DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the Preliminary Amendment filed on 14 December 2021. Claims 1-5 have been cancelled. Claims 6-11 are newly submitted.
Specification
The substitute specification filed 14 December 2021 has not been entered because it does not conform to 37 CFR 1.125(b) and (c) because: a marked-up copy of the substitute specification has not been supplied (in addition to the clean copy). Although a copy of the specification titled “MARKED-UP SPECIFICATION” was submitted on 14 December 2021 with the substitute specification, it appears to be identical to the substitute specification, since the marked-up copy of the substitute specification does not show any of the changes relative to the immediate prior version of the specification of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Dependent claim 7 requires “the alkyl chain refers to a straight chain, a branched chain or a cyclic alkyl chain that has 1 to 20 carbon atoms, or an alkyl chain of which one or more carbon atoms are substituted with an oxygen atom, an alkenyl group, an alkynyl group, an aryl group, a carbonyl group, a hydroxyl group, an amino group, a carboxyl group, a cyano group, a nitro group or an ester group, or an alkyl chain of which one or more hydrogen atoms are substituted with a fluorine atom, a chlorine atom, a bromine atom or an iodine atom”. However, it is unclear if this is for R’ or R” or both R’ and R”..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Li, WO 2019/218360.
With respect to claim 6, Li disclose a tetraphenylbenzene-containing organic light emitting material, shown on page 1, having a structural formula as Formula I:
the R1 is
where R’ is a hydrogen atom, a methoxy group, a fluorine atom or an alkyl chain, n is a natural number from 1 to 10, and * is a substitutional position, and
the R2 is
where R” is a hydrogen atom, a methoxy group, a cyano group, a fluorine atom or an alkyl chain, n is a natural number from 1 to 10, and * is a substitutional position, see pages 1 and 2.
With respect to claim 7, in the tetraphenylbenzene-containing organic material of Li, according to claim 6, characterized in that the alkyl chain refers to a straight chain, a branched chain or a cyclic alkyl chain that has 1 to 20 carbon atoms, or an alkyl chain of which one or more carbon atoms are substituted with an oxygen atom, an alkenyl group, an alkynyl group, an aryl group, a carbonyl group, a hydroxyl group, an amino group, a carboxyl group, a cyano group, a nitro group or an ester group, or an alkyl chain of which one or more hydrogen atoms are substituted with a fluorine atom, a chlorine atom, a bromine atom or an iodine atom, see pages 1 and 2 of Li.
With respect to claim 8, Li discloses in the Summary of the Invention (and pages 1-16) a preparation method of the tetraphenylbenzene-containing organic light-emitting material according to claim 6, comprising the following steps: using 1,4-dibromo-2,5-terphenyl and R2-substituted phenylboronic acid as raw materials, obtaining an R2-containing aromatic ring compound through a Suzuki reaction; and then reacting the R2-containing aromatic ring compound with Ri- substituted phenylboronic acid or boronic acid ester in the presence of a tetrakis(triphenylphosphine)palladium catalyst to obtain the tetraphenylbenzene- containing organic light-emitting material, and the above preparation method having a reaction formula as follows:
With respect to claim 9, Li discloses in the Summary of the Invention (and pages 1-16) a preparation method of the tetraphenylbenzene-containing organic light-emitting material according to claim 7, comprising the following steps: using 1,4-dibromo-2,5-terphenyl and R2-substituted phenylboronic acid as raw materials, obtaining an R2-containing aromatic ring compound through a Suzuki reaction; and then reacting the R2-containing aromatic ring compound with Ri- substituted phenylboronic acid or boronic acid ester in the presence of a tetrakis(triphenylphosphine)palladium catalyst to obtain the tetraphenylbenzene- containing organic light-emitting material, and the above preparation method having a reaction formula as follows:
With respect to claim 10, Li discloses an application of the tetraphenylbenzene-containing organic light- emitting material according to claim 6 in organic light-emitting devices, see Background techniques in the translation..
