derive the control signals from the command signals [FIG.8-9].
wherein the control unit is configured to receive command signals through the wireless connection [FIG.8-9] and is programmed to derive the control signals from the command signals [0060-66] The controller 202 may control movement of the vehicle based on instructions stored in a memory device (not shown in FIG. 8), input received from sensors 204, input from the user via the user interface 206, feedback received from the ground drive system and/or the baler system, and/or input received from any other suitable data source.,
wherein the command signals are representative of a real time position on a field of a leading driving object [FIG.1; 0060] baler 5 led by vehicle 1 as seen by orientation including cab 121 and operator station 13 moving on the field and wherein the processor of the control unit is configured to process the command signals [0063] The sensors 204 may include GPS sensors to detect a location of the vehicle 1, sensors configured to detect one or more terrestrial geolocation markers to permit the location of the vehicle 1 relative to the markers to be determined by the controller 202, detect topographical features, obstructions, and the like. In some embodiments, the controller 202 is programmed to determine the location of the vehicle 1 and correlate the location to stored topographical maps to determine the terrain around the vehicle 1… the controller 202 receives information from sensors (such as a GPS sensor, a compass, etc.) to allow the controller 202 to know its location in the field,
***,
and is programmed to control the steering system to follow the driving path [0076] …the vehicle proceeds to operate autonomously. In such embodiments, the controller 202 receives information from sensors (such as a GPS sensor, a compass, etc.) to allow the controller 202 to know its location in the field. Alternatively, the vehicle may be programed to follow a predetermined route after the operator has positioned the vehicle 1 at the start of the route, wherein the leading driving object is ahead of the round baler along the driving path [FIG.1-3; 0060] In embodiments in which the baling vehicle is a towed baling vehicle,
****.
Burns lacks the following limitations:
a steering system comprising a hinged bar
…to derive in real time a driving path defined by the movement of the leading driving object, …wherein the driving path coincides with the movement of the leading driving object …defined by the movement of the leading object
wherein the control unit is programmed to derive in real time;
a distance between the round baler and the leading driving object, along the driving path, and is programmed to control the motorization unit to advance the round baler on the driving path at a working speed, responsive to the distance,
wherein the control unit is configured to derive the working speed, the working speed being a speed of the round baler along the driving path,
wherein the control unit is configured to control the working speed as a function of the distance, and
wherein the distance consists of a longitudinal distance along the driving path.
Regarding the limitation; “…a hinged bar”, Santos (US-20210173392-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a work vehicle machine 100 comprising a steering system which included a hinged bar [0060] Returning to the machine illustrated in FIGS. 1A-B, the control unit controls data to be transmitted to and from the machine 100, where data transmission is carried out by a transceiver 108. The machine 100 further constitutes an articulated machine, where a front portion 100a is connected to a rear portion 100b by means of a hinge 107, and is consequently steered by means of articulated steering to facilitate maneuvering of the machine.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Burns to include a steering system comprising a hinged bar with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Santos, for the benefit of providing a maneuverable connection between a front and rear portion of a vehicle [0060].
Regarding the limitation; “…to derive in real time a driving path defined by the movement of the leading driving object, …wherein the driving path coincides with the movement of the leading driving object …defined by the movement of the leading object”, Wilhelm Rekow (US-20060150584-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for [claim.1-2, 5] A method for providing navigation for at least a first slave vehicle, wherein the first slave vehicle provides its own navigation based on a location of a master vehicle, the method comprising the steps of: a first slave vehicle: receiving a location of a master vehicle; receiving a location of the first slave vehicle; determining a desired position of the first slave vehicle based on the master vehicle location; determining if adjustments are needed to position the first slave vehicle at the desired position; and implementing the adjustments if adjustments are needed… the step of determining the desired position including determining a first destination point relative to the location of the master vehicle; determining a first optimal course needed to position the first slave vehicle at the first destination point …receiving the location of the master vehicle including receiving the location of the master vehicle at least periodically; the step of receiving the location of the first slave vehicle including receiving the location of the first slave vehicle at least periodically; and the step of determining the first optimal course including redetermining the first optimal course each time the first slave vehicle receives one of the periodic locations of the master vehicle
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Burns to derive in real time a driving path defined by the movement of a leading driving object and wherein the driving path coincides with the movement of the leading driving object and a path defined by the movement of the leading object with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Wilhelm Rekow, for the benefit of synchronizing the traveling paths of the two vehicles so as to facilitate cooperative agricultural operations between a lead (master) and following (slave) vehicle.
Regarding the remaining limitation(s); Weiss (US-20060150584-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a “virtual towing bar” [0054, 0061-68; FIG.5] and further; wherein the control unit is programmed to derive in real time; a distance between the round baler and the leading driving object, along the driving path [0034] FIG. 5: In phase 2, the transport vehicle approaches to a working distance A1 from the lead vehicle. A second transport vehicle is coupled in the same manner; and is programmed to control the motorization unit to advance the round baler on the driving path at a working speed, responsive to the distance [0062-63] specifications are transmitted, via a CAN bus or another communication system, to the controllers of the single-wheel drives. Implementation of the calculated specifications for rotational speed, torque, and angle turnings of the wheel drives is controlled and monitored by the electronic controller of the single-wheel drives., wherein the control unit is configured to derive the working speed, the working speed being a speed of the round baler along the driving path, wherein the control unit is configured to control the working speed as a function of the distance [0063], and wherein the distance consists of a longitudinal distance [0049] transverse movements are also required in addition to the longitudinal travel of the transport vehicle 33, in order to dock with a combine laterally, as depicted in FIG. 7. All procedures take place basically in a manner analogous to FIG. 3 along the driving path [0034] the transport vehicle approaches to a working distance A1 from the lead vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Burns to include a distance between the round baler and the leading driving object, along the driving path, and programmed to control the motorization unit to advance the round baler on the driving path at a working speed, responsive to the distance, wherein the control unit is configured to derive the working speed, the working speed being a speed of the round baler along the driving path, wherein the control unit is configured to control the working speed as a function of the distance, and wherein the distance consists of a longitudinal distance along the driving path with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Weiss, for the benefit of synchronizing the speeds and steering of the two vehicles so as to facilitate agricultural operations [0014] by providing a “virtual towing bar” which substantially facilitates transport uses, since coupling no longer must be done manually. With an appropriate design of the transport vehicle according to the invention, containers can, after docking, be moved from one transport vehicle to another, or to a nondriven trailer or a commercial motor vehicle. The assumption is that the productivity of a process chain of transport vehicles with “virtual towing bar” increases in comparison to traditional transport systems because of the flexibility and high degree of automation gained, the omission of manual coupling maneuvers, and the easy change-over of containers [0028].
In re Claim 25 (Previously Presented): Burns (WO 2017201466 A1) lacks wherein the working speed is higher than the driving speed.
Regarding the limitation; The Supreme Court has clarified that an "obvious to try" line of reasoning may properly support an obviousness rejection, the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" was a valid rationale for an obviousness finding, for example, when there is a "design need" or "market demand" and there are a "finite number" of solutions. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling would be motivated to try a finite number of combinations in order to meet design needs, including operating a working speed higher than a driving speed. With a finite number of alternatives, higher, lower, or the same speed, it would be obvious to experiment with different functional relationships between speed relationships as described above in order to identify which relationship better suits design needs regarding operating an agricultural work machine along a field during operations. Without any undue experimentation, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success upon this modification. For more information, please see MPEP 2143; "The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham."
Examiner’s Note: It should be noted, in relation to the limitations disclosed above, applicant has disclosed that in embodiments of the invention a working speed can be set to be higher or equal to a driving speed [0173].
In re Claim 29 (Previously Presented): Burns (WO 2017201466 A1) discloses The round baler according to claim 21, comprising an on-board power source, connected to the motorization unit for providing a motorization power ([0030] Each drive system has a drive motor for rotating the drive wheel forward or backward. The drive motors may be hydraulic motors that are driven by a pump that is powered by the engine 101. In other embodiments, the drive motors are electric motors powered by one or more generated or stored sources of energy.).
In re Claim 30 (Previously Presented): Burns (WO 2017201466 A1) discloses The round baler of claim 29, wherein the motorization unit is an electrical or hydraulic motor and wherein the on-board power source comprises a motor and a generator, configured to transform the mechanical power of the motor into electrical power ([0030] Each drive system has a drive motor for rotating the drive wheel forward or backward. The drive motors may be hydraulic motors that are driven by a pump that is powered by the engine 101. In other embodiments, the drive motors are electric motors powered by one or more generated or stored sources of energy.).