With respect to claim 11, Li discloses an application of the tetraphenylbenzene-containing organic light- emitting material according to claim 7 in organic light-emitting devices, see Background techniques in the translation..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al., CN 104844475, cited by Applicant on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted on 15 November 2021.
With respect to claim 6, Li et al. disclose a tetraphenylbenzene-containing organic light emitting (fluorescent) material, shown in paragraph [0007]-[0009], having a structural formula as Formula I:
the R1 is
where R’ is a hydrogen atom, a methoxy group, a fluorine atom or an alkyl chain, n is a natural number from 1 to 10, and * is a substitutional position, and
the R2 is
where R” is a hydrogen atom, a methoxy group, a cyano group, a fluorine atom or an alkyl chain, n is a natural number from 1 to 10, and * is a substitutional position, see paragraphs [0007]-[0009]. In the provided translation, in paragraph [0009], Li et al. disclose a derivative of tetraphenylbenzene-based diphenylamino and dicyanovinyl substituted derivatives of Formula (I):
where R is can be
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that that R’ is a hydrogen atom, a methoxy group, a fluorine atom or an alkyl chain, n is a natural number from 1 to 10, and * is a substitutional position and that R” is a hydrogen atom, a methoxy group, a cyano group, a fluorine atom or an alkyl chain, n is a natural number from 1 to 10, and * is a substitutional position. Accordingly, the components disclosed by Li et al. would yield Applicant’s claimed tetraphenyl benzene-containing material shown in Example 1.
With respect to claim 7, in the tetraphenylbenzene-containing organic material of Li et al., according to claim 6, characterized in that the alkyl chain refers to a straight chain, a branched chain or a cyclic alkyl chain that has 1 to 20 carbon atoms, or an alkyl chain of which one or more carbon atoms are substituted with an oxygen atom, an alkenyl group, an alkynyl group, an aryl group, a carbonyl group, a hydroxyl group, an amino group, a carboxyl group, a cyano group, a nitro group or an ester group, or an alkyl chain of which one or more hydrogen atoms are substituted with a fluorine atom, a chlorine atom, a bromine atom or an iodine atom, see paragraphs [0007]-[0025] of Li et al.
With respect to claim 8, Li et al. disclose a preparation method of the tetraphenylbenzene-containing organic light-emitting material according to claim 6, comprising the following steps: using 1,4-dibromo-2,5-terphenyl and R2-substituted phenylboronic acid as raw materials, obtaining an R2-containing aromatic ring compound through a Suzuki reaction; and then reacting the R2-containing aromatic ring compound with Ri- substituted phenylboronic acid or boronic acid ester in the presence of a tetrakis(triphenylphosphine)palladium catalyst to obtain the tetraphenylbenzene- containing organic light-emitting material, and the above preparation method having a reaction formula as follows:
Li et al. discloses after a Suzuki reaction, intermediate products 1, 2, and 3 are prepared in sequence and the structural formula is shown in the following formulas (II)-(IV):
using tetrakis (triphenylphosphine) palladium as a catalyst, see paragraphs [0020]-[0036] of the Translation.
With respect to claim 9, Li et al. disclose a preparation method of the tetraphenylbenzene-containing organic light-emitting material according to claim 7, comprising the following steps: using 1,4-dibromo-2,5-terphenyl and R2-substituted phenylboronic acid as raw materials, obtaining an R2-containing aromatic ring compound through a Suzuki reaction; and then reacting the R2-containing aromatic ring compound with Ri- substituted phenylboronic acid or boronic acid ester in the presence of a tetrakis(triphenylphosphine)palladium catalyst to obtain the tetraphenylbenzene- containing organic light-emitting material, and the above preparation method having a reaction formula as follows:
Li et al. discloses after a Suzuki reaction, intermediate products 1, 2, and 3 are prepared in sequence and the structural formula is shown in the following formulas (II)-(IV):
using tetrakis (triphenylphosphine) palladium as a catalyst, see paragraphs [0020]-[0036] of the Translation.
Conclusion
MARY A. WILCZEWSKI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/MARY A WILCZEWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898