In re Claim 31 (Previously Presented): Burns (WO 2017201466 A1) discloses The round baler according to claim 21, comprising: a first electrical actuator ([0047] Additionally, the baling device 5 includes a drive gear 65 that is driven by a baler motor… The baler device may include a single drive motor as shown or may include two or more drive motors), configured to actuate the conveying system ([0047] The drive gear 65 is connected to several rollers 66 to rotate the belts 64 during bale formation and during bale wrapping sequences.); a pick-up device ([0048] The baler device 5 includes a pick-up device 11 (Fig. 2) to pick-up crop or forage material.), rotable to pick-up crops from the ground; a second electrical actuator ([0048] Rotation of the pick-up device 11 is driven by separate motor (e.g., hydraulic motor).), configured to rotate the pick-up device ([0048] During baling, the pick-up device 11 is in a lowered position in which the rotating teeth 29 of the device 1 contact the crop or forage material and direct it toward the baling chamber 62. As material is picked up by the pick-up device 11, and deposited in the baling chamber 62, the material is compressed by the plurality of bale forming belts 64. Rotation of the pick-up device 11 is driven by separate motor (e.g., hydraulic motor).).
In re Claim 32 (Previously Presented): Burns (WO 2017201466 A1) discloses The round baler according to claim 21, wherein the control unit is configured for receiving information representative of a real time position of a tractor on the ground and is programmed to generate the control signals responsive to the position of the tractor ([0076] In such embodiments, the controller 202 receives information from sensors (such as a GPS sensor, a compass, etc.) to allow the controller 202 to know its location in the field. Alternatively, the vehicle may be programed to follow a predetermined route after the operator has positioned the vehicle 1 at the start of the route. In the example embodiment, the operator positions the vehicle at the start of a pass through a field (for example at the start of a windrow) and instructs the vehicle to begin baling. The controller 202 drives the vehicle 1 in a straight line until the operator instructs the vehicle 1 to stop or a full bale is created.).
In re Claim 33 (Previously Presented): Burns (WO 2017201466 A1) discloses The round baler according to claim 21, wherein the control unit is configured to control the motorization unit and the steering system simultaneously with respect to a movement of the conveying assembly for imparting the rotating movement to the crops ([0076] In such embodiments, the controller 202 receives information from sensors (such as a GPS sensor, a compass, etc.) to allow the controller 202 to know its location in the field. Alternatively, the vehicle may be programed to follow a predetermined route after the operator has positioned the vehicle 1 at the start of the route. In the example embodiment, the operator positions the vehicle at the start of a pass through a field (for example at the start of a windrow) and instructs the vehicle to begin baling. The controller 202 drives the vehicle 1 in a straight line until the operator instructs the vehicle 1 to stop or a full bale is created.).
In re Claim 34 (Currently Amended): The limitations of the system of claim 34 are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 21. For more information regarding the limitations, please see in re claim 21.
In re Claim 35 (Currently Amended): The limitations of the method of claim 35 are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 21. For more information regarding the limitations, please see in re claim 21.
In re Claim 39 (Currently amended): The limitations of the method of claim 39 are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 35. For more information regarding the limitations, please see in re claim 35.
In re Claim 40 (Currently amended): The limitations of the method of claim 40 are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 21. For more information regarding the limitations, please see in re claim 21.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns (WO 2017201466 A1), Santos (US-20210173392-A1), Wilhelm Rekow (US-20020165649-A1) and Weiss (US-20060150584-A1), as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Tsukamoto (US 20130153323 A1).
In re Claim 26 (Currently Amended): Burns (WO 2017201466 A1) lacks wherein the control unit is programmed to generate a warning signal for the leading driving object, responsive to the driving speed or to the distance.
Regarding the limitation; Tsukamoto (US 20130153323 A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for wherein the control unit (controller 122) is programmed to generate a warning signal for the driving object, responsive to the driving speed or to the distance ([0058] Moreover, the meter indicator 132 is connected with a speed sensor that detects a vehicle speed, and the meter indicator 132 is arranged so as to function as a speed warning lamp when the vehicle speed exceeds a predetermined value.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Burns to include wherein the control unit is programmed to generate a warning signal for the driving object, responsive to the driving speed or to the distance with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Tsukamoto, for the benefit of yielding a system capable of alerting a user once unexpected or dangerous driving conditions are detected, increasing safety and user awareness.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns (WO 2017201466 A1), Santos (US-20210173392-A1), Wilhelm Rekow (US-20020165649-A1) and Weiss (US-20060150584-A1), as applied to claim 21 above, further in view of Kelledes (US 20030155165 A1).
In re Claim 27 (Previously Presented): Burns (WO 2017201466 A1) discloses The round baler according to claim 21, comprising: a third wheel and a fourth wheel; and a chassis connected to the first wheel and the second wheel ([0037] The self-propelled vehicle 1 includes first and second front caster wheels 27 that are pivotally connected to the chassis 9 about a vertical pivot axis (which may be offset from the vertical axis at a caster angle)); and connected to the third wheel and the fourth wheel ([0037] Similarly, the rear wheels 17 are spaced to allow the baling device 5 (Fig. 1) to be positioned between the rear wheels. In some embodiments, the vehicle 1 includes a single front caster wheel (e.g., one front caster wheel centered relative to the lateral axis of the vehicle).), wherein the steering system is configured to vary the advancing direction of the round baler ([0033-0035] The speed of the vehicle 1 and direction of the vehicle (i.e., relative rotational speed between rear drive wheels 17) may be controlled from the operator station 13. The speed and steering of the vehicle 1 may be controlled by any of the known methods available to those of skill in the art…Steering may be performed by a steering wheel (i.e., drive-by-wire system) which regulates the relative rotational speeds of the first and second drive wheels 17.).
Burns lacks the following underlined limitations:
a third wheel and a fourth wheel; a first axle, elongated in a transversal direction and connected to the first wheel and the second wheel; a second axle, spaced from the first axle in a longitudinal direction, the longitudinal direction perpendicular to the transversal direction, and connected to the third wheel and the fourth wheel, wherein the second axle is associated to the steering system to vary the advancing direction of the round baler.
Regarding the limitation; Kelledes (US 20030155165 A1) teaches in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a first axle, elongated along a transversal direction and connected to the first wheel and the second wheel; a second axle, spaced from the first axle in a longitudinal direction, the longitudinal direction perpendicular to the transversal direction, and connected to the third wheel and the fourth wheel (please see Examiner’s annotated FIG.1 below).
Examiner’s Note: For more information regarding the limitations above, please see the Claim Objection and Specification Objection sections above.
Examiner’s Annotated FIG.1: Kelledes FIG.2
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Burns to include a first axle, elongated along a transversal direction and connected to the first wheel and the second wheel; a second axle, spaced from the first axle along a longitudinal direction, perpendicular to the transversal direction, and connected to the third wheel and the fourth wheel with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Kelledes, for the benefit of yielding a support system and drive mechanism for the operation of a vehicle.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Burns (WO 2017201466 A1), Santos (US-20210173392-A1), Wilhelm Rekow (US-20020165649-A1), Weiss (US-20060150584-A1), and Kelledes (US 20030155165 A1), as applied to claim 27 above.
In re Claim 28 (Previously Presented): Burns (WO 2017201466 A1) in view of Kelledes (US 20030155165 A1) teaches The round baler according to claim 27, but Burns (WO 2017201466 A1) lacks wherein a centre of gravity of the round baler is between the first axle and the second axle along the longitudinal direction at a distance greater than 20cm from the first axle.
Regarding the limitation; It is this examiner’s opinion that at the time the invention was made it would have been obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to include wherein a centre of gravity of the round baler is between the first axle and the second axle along the longitudinal direction at a distance greater than 20cm from the first axle because Applicant has not disclosed that a centre of gravity of the round baler is between the first axle and the second axle along the longitudinal direction at a distance greater than 20cm from the first axle provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skilled in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well by the modified system of Burns, because distance of axles in relation to a centre of gravity can be increased or decreased to provide control and stability over a number of configurations or operations. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Burns to obtain the invention as specified in re claim 28.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/M.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663